Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2

Thomas Nelson The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2

Kit is on a quest for the ultimate treasure. But are his travels in time changing history for better or worse?When Kit Livingstone's great grandfather appeared to him in a deserted alley during a London rainstorm, he revealed an incredible story: the ley lines throughout Britain are not merely the stuff of legend but are in fact pathways to other worlds. An intricate code--a map of bizarre symbols--is the roadmap they need to navigate the multi-layered universe. But the five pieces have gone missing. Braving constant danger, Kit accepts his place in the adventure--though he has no idea just how critical a role he'll play.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
10 out of 1191%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Review 1 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fascinating twist of layers

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jill Williamson
Location:Oregon
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The first book in the Bright Empires series intrigued me, so I wanted to continue my journey with this tale. Like the ley lines of time and dimensions the characters travel in this story, the plot is a fascinating twist of layers. Where I would be confused one moment, the “Ah ha…” was never far behind. There are many point of view characters, which is distracting at first, but I got used to it. This book gave many answers to questions posed in book one, but introduced just as many new questions that will, hopefully, be answered in book three. Overall, I enjoyed this book. It’s a different kind of way to tell a story, and I want to know what happens next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
This review is fromThe Bone House - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This series just keeps getting better

Date:February 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sojourner
Age:35-44
Gender:female
When I reviewed The Skin Map, book one in the Bright Empires Series, I said that it was good, but it wasn’t Lawhead at his best. This is Lawhead at his best!
The Bone House improves in every way upon my minor disappointments with book one.
The writing style is more carefully crafted and the transitions are better set so that the reader doesn’t get lost in the multitude of jumps between different places in different times. I especially liked the creative chapter titles and the clues they gave to what was coming next. Even the character development shows significant improvement. All in all, the writing is more classical Lawhead and I loved it.
The theme of the series fascinates me and I appreciate how the characters delve into the theories in great depth. I personally didn’t think that that this in any way weighed down the tale, but then again, I enjoy science, history, philosophy and theology, all of which are present to some extent in the story.
The extra dimension of having a story set across time and space, so that you are following a story line through ancient Egypt, medieval Europe and prehistoric lands makes for an exciting and interesting tale.
This series just keeps getting better. I can’t believe I have to wait until September of 2012 before I get to read the next installment.
—-
Thank you to Thomas Nelson Publishing for sending me a review copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

story continues in various times and places

Date:October 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second novel in Lawhead's Bright Empire series, following The Skin Map. In this installment, Kit is still on the quest given to him by his grandfather, to restore the skin map, a map that charts the hidden dimensions of the universe. Wilhelmina is in seventeenth-century Prague and is wildly successful in introducing coffee to the community. She is becoming more of an expert in ley travel, even using a mechanical device to identify their placement.
As Kit pursues his quest, he travels to Egypt and meets Thomas Young, a scholar and archaeologist of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. Kit leads Thomas to Anen's tomb and participates in its “discovery.” Under Anen's head is a square of something wrapped in linen. Within is an irregular square of parchment “covered with a wild scattering of the most superbly etched symbols in dark blue.” (228)
In another section of the novel, Douglas Flinders- Petrie travels to the thirteenth century to meet Roger Bacon. Douglas shows him a copy of the skin map. Bacon asks about a key to decipher the document, to uncover what the coordinates represent.
Mina and Kit cross paths at her coffee shop but Burleigh is right behind them. Kit manages to escape into a Stone Age era and is befriended by a group of beings, much like Abominable Snowmen. He begins to understand their culture and language and participates in the building of a bone house for an elder.
At the end of this novel, Kit enters the bone house and immediately plunges through its floor. Kit knew he was covering great distances. He lands near a lake and sees a fellow whose torso is covered with tiny blue symbols...
The transforming action in this series is ley travel. It consists of using the lines of electromagnetic force that are found embedded in the earth. Using these lines, one can make great leaps in dimensional reality, including distance and time. It is not the same as traveling forwards and backwards along a single time line. Each separate reality has its own history and progression in its own time.
Lawhead has a note at the end of this novel that explains essential parts of his plot. The idea of a many-dimensioned universe has been around for some time. Einstein laid the theoretical groundwork for the idea and now the concept is useful for theorizing about many aspects of the universe. Lawhead's characters bounce around a multidimensional universe. They land in any possible alternate world, depending on the exact use of ley travel.
In this realm where traditional thinking about reality breaks down and experts disagree, non-experts can enter into the discussion. Lawhead writes, “That being the case, why shouldn't a novelist participate in the conversation?” (385)
I look forward to the next volume in this series, arriving in about a year. At this point there are too many loose ends to understand the “moral of the story,” so to speak. I trust any (Christian) spiritual aspect of the series will become clear then.
At times I get a little lost in the story line, traveling not only in time but in distance and dimension as well. Having a year's time in between installments doesn't help. When the series is completed, I will perhaps read them, one right after the other.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

The Bone House

Date:September 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jaguar Hero
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bone House is the second book in the Bright Empires series. Here, we pick up where the last book left off, following Kit Livingston's journey to find the secret skin map. This time, he has his girlfriend, Mina, and a new friend, Giles, in tow to outsmart the bad guys, Burleigh and his men. Every twist and turn leads them back to facing their adversaries, which causes many heart-pounding chase scenes and mixed up ley jumping. They explore many places and even unlock a few new secrets about the skin map and the ley lines.
First, this second book was brilliant. Adding Mina into the loop was genius. It was exciting too, with many edge-of-the-seat moments. I craved to keep reading this story, wanting to know just as much as Kit and Mina do about the skin map.
The story continues to intertwine many more stories within the book. There are small glimpses in the live's of many of the characters, good and bad. Kit and Mina split off, for important quests which are essential to getting their hands on the skin map.
The descriptions are great, no matter the time or place the characters have journeyed too. It makes it seem like it's all real and waiting for us to ley jump too.
All in all, a very interesting and intricately woven story. I long to find out what happens to Kit, especially with that last discovery he made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Bone House

Date:September 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
rebrev
Location:eastern NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The Bone House is a difficult book to review. It is the second installment of the Bright Empires trilogy, following “The Skin Map.” That book had a strange ending in that there was no ending. It just stopped. No closure. And end, but no ending. It was interesting to the point of being a page turner, but the ending was odd.
The Bone House continues the pattern. There is a small section of introduction to bring the reader up to speed on the characters – and that is very helpful. But, as The Skin Map ends, so begins The Bone House – and continues. The plot of the series is the quest for a “parchment” of human skin which has been divided into sections and hidden in various places. The places are in different times and dimensions which are reached via portals called “ley lines.”
I would recommend this book on the condition the reader first read The Skin Map and plan to read The Spirit Well – the final installment due out in September 2012. The whole story of time/space/dimension travel is immensely intriguing and I want to find out what happens to all these folks. The good guys, the bad guys, and the ones I haven’t quite figured out as of yet.
Until then, I guess we’ll just have to hold on for the finish.
Thomas Nelson provides a free copy of these books for review through their “Booksneeze” Program www.booksneeze.com ; however, I am not required to give a positive review of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This book was confusing and hard to follow.

Date:September 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
“The Bone House” is the second book in the Bright Empires series by Stephen R. Lawhead. I had read the first book in the series, called “The Skin Map” and had found that book to be quite intriguing. I had been looking forward to this next installment.
“The Bone House” picks up right where the first one left off so you really need to read the first one before you read this. It had been 4 months since I read “The Skin Map” and I had a terrible time remembering the characters and what they had done last.
In this installment, Kit Livingstone is still on the mission given him by his great grandfather Cosimo in search of the Skin Map. He has met up with Mina, who seems to be quite the expert in ley travel, and she begins to give him orders on what to do next. It is unclear how Mina got to this point and confusing why Kit Livingstone is taking orders from her when this was his mission from the beginning. The Burley men are still after him and bent on getting the map and destroying the universe, but we do get a better picture of what Burleigh is all about.
Books on time travel can be hard to follow since so much of it is a stretch of the imagination. This book was quite confusing from the start. Each chapter flips from one character to another and it takes forever for it all to begin to connect. You have to keep flipping from past to present to future and try to keep it all straight. After 100 pages, I still wasn’t clear on where the story was going.
This was definitely a disappointing sequel. I received this book, published by Thomas Nelson as part of the BookSneeze program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lawhead doesn't disappoint in Bone House

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
markn12
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The second in the five-book Bright Empires Series, The Bone House lives up to Stephen Lawhead’s reputation as one of the finest science fiction/fantasy writers today.
An ambitious work, it is filled with vivid descriptions of foreign lands, gripping action and a plot that moves through multiple worlds. Lawhead sculpts a believable universe and peoples it with memorable characters that come to life as you read.
Following Kit Livingstone, the story tracks his progress in trying to locate the skin map, a map that supposedly shows the connections between multiple dimensions and worlds. But his steps are dogged by the ruthless Archelaeus Burleigh, who will stop at nothing to get his hands on the map.
Written with characteristic sweeping panoramas, The Bone House is never static. A wonderful sense of movement and change pervades it from the very first page.
The characterizations are never dull, and Lawhead has a way with description that, once read, provokes an accompanying flash of recognition and personal recollection that realizes “yes, that’s it!”
Become like Coleridge and willingly suspend your disbelief as you turn the pages of this book to enter into an interdimensional race! Put your feet up, lean back in your favorite chair and let this author’s words take you on a journey that won’t disappoint.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Bone House by Stephen Lawhead

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
SamG
Location:Texas
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bone House by Stephen Lawhead is the second of the Bright Empires Series. The story continues with Kit Livingstone and his journey in finding the skin map that his grandfather Cosimo has been searching for. There are others though that are looking for this map too and are stopping at nothing to get find it first.
There are several story lines in this book that get more development than Kit's story, but that does not take away from his development; it simply gives more depth to the other characters in the story. The story is fast paced and kept me interested and excited to get to the end. Although there are many characters and all at different times in history, the story does not get confusing to read. It is quite enjoyable and I do recommend not only the book, but the series. I await the third and final installment.
Note: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review blogger program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
This review is fromThe Bone House - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
themistressreviewer
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Bone House, by Stephen R. Lawhead is the sequel to The Skin Map. Continuing directly where the first book left off, Kit is thrilled to see that Mina is ok but is also confused as to how his former girlfriend, who enjoyed sleeping more than anything, found him and Giles and rescued them from certain death. However there is no time to talk and minutes later the three part ways. Kit to secure a section of the Skin Map and Mina + Giles to go make sure it happens. Meanwhile Lady Fayth is seen in the company of Burleigh and it is shown that she did not mean to betray Kit and Giles. The story is fast paced and takes our favorite characters to place we never even dreamed possible. While I absolutely love the books I have one complaint. The author has too many characters. The main two characters of the book are Kit Livingstone and his ex girlfriend Mina. The two of them begin time traveling using ley lines and while the premise is exciting it gets lost in all the switching of character perspectives. One chapter we are with the originator of the skin map, the next with Kit, the next with the grandson of so and so, etc. It can get confusing after awhile if you're not paying close attention. Because of this the plot drags a bit but despite this I highly recommend both this book and it's predecessor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Bone House by Stephen R. Lawhead

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
BroRandy
Location:Morgantown, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After nearly a year of waiting, I finally got my hands on book 2 of the Bright Empires series. The Bone House by Stephen R. Lawhead did not disappoint. I have eagerly anticipated its arrival since I finished The Skin Map in the early morning hours one day last fall.
The Bone House continues to unfold the fantastic story of Kit Livingstone. Kit is a young man from London, who discovers with the help of his great-grandfather Cosimo Livingstone, how to travel through the multiple dimensions of the universe. They travel through these dimensions by using ley lines. The dimensions are connected to the modern world, but they have differing time lines and geography. Kit and his friends are trying to find the Skin Map, so they can unravel the secrets of the universe.
The Bone House combines several elements of the science fiction and fantasy genres in a unique way to create a fast paced thrill ride. Although there is a fair bit of bouncing around in time and culture, the reader shouldn't get lost. Overall, I have really enjoyed these two books. They are extremely well-written and imaginative.
Let me share a couple of things I appreciated about this book. Although it is part of a series, there isn't extensive backstory. The author provides a quick catch-up in the beginning of the book for those who haven't read The Skin Map and those who read it when it came out. The reader doesn't have to be continually reminded of what happened in the first book which makes for a quicker (and more enjoyable) reading. The second thing I appreciate is Lawhead's vivid descriptions (especially about food).
There is one I didn't like about the book. I hate coming to the end of the book and knowing that I have to wait a year to find out what happens to the characters. I didn't like waiting to the next week for my favorite t.v. shows when I was a kid, and I haven't changed much. Making the audience wait a year is a bit extreme.
The Bone House is an imaginative piece of fiction. I encourage you to read it, but before you do check out The Skin Map. I found it easier to read the second book (probably because I read the first), while at the same time understanding the first one better through reading the second. They are both worth checking out.
Disclaimer: I received this book free from Booksneeze.com for review purposes. I was not required to write a favorable review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Bone House, Bright Empires Series #2
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
ryan
Location:ontario
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second novel in the Bright Empires series. I have read the first book and it was fantastic, so I jumped at the opportunity to read this one for free, courtest of Thomas Nelson and booksneeze.com.
Since it was a while since I read The Skin Map, I was quite pleased that this novel offered a section called "Previously in the Bright Empire series." This was very effective in bringing back my memory of the great book. If someone missed out on The Skin Map, do not worry! The authors short story of what has previously happened will catch you up immediately! Also, for those who have missed out on The Skin Map, Stephen Lawhead provides you with a great list of important characters.
I was very excited to read about Kit and his continued journey to find the pieces of the skin map. It was actually the frount cover that drew me into reading this book, but after finding out it was a part of the Bright Empire series, I could not resist myself. I even stayed up all night long finishing it!
This story gives you lots of twists and turns while Kit tries to uncover the secrets of The Bone Housee. I have always appreciated Lawheads descriptive scenes and characters, and this book was no exception. His flawless writing styles have captured many readers hearts and I am no doubt one of these readers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.