Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood

With MIA fathers, gangster machismo, and metrosexual role models, it's no wonder boys are confused about what true manhood means. Seeking to chart a clear course for youth, Bennett explores the life of men at work, play, prayer, war, and home to define what a man is, how he should live, and what he should pursue. 560 pages, hardcover w/ deckled edges, from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 1593%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Review 1 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not a devotional

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is a kind of anthology of readings from a variety of sources about a variety of subjects brought together under the umbrella of 'stories about manhood.' Each reading is prefaced by Bennett to explain the context behind it and at times about the author.
If you are looking for a Christian devotional for men, this is not it. In fact there is very little expressly Christian content but if taken in it's entirety it can be a source of inspiration or for the thoughtful reader, a means of provoking thought. This can also be a source of sermon illustrations a plenty, if ever I am short of one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Read it!

Date:October 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dr. Bennett has written a remarkable book of readings on manhood. I would also remind you that this book hits stores today so check it out, I like reading original source material. I especially like it when someone else has compiled an interesting collection. The Book of Man will give every young male who reads it the inspiration to become a true man in the eyes of God and his peers. The Book of Man By William Bennett is a most excellent collection of stories based on the history of what strong,courageous and bold men has done for the United Sates and the World. This book will be a permanent part of our family library. This book will be remembered as a classic. Read It!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

man it...

Date:August 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I discovered with delight in this book. And ALL of them are new to my early-teen grandsons. We've got some lost time to make up for, but I'm thankful... Bennet is inspiring to read and renews ones faith! these selections will benefit, encourage, and inspire him as they do me.The thing that matters is whether he did the crime. We all have sinned and come short of the glory of God. We all need a Savior. We have all done the crime. believe this book will be an encouragement to everyone who reads it because it is relevant to all who struggle, sheds light on the struggles of well known people and how the Lord changed their lives. I never understood what it meant when someone said God healed them or that finding Christ gave them new life. I found Christ in my late 30s and I always find testimony stories uplifting and interesting. know that seems to be going through something. Which, as I said before, turns out to be everyone, so possibly find some comfort in that. Don't hesitate, this book is wonderful. I recommened it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful

Date:July 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
steffanie
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is wonderful for men, such an encouragement and wonderful examples of strong men. Men of courage, honor, strength, integrity, and wonderful qualities of true men. Men who have sacrificed for their country and families.
As a parent of boys this book is something that will be book that will be a reference all through their growing years. I think this book would be such blessing for a dad to read to his sons as they grow up. It will provide true examples of what being a man is all about in a culture that devalues men and boys, generally portraying them as stupid, irrelevant, or brutes. The Book of Man would also make a great gift, maybe to a young man turning 12 or 13 or parents of a son of any age. I think this book would best be used in a mentoring relationship, as all ways of helping a boy grow into a man.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Literary Masterpiece

Date:February 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Betsy
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently finished reading The Book of Man by William J. Bennett, also author of the literary compilation, The Book of Virtues.
from the back of the book "Using profiles, stories, letters, poems, essays, historical vignettes, and myths to bring his subject to life, The Book fo Man defines what a man should be, how he should live, and to what he should aspire in several key areas of life: war, work, leisure, and more....."
This literary masterpiece is divides the writings under the headings: Man in War, Man at Work, Man in Play, Sports, and Leisure, Man in the Polis, Man with Woman and Children, and Man in Prayer and Reflection. The pieces in each section range broadly in both period written and style. The selections span both fiction and non-fiction material. All, however, are united by messages of noblilty, honor, respect, courage and humility. There is an overarching sense of elegance throughout these writings. Bennet did a masterful job in compiling this work. And while the themes are directed toward men, I, as a woman, found much much to be edified by also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Ready to read!

Date:January 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
cileford
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this book for my husband & three sons. It's packed full of wonderful things that waters their soul and heart and I pray will help them grow not only in spirit, but morality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good if used wisely

Date:January 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
ChrisB
Gender:male
Boys in our society do not know how to become men. That claim has been made many times in the last ten years, and I think there's a lot of truth to it, so I accepted a review copy of Bill Bennett's The Book of Man.
The book offers 500+ pages of readings intended to "explore and explain ... what a man should be, how he should live, and the things to which he should aspire" (xix). Covering war, work, play, politics, family, and "prayer and reflection," this book quotes material as varied as politicians' speeches, classics like Two Years Before the Mast and Homer, and the Bible as well as profiling noteworthy men -- some famous, some not.
The problem is that Bennett paints a picture of an American man, but not necessarily a Christian one.
My complaint is twofold. First, the order of the presentation places the wrong emphasis on pretty much everything. The list of topics above is the order used in the book. War comes first, and family comes after everything but God, who gets last place. A message is sent by that presentation, and it's not the way I'd want my son to look at life.
The second complaint is that a man's relationship with God is described as "Man in Prayer and Reflection," and that sums up the material in the section well. It's not "a man needs to have a strong relationship with God." The emphasis is not on knowing the Bible or following Christ. It is, "a man should pray regularly." And material on the importance of prayer shares space with "Man in ... Reflection."
A man should spend time in reflection. He should know what he believes and why, and he should examine himself and his world and test what he sees against the standard he knows. But this standard is not presented as the word of God in this book.
One other problem with the book is the choice of the material. Some of it really shines -- some of the most sublime passages in the English language are reprinted here. But some of it is really opaque; the reader comes away wondering what the point of that passage was. And these two are intermingled freely and, in the latter chapters, sometimes outnumber the sublime. Given that the intended audience is not known for it's reading habits, I think some editing (rearranging if not removing lesser material from this 500+ page book) would serve the purpose of the book well.
Please don't misunderstand me. This not a bad book. There is wonderful material here. But I was hoping to find a book I could drop in the hands of the nephew I see once a year or give a foster child who's leaving my house. This is not that book. This book will require someone looking over the boy's shoulder. For a son, that's not a problem. For any other boy, it's not something we can assume.
I would give this work 3 out of 5 stars -- definitely worth reading, but very flawed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Book of Man

Date:December 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Midland, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This hefty volume is divided into six main sections: man in war, man at work, man in play / sports / leisure, man in the polis, man with woman and children, and man in prayer and reflection. Each section is nearly 100 pages of biographical sketches, speeches, poems, or excerpts of classic literature showcasing the type of courage a real man must have—courage to stand up and fight for what he believes. As I read through the book, I was struck with the relevance of its passages—several of them I had just come across earlier that week, whether it was brought up in the pastor’s sermon, Men’s Fraternity, or another book I was reading.
One aspect I appreciate about this book is that every selection was meant to teach a different attribute of manhood. I can learn as valuable a lesson from a soldier as I can from an ancient philosopher as I can from a basketball coach as I can from a president. Nobody here claims to be a perfect example or to have all the answers—and for answers, the best place to go is the Bible—but still, each one is valuable for “in the multitude of counselors there is safety” (Proverbs 11:14b).
I am very pleased to have this book on my shelf from here on out. I can see myself coming back to this book again and again as I continue on my quest for authentic manhood.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of The Book of Man through Book Sneeze, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Another great inspiration from Bennett!

Date:November 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
mindxing
Location:Portland, OR
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
William Bennett is the author of The Book of Virtues and The Moral Compass. Both of those books are collections of writings that are assembled to focus on a particular point (moral virtues). The Book of Man is in the same format but focuses on the quality and character of manhood. The writings are masterfully selected to capture true manhood. The sources are varied (from Homer to Churchill to Pascal). In addition to being inspirational to men, this book is illuminating for women. It gives them a peek into what men are like (in a good way).
I highly recommend this book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Celebration of Excellence

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bria
Location:Arkansas
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Out of heroism grows faith in the worth of heroism.”
Oliver Wendell Holmes
We want our Little Men to have heroes. Heroes of faith are best of all, but men of good character and strong moral attributes can also teach our sons. I sought, and found, in The Book of Man a celebration of goodness, bravery, sacrifice, love, service, and excellence.
But the book isn’t written for boys, not by any means. The selections are so well chosen, ranging from Classical Greek authors, to the well-educated English man, and on to the thoughtful American, that the book is intended for men, young and old. My husband plans to read it next, then share it with the boys, and I suppose the girls will listen in too. My boys will enjoy sitting beside their Dad (their very own flesh and blood hero), hearing him read. The words are highly quotable and printed in short sections well suited to reading aloud.
We don’t agree with every writer, I doubt anyone would. Particularly in the section on prayer and reflection the book is intended to appeal to a wide audience. For example, prayers of Luther are printed facing the prayer of Thomas More; and prayers of Jimmy Carter precede one by Ronald Reagan. I would recommend caution; teach your children your own heroes of the faith.
The Book of Man has its place: provoking thought, and ideally, also actions. I hope my Little Men are challenged not only by presidents and poets but by the sanitation engineer and computer programmer as well. I hope they become men who deserve a page in this kind of book.
* I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Good Read...

Date:November 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
iainsmurray
Location:Toronto, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
William Bennett is well known for many reasons, including his Book of Virtues. So, when I picked up his most recent text, The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood, I was expecting something similar…and it was.
However, even with the knowledge that The book of Man was going to include a certain type of story telling technique, I thoroughly enjoyed each of the stories included. It’s a very large book, with 500+ pages, so reading it from cover to cover in one sitting is out of the question for most; however, stories can be read individually and not necessarily in the order which they are presented.
Readers are taken on a journey through six different themes; they are: Man in War, Man at Work, Man in Play, Man in the Polis, Man with Woman & Children and Man in Prayer and Reflection. Each story is carefully chosen and men are included from all points in history, including contemporary culture (Green Bay Packers Quarterback Aaron Rodgers is one such example).
This book is a great read for any man who wants to be inspired by the stories of those around him. It serves to encourage, teach, remind and showcase different cultural heroes.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Book of Man - Surpassed Expectations

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
StevenCYC
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We live in a society dominated by a vast array of media influences. Over time it has eroded godly principles and values that once existed within our culture and robbed both men and women alike of their true identities. Thanks to the power of worldly entertainment we’ve seen the compromise of Christian values throughout our academic environments and workplaces, youth crimes have escalated and societal issues have continued to grow. William J. Bennett does well in his book "The Book of Man" in reclaiming the identity of man. The role that man is privileged to play in our world is excellently conveyed by providing excerpts of great men throughout history and their great sacrifices and advancements. Examples include Plato, Ronald Reagan, Pericles, Winston Churchill, and countless more. The broad scope of what encompasses being a man covers areas such as warfare, his nature in the workforce, sports and leisure activities, government involvement, family dynamics, and most importantly his responsibility in prayer.
I have found that his selections of excerpts in this rather large book are of great quality for daily reading; in fact I intend to read it from the very beginning again and take it as a reflectional read each day. There’s so much content that reading twice or three times wouldn’t be enough to grow weary of it, the different variety of writers in these excerpts keep it fresh with vibrant life. I have to admit that as a young man myself I have found this book not only instrumental to further understanding the great responsibility and expectations that come from being a man but also inspirational. It has motivated me to strive for better living, challenged me to step outside of my comfort zones in bravery, and has served to inform me of how men in general have forgotten their purpose in this Universe. William J. Bennett makes it no secret that this book is established upon a Christian worldview, but he doesn’t make it so clear that it scares nonbelievers away. In fact it’s just the right dose for nonbelievers to enjoy and even be drawn into the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I would recommend this book to any man whether young or old. In words I rarely use for a book “I love it” doesn’t seem to do it justice; I highly encourage this book to any of those in need of guidance on their path to manhood. You will NOT be disappointed.
I've received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson Publishing House through the Book Sneeze program in exchange for a review. A positive review was not required and the views expressed in my review are strictly my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Matt
Location:Old Bridge, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just had my 70th birthday so you might wonder why I am reading about the path to manhood. Well the battle isn't over with our secular society which will not ease up on it's decimation of Christian manhood. I still have some work to do as I teach religious education class for 7th & 8th grades. And there are a three grandsons that I need to show example to because their fathers are indifferent toward God. I need the affirmation and confirmation that I find in The Book of Man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Book of Man

Date:October 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Shelb
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my review of The Book of Man by Dr. William Bennett. I am writing this review for www.booksneeze.com a division of Thomas Nelson Publishing...I agree to write a review on a blog site and commercial site, they in turn send me a free book!First off let me say that this is a beautiful book that would look great on any coffee table for morning devotion time. It is very aesthetically pleasing with a tan and maroon cover. Tattered pages give it that warn look, while still maintaing the fact that it is a brand new book.Secondly, the thing that I believe makes this book so great is the fact that it makes use of stories, essays, historical vignettes and contemporary examples in order to explain what it takes to be a man.Third, we are in a great position to learn from this book, whether you are male or female, young or old. Our society is built around great men, and for what it is worth... the strong Christian women that raise those men. Read it if you have ever wondered why the men in your life are so great. Read it if you have wondered why the men in your life aren't so great... The answers all lie inside.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Book of Man: Readings on the Path to Manhood
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A valuable resource in training up young men

Date:October 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am fortunate to have a really good husband, but as the mother of two grown daughters I know how hard it is to find a good man. I don’t mean that there aren’t any—I have a wonderful son-in-law who makes me very proud. But I have noticed for some time now that boys in America seem to have a hard time growing up. Young men who should be mature and starting a family and career are still spending all of their time in adolescent pursuits and activities. They seem to have no interest in duty, family, defending their country, or being men of honor. Instead, the vast majority of young men seem to be lazy, ill-mannered, self centered, and immature. How did this come about? Our culture seems to bombard young people with the message that responsibility and self worth are no longer things to strive for and sadly the “stars” and famous people they look up to are not worthy of “idol” status. This has changed greatly from the time when our school textbooks were filled with the true stories of the heroes who made this country great and even television shows were moral, clean, and portrayed men of honor. Many parents see the messages from society and wonder how to get back the ideals that were once prevalent in this country.
Enter William Bennett’s newest offering, The Book of Man. Filled with stories, letters, poems, essays, myths and legends, as well as profiles of real life heroes; this book will give boys something that has sadly become a thing of the past—heroes to look up to and emulate. This beautiful 546 page volume is divided into six sections where you will find tales of courage, love, devotion, bravery, and sacrifice—the makings of a true man. This book would be a prefect devotional springboard for a father and his sons as well as a wonderful resource for the homeschooling family. Written about men for men, I believe that this book would also be very beneficial to girls and young women as well in helping them to see what kind of man is worthy of their interest. Destined to be a classic like The Book of Virtues, The Book of Man will give every young male who reads it the inspiration to become a true man in the eyes of God and his peers.
I received this complimentary copy from the Thomas Nelson Publishing through their BookSneeze program. A positive review was not required and the opinions expressed here are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.