Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords A Morning Like This

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

FaithWords A Morning Like This

David and Abby Treasure seem to have everything together: a perfect marriage, a perfect son, and a perfect life. But one simple phone call turns their world upside down. Years ago, David had an affair outside of his marriage, and though he never knew it, the affair produced a daughter. Now his former lover calls with heartbreaking news: his daughter is dying of leukemia. Her only hope for survival is a bone marrow transplant-from David or his son. Can David and Abby set aside their betrayal and anger to save a little girl's life? If they can make it through, they may find that their love for one another and their faith in God can be redeemed . . . and grow stronger than ever before.
Average Customer Rating:
1.9 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
7
Customer Reviews for A Morning Like This
Review 1 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Deboraah Harland
This was not what I had hoped for; but just another cheating hubby-illegitimate child-doormat wife scenario. There was a twist and heartstring jerk, but honestly, can't Christian writers move past the sensationalism of sexual affairs?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela Jorgenson
Disappointing. I have read Bedford before and enjoyed them. This one missed all the targets in characters, originality, and Christian theme. The wife was limp. The husband was a jerk. The lover self-centered. Yes, the girl was innocent, but there are consequences for sin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
James D. Matchett
Not sure why I read this story other than my wife brought it home from our church's library. I was disappointed with what came across as flippant grace. You know - Gosh, I'm sorry, forgive me, move on - scenario where no real harm was done, so it's no big deal. Even after 31 years of marriage, there's no way this would play out with my wife and I, regardless who made the error. Abby should have left David, but been supportive of her son's relationship with his dad - eventually. I'm not a fan of fiction and now I know why.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Barbara Doston
Over-used theme, shallow characters, and too predictable outcomes. I skimmed the last 50 pages just because I knew the end result long before it arrived. Someday, someone may write a realistic story concerning the gravity of infidelity; but it certainly won't be found in this novel. I'm not sure why I got this from our church library, but will be far more wary in the future!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sandra L. Jasco
Though Deborah writes compentently, her characters are unrealistic - I hope; for the unfaithful husband is not remorseful, the wounded wife is a rug, the former lover is still the seductress, and the children are not believable. I am a family counselor and tried to see this scenario played out in my office. It all boiled down to an over-kill theme with the wife gives all up in the hopes of hanging onto a forever broken marriage. I would have realistically suggested a legal separation at the least. I am still hoping for authenticity in Christian literature when it comes to touchy subjects. This kind of writing gives false hopes, which also fails; unlike the love of our Father.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Jacobsson
A colleague loaned me this book, knowing my passion for reading. Though well crafted, the over-kill theme of infidelity soured me from page one, but I read on. I've never understood why Christian authors feel there must be a happily-everafter ending and all the wronged parties must apologize and bend over backwards to make those seeking forgiveness feel as if they're never sinned.I've seen two of my three children suffer under the trial of infidelity and this book doesn't come close to harnessing the emotions or realism of life in this very challenging scenario. David should not have been reconciled with Abby, but seen the cost of his actions with authentic consequences. We're quickly moving into a society where a Savior won't be needed, as no sin really carries the need for accountability. I expected way more from this author and story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paulette Cutherell
It may seem like a strong statement to rate any work a zero, considering the time and effort an author and countless others have put into getting a book onto the shelves of the store, but there wasn't anyting in this story that I found noteworthy enough to encourage anyone to read it. The out of marriage affair is once again unrealistically thrown into the mix and once again the wife must stand by her man. The heartstrings of the reader are plucked as the illegimate child is dying and only her daddy - or half brother can save her. Honestly, when is some one going to write with genuine truth and insight regarding adultery? You know, when it doesn't turn out peaches and cream. Where the husband, God forbid, IS held accountable and there are consequences. No, I didn't want the little girl to die, but come on, don't women in the Christian community get razed enough about submission and being stepping stones for their husband, especially when they cheat? The word betrayal is used on the jacket cover and the promo for this book. Jesus was betrayed as well. This is a heavy topic that is so casually dealt with any more it's surprising over 52% of all Christian marriages end in divorce - because of adultery. Books like this don't service those 52% of women, not any others. Technically the writing is okay, but the shrapnel from the theme removes any enjoyment the writer's skill brought to the page.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Isabel Vasquez
Excellent book. Great story about big mistakes we can make in our lives but God's forgiveness helps us to forgive those close to us that hurt us deeply. It also shows how one mistake that keeps getting lied about can make the situation worse than it really is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:July 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathleen Cole
Deborah is no doubt a gifted author; but surely there are more topics available than the same old cheating hubby scenario. Granted the zinger of the dying illegimate child with only her dad or half-brother to save her is intriguing, but can't we give this plot a rest? Deborah has some interesting points, but it is utterly unrealistic. You cheat on me and you're back in my bed with a simple "I'm sorry. I have a dying child." Married for 30 this October I'm not writing from a jaded perspective, but find the casualness of adultery outrageous; especially in Christian literature. The book was so predicatable I skimmed the last 75 pages and bingo, got it right. It's time for realism, even in fiction regarding the consequences of sexual immorality or it will just continue to increase. The sub-theme of grace and Abby's son were perhaps the only solid parts to this story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for A Morning Like This
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christine L. Alley-Howard
I agree with the praise for Deborah's ability to weave a wonderful story. But I wish Christian authors would move away from the OVER-WORKED theme of the cheating husband-illegitmate child-forgiving wife. Grace is critical in a believer's life, but consequences and genuine repentance are rare.Just once I'd like to read about a cheating husband who had to be held accountable for his actions and see the devastation his sin birthed. Deborah's twist of the illegimate child dying and only the love of her father or half-brother can save her was interesting.But such a setup makes the wife seem like an expletive if she doesn't forgive her husband and think nothing of her husband's betrayal.Perhaps if grace wasn't so casual, sin wouldn't be so prevelent, in real life and Christian fiction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.