Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated

Thomas Nelson The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated

From Jamestown in 1609 to the bloody battles of the Civil War to the present, America's story is best told one day at a time. Now updated with a new preface, readings, and profiles of historical figures, Bennett and Cribb's bestseller distills the American drama into 365 entries filled with personalities, conflicts, discoveries, and ideas. 592 pages, hardcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Review 1 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring!

Date:June 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Woods Academy Homeschool
Location:Indiana
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We will use this book for years to come. This book teach history in a passionate and inspiring way! I was shouting AMEN!! just in the indroduction it includes so much more than a "this day in history" poems, songs prayers and so so so much more!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
James Offhaus
Location:Lake Wylie, SC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We’ve all heard the line that those who don’t know history are doomed to repeat it. But I think there are some cases in which knowing our history can be the means by which it actually can be repeated. Hearing the stories that have been covered over by dirt and dust can inspire a new generation to attain new levels. “The American Patriot’s Almanac”, by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb, accomplishes the latter. It is set up as a daily reading of major events in American history that occurred on their respective dates, covering the whole year. This book contains a wealth of stories from our nations past that will help to counteract the negativity often absorbed from the barrage of media exposure we face. It is a continual reminder that our country is filled with truly exceptional people. The book contains much more than I had originally expected, which was a pleasant surprise. It is a good looking volume, and well constructed. I am looking forward to sharing its stories with my son as he grows. I would like to thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending me a complimentary copy of this book as a part of their Blogger Book Review program, via Booksneeze.com.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historical Excellence

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
confessionsofaclown
Location:CA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The American Patriot’s Almanac, I believe, is one of the best historical looks at this still new nation. I think the authors captured the heart of America well with this book that takes a look at how individual events in American history create a tapestry of red, white, and blue. It displays a country of refugees, banding for a common cause, and fighting for its liberties and freedoms. The foundation of this country is built on the sacrifice of those for their belief in life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. They believed that all men were created equal, and that the Divine Creator gave them this freedom.
This book is filled with stories that display’s the heart of America. Stories of Jesse Owens or Pat Tillman, these show the courage to face adversity no matter the cause. These stories, like many others, speak of the American spirit. It is easy in today’s society to get caught up in the “Where are we going?” However, after reading this book, my spirits are renewed. This nation is founded by those who did not know the future, but wanted to change the past. I believe that we cannot really know where we are going as a nation, unless we know where we have been. We should not step blindly, but use the same courage, same spirit, and same American heart that started some 200 years ago.
I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone who wants to know a little more about how this country got to today. God bless the soldiers for continuing to fight to keep these freedoms safe.
Disclosure: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their [...] book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Totally awesome way to learn American History!

Date:December 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Very Blessed Mamma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
How much do you know about American History?
Do you remember all that you learned about it in school?
Would you love to learn more about America and our history, but don't have the time?
Would you like to see that your children are well informed of our country's history, so that they can appreciate where we have come from as a country?
With this newly revised, and updated edition of The American Patriot's ALMANAC, you will be able to do just that.
This book is set up in a really cool fashion so as to let you learn important facts of American History, little by little, by the date.
The format is similar to a devotional. You will have dated daily readings.
For example, if it was April 10th, you would be reading that on April 10th, Andrew Jackson was born in a log cabin, about his family life, how he was captured by the militia, and much more.
On Feb. 6th, you will learn about Ronald Reagan. On Feb. 7th, Laura Ingalls Wilder, and so on and so on.
In between each months readings are neat charts, information about America, pictures of the history of the American Flag, American songs, etc...
I think this book is awesome!
It is a great learning tool!
It is so helpful, and interesting to learn about American History this way.
I plan to use it in our homeschool.
We will start fresh on January 1st, and read from this book each day.
You can use this as a daily reader, or if you wanted to study a particular topic, there is a very large index that you could use to easily find what you are looking for.
I honestly think that this would be such an enjoyable way to learn about American History.
While it obviously would not be a complete curriculum, it is definitely a fun way to learn the really important and interesting facts of our country's history.
I think you and your children will learn a lot from this book, and I highly recommend it it to anyone. of any age, who is interested in learning more about America and it's history.
For other reviews of this book and many others, check out Booksneeze!
*I have been provided with a free copy of this book, from booksneeze, in exchange for an honest review. I received no other compensation for my review.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for homeschoolers or history lovers

Date:December 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
So Mommy
Location:Hartselle, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The American Patriot's Almanac" by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb is a very interesting book. It is filled (seriously 546 pages!) with a lot of information about America. The best part (for me) is that it is set up so that you read short stories every day. So if you're like me and like history, but can't sit and read it forever, this book is great. It includes many interesting stories and important dates.
Here are a few of the Chapter titles:
The History of the Stars and Stripes
Flag Etiquette: Guidelines for Displaying and Handling the U.S. Flag
How the Constitution was Written and Ratified
Faith and the Founders
and soo many more!
I was amazed at the amount of information packed into the book. This book would be great for older homeschoolers and history lovers...and even those who just want to know more about how our country came to be. It is a beautiful hardcover book suitable for reading and displaying. I have really enjoyed reading the stories! So if you ever need a gift for a history (or America) lover, be sure to check this book out! It would make a great inspirational addition to any collection!
**I received "The American Patriot's Almanac" from Booksneeze in exchange for my review. www.somommy.blogspot.com**
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Resource!

Date:December 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heather
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderfully written resource giving us valuable facts about our country's past.
The core of this book has a page for every day of the year with interesting facts about that particular day in history.
Each day has a few paragraphs focusing on one particular year of that day and then at the bottom of the page there are 5-7 one-sentence facts from different years about that day.
Not only do you learn something new every day but there are some other gems inside this book.
For instance, at the beginning there is an essay about "The American Patriot" and what it means to be a Patriot.
The next section before the main part of the book is "Twelve Great Reasons To Love A Great Country." Some highlights of this are: "America really is the land of the free." and "This nation possesses an amazing capacity for self-renewal."
Then, at the back of the book there is a section on "State Flags, Facts, And Symbols."
I love these type of facts and think this section is great!
This book is perfect for anyone who is a history buff, is homeschooling their children, OR just wants to instill some valuable facts about our country into their children, or it's for anyone who loves our country and wants to learn more about where we came from and how we started.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspirational and informative

Date:December 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Texas
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderfully inspirational from its Twelve Great Reasons to Love a Great Country to its all American resources such as history and etiquette of our flag, Declaration of Independence and Constitution, and great American Movies to name a few. Everyday of the year has an entry ranging from important people and dates, events, american symbols, to places and times which will bring a sense of patriotism and encouragement to the citizens of our great nation. This book should be in the hands of every American citizen, school room, and read by families to their children daily. It might just help put some care and concern back into our dying nation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exciting American History book!!

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Doreen
Location:Maryland
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was ancipating this book so much that before it shipped to me, I went on Amazon and downloaded a sample of it to read on my Kindle and devoured it. The pages are roughed up/shredded type pages, (which I adore) , it has blue binding on the side and it's 561 pages. Huge. :) The book is meant to be read everyday but you can also read straight through if one desires. Let's take January 1st for instance, it will have a story as to what happened on that very day and then at the bottom of it, there will be an area called: 'American History Parade' where on this day, January 1st, it will list what else happened on this day in other years. Amazing. There's so much more also such as "The Bill of Rights", pictures and info about every state. The stories in this book are part of what Abraham Lincoln called the "mystic chords of memory". "The American Patriot's Almanac" is a daily source of inspiration and information about the history, heroes, and achievements that sum up what this nation is all about. I highly recommend this book to the people of the United States. This book remains next to my Bible. I'm a member of Thomas Nelson’s Book Review Blogger program, Book Sneeze!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great book for patriots

Date:December 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
preach2u
Location:Alliance, Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Review, The American Patriot’s Almanac
This book is a daily reading of American history compiled by William Bennettt and John T.E. Cribb. It is a wonderful book of daily readings followed by several great American quotations. The readings are inspiring and parts of history that typically weren’t taught in History 101. You will not want to quit reading this one, and you will learn a lot that you never knew unless you majored in history in college.
The book is divided into monthly sections. Within the sections are the daily readings. Additionally, each month has a special section dedicated to Flags of our history, or great American movies or quotes, How the Declaration of Independence was written or How the Constitution was written and ratified, Great American speeches and creeds, as well as prayers and songs from American History.
With our current national situation- unemployment, a rising debt, terrorism now homegrown, and national institutions seemingly falling apart, this book reminds Americans of who we are and how we got here. It will challenge you to remember fresh and anew that freedom isn’t a word, it is a privilege and an honor.
As with all of Bennett’s books, the Judeo Christian morals of our early leaders are highlighted. It reminds us of a time and place in our not too distant past when words meant something and honor counted. This book is worth the read and an invaluable resource to any library.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anna Edwards
Location:Minnesota
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a treasure trove of cool facts about our wonderful country. Sometimes significant, some times rather insignificant, but always interesting. For example November 6th tells us about the first football game between Rutgers and the College of New Jersey. Besides a short article about something that happened on that day in our history there is 4-5 more quick facts at the bottom of each page. Between the months are other special bits of info, between September and October there are a whole host of patriotic songs and the way they came into being, when they were popular and the words for that song. This book is written in an easy to read but detailed style making it enjoyable for most ages to read and listen too. I think this will be a wonderful addition to our schooling for learning our United States History. Tying it into the day something happened gives it added interest. This is also a beautifully bound book, lovely to have sitting out for casual reading in a sitting room.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

American Patriot's Almanac

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Bob G
Location:Eastern NC
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The American Patriot’s Almanac” by William Bennett and John T.E. Cribb, is a compilation of facts and information from American history and experience.
Each day’s entry has an informative vignette along with a section called “American History Parade.”
Some of the entries are related to the history of specific holidays such as Memorial Day and Labor Day, some contain more obscure information as the history of “e pluribus unum” and the opening of the Santa Fe Trail. The “American History Parade” section contains more information relating to that specific date.
There are other sections dealing with a range of topics from U.S. Flag protocol to the “Songs of American Patriotism to “Faith and The Fathers” and others.
This book would make a fine gift for any “American Patriot.”
I post these reviews as a member of Thomas Nelson’s Book Review Blogger Program. I receive a free copy of the book, but am not required to give a positive review. Check it out at www.booksneeze.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This is an historical devotional styled book

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Darlene
Location:Las Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book was received from Thomas Nelson Publishers as a complimentary copy for review. " The American Patriot's Almanac" was written in a devotional format with entries for each day of the year. Also includes lists and historical information on America and would be great for the trivia lover. Each of the daily entries has listed at the bottom of the page the notable occurances of the daily throughout history. I did not particularly care for this book as a whole. I expected at least some mention of the faith of our founding fathers and perhaps a prayer or selection from speeches regarding the fact that we are one nation under God. As a very indepth record of historical American events and patriotism at it's best, this book would make a great gift for anyone who enjoys history and little known facts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great U.S. History Supplement

Date:November 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne
Location:Baltimore, MD
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have realized how much I need to teach my children that they live in a country that is worth being proud of. I found a pleasant surprise in this book! It's simply great! The beginning explains why we need to be proud to be patriots. It isn't an antiquated thing. There are several stories that let the reader know that the authors acknowledge that our country is not perfect! Yet, our country is a great country to live in! I was also very curious about what they would say about our country being a God centered country. I disagreed with what they said far, far less than I expected to.
The book essentially has one entry for each day of the year and then at the end of each month there is a special addition. For one month, the Declaration of Independence is included and the story of its beginning. For another, there is a list of 50 great American quotes--and then also quotes by people outside America about America (some of these were awesome!). But, my favorite monthly addition was actually the list of 50 All American films. I was quite surprised, and honestly pleased by the films they chose. The Disney film chosen will completely surprise you! With all of this great information in this book, I can foresee us using this a couple of ways in our homeschooling. In middle school, I will read the entries with my kids and discuss the information. The additional information will find many uses. Late in middle school and into high school, I would love to watch each of these films with our kids and talk about them. I have great hopes for good discussions about them!
If you are looking for a supplemental resource for your U.S. History curriciulum for middle school or high school students, I think this would be a great choice!
Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this book for review from Thomas Nelson Publishing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Daily Snippets of America

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rambling Reader
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The American Patriot's Almanac is a treasure trove of interesting facts and stories relating to America's past and present. Ranging from government-related topics to pop culture, this book contains subjects to interest a wide range of readers. Like the United States, this book is comprised of many unique pieces that blend to make a unique whole. William Bennett and John Cribbs capture the essence of the country and the spirit that is uniquely American.
The American Patriot's Almanac is a beautifully designed hardcover book, reminiscent of an antique book with gilded lettering on the spine and rough-cut pages. The almanac is designed for daily reading, and the structure is easy to follow. Each chapter is a month, and a page is devoted to each date of the month, with a detailed description of an important or interesting event in American history that occurred on that particular date as well as a list of other events. Several pages at the end of each month or chapter delves into a variety of other topics. For example, the end of March discusses the "Fifty All-American Movies," while August ends with The Constitution and The Bill of Rights.
I highly recommend The American Patriot's Almanac to readers who enjoy history or who are interested in learning American history. Although I generally read fiction novels, I have enjoyed perusing this almanac. I will not read this book straight through, but I am sure that I will reference and read it in the future. The selections that I have read have been informative and enlightening. It is refreshing to learn new things about America or to be reminded of certain events that shaped the country. This is definitely a book I will keep on my bookshelf for many years!
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a treasure!

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Corina
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The American Patriot’s Almanac by William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb
This thick volume is a treasure! “The American Patriot’s Almanac is a daily source of inspiration and information about the history, heroes, and achievements that sum up what this nation is all about.” Not only does it contain daily readings about American history, it holds copies of important American documents, such as the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and many others. This book contains information that every American needs to know. I love how it has everything all in one book – it’s an excellent resource to have!
I was very impressed with The American Patriot’s Almanac! I love that each daily reading has not only an interesting story, but also a list of other events that happened on that date in history. I can’t wait to use this book with my boys when we study American History. I think this book would be an excellent gift for anyone – young or old, anyone can appreciate and learn from the information shared in this book.
This book was provided free of charge from Thomas Nelson. All opinions expressed are solely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a unique addition to a history lover's collection

Date:November 8, 2010
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The American Patriot's Almanac, Daily Readings on America" is a must-have for anyone who loves our great nation. Reading the preface alone will fill you with pride in our country's rich history.
The book offers a devotional-style format, with a one-page reading for each day of the year. Although the format is uniform, the content is refreshingly varied. One day's reading might educate us on how the first Tuesday after the first Monday of November became national election day, whereas another day's reading might inspire us with the story of a slave who fought off his master, escaped North, and became a voice championing freedom and equality for black Americans (Frederick Douglass). Our history, however, is not glossed over; dark days, such as the passage of the Indian Removal Act, are also printed to remind us of the full spectrum of our history.
Interspersed throughout the book, to augment the daily readings, are some bonuses, like "The History of the Stars and Stripes," "The Bill of Rights," and even "Fifty All-American Movies." Through its facts and trivia, stories and inspirations, this book fills in the gaps from the days in history class, and finally makes learning about our great nation an exciting endeavor.
In an era when it seems more popular to denigrate our nation and apologize to the world for who we are, this book's inspiring patriotism may seem politically incorrect to some. Authors Bennett and Cribb address that sentiment in the introduction, "We Americans are so good at critiquing our own nation, so determined to make it better, that sometimes we neglect to acknowledge all that is wonderful about it. Let us not commit the sin of ingratitude for so many blessings."
And to that, I add that if you would like to be reminded daily of those blessings, this is the book for you.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson publisher through the booksneeze.com book reviewers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with Federal Trade Commission's guidelines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great reference for young ones.

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donnie
Location:Western NC
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a great reference book. It is called The American Patriot's Almanac published by Thomas Nelson -Nashville, Tennessee. It was also printed in the United States. So let me tell you bit about William J. Bennett and John T.E. Cribb's new book. It isn't, for me anyway, a sit down cover to cover read but one that you keep going to in order to answer a question or refer to for many reasons.
There are 365 daily entries that gives a short commentary about an historical event from American history that took place on that particular day. Then at the bottom of the page is a list of other key events from that day and the year they occurred. It is fascinating how many things in our history relates to other things.
Starting with the month of January and on through the months you get to explore our Nation's history in ways that are quite entertaining. Through out the book there are many pages devoted to other interesting facts about other things too such as how to fold our flag and disposing of a worn one with honor.
The first part is an introduction to The American Patriot and what patriotism does and should mean to all of us. It is a very uplifting style of writing that tells us all the good things about America and not all the negative things we read about and that a lot of other authors prefer to write about.
Some of the other chapters by month are "Twelve Great Reasons to Love a Great Country", "Flags of the Revolutionary War", "The History of the Stars and Stripes", "Fifty All-American Movies", "Flag Etiquette: Guidelines for Displaying and Handling the U.S. Flag", "How the Declaration of Independence Was Written and Signed", "The Declaration of Independence", How the Constitution Was Written and Ratified", The Constitution of the United States", Just to name a few. There are so many more really worthwhile sections.
I was going to keep this in my bookcase but, on second thought, I really think it needs to live on my grandchildren's book shelf. They are ages 10, 6 and 4 and I really feel this will be a wonderful help in their school work and also will give them a place to read about our great nation in an easy to understand format. I think they will be referring to it for schoolwork for a long time.
The Author, William J. Bennett, has penned many books on the greatness of our country and with his co-author John T.E. Cribb we have another testimony to go back to again and again.
My very favorite part is actually the dedication at the front of the book that read "To the families of the American soldier, families who, for love of country, have sacrificed in countless ways".
Patriotism at it's finest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The American Patriot's Almanac, Revised and Updated
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best history book I have ever read!

Date:November 8, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kath
Location:Janesville, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received a copy of The American Patriot’s Almanac by William J. Bennett and John E.E. Cribb from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of the BookSneeze program. American history is one of the many subjects that I teach at a small Christian School, so I jumped at the chance to read this book. I am definitely NOT a history buff and never really liked history class when I was in school so I am always looking for books that can make history even remotely exciting. This book is absolutely amazing! It is so well laid out and easy to read. It is by far the most enjoyable history book I have ever read.
One can turn to any day of the year and find what happened in history on that day. There is a short paragraph on a historical event and then other events listed for that same day which makes it very easy to use in my classroom. The extra pages with fun historical facts were a huge highlight of the book like the pages of history quotes and poems. I especially loved the section on how the Declaration of Independence was written and signed. I highly recommend this book for it made the history of our wonderful country come alive again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.