Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Hope Springs

Thomas Nelson Hope Springs

Hope Springs, North Carolina, is the epitome of small town life-a place filled with quiet streets where families have been friends for generations, a place where there's not a lot of change. Until three women suddenly find themselves planted there for a season.

Janelle hasn't gone back to Hope Springs for family reunions since losing her husband. But when she arrives for Christmas and learns that her grandmother is gravely ill, she decides to extend the stay. It isn't long before she runs into her first love, and feelings that have been dormant for more than a decade are reawakened.

Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1587%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hope Springs
Review 1 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT Book by Kim Cash Tate

Date:July 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Location:Yukon, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Book was supplied to me by Thomas Nelson Publishers through NetGalley for a review in return.
Book Description
Hope Springs, North Carolina, is the epitome of small town life-a place filled with quiet streets where families have been friends for generations, a place where there's not a lot of change. Until three women suddenly find themselves planted there for a season.
Janelle hasn't gone back to Hope Springs for family reunions since losing her husband. But when she arrives for Christmas and learns that her grandmother is gravely ill, she decides to extend the stay. It isn't long before she runs into her first love, and feelings that have been dormant for more than a decade are reawakened.
My Review
This book is the first book of Kim Cash Tate’s that I have read and I guarantee you, it will not be the last one either. She has a way of intertwining everyone into her story, you feel like you are there.
I love how Kim just draws you into her stories and this one is GREAT. I felt very close to Grandma Geri because she reminded me of what my grandma would have been like if she had lived long enough. I was only 7 when she passed away.
This story intertwines Janelle, Stephanie and Libby and I love how Kim just brings them so close together and how Jesus changes their lives. At first, I felt sorry for Janelle since she lost her husband and has to raise her kids. But, as the story goes on, you can see Jesus working in her heart. I thoroughly love that.
I grew really close to all of them, but I think I loved Grandma Geri the best. She was struggling through some pretty deep issues and I won’t tell you what they are because that would spoil it for you. She gets cancer and what she endures is amazing but she never left the Lord, if anything she grew closer.
Thank you Thomas Nelson Publishers for giving me a chance to read and review this WONDERFUL book. Thank you, Kim Cash Tate for giving us all a good book to read and learn how Jesus moves. I just have to say this one thing, “Jesus does not move, we do”. Just a thought.
I would suggest this book most definitely to my friends and family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hope Springs

Date:July 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
cindy
Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate tells the story of 3 cousins in the Saunders family who travel to their grandmother’s home to spend Christmas together but end up staying longer and learning about themselves and solving some of their problems. Janelle Evans’ husband died a few years earlier, and she finds it hard to go back to the pace they spent so much time together. Stephanie London lives in St. Louis with her husband and is nominated by her father as the one to represent the family at this holiday. Libby seems to be searching for something in her life, and she is unable to commit to a relationship. When these cousins reunite and learn their Grandmother Geri is sick, they decide to move in with her to help take care of the home and take her to doctor appointments.
This book looked at more than just family secrets. It also looked at the racial divide that still may exist in some areas. I liked the overall idea of the book and the focus on the importance of family. I also liked how each of these characters were so different from one another. Even though they were cousins, and were raised in similar families, they ended up completely different from one another.
I liked this book, but I felt like I was very confused with all of the characters. There were cousins, aunts and uncles, neighbors, random family friends, and grandchildren. I was unable to remember all of the characters connections to one another until I was basically finished the book. I think some of the characters could have been removed and the book would still have relayed the same meaning.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 [...] : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not my fav in the series, but worth reading.

Date:July 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle Sutton
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I enjoyed this third book in the series, though not as much as the first two books. My favorite novel of the author's is still the first story, Faithful, though I should say I did get a bit choked up a few times reading Hope Springs, so the author did a good job helping me to identify with several situations. There were some couples that I preferred reading about more than others. My only issue is that some of the story seemed to drag for me, while other parts were very interesting. I think the parts that dragged had to do with the fact that there were so many characters that I didn't care about some of them all that much. While there was conflict in this novel, some of it seemed almost too perfect in it's resolution. While on the one hand I do like the healing themes in this author's books, on the other hand, it doesn't feel as real to me when everything ends up tidy by the last page. Granted, some people had endings that were less than ideal (don't want to post a spoiler here) but they were inevitable conclusions, and in fact, that part of the book seemed to zip right on by...almost too fast for me.
Though I point out some things that didn't work for me, overall I liked this book. It was more spiritually focused in tone and dialog (and some readers might even see it as preachy) than her other two books. There were some good themes in this story such as the one questioning who you are doing ministry for...yourself, or others? What's your real motivation? I liked the conflict with Janelle and Kory. That part of the story worked for me. I loved it. I was not as fond of Becca. Her husband seemed like a good guy, though. I also loved the character Libby who had a history with Travis. I guess I like reading more about the broken-hearted women who see themselves as damaged in some way. Even Janelle felt guilty about having feelings for anyone after her husband died.
While grandma Geri was core to the story, I never grew that attached to her. I did like the underlying secret of Keisha's existance coming out toward the end, and also the theme about bringing the two churches together to blend them more and make them less segregated. So I did enjoy this book, but found myself skimming in some places because the conflict wasn't sufficient hold my attention. I don't like when I find myself skimming, and that's why I didn't rate it as high as her other novels. Overall she is a good author, though. Like I said earlier, I loved the first two books in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

An engaging novel with wonderful characters

Date:July 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hope Springs is an engaging novel that draws you deeply into the lives of the characters portrayed in its pages, while packing a powerful message of unity, of reconciliation, of God having plans for our lives greater than we could even hope for or imagine. At first, I found that there were a lot of characters to keep track of, and so until I had them sorted out in my mind I didn't feel as connected to the story. But soon I was swept up into the hopes and dreams of all the different family members, smiling at the antics of the children, feeling all emotional at the pain people had experienced, and cheering them on as they rediscovered the joy in their relationships and in their walks with God. I absolutely loved the element of the "white" church coming together with the "black" church, of dividing walls coming down, and I found the most poignancy in the scenes at the diner where Sarah-Ann is used by God to connect with others through her humility and her wisdom. What I most appreciated about this book is that it depicts the real struggles and challenges that Christians face today, whether temptations or divorce or racism or past mistakes, and so provides characters that readers will truly resonate with. Yet it also clearly shows the beauty of God's plan, of putting him first in our lives, and reaping the rewards that follow.
I strongly recommend this story and give it a rating of 4 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher, Thomas Nelson, and Litfuse Publicity Group.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

part of a series for southern African Americans

Date:July 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the third novel in a series by Tate. If you have not read at least one of the books in this series, you may be confused by the characters and the story line. I've read one but it was so long ago, I'd forgotten most of it. Unfortunately, Tate does not provide any catch up review to get readers up to speed if they've not read the others.
This novel centers on broken dreams and God working humility into people's lives. Several of the characters who come back to Hope Springs for a funeral (and other family events) have a history of relationships with one another. As the novel progresses, more inter-relationships are revealed and the story line gets very complex.
One major issue delt with in the novel is the notoriety that comes with being a successful conference speaker. I was very disappointed in how speakers at a successful women's conference were almost worshiped. I hope that's not how it really is. The lesson in humility comes when an aspiring speaker is told she is no longer needed after only one conference. She eventually learns how God is molding her through the experience and that was very realistic.
There are two churches in Hope Springs, one white and one black. Much of the novel revolves around families in the churches who know each other and have been friends for decades. Issues touched upon in this aspect of the novel include the possibility of the two churches worshiping together. Another is how families reacted when a white fellow got a black girl pregnant a generation ago.
I have a few issues with this book. I had difficulty remembering who was white and who was black. There are lots of people, lots of names, and I had to keep reminding myself who was who. Tate has not added much descriptive material (such as blue eyes, or so, something that would again remind the reader she was talking about a white person).
Some of the relationships bothered me. The white fellow who had gotten the black girl pregnant goes on to be come a preacher, hiding his past. I didn't like that at all. There was another relationship where a fellow is renewing his relationship with a girl he was attracted to as a teen. But his divorce is not even final yet, and that bothered me.
I certainly have mixed feelings about this novel. Tate is African American and her writing is aimed at a southern African American audience, I think. This Pacific Northwest white woman may be reading from such a different perspective that I had difficulty enjoying the novel.
I received a complimentary egalley of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful story of the freedom of letting go!

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
hannahetrotter
Gender:female
Reading Hope Springs was like stepping into the town itself. I could relate to so many of the characters, and I almost felt as if I was a part of their close-knit family.
The women in this book face struggles that we all deal with, sometimes even daily. Libby struggles with her dating relationships and the paralyzing fear of commitment. Stephanie is living a comfortable life, the one she carefully planned for, but feelings of discontent have her wondering if there’s something more. Becca has finally been given the opportunity of a lifetime, the very thing she’s always dreamed of, but what happens if it is immediately taken away? And could her husband’s calling be different than her own? Janelle is still grieving her husband’s death and is raising her two children on her own, wondering what is the next step in her life. Sara Ann desires to do more to serve her Lord, but fears that she isn’t worthy, isn’t good enough.
The small town of Hope Springs is honestly synonymous for many, many small towns and communities. Having grown up in a small southern town myself, I’ve seen first-hand the lines of segregation that still exist today. Miss Tate did an exemplary of presenting this issue in an honest, factual way. As Christians, these lines that we draw, regardless if they are racial, social, or simply lines of bitterness are dividing the plans and blessings that God has in store for us.
This story is also a great example of how easily secrets, feelings of prejudice and things left unspoken can tear a family apart. Learning to let go can be the hardest thing, but the most beautiful, and rewarding thing in the very end.
Hope Springs is the third novel Kim Cash Tate has written around the Sanders family, preceded by Faithful and Cherished.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book through a publicity agency. However I was not required to write a positive review, the opinions listed above are entirely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope Filled Drama

Date:June 22, 2012
The Sanders family gathers in Hope Springs for their annual fun-filled, family-packed Christmas. When Grandma Gerri is diagnosed with cancer, cousins Stephanie, Libby, and Janelle volunteer to stay in town to help care for her. They quickly become friends with Becca, newly arrived in Hope Springs following her father-in-law's sudden death. Family and lifelong friends are reunited for an emotional journey. They will all be changed forever.
After reading Cherished last fall, I knew I had to read more from Kim Cash Tate. I was excited to learn that Hope Springs follows more members of the Sanders clan and I wasn't disappointed! Hope Springs is a warm yet emotional story of three women trying to live the life God wants for them. While some stories like this leave me feeling sad or a little down after reading them, Hope Springs was filled with hope and left me with a satisfied sigh at the end.
The characters were completely real, and Kim shared the good, the bad, and the ordinary about each of them. There were quite a few people and stories going on simultaneously. I often get confused with so many characters, but it didn't bother me in this book. (And the family tree at the beginning helped as well!) I was drawn to each of the characters for one reason or another, which helped me connect with them and want to know how their particular story turned out. Similarly, several plot lines ran throughout the book, but they were told in such a way that it seemed just like . . . well . . . real life. :)
Tate certainly didn't shy away from dealing with tough topics either! Death, adultery, disunity in the Church, single parenting, racism, pride, and sexual immorality are brought up in this book. Every issue was presented realistically and with grace and redemption in mind.
Kim Cash Tate is quickly becoming one of my must-read authors. With realistic characters and engaging plots, I highly recommend Hope Springs to anyone who enjoys stories filled with drama, faith, emotion, and romance. My fingers are crossed that we'll be reading more about the Sanders family in the (near!) future!
[5 stars]
I received a free copy of this book from Thomas Nelson and Litfuse Publicity in exchange for my fair and honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

UPLIFTING NOVEL!

Date:June 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After several years of not being close to her family, Stephanie has a sudden urge to spend Christmas at her grandmother's house. While there, she learns that her grandmother has terminal cancer. Since her husband has volunteered for a medical missions trip to Haiti, she has time on her hands and offers to move in and help her cousins take care of her grandmother. In the months to come, the family not only goes through the trials of watching their grandmother as she weakens, but they also learn family secrets that have kept family members apart too long. But as they grow closer to one another, their faith in God grows stronger as well.
This was an uplifting Christian fiction novel. It was not too preachy or sappy, but the characters were very human. The situations that arose are the type that happen in families every day. On a personal level, I really related to Becca's character and her situation. It was also very nice to see how the author handled the interracial aspect of the church today. It has been said that Sunday is the most segregated day of the week, and although this is changing, it is still a slow change. I really appreciated the way she emphasized this point. My only complaint, and it is a small one: eventually, there were so many characters, I couldn't keep up with all of them. But that's still a small complaint for such a good novel. I look forward to reading more from this author. This was definitely 4 stars.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the Litfuse Publicity Group<http://www.litfusegroup.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Forgiveness

Date:June 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
MaureenT
Location:Syracuse NY
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hope Springs is a small town in North Carolina...held together by two churches...one white Calvery and the other black New Jerusalem.
The story starts when Jim Anderson pastor of Calvery passes away. He lives next door to Geri Sanders and their families have lived by each other most all of their lives. Both families come back to town for his services.
This book becomes a compelling read, and we are soon immersed in the lives of these families.
While in town it is found out that Grandma Geri is dying of lung cancer. This fact changes a lot of lives, and the family begins to focus mainly on her well being.
The center of the story are the lives of Granddaughters Janelle, Stephanie, Libby, and Becca Anderson...her husband is called to take over his Dad's Church.
Throughout this book I found God leading, yes there are hard times, and a lot of tears shed. Don't miss this page turning read!
I received this book from Litfuse Publicity Group and the Publisher Thomas Nelson, and was not required to give a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Interesting, with many characters

Date:June 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
Julieanne Miller
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This story, based on a large, extended family, takes place in the home and community of the most important and influential character in the family, Grandma Geri, who lives in the very small town of Hope Springs, North Carolina.
In the development of the story, the lives of many family members are revealed—exposed—explained. Some have fascinating lives, some have devastating history, some are filled with drama and mystery. Some are only mentioned but are not developed at all, or maybe only slightly.
While there are many “light” moments, there are also many very serious and life-changing moments and events in this story, some which affect the readers of the novel both mentally and emotionally.
The main characters are seriously dedicated to their belief in Christ and devoted to following His directions for their lives. While pursuing their goals as Christians, they are confronted with sadness, doubts, disappointments, and fears, as well as joy and victory! They have to become aware of how to live in Christ and accept that life on earth is not all that we always hope and sometimes expect it will be.
An interesting, sometimes confusing story with many characters (the “family tree” at the beginning of the book is definitely a HUGE benefit), this is also an interesting story of human relationships with many spiritual insights. It reveals truths that can benefit any reader who will recognize their own weaknesses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a novel about holding on and letting go

Date:June 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Wanham, Alberta
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished reading Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate and have to say it is one whopper of a novel. It deals with so many issues – divorce and remarriage, illegitimate children, racism as well as family relationships and losses and more. I love Grandma Geri from the very first time I met her. What spunk she had, what love, and yet she had faults and regrets. She reminds me of my own mother, who will be 86 in July.
The story is actually the story of three cousins Janelle, Becca and Stephanie who have their own issues to face, but it all happens in small town Hope Springs, North Carolina, where two races live side by side with friendships that run deep, yet divided, most notably on Sundays.
One of the lessons I learned and will take with me is disappointment can be a time of humility and drawing closer to God. Yes, this is an inspirational novel, complete with a study guide, but don't let that turn you away from reading this book. It deals with daily issues and actually looks at racism from both sides of the line.
Until I had read through the study questions to the very end I did not realize that Faithful was about the same families. Because I want to know more about the background to Hope Springs New, I will probably look for this novel as well but not because one is incomplete without the other.
I received this book free from Nelson Publishers through their booksneeze program for the purpose of writing a review. I was not required to write a positive review for them, and the opionions stated are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Unity in the church

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:Nebraska
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hope Springs is a book about being unified as believers. Hope Springs is a town with two churches, one black and one white. What would happen if they joined forces?
Hope Springs is a book about disappointment with God. What happens we pray about something, God answers the way we want Him to, only to later have it appear He changed His mind and has yanked back His answer?
Hope Springs is written by Kim Cash Tate and is an easy read. The book has 302 pages, that can seem quite daunting but it is a quick read.
There are some “adult” themes in the book that I did not care for. I know people are divorced, have affairs and have pre-marital sex but I do not want to read about it books. I know these behaviors have infiltrated the church. I hate that.
While knowing it exists does mean it is okay to read about it and I choose not to.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate

Date:May 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joline Urban
Location:western PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Monday, May 28, 2012
Hope Springs by Kim Cash Tate
Thomas Nelson provided me a free copy of Kim Cash Tate's latest novel, Hope Springs. Taking place in Hope Springs, NC it meshes the lives of 3 main characters: Janelle ,a young widow, her cousin Stephanie, and Becca, a pastor's wife. They have all come to Hope Springs for different reasons, but life will never be the same after their stay is over. The two main churches in town are still divided by racial lines, and as women from both churches get together at the local diner for a Bible study, they come to realize that it's God's church and God's plan for their lives, that it isn't all about themselves. This story is true to Southern life and gets you thinking about stepping out of your comfort zone and being a true servant to God, that one area of ministry is not greater than another. I have read two other novels by Tate and this one includes some of the same characters. The family tree listing in the front really helped me keep all the relationships straight. There is also Reading Group Discussion questions at the end. This wasn't my favorite novel of Tate's but it was a quick read, with an open ending for upcoming novels.
Posted by basketballorange301 at 8:07 PM
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hope Springs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Hope Springs ~ Kim Cash Tate

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Profmom
Location:San Jose, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Published by Thomas Nelson and provided free from BookSneeze for review, “Hope Springs” by Kim Cash Kate is a book that this reviewer did not want to end. Reading about the Stanton and Dillon families was really more like visiting relatives and friends and then having to go home when you really want to stay.
Grandma Geri is the grandmother we would all want to have as a part of our lives even when her flaws are revealed. The cousins (Janelle, Stephanie and Libby) find that recognizing family, sacrifice, loss, love and forgiveness are necessary in order to be who God wants them to become. The lesson learned is, listening to God and following Him when others would not understand and is essential to walking with Him. Janelle searches for direction when she is still mad at God and Stephanie follows His direction when she really doesn’t want to but knows she must. Libby rebels against God and fails to see him working in her life. The Dillon family is an integral part of the neighborhood and the story being told.
Without reservation I recommend this book for your library. Come visit the Stanton and Dillon families and be prepared for God to speak to you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hope Springs
This review is fromHope Springs - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Visit to a Small Town -- Hope Springs

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pam Burke
Location:Potosi, MO
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kim Cash Tate has woven together a compelling story of the realities of life. As Janelle and Stephanie temporarily relocate to Hope Springs to care for their Grandmother Geri, they interact closely with their cousin Libby and many other friends and family. Challenges from their present and their past cause them to look deeply at where they are in life, what lessons God has for each of them to learn, and how they will grow through this season. With no conscious intentions of doing so, they find themselves involved in a process of working to ease racial differences and begin a process of healing in the small town . . . and in their own family.
Kim gives genuine depth to her characters, showing them with struggles and questions that are a part of real life. Most of the characters appear to be Godly people, but rather than being presented as some sort of "super-Christians," they are forced to deal with down-to-earth loss, hurt, and uncertainty.
The only criticism I would offer about Hope Springs is the number of characters and complexities of their relationships. I had some trouble keeping up with who was who and how they all fit together. Thankfully, there is a family tree in the beginning of the book to help sort that out. All in all, this was a very enjoyable story that kept me well engaged in the lives of the characters. And the end of the story definitely leaves unanswered questions that hopefully lead to another book.
This ebook was provided free from the BookSneeze blogger program for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.