Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit

Thomas Nelson Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit

A small group DVD study for couples or those hoping to marry, this eleven week curriculum takes the lessons learned in the book and applies them practically to help you transform your marriage - and help others do the same. Included in the curriculum:
  • A study guide taking you through 11 weeks worth of discussion, insight, and application
  • DVDs featuring eleven 10-15 minute messages from Pastor Mark and Grace to supplement the book and study guide
  • Leader's Guide
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Review 1 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good resource for couples!

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
From the Prairies
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real Marriage is both a book and a DVD series tackling issues in marriage and is summed up well in the title "Real Marriage; The Truth about Sex, Friendship and Life Together". The DVD package includes 11 weeks of DVD lessons, a participant guide and a leader manual. Though I was reviewing the DVD package, I also read through the book Real Marriage, since my husband ordered it for his blogger review! It was actually really nice to go through the book and the DVD series at the same time! I found the book expounded a little more than the DVD lessons, though the DVDs were more interactive and allowed us to work through the content together as a couple.
I enjoyed this series and found it a great springboard for discussion on many different topics within my own marriage. I would recommend it to other couples and definitely suggest being a part of a group of friends who would go through it if the opportunity arises. Mark and Grace tackle some very honest and sometimes uncomfortable topics that are necessary to discuss and be honest about if you want an intimate, deep relationship with your spouse. One thing I also liked was that the series is formatted so that someone who is single could do it to and even participate in the activities and homework. There is a section for singles each week.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fun, and valuable

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:South Africa
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD series takes the 11 chapters of the book, and turns them into a very interesting 11 week course. I feel that it worked very well together with the book.
After reading each chapter of the book, there is a short (10 minute) DVD film to watch in which Mark and Grace talk about that weeks topic. Then there are discussion questions for group-time, so the material can be looked at in a small group.
Then there is a series of questions for both the wife and the husband to answer separately as homework, and another series of questions to discuss together as a couple.
I liked the fact that there were very practical ways to engage with the book, and also the group-time/private-time/couple-time aspect. I also liked that each week had ideas for a date night, including such ideas as “Invite a married couple over for dinner, and ask them questions about marriage.” Very practical and fun.
I liked that the weekly sessions were done in a way that there are activities and homework for singles as well, so engaged and non-married persons can learn from this teaching.
What I did find was this….
This DVD series is NOT a replacement for the book. The DVD covers about 5-10% of the material covered in the book, and in a lot less depth. It is not a replacement, but rather a 10 minute discussion of what you have learned to start you talking about it in groups. Do NOT buy this DVD series without buying the book as well.
(NB, there is no copy of the book in the box-set, only the DVD and the study manuals. You will have to buy it separately)
Would I recommend this series? Yes, totally. It is great for personal study, or a group study. Just don’t think it will replace reading the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Be prepared to think...and work.

Date:May 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Viewofachampion
Location:Atlanta, Ga
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't your grandmother's marital advice. In fact, this study may make your grandmother uncomfortable. Mark and Grace (Driscoll) talk openly and honestly about their marriage...the good times and the bad. They also, boldly talk about issues in marriage that the vast majority of Christian leaders are afraid to discuss from the pulpit or even in their own writings. Sadly, these are the very issues that every married couple faces on a day to day basis. It's time that Christians stop "acting" like everything is okay and show the world that we also struggle in our marriages and in life. As a Missional Community Group leader, I can tell you that this study is a great way to introduce non-Christians to the gospel while also giving them some incredible perspective and advice on marriage. Needless to say, I highly recommend this book and study!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:April 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Renee
Location:Pittsburgh, Pa
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was expecting sermons by Mark Driscoll, not personal interviews.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

DVD based study

Date:April 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
jroc
Location:tabusintac
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a book and dvd based study. It was my first experience with a dvd based study. I wasn’t sure what to expect. I received this study a few months ago and it took several weeks to fully evaluate. I used this with my spouse as a way for us to discuss our marriage and what it means for our faith.
I feel that this study would be a good resource to use for a marriage seminar with other couples. The book which came with the study, supplemented the dvd, and it would be an excellent resource for the leader to have and use, but found it not necessary for participants to have. The Dvd is divided into 11 short segments around 10 minutes-15 minutes each.
As we are a relatively young couple, 30 years old, and without children, some parts of the study weren’t really applicable to us at this point in our lives. For myself, being a young Pastor I’m not sure if I would feel comfortable leading some of the sessions due to my own inexperience.
I found that the study guide contained many good questions and I could easily see this resource being used in a group to help facilitate discussions. I am wondering also how comfortable some people would be in participating in conversations around sexuality while in a group setting.
Overall, I found the study interesting and engaging. I will be interested to try it in a group setting and get some feedback on it.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Mark & Grace address relevant marriage issues

Date:April 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
lcom
Location:Dayton, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mark & Grace are transparent about their sexual past before marriage and how those experiences have impacted their marriage relationship. Their openness will inspire couples who are watching the DVD to be open with each other in their discussion time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Matt
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great study for the married couples class that I teach. Many couples are being blessed from this much needed topic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Interesting

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a DVD based study based on the book of the same name. If you've used a DVD study before you'll know how it goes: watch the DVD, talk about what you've seen in read in various prescribed groups etc. You need the book in order to use the kit effectively. The kit pre-supposes you have either read or are reading the book while doing the study.
Watching the DVD feels a little surreal. It's more like watching a semi-private conversation between
Mark & Grace Driscoll rather than an intentional study DVD. Perhaps the idea was to see a loving married couple in action but it seems a little weird. It's also set in a large church and so you also get all the accompanying echoes of the vast space.
The content I think is a little hit and miss at times. There is some real treasure in there but plenty of chatter that you need to wade through.
Overall I'm pretty mixed on the kit. It may be useful in the future but I will have to consider it carefully.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Must be accompanied with book

Date:January 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
JayJ
Location:Inman, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, & Life Together" is an eleven-week course designed as a group study to help married couples grow in their relationship with their spouse and their relationship with God as well as to aid singles in discovering who they are and what type of mate they are searching for. This set includes a DVD with eleven short clips from the authors about each chapter, a participant's guide with questions for group discussion, homework, and experience ideas, and a leader's guide with helpful hints in facilitating an honest and safe place of discussion.
(Just as a side note: this set of material is not of much use unless you purchase the accompanying book as the questions and DVD refer back to the material covered there.) "Real Marriage" was very easy to read, watch and follow. I found the material engaging for both sides of the relationship, though I do think the authors were a lot more focused and harder on the men. There are a few doctrinal issues that I disagree with (i.e. I don't believe that unity with your spouse reflects the Trinity as the Bible does not give credence to any 'divine trinity' or in drinking wine after your children go to bed) but overall, the material is timely and presented in a 'digestible' fashion. To share a small sample of the material, here are three thought-provoking quotes: 'Every marriage proclaims a gospel. The goal is to have them preach the truth,' 'Self-sufficiency and the need for control do not mix well with grace,' and 'Transformation occurs when those convictions lead to repentance and action.” I would not recommend this series to singles because, though there is homework given specifically for those that are not married, there is not a lot of material speaking to issues that really relate to being single; I would however recommend this to those who are engaged and to married couples.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Real Marriage, DVD-Based Study Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dr JSK
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real Marriage: The Truth About Sex, Friendship, & Life Together is a marital DVD series featuring Mark & Grace Driscoll that seeks to build stronger, more God focused marriages.
This DVD series covers many topics and/or issues that are not found within the majority of the available publications today, thus it gives a fresh and honest look at all the aspects of marriage. Such topics include, but are not limited to the following: Confessions of sins, premarital sex, pornography, being respectful to each other, displacing selfishness, and being a friend to your spouse.
This DVD study kit contains 1 DVD with eleven sessions, a leader's guide, and a participants guide, but it does not include the book written by and referred to often by Mark and Grace. While the book is not a necessity, its purchase would be beneficial.
Mark and Grace do a wonderful job encouraging genuine marriages, marriages that are Biblically based, and marriages that involve sacrificial focus. Although this DVD series is recommended for use in a group setting, because of the content, I would recommend it for personal study.
Dr. Jeff Krupinski
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.