Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dunlop Ministries The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1

Dunlop Ministries The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1

Travel back in time to a land where royalty lives, castles rise, and dragons roam! Terrestria is the realm of good King Emmanuel. But the country is torn! The evil warlord Argamor wants the throne, and he has loyal followers placed strategically throughout the kingdom. When Josiah, one of Argamor slaves, fails in his attempt to escape, King Emmanuel not only sets him free forever, but adopts him into the Royal Family. How will this affect the war? And why has young Josiah been chosen to be a royal prince? Alive with fast-paced action in a medieval setting, The Sword, the Ring and the Parchment gives you an unforgettable picture of our salvation. You'll be reminded what a wondrous thing it is to be redeemed, and encouraged to live as a child of the King. Recommended for ages 10 and up.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
5 out of 5100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Review 1 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This teaches a good lesson

Date:August 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
AdventuresinOdysseyLover
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a great allegory to how Jesus saved us with his blood. The Sword, the Ring, and the Parchment also deals with fear, forgiveness, encouragement, and many other positive values.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lots of excitement- well written-

Date:April 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Momma x5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 yr old son tore this book up! He read it in about three
nights of evening reading time. He is requesting I order
the rest of the series quickly!! :)
He remarked that this book was like a combination of Pilgrims
Progress and the Bible.
I ordered this after a request from my son
that I help him find readers with more
adventure and excitement. This book seemed to fit the
bill- he was very happy with the first one and can't
wait to read the next. Also glad to know that these books
have a great scriptural theme.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

WOW - What a read!

Date:January 18, 2013
Customer Avatar
Heather
Location:Telford, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old son absolutely LOVED this book! He could not put it down and finished it in just days. He is begging for the entire series! I am reading it to see what makes this so much better than the other books he has read and so far (I am on chapter 5) I am thrilled with the quality of this book. Ed Dunlop uses scripture in a fresh and fascinating way. Without quoting Bible verses he has taken them and woven them into the fabric of his book. He has taken the Biblical truths of God's message of Salvation and applied it to the life of his main character Josiah in an EXCITING, GRIPPING, CAN'T PUT THE BOOK DOWN way. I highly recommend this book to everyone regardless of age/gender!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Series

Date:January 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
kitkat
Location:WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In order for me to review a book, it has to be REALLY high on my list. My 10 year old daughter LOVES these books! She can't put these books down. I love the character traits and values that these books teach. It is really hard to find good quality reading for kids anymore. I highly recommend these exciting books. My 12 year old can't wait to start reading these.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful imagery and Christian allagory.

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
lovethemkiddos
Location:Keller, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this book for my 10 year old daughter who has lost her interest in reading and also struggles with her faith. The author paints the characters well and gets to the heart of the message of salvation. We have really enjoyed reading it together. We look forward to getting other books in this series. I would advise caution with the first few chapters as the setting is graphic and could be upsetting to younger children. Would defiantely recommend this to friends.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
May Rodgers
I was looking for a book to read to my class and found this book. I thought I would give it a try. My class and I have thoroughly enjoyed the book and recommend it to anybody. It's alot like Pilgrim's Progress but in a young boy's point of view, so the young readers can enjoy and relate to it. A good book for discussion as well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alek Barba
When my 14 year old son got this series for Christmas he did not seem interested in the series at all. However, after reading the first book he couldn't stop! He read the series in a week, sometimes 2 books a day, and couldn't stop talking about it. This series is excellently well written. It really helped my son to strengthen his relationship with his creator. Thank you so much Mr. Dunlop.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Sword, the Ring & the Parchment, The Terrestria Chronicles #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
Misti Konsavage
About a year and a half ago, my then 10 year old son, bought these books with his own money because they sounded like something he would like. (Knights and castles) He was raving about how wondererful they were and read the whole series in less than a week. My husband, wondering what all the "fuss" was about decided to read "The Sword, the Ring and the Parchment" too. He was so impressed and too, went on to read all 7 books, and recommended that I do too. I don't have tons of time to read, being a homeschool mom of 6 children, but I read every one of the books in the Terrestria Chronicles and was so blown away at not only how wonderfully written they were, but how incredibly they were able to explain our spiritual walk with God and encourage me in my own personal relationship with Him. Another great plus, or maybe THE best part, is that, having read them, we are able to use the books to refer to when explaining spiritual truths to our children. That has been so neat. I can say, "Remember Prince Josiah when he did......" and they can immediately relate and understand what I'm trying to show them. These books are worth their weight in gold. You will never regret this purchase!!! If your children love knights and castles, they will love these books. They are not just for boys though, either. My 7yo "girly" daughter begs me to read another chapter. It even keeps my 5yo's attention. Thank you Mr Dunlop for allowing God to work through you. These books, in my opinion, are much better than even Pilgrim's Progress!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.