Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Story of the Bible

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson The Story of the Bible

This remarkable book entitled The Story of the Bible tells the fascinating story of the Bible's writing, translation, and effect on civilization. The narrative is lively, crisp, and eminently readable and moves in broad, but detailed panoramic strokes over the Bible's historical journey.

The Old Testament, the New Testament, the canonization of the Scriptures, and the stories of those who gave their lives to make the Bible and its message available to others is all here, reported with reverence, accuracy, and beautiful illustrations, pictures, and loose leaf facsimile's of ancient biblical texts.

Highlights Include:

  • 23 Loose-Leaf Facsimile Documents
  • Informative Sidebars
  • 90 Color Images
Average Customer Rating:
4.944 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 17100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Story of the Bible
Review 1 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fascinating read with beautiful historical illus

Date:June 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Rose
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Story of the Bible by Larry Stone is a chronological account of how the Bible came about. It begins with the early days of record keeping via stone, copper, papyrus, and parchment. Next came the development of scrolls and then codex—the predecessors of the book. Stone describes the protocols and procedures that were put in place to ensure the accuracy of future copies of chapters and books of the Bible. As each ancient record is discovered, analyzed and placed in the historical time line the validity and accuracy of the scriptures is proven over and over. The original manuscripts of the Bible have survived raids, wars, washings and re-usings, fires—and yet there is still enough left for scholars to study and marvel at the consistency of the man-made copies. The locations of the discoveries show that copies were dispersed and circulated. The early church had to deal with false teaching without the benefit of an established Bible.
I’ll admit I have not finished reading this book. It is big and packed with information. The portion I have read is fascinating and I look forward to reading more, gradually and seeing more of God’s sovereignty revealed as He has obvious overseen the survival of so many puzzle pieces. I plan to make this a permanent part of my home library and I’m sure I will refer to it as I do various Bible studies.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson to read and give an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Valuable Resource

Date:June 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelley
Location:Springfield, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Story of the Bible provides a fascinating overview of the Bible, beginning with the basics: key terms, important people, and significant places related to the Biblical narrative. Stone then traces the actual production of the Bible from its earliest form as scrolls through its most recent translations and editions, highlighting the people who have risked and sacrificed their lives to spread the message of the Bible.
The text of this book is interesting, but the illustrations are truly remarkable. Alongside reproductions of beautiful Biblically-themed art, the book also includes life-size reproductions of texts such as Dead Sea Scrolls and the Gutenberg Bible.
The Word of God is living, active, eternal and able to transform lives; those attributes shine through in this volume.
This book was provided by Thomas Nelson, but the opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great addition to homeschool Library

Date:April 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jackie C
Location:South Florida, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Story of the Bible
by Larry Stone
Definitely a family treasure book I would keep on my coffee table, if I had one presently in my home or my family library. It's a beautiful hard covered bound book that speaks from an author's experience with Theology and Bible history. The illustrations alone in the book are breath taking and I am definitely going to be attracted to this book for years to come.
The book mainly depicts the history of the Bible writings, the many different translations and effects it has had through our years of having the Bible in our culture and civilization. Throughout the book, Larry Stone, defines the Bible’s value and attraction in our culture and its careful preservation throughout the years in translation to many cultures and many languages. Stone's main message that I perceived from the very beginning is to connect people to come to Christ. To feel the love and the message of our Lord through history and art.
Again, the book has many details both with beauty and words. The illustrations are breath taking and beautiful. The sheer folded pull-outs sheets will illuminate readers with copies of ancient manuscripts. Each folded pull out kindly gives you an explanation and history on the back for your learning convenience. The silky feeling of the paper and the old drawings make you feel like you are an archaeologist from Raiders of the Lost Ark. =)
As a Catholic homeschooling mom of 5 little ones, I know this is a treasure book to keep for religion and history, art appreciation and learning more about the history of the Bible. You won't make a mistake bringing this beautiful bounded book home for your little ones and older children to see and learn about the #1 book in the world: The Bible. For my Catholic Family Circus, this book is a gem and we will definitely enjoy this book for many homeschool year.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Beautiful Book!

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Homeschool Mom
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was asked to review The Story of the Bible by Larry Stone by BookSneeze.com. This beautiful book tells the history of the Bible in an interesting, "story" way that I found interesting and enjoyable. Additionally, it includes quite a few copies/reproductions of historic documents related to the Bible, which makes this a great teaching aid and resource.
I enjoyed this book, and plan to use it at various times and in various ways while homeschooling my children. I think they will especially enjoy the hands-on aspect of the various reproductions included with the book (in vellum sleeves so they can be removed to examine more closely). One thing that surprised me was how BIG the book is. While it makes it nice for use in teaching, and allows for plenty of beautiful pictures, it makes it awkward to read the actual narrative. This was a challenge for me since it's size made it difficult to read while nursing my daughter, or carry it with me to read in the car, etc. Still, this is an amazing book, that our family will enjoy and treasure for years to come!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2011
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It would be safe to say that I love the Bible. To be able to read God’s very word is an honor and a privilege. Because of that I am intrigued by how we received the Bible, its structure and authors, and how it has lasted through these centuries. I have read much on these and look for any other resources that encourage me in the truth that the Bible we have today is the very book God wants us to have.
In Larry Stone’s book The Story of the Bible we can learn of those things. He gives in fascinating detail the beginnings of the Bible and how it has been preserved to present times. On every page there are photos of paintings, sculptures and of ancient copies of the books of the Bible. Inserted throughout are removable life-size reproductions with explanations from those ancient copies. Most books like these are scholarly, technical and at times inaccessible to most people. Even though this book is like those Stone writes in a way most will understand.
This is a book that I will cherish. I will turn to it often to assist in teaching God’s Word and defending it from attacks. I couldn’t recommend this book enough.
Disclaimer - I received this resource free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Book Sneeze book review blogger program. All that was required of me is that I review it, positively or negatively, on my site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Book

Date:March 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy of three
Location:AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are wondering who wrote the bible and how it came to be, that’s what this book is about. Included are wonderful illustrations and life-sized pull-out pages, along with a timeline that you can reference to as you are reading and learning about the history of the bible. Mr. Stone gives detailed accounts of the bible translations and its production history. This book will bring you to tears as you learn of martyrs and heroes of faith, the early years of the church and persecution.
I believe the bible to be God’s word and Mr. Stone has reinforced that and inspired me to have the utmost respect for the bible. If you are lacking inspiration to read your bible this book will challenge you and inspire you as you read through it. When I received it in the mail, I was excited and eager to get started. I was amazed that it was not a difficult read, but broken down into nine chapters that can be easily read in nine days, which is what I did. A big plus about the book is that it’s absolutely beautiful and would make a wonderful gift. Be blessed as you journey through The Story of the Bible.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book from booksneeze.com for the purposes of this review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Beautiful book to read and look at!

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lisareadstoomuch
Location:Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love to read the Bible, but I thought that reading about the history of how the Bible came to be might not be very interesting. I was wrong!! Larry Stone has written a concise and interesting story about how the 66 books written by more than forty authors in three languages over a period of fifteen hundred years became the Bible we know today. Mr. Stone starts at the very beginning, discussing Hebrew and Greek languages, the people of the Bible, and the beginning of a new faith. He takes us through the early church years, the Middle Ages, and all the way through the Bible being brought to the new world and up to current times. He describes the people involved in the different translations and how decisions were made on what was included in the Bible. The Story of the Bible has beautiful illustrations and also has removable color reproductions of pages from the different Bibles that are discussed that gives an extra dimension to the book.
I really enjoyed reading this book, and I know it is a book I will reference in the future and share with others. I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about the most important book in the world-the Bible!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com http://BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Book!

Date:March 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
DavidJoy
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were so impressed with the large size and high quality of this book, and all the extra features. The illustrations are beautiful, and we loved the vellum pockets with removable life-size reproductions from the world's most important Bibles.
As a homeschooling family, we think this will be a great reference book, and we will get many years of use out of it!
We received a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes, but the opinions expressed here are our own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely Excellent Book!

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura of Harvest Lane
Location:Carthage, MO
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever wondered just how we got our Bible? For most of us, history is a bit fuzzy, a once upon a time. Most Christians believe that the Bible is the true Word of God; but, why all the different versions? How do we know that the Bible we hold in our hands is the Bible that was written by inspiration of the Holy Spirit nearly two thousand years ago? Good questions. Good questions to which I found good answers in The Story of The Bible by Larry Stone.
Often a new book will be on my bookshelf for awhile before I read it. Not this one. When I opened the box, I was in awe. The quality of the book was amazing. The cover felt good in my hands. The paper was thick, as though it is meant to last a lifetime. The illustrations are of excellent quality. Throughout the book there are vellum pouches containing copies of many of the documents that Mr. Stone references. I felt like I'd just been given a box of rich chocolates and flowers, too.
When I opened the book, I found that the text was very readable. The information presented could have been for a college textbook; but, the style of writing was like sitting down with a good friend for some one on one tutoring. He explained it all, the beginnings, the people of the Bible, the foundation of a new faith, the early years of the church, the Middle Ages, the remarkable century from Gutenberg to Luther, the Bible in English, the old Book in the New World, and "to the end of the Earth".
This book was especially thrilling (yes, I really do mean that) for me because I just finished reading about the Middle Ages with my children. Many of the names and events in the book were familiar to me. So, now that I've enjoyed the book, I am reading it aloud to my 13, 11, and 9 year olds. Do I think they will grasp everything? No, probably not. They will retain a respect for the truth and value of our Bible, for the sacrifices made for it, and I hope, have an increased understanding of its importance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Story of the Bible, by Larry Stone

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Paula Greene
Location:Kansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is an eye-appealing read for anyone ranging from no Biblical knowledge to seminary-educated. The author begins with the presupposition that the Bible is God’s Word to us to ultimately show us who He is, His love for us in spite of our rebellion, and His desire to reconcile us to Himself. He keeps this alive while painting broad strokes through history from the Bible’s beginnings, through various periods of civilization and into the present. A colorful timeline displayed in the front and back cover aids in picturing how the periods of civilization fit together through the lens of Bible’s origins and translations. Not only does every page include vibrant illustrations, but crisp clear folders throughout the book contain true-to-life sized pages from scrolls and codices of the Bible in various languages throughout time.
The fine quality and scholarly attractiveness of the book invite the reader to open what might initially appear to be an intimidating topic. I recognized the basics that I learned in Sunday School as a child and quickly moved to the depths of detailed information I learned in a master’s level church history course in seminary. Yet, it was not academic in tone, but fun and interesting to read! At the turn of every page, I was eager to see the illustrations, layout, and topic of the next.
As a mom, I find that after reading the book, I was able to answer my 5th grader’s questions about why friend’s Bible contains books, and my teenager’s questions about the accuracy of the Bible if the very first originals no longer exist. Even more, the book instilled in me a profound confidence in knowing that the Bible I read is the authentic inspired Word of God passed down through the ages, and this excitement on its substantial integrity is something I can pass onto my children and in ministering to others.
To comply with regulations by the Federal Trade Commission 16 CFR Part 255, I am disclosing that BookSneeze® provided me a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a positive review and the opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Packed with interesting information

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Story of the Bible" covered the history of the Bible from the writing of the books of the Bible and their canonization to the many translations made throughout the ages. This book was packed with interesting information, but it was still easy to read and understand. There were over 90 full color illustrations (including pictures of many Old and New Testament manuscripts and translations).
There were also 23 life-sized, full-color, removable copies of pages from important Bibles. They were tucked into pouches near the text that talked about them. These included copies of pages from the Dead Sea Scrolls, Codex Sinaiticus, Codex Vaticanus, The Morgan Crusader's Bible, The Book of Kells, New Testament translated by John Wycliffe, German New Testament text by Martin Luther, Gutenberg Bible, New Testament translated by William Tyndale, Geneva Bible, 1611 King James Bible, The Bay Pslam Book, Algonquin Bible translated by John Eliot, and Waodani Gospel of Mark translated by Rachel Saint.
There was also a timeline inside the front and back covers showing the various events mentioned in this book. Overall, I was very impressed and learned a lot I didn't know. I'd highly recommend this book.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze® book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Story of the Bible by Larry Stone

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cherokee56
Location:Pinon Hills, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Story of the Bible: The Fascinating History of Its Writing, Translation & Effect on Civilization by Larry Stone is a fascinating resource to help you learn more about the Bible and how it came to be. It contains stories of those who made the Bible available to us today. The trials these people went though to get the Word to us. My favorite feature is the removable documents reproductions. There are pages which contain a plastic sleeve with these precious treasures. I also found the timeline, that is located on the inside front and back cover, helpful and interesting. There are over 90 illustrations that are truly inspiring.
This book is a must have for anyone that wants to know or has questions about how the Bible came to be.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great educational tool for the whole family!

Date:March 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
SC2424
Location:Vermont
Age:35-44
Gender:female
The Story of the Bible by Larry Stone is a wonderfully written and illustrated book, great for educating the whole family about how today’s Bibles came to us. This large book tells the story, in a form understandable to everyone from children to adults, of how the Bible was written, translated, and kept alive. From the original writings to copies made by scribes, to parchment/papyrus/scrolls/codex all is explained carefully and in an easily read manner. To enhance the writings, the book is filled with illustrations of influential people, historical art, and a great timeline in the inner covers from Abraham’s time up to today. Even more impressive, there are “pull-out pages” which are little folders which are bound right in with the book, which hold copies of many of the actual old manuscripts which are discussed in the book—it’s amazing—these reproductions of originals which are in museums or locked up in places of importance.
This book is AMAZING!! I loved it—it gave a great explanation of the historical story of the Scriptures. It would be a wonderful book for anyone interested in the historical transmission of books, whether they are a Believer in Christ or not. As for me, I intend to use this book as a part of our homeschooling—it’s written in a form that will capture the interest of my children as well as myself—and all the pictures/pull-outs bring it to life. I’d gladly recommend this book to anyone!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anthony Shuler
Location:Kansas, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Story Of The Bible, written by Larry Stone (endorsed by Ravi Zacharias and Darrell Bock) was much better than I expected. The book itself is beautiful. The author has a very to the point and informative style which I like. This book also does a good job of addressing the history of The Bible in the short it uses.
To start with, the book itself is exceptional. It is a very large, wax paper, fully illustrated treatment of the topic. It comes complete with inserts in envelopes with further pictures and information on them which create an excellent supplement to the text.
As to the content, the text is very easy to read. It's not technical and difficult as some books. At the same time the content is very scholarly satisfying. Good and accurate information is found throughout. This book addresses how and when the original Bible was written, it's translations and it's history throughout the ages of the Church. A very brief but very informative synopsis of the topic.
In short, this is an excellent book. Anyone interested in The Bible should surely find it a fulfilling read. I would definitely recommend this book. Whether your interested in how we got our current Bible, church history or just an enjoyable book, this is the book for you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

the history of canon

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:San Dimas, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
When you first pick up Stone’s 95 page book you don’t know if this is a coffee table book, a DK visual dictionary or a children’s pop out book. The volume is literally busting at the seams with almost a hundred full color illustrations and 23 “life-sized” pull outs and is beautifully printed on what appears to be aged parchment.
Each chapter in Stone’s book takes you through a fascinating portal into the bible’s history. Mind you each of these chapters are only a few pages long, and are not meant to be exhaustive but will certainly give the reader a well versed understanding of biblical history. Stone looks at language, translation, printing and copying texts, the various volume’s the bible has been bound in, contesting book cannon, martyrdom, heresies and the dead sea.
Stone will also take you through the centuries as you watch the beginning of ancient writing, to the renaissance to how the bible is viewed and read today.
Part of understanding the bible’s importance is knowing how it ended up in your hands. There literally is no other book like it and so being familiar its amazing history is crucial to appreciating its authenticity. The bible wasn’t just written, or published or assembled by one person, or even a team of people. It has literally taken thousands of years for the bible to make it all the way into your home and so being able to talk about it’s unique past can be as enjoyable as it is educational.
2011 marks the 400th anniversary of the King James bible and this year is also the release of the newest translation of the International version. It seems like a fitting time to pick up Stone’s book and remind us all how we come to have this remarkable thing that we call the bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Captivated from the Moment I Opened the Package

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shanee
Location:Kingston Springs, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has truly been one of the most comprehensive accounts of the Bible and its history that I have ever read. Even the pages seem so delicately crafted, and as I turned each one in anticipation, I learned one more fact about this precious book-The Bible. The Story of the Bible takes us on a journey through history and gives an account of those who paid the price. From the Lollards of the fifteenth century who taught the authority of the Scripture over the authority of the priests (who were burned alive with Bibles hung around their necks) to Rachel Saint in the 1950s who translated the Gospel of Mark into the Waodani language (the same people who brutally murdered her brother Nate and four other missionaries-which included Jim Elliot)-the stories were captivating. If one had any doubt regarding the fight these early Christians faced, this book will be a strong reminder of the value of the book we hold so dear.
I was amazed at the ease of reading the book provided. Each sentence was filled with so much information, yet it was written on a level that could easily be presented to a child. It would almost serve as a textbook on the History of God’s Word. From the quality of the book to the quality of the words contained in its pages, The Story of the Bible by Larry Stone is a must read for anyone interested in the history of the Bible.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Our House
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great resource to have! Lots of helpful info, a good book to have!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Story of the Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Keith Grix
I have been wanting a book like this, and "The Story of the Bible" far exceeds my expectations.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.