Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Wedding Dress

Thomas Nelson The Wedding Dress

Charlotte can dress any bride to perfection-except herself. When she discovers a vintage mint-condition wedding gown in a battered old trunk, Charlotte embarks on a passionate journey to discover the women who wore the gown before her. Emily in 1912. Mary in 1939. And Hillary in 1968. Each woman teaches Charlotte something about love in her own unique way. Woven within the threads of the beautiful hundred-year-old gown is the truth about Charlotte's heritage, the power of faith, and the beauty of finding true love.
Average Customer Rating:
4.837 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
43 out of 43100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Wedding Dress
Review 1 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An Inspiring Read

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wilani
Location:Franklin, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished reading this awesome book. I loved reading about the four brides who wore the same dress and the way at the end of the book you see how the four brides were all connected. The twists and turns of the plot were all perfectly woven together. This is the first book that I have read by this author and I will definitely want to read more of her books and I am sure I will want to read this book again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Wedding Dress
This review is fromThe Wedding Dress - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Turning a historical fan into a contemporary fan!

Date:November 12, 2013
This book is fabulous. I mean fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! I love, love, loved it! (Apparently I’m into groups of three today).
Rachel Hauck is so sneaky, getting us historical fiction fans to love the contemporary stuff. Well, with The Wedding Dress, it worked! Although this does have a bit of back-in-time storyline, the main storyline is the here and now.
This is one book you’re drawn into immediately. You know, one of those stories where all you think about is the next time you’ll be able to get back to reading. The Wedding Dress was most definitely a read I couldn’t put down.
This also meant I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. I loved how Hauck weaved all the stories together – in ways I didn’t see coming. Each story behind the wedding dress was a great one in it’s own right. Each beautiful and moving. I don’t remember the last time I teared up as much in a book, but I did internet. I did.
“Faith, girl, faith. At the end of the day, that’s all we have.”
All that to say, if you haven’t read any of Rachel’s book, this is a fantastic one to start with! Have you read this one? I’d love to know what you think!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Wedding Dress
This review is fromThe Wedding Dress - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
NaomiG
Location:Prattsburgh, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely loved this book! I haven't had the time,or made the time to read in a long time. This e book brought me back to the enjoyment reading brings. What a great reminder that miraculous things do happen :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Wedding Dress
This review is fromThe Wedding Dress - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoyed this tale of the wedding dress

Date:June 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jglov
Location:TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a good read, dealt with issues of race and women's rights. I enjoyed it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gift for cousin... end up wanting one!

Date:May 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Andri A
Location:Puerto Rico
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw this book I bought it for my cousin, who loves anything that has to do with weddings. Because I couldn't give it to her right away I could not stop myself from picking it up and reading the first chapter. I loved it! To my surprise I could not stop reading and thinking about all the women stories with the dress. I finished it and finally gave it to her, making sure there were no marks or folded pages, and decided to buy another for myself. Great read! Truly recommended book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

O' such a special dress

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
rosella
Location:Saint Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tenderness that was written about in this book is what every women dreams about. The way the four woman's lives are entwined is so beautiful. As I read, I could just imagine the splendor of the dress . I loved the conclusion .
I have already shared it with my best friend. I also brought a loaner copy so that I can keep mine to read again and again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Much More Than I Expected

Date:January 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wedding Dress was a complete surprise to me. I was not expecting to love this book. It has it all - contemporary, history, romance, mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I only keep a handful of books I have read on my bookshelf. This is one of those books that I will be keeping. I would absolutely recommend this book! Loved it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Wedding Dress
This review is fromThe Wedding Dress - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

surprise

Date:February 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
KAUKAU
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not always a fan of contemporary fiction, but this was good. Mystery and a bit of history tied up together in a smooth package.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a wonderful "read"

Date:September 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Judy
Location:North East Tennessee
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My book club is currently reading "The Wedding Dress" and we all agree that it is a wonderfulbook. Unlike most book clubs we do not read the entire book before we meet together to discuss the book. Since we have a couple of members that have not enjoyed reading but agreed to join us if we read about 100 pages and then meet every 2 weeks. I am so thrilled that even those members that don't "like to read" have trouble stopping at the stopping point in the book because they are loosing themselves in the story.
We met this morning and discussed the fact that one of the tv movie stations recently made a movie titled "The Wedding Dress" and we would like for them to make a movie from this newer book (publised in 2012). Those of us that saw their movie and are now reading this book all agree that the strory line in this new book is much better than the story line in the old movie.
We all agree that this is a book we would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Delightful Christian Romance

Date:August 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
ruthhill74
Location:Yelm, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was a pleasant surprise for me. I have read many historical fiction books in my time, and I have thoroughly enjoyed them. I am also an incredible fan of Christian romances, but this was so refreshingly different from anything I have ever read. And I read it very quickly.
The entire premise behind this book is a wedding dress that came into contact with four women and impacted them all in special ways. This means that the dress is over 100 years old. And it just so happens that Charlotte ends up getting this dress--almost by accident. She has no idea when she gets it what a marvelous journey she will undertake!
Because the book covered four different women and showed how their stories intersect, I was quite intrigued. It was also clear how strongly divine appointment figured into the story. There were too many coincidences for it to not be the work of God. I loved how the author wove everything together in a unique, endearing story. I think I experienced every emotion along with these characters.
My favorite character was Emily. I was glad that the author spent her time covering this wonderful character. However, Charlotte was the one with whom I could identify. And God definitely spoke to me through her. I was reminded that God puts everything in our lives for a reason, and we just have to trust Him for the outcome. God doesn't give us good gifts and then delight in taking them away just to tease us or punish us.
The center of the story is definitely this magical dress. It seems to take on a life of its own. And I was quite pleased to see the parallels that the author drew between the Christian walk and the wedding dress. This is a historical romance that I think just about anyone who likes that genre would enjoy. It is a charming story told from a wonderfully fresh perspective.
I was sent a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not financially compensated in any way, and opinions are 100 percent mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Redemption

Date:July 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lesau
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Description
“Four brides. One dress.
A tale of faith, redemption, and timeless love.
Charlotte owns a chic Birmingham bridal boutique. Dressing brides for their big day is her gift—and her passion. But with her own wedding day approaching, why can’t she find the perfect dress—or feel certain she should marry Tim?
Then Charlotte purchases a vintage dress in a battered trunk at an estate sale. It looks brand-new, shimmering with pearls and satin, hand-stitched and timeless in its design. But where did it come from? Who wore it? Who welded the lock shut and tucked the dog tags in that little sachet? Who left it in the basement for a ten-year-old girl? And what about the mysterious man in the purple vest who insists the dress had been “redeemed”?
Charlotte’s search for the gown’s history—and its new bride—begins as a distraction from her sputtering love life. But it takes on a life of its own as she comes to know the women who have worn the dress. Emily from 1912. Mary Grace from 1939. Hillary from 1968. Each with her own story of promise, pain, and destiny. And each with something unique to share. For woven within the threads of the beautiful hundred-year-old gown is the truth about Charlotte’s heritage, the power of courage and faith, and the beauty of finding true love.”
The title and the description on the back of the book caught my attention. I really enjoyed this book a lot. I enjoyed the hunt for the history of the dress and the connections that were made because of the search for truth. It gave me hope that life will turn out good for those who seek the truth. It was entertaining, romantic and a little bit magical. My favourite type of ‘easy on the brain’ read.
Redemption and trust would be the two words I would use to describe the theme of the book. I was given this book from booksneeze.com to review. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Wedding Dress
This review is fromThe Wedding Dress - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

different eras

Date:August 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cynthia Mcpherson
Location:Columbus, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Interesting plot, at times confusing with jumping from one era to another
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Book by Rachel Hauck

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Description
Charlotte can dress any bride to perfection-except herself. When she discovers a vintage mint-condition wedding gown in a battered old trunk, Charlotte embarks on a passionate journey to discover the women who wore the gown before her. Emily in 1912. Mary in 1939. And Hillary in 1968. Each woman teaches Charlotte something about love in her own unique way. Woven within the threads of the beautiful hundred-year-old gown is the truth about Charlotte's heritage, the power of faith, and the beauty of finding true love.
Review
This book is a Great book. This is the first book I have ready by Rachel Hauck, and it will not be the last. I loved this story. It starts out with Charlotte Malone, who is engaged but is not for sure about it. In the meantime, she goes to a mountain to just think, and she winds up in an auction buying an old trunk and the contents are very surprising. She finds a wedding dress in there and the journeys that dress has taken dating back to 1912. It was first worn by Emily and then Mary Grace, Hillary and now it is in Charlotte’s possession. I just loved this book because I would love to trace my roots and see what I find and Rachel takes you on that journey. I loved this saying in the book and just had to share with everyone. "The Good News is always Good. It never wears out and is always in style". Hope everyone enjoys that.
I would suggest this book to my family and friends, which I have already done that. I absolutely couldn’t put it down, Rachel Hauck just draws you into her story and I thoroughly loved it. I hope to read another one of Rachel’s books soon. Thank you, Thomas Nelson for letting me read this book and give it an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved the book.

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angels
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a wonderful book. The characters are so alive. I love the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good interesting read

Date:May 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joan K. Landis
Location:Perkiomenville, PA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this book. It is well written with great realistic, well developed characters. A little bit of intrigue and mystery to keep you turning the pages of a great romance novel. I will certainly look for other books by this author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another book with take home value.

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sharon A Lavy
Location:OH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an orphan, Charlotte wishes she could go back in time to a happier scene of her childhood.
She remembers a special place where she often picnicked with her mother. But when she arrives at “their spot” it is crowded with interlopers. Having of all things, a sale.
She ends up with an old trunk that she didn’t know she wanted. When she unlocks secrets from the past, she finds her future.
I appreciated the theme of finding your heritage, or family, and what all that means.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful Story, Timeless Subject

Date:May 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Monica H
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wedding Dress was the first book I read by Rachel Hauck, and after reading it I’m anxious to check out some of her other books. It was a well-written, engaging story about a wedding gown that has been worn by four different women. In addition to having a underlying Christian theme, this book incorporated elements of many different genres including suspense, romance, historical fiction and contemporary fiction.
I was instantly captivated by the premise of this book, and thoroughly enjoyed reading it and trying to discover the connections between the characters. The author did a good job of weaving the characters’ stories together without creating clichéd or obvious connections.
The stories of the four women who possessed the wedding dress are interwoven throughout the book in alternating chapters. This isn’t necessarily my favorite style of writing, as it can sometimes be hard to keep up with who the author is talking about and generally I favor a particular character and am eager to find out how their story ends. However, I think that the alternating viewpoints worked well in this story, as they were from such different time periods that it was easy to keep them straight. I did, however, develop a favorite character – Emily from 1912 – and frequently found myself reading ahead to find out what happened next. I loved her spunk and her spirit.
Overall this was a quick and very enjoyable read. It’s the type of book where you find yourself staying up late because you really want to know what happens next. I definitely recommend it to others.
Note: I received a copy of this book through BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Charming and Special read!

Date:April 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
girlsmama
Location:Edgewood, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Four women, one wedding dress managing its way through different times and situations, a one size fits all kind of dress, never needing any altering, never aging or looking out of date, always looking perfect on each bride. Spanning in time from 1812 to present, the reader discovers the origin of the dress and how it came to be and the mystery behind all the women that wore the dress and how they were linked together. I found this storyline to be most captivating and most charming as the story unfolds taking it’s time in a most wonderful way.
The story opens with our present day heroine Charlotte inexplicably finding herself at the annual Ludlow Antiques auction at the Ludlow estate, bidding on a mysterious trunk with who knows what inside; 1,000$ of bidding later the trunk is hers. She is a bit surprised at herself for splurging so to speak, as she is a future bride herself saving for her own wedding that is rapidly approaching. But this little purchase sends her on a mystery of her own as she seeks to know the story behind what’s in the trunk which is of course “the wedding dress”. While this contemporary storyline is happening, the book also flashes back to 1812 and Emily Canton a young beautiful woman with 2 men that have caught her eye, one that she thought was only in her past and one who is very much in her present. As the story unfolds Emily discovers who is after her heart and who has ulterior motives. Two other “wearer’s of the dress” Mary Grace and Hillary have lesser storylines but they are still intricate to the novel and an important part in the story.
Rachel Hauck weaves joy, heartache, coming of age struggles , love and a charming element of magic in a certain male character that pops up throughout the novel that just make this story a delight to read. This novel has wide range appeal as who doesn’t love to read a little romance, but also in this novel a strong historical component as the dress spans through time and what was happening to the women, as well as a nice contemporary storyline as well, as a friend of mine said- “it has something for everyone”. I heartily agree. I also want to mention that the author’s note at the end is not one to be skipped as it brings even more light to the precious spiritual elements to the book.
I highly recommend this book, there’s just something really special about it.
5 stars
I was graciously provided a digital copy of this book from Thomas Nelson through the Netgalley program in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are honest and my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent read.

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marjorie Vawter
Location:Marshfield, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Wedding Dress is an amazing story of how one wedding dress ties together four brides over the past century. From the moment Charlotte bids on the battered trunk, I fell in love with the story. Charlotte is only weeks away from her own wedding, and she has yet to find the dress that is uniquely hers. For a woman who has both feet firmly planted in the present, she is strangely drawn to the trunk she buys at an auction, intrigued by the odd auctioneer who claimed she had redeemed the chest. Rachel has done an outstanding job of weaving the stories together, giving Charlotte a better understanding of her faith, redemption, and true love.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Wedding Dress
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Weddings Through Time

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Loved this book about "Love", it is so very heartwarming and refreshing. The story begins in 2012, but again it begins in 1912. The book keeps unfolding, and the beautiful wedding dress is at the heart of this story. Four different brides! Yes, Love is everywhere, enduring! You can just picture this beautiful dress, and then picture each bride in it. I never really expected the ending in this book, and it is such a great story, that seems to have really happened just as it is written.
We live in the lives of all of the characters with the help of Ms Hauck...I wanted to be back in 1912, and them again at each of the three other weddings.
I would read this book again and again. I highly recommend this historical fiction book!
I received this book from the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.