Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents

Howard Books Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents

Offering hope, help and encouragement to hurting parents of prodigal daughters, author Janet Thompson shares out of her own experience as a prodigal daughter herself and as the mother of a prodigal daughter. Convinced that prayer is the only answer, Janet offers hope and encouragement to parents who are growing more and more desperate. While you, as a hurting mom or dad, already know you need to pray for your daughter, this walk-along-beside-you book will take you gently by the hand and show you how.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Review 1 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An excellent tool in your library

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Scott
Location:Detroit, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this book for my wife after a very traumatic experience with our "Prodigal Daughter" and after reading it and following the prayer journal and everything, with in a couple months we had our prodigal return and she wants to pursue counseling.
PRAISE GOD!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful

Date:August 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Believe
Location:Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book has been very helpful! It has provided concrete actions/prayers that I can do during this difficult time in our lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Celeste Ecklund
Wasn't very helpful to me. Some of the things said just added to the guilt I was already carrying. A friend highly recommended it and it helped her a lot so maybe I was just not clicking with the author.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristin
Great book to help know what to pray for when your daughter is on a downward spiral. Hard to read in the mist of the fire, but reading it short periods is helpful. Maybe reading it after you have worked out specific feelings and issues with the situation is a better way to read. Still a book worthy of reading
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 23, 2008
Customer Avatar
Debbie Verplancke
Janet's book has inspired and encouraged me to keep on praying and personalizing God's Word on behalf of all our children, daughters as well as sons, to develop a closer walk with the Lord. Thank you Janet, for writing this valuable book for all parents.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jo Franz
And not only hope, but help and encouragement are found in Thompson's book, just as the cover promises. Having had a prodigal, I can honestly write "Praying..." is filled with just what parents (not just mothers) need. I could relate to many of the chapters and was thinking--we did this, and this, and this, too. But I could also relate to the parts where we need to remind ourselves there IS hope because it can be such a draining time. Well done, and I'm so glad you wrote this, Janet! I will be recommending this book highly when I speak to audiences!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 15, 2008
Customer Avatar
Carol Anderson
This book is very helpful, with practical suggestions from others who live with this heart-breaking family situation. Lots of encouragement. Points to our Source of hope & assurance of enablement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2008
Customer Avatar
Yvonne Ortega
This book isn't just for parents of prodigal daughters. Those who have prodigal sons or prodigal relatives will also benefit. The subtitle is Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents. This book delivers all three with power and a positive attitude. Every chapter opens with a personalization of Scripture and a quotation that make the reader want to keep reading. "A Praying Mother Shares" comes next. Any adult who has ever prayed for a prodigal will immediately identify with that mother's heartache and determination not to give up. Although I must admit, I had until I read this book. Then the author's daughter or another prodigal daughter shares part of her story. Sometimes I laughed, but other times I cried. "The Praying" section goes with the chapter titles of praying daily, Biblically, etc. Sometimes we get caught up in the circumstances and need reminders and further instruction about how to pray. Solid tips abound in the "Parent to Parent" section. I wanted to cut them out and place them on my refrigerator but didn't want to ruin my copy of the book. Excerpts from the author's "Prayer Journal" are strategically placed before the "Let's Pray" section. Janet's transparency and humility make it easy to learn from her and to receive hope, help, and encouragement. The author has added questions for "Family and Support Group Discussion." How wonderful for prayer groups, Sunday school classes, or counseling groups. The last section of each chapter is "Your Prayer Journal." Every time I read a chapter, I looked forward to writing my own prayers for my family. The appendix has a space to place a picture of the prodigal before the 40 days of praying Scripture for her. The blank "Prayer and Praise Journal" has blanks to write prayer requests and a praise. I highly recommend this book for parents and other relatives. This book needs to be in every church library, Christian counseling center, and in the hands of every pastor and chaplain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2008
Customer Avatar
Brenda Nixon
I read excerpts of this book while it was in manuscript form and knew it would meet needs. Thank God for Author Janet Thompson and her transparent and truthful book. I believe it can help millions of praying parents today.The moving stories, examples and interactive nature and final questions at the end of each chapter make this a useful book for individuals or for support groups.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2008
Janet Thompson has expertly pulled together a poignant but practical book that delivers what its subtitle promises: Hope, Help & Encouragement for Hurting Parents. Filled with real-life examples (the authors and others), Praying for Your Prodigal Daughter includes prayer helps and suggestions, journaling incentives, and questions or family and support group discussion. Whether your praying for a prodigal daughteror youre the daughter being prayed forthis is the book that walk you through to victory.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.