Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3

Thomas Nelson Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3

When Miranda Hunt sees the classified ad for an heiress to the legendary Last Chance Ranch, she knows that assuming the identity of Annie Beckman is the perfect cover. As one of the finest agents for the Pinkerton Detective Agency, Miranda has been tasked with apprehending the Phantom...an elusive and notorious train robber thought to be hiding on the sprawling ranch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.677 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 31100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Review 1 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Humor, Mystery and Romance

Date:March 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
A Reader
Location:NC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mystery, humor and romance meet in Margaret Brownley's "Gunpowder Tea". Pinkerton operative, Miranda "Annie" Hunt, has taken the job as the next possible heiress to Last Chance Ranch in order to discover the identity and whereabouts of a famous criminal. Several humorous mix-ups occur when Wells Fargo detective, Jeremy Taggart, has also been given the assignment of discovering this same criminal. Neither one knows who the other is and suspicions run high!
Even after reading four other Margaret Brownley novels I forgot how well she writes humor into ordinary situations. Mrs. Brownley is talented at crafting words in such a way that makes me smile and then laugh out loud as I'm reading.
Miranda was a brave heroine, but still had a vulnerable soul underneath. I liked how she still wanted to feel feminine and be loved as a woman even when doing tough, dangerous work. Miranda "Annie" was able to separate her work and private life too.
Jeremy was a wonderful, handsome man. That saying, he was a little bit of the stereotypical hero of hundreds of other books I have read. His one humorous bad habit and the cute bantering back and forth with Annie about suspects and cases, just saved him from this fate.
The romantic elements were much better here than in the two previous novels in this series. Having the hero and heroine in the same location for most of the book definitely helped. That aspect was greatly missed in the others.
I love tea and so enjoyed all the different kinds brought forward in this book! That was a nice break in the middle of all the intrigue.
If you are wanting to read a lot about ranching then this novel isn't for you. The mystery is the whole focus. Even though I enjoyed the intrigue I'm glad it wasn't more suspenseful than it was. Obviously, it was necessary to have a mystery as the plot because it was their assignment and I understand that.
I enjoyed my trip west while reading this book and loved the Pinkerton elements. As always, the quotes at the beginning of each chapter are something to which I look forward. I wish more authors would do this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book in the series, I enjoyed all 3 books

Date:February 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
wfnren
Location:St Cloud, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Annie Beckman (Miranda Hunt) and David Branch (Jeremy Taggart) are both on the train to Cactus Patch, Arizona although they don't know each other they are both headed to the Last Chance Ranch. When a man appears to have dropped an envelope Annie picks it up and returns it to him causing Branch to think she's the Phantom, the leader of the Phantom gang or at least a member. Right before the train arrives in Cactus Patch the man that had dropped the envelope and two others, including Branch, rob the passengers but to their despair they are all three arrested as soon as they get off of the train.
How did the sheriff know the train would be robbed, they got a call from the Phantom telling him and while he was arresting the three robbers, the Phantom was robbing the bank. Annie catches a ride to the ranch with Stretch but when she gets there no one is at the house. She waits and finally having to use the facilities she goes inside but when she comes around a corner she surprises Miss Walker who falls and breaks her femur. Now Annie has to be a nurse to the crotchety old lady and still try to find the Phantom for the Pinkerton Detective Agency, she has her work cut out for her.
Branch is released from jail on a ruse, because he actually works for the Wells Fargo Detective Agency, and goes to work on the Last Chance Ranch also. The two agents from opposing agency's suspect everyone, including each other and even Miss Walker.
This was the best book in the series, it has a mystery to it and it stays a mystery to the end. When Annie discovers what Branch is responsible for she wants nothing more to do with him, as if she wanted anything to do with him before. If you think Miss Walker was a bossy person before, her demeanor being laid up with a broken let hanging from the rafters, so to speak, make things worse. There is a very surprising ending though!
Margaret really outdid herself with this book and I would highly recommend investing in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Story

Date:December 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
deanna13
Location:Jonesboro, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gunpowder Tea by Margaret Brownley is a most delightful story that begins in New Orleans in 1897 and then moves to the Arizona Territory. Miranda Hunt is the only female operative working for the Pinkerton National Detective Agency. She is being sent to the Arizona Territory to capture the Phantom, a very elusive outlaw who is the head of a group that rob trains and banks. It is believed that the Phantom is hiding on the Last Chance Ranch and when Miranda sees an ad for an heiress for the ranch she knows that she has found the perfect cover. To add to her cover she has assumed the name of Annie Beckman. Unknown to Annie, Jeremy Taggart, a detective with Wells Fargo, is also working undercover at the ranch in the hope of capturing the Phantom. His undercover name is Branch. They are attracted to each other but their lives and careers depend on the case being solved so they avoid each other as much as possible..
The author did an excellent job in the development of the plot. There were many twists and turns that kept me guessing from page to page as to what would happen next. I don’t think I have ever read a novel in which the suspense kept me guessing until almost the very end of the book. I was really surprised when the identity of the Phantom was revealed. Margaret Brownley definitely has a knack for writing mystery/suspense novels. All the characters simply came to life on the pages of the book and I felt as if most of them were my friends by the time I finished the book. Dialogue was very realistic and scenes were well developed and I felt as if I were right in the middle of the action taking place. The “words of wisdom” that began each chapter gave me a lot of good laughs. I had never heard of gunpowder tea but after reading this book I would like to find some and give it a try. The story had a good ending and I hope that the author writes a sequel to let us know what happens to Miranda and Jeremy.
I highly recommend this book to anyone that loves a great western romance with lots of suspense and action.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun

Date:November 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
The Happy Reader
Location:Columbia, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book can stand alone even though it's the third and last of a series. I didn't read the first two, and that didn't detract from it at all. I understood what was going on without any problems. I enjoyed that there wasn't so much back-story tying it to the other two books that I didn't have to read 1/3 of the story before I got anywhere.
The characters were fun and had just the right amount of spark and wit between them to keep me smiling and coming back for more. I liked the fact that Miranda/Annie is a strong woman who can outride and outshoot most men, yet still wasn't so stubborn that she couldn't enjoy and desire attention and affection from Taggert.
The historical elements weren't so overly pushed in your face that you cringed when they arrived, but instead, they whetted my appetite to learn more about both Pinkerton as well as Wells Fargo detectives. As usual, I tried to figure out who the bad guy was before Miranda/Annie, but Ms. Brownley got there first. I always enjoy a story more when I don't figure out who the bad guy is first.
I very much enjoyed this book and will be looking for more from Ms. Brownley!
*My thanks to the publisher who provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not required it be positive.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Read!

Date:November 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
weatherlover1
Location:U.P Mi
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4.5 Stars!
Miranda is a Pinkerton Detective and she has finally been given a case that she hopes will help her make a name for herself. She just has to find the leader of a gang while pretending to be interested in being the new heiress of a cattle ranch. She just has to win over the cranky old lady who runs it. What she did not expect was to find herself attracted to one of the ranch hands who has a questionable background.
Jeremy is a Well’s Fargo detective hot on the trail of the same gang leader. He had not planned to ever go back into the field but he must try to find his friend and stop the gang leader in the process. Miranda seems to be around every corner and the more he is around her the more complicated his mission becomes. Can these two figure out they are after the same guy and find love at the same time?
This was a very good book. It was a great mix of romance and suspense.
What I liked: I really liked all the characters in this book. Miranda was a strong female lead. I loved learning about her as a detective and a woman. Even as she started to fall for Jeremy she kept her wits about her and I liked that a lot. I also enjoyed Jeremy and how he liked Miranda for all her qualities. The supporting characters where also well written and make this book very enjoyable read.
What I did not like: There really was not much I did not like.
Overall this was a very enjoyable book. I really liked how the author explained a lot about the working of the detectives it make the book very interesting. I did not read the first two books in this series and this was easily a standalone book. I would suggest adding this to your reading list!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tea, trouble, and two terrific secret agents

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
An Old Fashioned Girl
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the last of her Brides of Last Chance Ranch series, Gunpowder Tea, Margaret Brownley pits Miranda Hunt, a female Pinkerton Agent out to prove her worth, against Wells Fargo Detective Jeremy Taggert, who is chasing the man who killed his friend. No one knows who the mysterious Phantom is, the outlaw plaguing Arizona with train, stagecoach, and bank robberies. All they know is that the clues point to Last Chance Ranch, and so each agency sends a representative to bring him to justice. Unfortunately, neither knows that the other agency has an operative in the field, and Miranda and Jeremy mutually assume the other is in the Phantom's gang. How can they catch the elusive Phantom if they are too busy chasing each other?
I have to say, the Phantom was pretty lucky to be pursued by two agents before they found out each other's identity. Since they were so busy assuming the other and their contacts were involved, the real outlaw could have gotten away clean by using a little more intelligence. Sadly for the thief, villains are prone to such errors of judgement. However, as a reader it was a lot of fun to watch the agents make logical assumptions based on the circumstances, understanding their reasoning but knowing just how wrong they are. It was a rather clever tactic by the author - both humorous and still able to show off their detective abilities. The clues to the real villain are carefully disguised, and I confess I did not pick up on them until Miranda spells it out.
I really enjoyed that Miranda keeps case files not only on all her suspects, but also on God - a journal of sorts, detective style. She knows He is in charge, but she has issues and questions that she wants to take up with Him, and keeping a case file suits her personality better than other styles of journaling. Throughout the novel Miranda is learning the difference between motives - is she doing this to please (and prove herself to) men, or to please God?
While the cover of a novel rarely factors into a review, I must say that this one is cleverly done - that look of pure suspicion on Jeremy's face as he accepts tea from the sweetly smiling Miranda as she hides a derringer behind her back . . . it suits the tone perfectly - full of humor, sparks, hidden agendas, and delicious beverages.
It is a fun novel and a fitting conclusion to the series - even Eleanor Walker finds a solution to her heiress problem (but I shan't spoil how) - and it is my favorite of the three. 4 out of 5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Two Undercover Agents, A Train Robber and Romance

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
VicsMediaRoom
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Margaret Brownley, in her new book, “Gunpowder Tea” Book Three in her The Brides Of Last Chance Ranch series published by Thomas Nelson takes us to the Arizona Territory in 1897 and into the life of Miranda Hunt.
From the back cover: In a case that could change her career, Miranda uncovers a love that will change her life.
When Miranda Hunt sees the classified ad for an heiress to the legendary Last Chance Ranch, she knows assuming the identity of Annie Beckman is the perfect cover. As one of the finest agents for the Pinkerton Detective Agency, Miranda has been tasked with apprehending the Phantom – an elusive and notorious train robber thought to be hiding on the sprawling ranch.
But she isn’t the only one there with something to hide. Wells Fargo detective Jeremy Taggert is working the scene undercover as well. And although their true identities are a secret, it is impossible for Jeremy and Miranda to hide the spark that flares between them.
But neither is about to let romance interfere with such a huge case. Besides, Miranda hasn’t removed Jeremy from her list of suspects yet. The closer they come to uncovering the identity of the Phantom, the more dangerous he gets – and no one on the ranch is safe.
But neither are their hearts – the longer Miranda and Jeremy spend working together, the harder it becomes to keep their feelings in check. Their careers – and their lives – depend on solving this case. Love will have to wait.
No doubt about it I like Westerns. I have no idea why, however, any book that has a Pinkerton Agent in it I automatically have the need to read. In “Gunpowder Tea” Margaret Brownley multiplies that need times two as Miranda is an agent and Jeremy, while he works for Well Fargo and isn’t a Pinkerton, counts as he is working undercover. Both of them are after a train robber called The Phantom. If you like Westerns this is the book for you. On top of everything “Gunpowder Tea” is an incredible romance that is full of charm and humor. And all of this is set against a historical backdrop that is fascinating to read. Margaret Brownley has done it again. I am sorry that this series is ending however I am looking forward to more from this highly talented author.
If you missed the interview for “A Lady Like Sarah”, a different series from Margaret Brownley, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gunpowder Tea

Date:November 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Its About Time Mamaw
Location:Cleveland, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miranda Hunt's dream has come true, she has been assigned to the case of the Phantom an elusive robber. He is suspected to be in the vicinity of the Last Chance Ranch. Miranda will be undercover as Annie Beckman. Her boss at Pinkerton Detective Agency applied to an advertisement for heiress to the Last Chance Ranch. She is to report to the local Marshal and to make sure her true identity is kept secret from everyone else.
She has the misfortune of crossing paths with Jeremy Taggart a member of Phantom Gang But unbeknownst to Miranda he is actually a Wells Fargo detective, undercover as a member of the Phantom gang. He suspects she is part of the Phantom gang and she saw him with train robbers from the Phantom gang. He ends up hiding out at the Last Chance Ranch as a hired hand.
Despite their suspensions of each other they find an attraction to each other and fear if they let their feelings known it could hinder their investigation and capture of the Phantom. What an eye opener when their true identity is revealed!
The author has created a strong willed feisty woman as the next heiress of the Last Chance Ranch. This book over the others in this series has more of a twist which kept me entertained. The author has a good sense of humor and uses it throughout the book to temper the rough characteristics of Miss Walker and the other characters.
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure: I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson/Litfuse Publicity Group for review. I was in no way compensated for this review. This review is my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
This review is fromGunpowder Tea - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a case that could change her career, Miranda uncovers a love that will change her life.
When Miranda Hunt sees the classified ad for an heiress to the legendary Last Chance Ranch, she knows assuming the identity of Annie Beckman is the perfect cover. As one of the finest agents for the Pinkerton Detective Agency, Miranda has been tasked with apprehending the Phantom - an elusive and notorious train robber thought to be hiding on the sprawling ranch.
But she isn't the only one there with something to hide. Wells Fargo detective Jeremy Taggert is working the scene undercover as well. And although their true identities are a secret, it is impossible for Jeremy and Miranda to hide the spark that flares between them.
But neither is about to let romance interfere with such a huge case. Besides, Miranda hasn't removed Jeremy from her list of suspects yet. The closer they come to uncovering the identity of the Phantom, the more dangerous he gets - and no one on the ranch is safe.
But neither are their hearts - the longer Miranda and Jeremy spend working together, the harder it becomes to keep their feelings in check. Their careers - and their lives - depend on solving this case. Love will have to wait.
My Review:
This novel was a light, fun story. The interaction between "Branch" and "Annie" were fun to read, especially since they can't decide whether they are flirting or working their case! I found it amusing that Miranda was so drawn to Jeremy even though she was trying to consider him a suspect on her list. The title finally made sense when I read through their constant back and forth banter, and I found the dynamics of their quickly growing fondness of each other endearing.
While I read the book completely out of context with the series, I did find myself confused a little bit by the details contained herein. I felt at times that I was missing something that may have been covered better in the two previous novels. When I read a trilogy from start to finish, I often find the repetitive details annoying. But when I read a trilogy our of context and those extra details are not there to help me out, I feel lost. Either way, the book was well written, with characters I can relate to despite the historical time period. Brownley does a good job connecting the reader with the story, and I was very pleased with the cop style humor that drew me in the beginning.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best of the 3! 4.5 stars!

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephanie
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not a huge fan of comedic fiction (I prefer the serious side of things), but I've enjoyed the stories I've read of Margaret's. She has just the right balance of sobriety and humor.
Gunpowder Tea is the last book in her Brides of Last Chance Ranch series...and I thought it was the best one! I've always liked stories involving detectives, especially Pinkertons!, and when the first chapter involved a woman Pink, a thief, a stray shot at a funeral, and an overreacting, hysterical widow, I knew Margaret had done it again. I suspected Gunpowder Tea would be delightfully dangerous.
It was great! Gasps and giggles... with an ending (and criminal) I didn't expect.
If you haven't read books 1 and 2, you should! You don't have to, but it makes the ending of Gunpowder Tea all the better!
*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given, and all thoughts are 100% mine.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
debwilson
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In a case that could change her career, Miranda uncovers a love that will change her life.
When Miranda Hunt sees the classified ad for an heiress to the legendary Last Chance Ranch, she knows assuming the identity of Annie Beckman is the perfect cover. As one of the finest agents for the Pinkerton Detective Agency, Miranda has been tasked with apprehending the Phantom - an elusive and notorious train robber thought to be hiding on the sprawling ranch.
But she isn't the only one there with something to hide. Wells Fargo detective Jeremy Taggert is working the scene undercover as well. And although their true identities are a secret, it is impossible for Jeremy and Miranda to hide the spark that flares between them.
But neither is about to let romance interfere with such a huge case. Besides, Miranda hasn't removed Jeremy from her list of suspects yet. The closer they come to uncovering the identity of the Phantom, the more dangerous he gets - and no one on the ranch is safe.
But neither are their hearts - the longer Miranda and Jeremy spend working together, the harder it becomes to keep their feelings in check. Their careers - and their lives - depend on solving this case. Love will have to wait.
My Review:
This novel was a light, fun story. The interaction between "Branch" and "Annie" were fun to read, especially since they can't decide whether they are flirting or working their case! I found it amusing that Miranda was so drawn to Jeremy even though she was trying to consider him a suspect on her list. The title finally made sense when I read through their constant back and forth banter, and I found the dynamics of their quickly growing fondness of each other endearing.
While I read the book completely out of context with the series, I did find myself confused a little bit by the details contained herein. I felt at times that I was missing something that may have been covered better in the two previous novels. When I read a trilogy from start to finish, I often find the repetitive details annoying. But when I read a trilogy our of context and those extra details are not there to help me out, I feel lost. Either way, the book was well written, with characters I can relate to despite the historical time period. Brownley does a good job connecting the reader with the story, and I was very pleased with the cop style humor that drew me in the beginning.
This book was provided by the publisher through Litfuse Nest for free in exchange for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
lcjohnson1988
Location:Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gunpowder Tea is the sequel to Dawn Comes Early as well as Waiting for Morning. These novels of the Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series are filled with light-hearted humor, romance and just a touch of mystery to keep readers engaged till the last page! Margaret Brownley writes with such heartwarming humor that will lighten anyone’s day. I have read the other novels written by this author and was never disappointed making time to sit back and get lost in the pages of her books.
Here is a woman who has decided to follow in her father’s footsteps in a profession where any woman in the late 1800s is welcomed or encouraged to become employed. After Miranda’s latest escapade, she is summarily summoned to the boss’s office where she expects to be fired. When she is given another job to do, her surprise at the assignment plus moving to where she has never been, begin a journey Miranda is not soon to forget.
Everyone, except the owner of the ranch, is under suspicion for the murder of a detective and arson. There are two agencies working on the case, but the competition between companies is not one of hospitality. One agent comes to find out if the ring leader of the bandits lives on the ranch. The other agent came for other reasons besides locating and arresting the bandit known as Phantom. When the identities of both agents become known, the question is who else knows? The level of danger increases as the investigators slowly ensnare the leader.
Reading the interaction between “Branch” who works for some company and “Annie” who is a Pinkerton Agent is so funny. The bantering, flirting and attraction while trying to remain devoted to the case makes for an enjoyable adventure. In the background, there always seems to be someone lurking purposefully staying in the shadows to hide from detection.
The other characters in the tale and the ending will make the time spent reading well worth it! Here is another novel with faith as the foundation, set in the western territory of Arizona. Love, questions to God, honesty, faith, action and adventure are some of the ingredients to another best selling, excellent tale!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a well written novel

Date:October 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a fascinating, light-hearted read Gunpwder Tea was. Grab your favorite tea and nestle in your comfortable chair as you try together with Miranda to find the Phantom robber! Told in Margaret Brownley's unique voice, pitting Pinkerton Operative against Wells Fargo Detective brings its own tense moments. Going undercover is not always all it is meant to be, and every one is suspect, even the crusty old owner of the ranch, who is only looking for a hieress to take over for her, and certainly the new ranch hand who is new to ranching!
And just what is Gunpowder Tea? - Even this is explained in the book. Pick yours up to find out.
An entertaining read, this is the last book in her Brides of Last Chance Ranch (following Dawn Comes Early and Waiting for Morning) and loses nothing by being a stand alone novel. I have not read the first two but I will be looking for the other two, as this was that good. A great mystery, as well, because I missed the subtle hints that pointed to the Phantom, while watching the others closely,
I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group and Thomas Nelson in exchange for an honest review. A positive critique was not required. The opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A page turner!

Date:October 24, 2013
Customer Avatar
PastorsDaughter
Location:WV
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
About:
When Miranda Hunt sees the classified ad for an heiress to the legendary Last Chance Ranch, she knows that assuming the identity of Annie Beckman is the perfect cover. It seems like the big breaks she'd been wanting when, as one of the finest agents for the Pinkerton Detective Agency, Miranda has been tasked with apprehending the Phantom.
The Phantom is robber who is suspected to be hiding out on the last Chance Ranch and Miranda is determined not to blow her cover - this case is too big to pass up!
My thoughts:
Gahhh I loved this book! Exciting and a page turner! Kept me reading, and reading, until I'd finished. It was funny, serious at times, exciting, and I have to admit that the mystery wasn't solved by me until the end.
Pros: Exciting, full of drama and a page turner. You fell in love with the characters I now long to visit the Last Chance Ranch and Texas. It was at times humorous which made the story even richer.
Cons: It could drag at times and sometimes it got "too good to be true".
I got this book free from booksneeze and everything was my own thoughts
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gunpowder Tea by Margaret Brownley

Date:October 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:NC
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Pinkerton Operative, Miranda Hunt, needed an important assignment. One that would prove she is as good as any man on the job. When her boss sends her to Cactus Patch to The Last Chance Ranch to track down the Phantom, a local robber that is terrorizing the area, Miranda is determined to get her man. Once and for all this will give her the respect as an Operative she has always craved. Ranch owner, Eleanor Walker, is looking for a female heiress to take over her ranch but there is one condition. The woman wanting the position has to sign a contract stating she will never marry. So Miranda goes undercover as Eleanor's new potential heiress, Annie Beckman. When the new ranch hand Branch comes on the scene, Miranda sees him as a suspect but she also doesn't know how to handle the new feelings he awakens in her. She has always been content with the lonely life of being an Operative but after being in Branch's arms she isn't sure she can ever be content with that life again. When his true identity as Jeremy Taggert, a Wells Fargo Detective, is brought to light Miranda must deal with the issues of her past in order to move toward her future. Can her love for Jeremy and her love for her job come together or will her love of one push her away from the other?
Jeremy Taggert had semi retired from his job as a Wells Fargo Detective but when his best friend is killed by the Phantom, Jeremy is determined to bring him to justice. Working undercover as a ranch hand at The Last a Chance Ranch gives him access to several suspects. It also puts him in close proximity to Annie Beckman and Jeremy soon realizes it's a dangerous position to be in. He might find the Phantom but, in the process, he might also lose his heart. When Annie finds out that Jeremy is the detective involved in the case that resulted in her father's death she wants nothing more to do with him. Can Jeremy break through her defenses and win her heart or will he continue on with the lonely life of a detective?
This being the third book in The Brides of The Last Chance Ranch series, I was waiting anxiously to read this book. I was in no way disappointed. I thoroughly enjoyed revisiting the characters I had come to love so much. Mrs. Walker's sharp tongue and tough exterior hides the warm, caring person within. I like her toughness, strength and gumption. I love Ruckus' pension to always point others to God when the chips are down. I also love Miranda's determination and the fact that she kept a GTF (God The Father) file where she wrote down all of her questions and concerns that only God could answer. I also loved the quirky little quotes at the beginning of each chapter. I found myself chuckling at them quite often. The characters were lovable and the story was thoroughly enjoyable. A blend of romance, western culture and a dab of suspense all in one. Margaret Brownley is one of my favorite authors because she never disappoints. I highly recommend this book, this entire series, to fans of historical western romaces.
**I received a free copy of this book from the publisher for my honest review**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best book of the series!

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shannah
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my favorite book of the whole series. Miranda Hunt (a.k.a. Annie Beckman) has been trying to prove herself her whole life. First, to her father. Second, to her superiors and other Pinkerton operatives. Third, to herself. She is strong-willed, determined, and is not afraid to question things. She is very good at her job, and feels that a big case will fulfill her empty heart. Jeremy Taggart (a.k.a. Branch) is handsome and charming. He has recently come out of semi-retirement to work a case on the Phantom. What neither Annie nor Branch bargained for was meeting each other on Last Chance Ranch.
The story line is so good! It's the most exciting of the three. There is action, mystery, and a little bit of romance. The intensity between Annie and Branch is palpable. I don't know about you, but I could feel it coming off the pages! This well written story had me guessing until the very end. I loved the side story of Miss Walker. I was very pleased with how that story ended! I also liked that it mentioned the other characters from the first two books and gives us an "update" on their lives. Aunt Bessie is as comical as ever, and does not detract from the story in any way. The message is this: what type of faith do you have? Is it a trusting faith, or a questioning faith? Can you learn to forgive and forget the past and "follow the joy" of the life God has planned for you?
Overall, this book has it all! Mystery, action, and romance. What more could you ask for? Read it today!
**I received a free copy of this book from the publisher as part of the BookSneeze program in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Romance, mystery and more - total enjoyment

Date:October 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Iola
Location:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miranda Hunt, an agent for the famous Pinkerton Detective Agency, is sent to the town of Cactus Patch in Arizona territory to attempt to identify the Phantom, the leader of a well-known band of bank robbers. Her cover identity is Miss Annie Beckman, applicant for the position of heiress of the Last Chance ranch. She’s sure the new ranch hand, Branch, is involved, but there are complications: she’s housebound, looking after Miss Walker, and she’s strangely attracted to Branch …
Jeremy Taggert, currently known as David Branch, is an undercover Wells Fargo agent also hunting the Phantom. He’s suspicious of Annie, because he’s convinced she’s hiding something (well, she is), and decides she’s a member of the Phantom’s gang.
I really enjoyed Gunpowder Tea, the final book in the Last Chance trilogy. I read and reviewed the first but not the second, and Gunpowder Tea can easily be read as a stand-alone. It’s an enjoyable mix of mystery and romance set in the old West, and features some of my favourite historical Christian fiction staples: intelligent heroine with an unusual occupation, handsome and gentlemanly hero hiding his true self, and a plot that’s a comfortable mix of romance and suspense. No, it’s not going to win the Booker Prize, but it’s an enjoyable read (which is probably more than can be said for most Booker Prize winners). Recommended.
Thanks to Thomas Nelson and NetGalley for providing a free ebook for review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gunpowder Tea by Margaret Brownley

Date:October 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
cathy
Location:Kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gunpowder Tea by Margaret Brownley has an 18th century setting for this Christian novel. Miranda Hunt works for the Pinkerton Detective Agency and she has been given some minor crimes to go undercover to solve but she has never been given that big crime case. Finally one has come along that requires a female crime fighter and she is given her big chance. She has assumed the identity of Annie Beckman and is working undercover as the new heiress that the owner of the Last Chance Ranch has advertised. Annie/Miranda is to solve the case of who is robbing the banks and trains in the area and the latest clues point to the robber being a worker at the Last Chance Ranch. On the train ride out to the ranch several of the other riders turn out to be robbers of the Phantom Gang and Miranda finds herself one of the victims. She arrives and works herself out to the Last Chance only to find that the cantankerous owner, Eleanor Walker, is not at home and since she really needs to answer nature’s call. Annie walks on in the house and uses the bathroom. Unfortunately afterwards when she is leaving she finds out that Eunice is at home startles the elderly lady and Mrs. Walker falls down the stairs breaking her leg. Miranda, aka Annie, finds herself Eunice’s nursemaid as well as learns about how to run a ranch. Annie and Eunice learn how to work together after a fashion while Annie works the case. Annie finds that one of the robbers is a worker on the ranch and works to find clues who the leader of the gang is as she finds herself drawn to the robber, Jeremy Taggart. He says that he is working undercover also but Annie isn’t so sure.
I liked this book. It is a story of a strong Christian woman working to find a way of life on her own especially 100 years ago. This novel shows that with tenacity working in a so called man’s field is possible even without giving up feminity. Anna is a pure woman but she has a tough side that works in her chosen field. She learns to trust in God’s choices for her as she also learns to trust her own choices. One of the comments I had on this book is that it states that you can tell what God’s wishes are for you by the pure joy you have when doing it. I like that. I like that this book expresses that God wants us to have joy in our life when we make good choices. God the father wants happiness and joy for His children and we only have to desire His wishes in order to have that joy. We serve a mighty and loving God, do we not?
This book was provided by Booksneeze for this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Gunpowder Tea by Margaret Brownley

Date:October 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tuesday, October 15, 2013
Gunpowder Tea by Margaret Brownley
Book 3 of The Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series tells the story of Miranda Hunt, a Pinkerton agent who has answered an ad for an heiress of Miss Eleanor Walker's ranch. Since Miss Walker has no children to inherit her ranch is looking for a strong woman who will put the ranch above else, and that means remaining single. So Miranda becomes Annie Beckman, an undercover operative for the Pinkerton agency, who is trying to prove that a woman can do the same job as a man. She is hoping to find the identity of The Phantom, who is responsible for numerous bank and train robberies. Her boss seems to think there is a connection to the Last Chance Ranch. And so does the Wells Fargo detective Jeremy Taggart. He is undercover as a ranch hand for Miss Walker, yet neither Miranda or Jeremy is aware they are there for the same purpose. Strange accidents become more frequent on the ranch and Jeremy and Miranda are thrown together. Jeremy and Miranda will have to decide if love or their careers are more important.
Set in Arizona Territory in 1897, if you love historical fiction, this novel is for you! I learned about the origins of the real Pinkerton agency as wells as the Wells Fargo detective agency. It had just the right amount of suspense and action for me. And the way the main characters conversed with each other was entertaining. You did not have to read the first 2 books in this series to understand the plot. I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone. Thank-you to Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending me a free copy to review.
Posted by basketballorange301 at 7:19 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gunpowder Tea, Brides of Last Chance Ranch Series #3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Steeped in romance, comedy and mystery all in one!

Date:October 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heart2Heart
Location:Victorville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In this charming and captivating novel, Gunpowder Tea, the reader is in for a true treat and not just in the form of a warm cup of tea. Miranda Hunt has always been trying to prove something, either to herself or to her father, a former Pinkerton detective that was killed while working a case. Being the only girl in the family, she found more comfort in hanging out with her brothers learning to ride, shot and fight like any of them. That's why it came as a complete surprise to her father to learn that Miranda was being hired as a Pinkerton detective.
Now despite some inconveniences that are trailing her past, like shooting a women's husband that was already dead apprehending a thief at a funeral, she gets the chance at a lifetime if she can locate and discover just who the Phantom is. The clues point to the Last Chance Ranch in Arizona and Miranda is going there disguised as a potential heiress under the name Annie Beckman, for the ranches owner, Miss Eleanor Walker. Now all she has to do is fulfill the job requirements of the advertisement while figuring out just who the possible criminal is. But the one thing she didn't figure on is being robbed on her train ride to Arizona and having her father's pocket watch taken while she couldn't do anything about it. She must remain undercover til she knows for sure who the Phantom is.
Wells Fargo detective, Jeremy Taggart is hoping that he can locate his missing friend who was tracking down the whereabouts of the Phantom in Arizona before its too late. What he doesn't plan on discovering is that his heart will be captured in the process by Annie Beckman, a lady he meets while robbing her on the train under the assumed name of Mr. David Branch. Now it seems that both Annie and David suspect each other of working with the Phantom game while both of them try to gain the upper hand in believing that each other will lead them to the leader. It's a true cat and mouse premise that will keep you guessing how well each of them puts together all their training to discover love in the process.
I received Gunpowder Tea by Margaret Brownley compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions contained in this review are mine alone. I absolutely LOVED this novel even though I haven't read the other two preceding novels in this series, I hope to be able to pick those up and see where it all began. There are some great funny moments between the two characters before and after they discover their true identities much like a western version of Mr. and Mrs. Smith. The secondary characters are also a wonderful addition to keep the storyline moving and interesting like the addition of the phone line being installed at the ranch and the benefits of all the tea that Annie keeps bringing to the ranch owner, Miss Walker who HATES tea! It will keep you in smiles and sighs the whole time. There is even a great discussion guide and recipe for Gunpowder Tea Bread at the end. I rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>