Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson MacArthur: America's General

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Thomas Nelson MacArthur: America's General

During a military career that spanned fifty-two years and included service in three major wars, Douglas MacArthur was adored by the publoc and the soldiers who served under his comman on the battlefields of the Western Front, the Pacific Theater, and Korea.

Living in the shadow of his famous father, Arthur MacArthur, Douglas set forth on a path to achieve greatness as a gentleman, scholar, and hero. Such aspirations earned him more than 100 military decorations, including the Medal of Honor. His life was not without flaws, however, and this intimate biography critically examines controversies such as MacArthur's response to the Bonus Marchers in 1932, and his outspoken criticism of President Truman that led to his dismissal from the Army he so dearly loved. Douglas MacArthur was a national icon, and this book is a fitting tribute.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MacArthur: America's General
Review 1 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Man of honour

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nightwing
Location:Malaysia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“old soldiers never die; they just fade away”
MacArthur, America’s General by Mitchell Yockelson, it tells about his life and what makes him who he is. The book also tells about his ups and downs.
In this book the author wrote about his career path and does not only focus on the army life. He came from a strong military family and Christian back ground. The battle ground is well written and easy to comprehend. He was at the right place and time during World War 2.
Wonder what America would have been had he became US president?
I would recommend this book to young cadets that is entering military service and history buff who enjoys reading.
I received this E- book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Booksneeze bloggers program. I was not asked to write a positive review and thus, the book review is 100% my own opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for the politics and history buff.

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rena Nunley
Location:Brazil
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MACARTHUR by Mitchell Yokelson and Stephen Mansfield is definitely for those who love history and politics. Even though those two areas are not my favorites, I found some tidbits of interesting things in this book. One is regarding his mother. Amazingly, she had a huge influence on him and, at times, a very controling influence! That seems contradictory to the "America's General" aura of this great man from America's history. There were several other surprising bits of information about him and his life. But you will have to read it to find out. But only if you love history and politics, remember?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A nice, easy read

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Keysville, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The history buff in me couldn't wait to get his hands on this book. I wasn't disappointed. Yockelson's prose is easy to read and made this biography of one of America's most iconic heroes an easy page-turner. Yockelson starts with the childhood of Douglas MacArthur, detailing how he grew up as a military kid, moving from post to post whenever his father was transferred. MacArthur grew up seeing the west while it was still wild in many ways and loved the military life.
Yockelson then describes MacArthur's West Point days, as well as his adventures in WWI during which he would earn 7 silver stars, two distinguished service crosses, a Purple Heart and be recommended (though denied) for the Medal of Honor twice. From there MacArthur served as Chief of Staff under Hoover and FDR before being assigned to serve in the Philippines. It was while he was there that the U.S. was drawn into WWII by Japan's bombing of Pearl Harbor.
Again, Yockelson tells of MacArthur's wartime exploits with enough detail to keep the story moving, but not so much to bog the reader down. After WWII came MacArthur's time to serve Japan by rebuilding it's government. Of all his accomplishments, it was his treatment of the Japanese people that I found most noble about this great general. As they describe, he did not treat them as vanquished foes, but as allies in need of help. YOckelson concludes with MacArthur's brilliance in the Korean War, his clashing with Truman and subsequent firing, and his final speeches to congress, and then a decade later to West Point. Sprinkled throughout was the story of a man who tried to honor God the best way he knew how, by honoring his country.
I found the book informative, easy to read and fair. Yockelson doesn't sugarcoat over some of the messier details of MacArthur's life (like the mistress he had while serving as Chief of Staff or his surly attitude towards Truman over Korea and China), but he does treat the life of MacArthur with the respect deserved of a man who gave so much for his country. A must-read for any history fan out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
lookingforHim86
Location:Red Wing, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Many people know of General Douglas MacArthur because of World War II and his leadership during the war. And, having heard about MacArthur in that almost "hero-worship" sense (the one that you tend to get from those who think of him as the best thing since sliced bread) throughout my school years and from history buffs, I guess I expected a bit more from this book.
MacArthur: America's General by Mitchell Yockelson and Stephen Mansfield is a book that begins by describing General MacArthur's family history and heritage, diving straight into the fact that his own grandfather was a judge and his father had a successful career in the military, as well. Throughout this book, we are given a glimpse into the life and career of General MacArthur.
As much respect as I have for a man like General Douglas MacArthur, I would love to say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. However, that isn't the case. To be completely honest, I found this book a bit dull at times. I found myself simply having a hard time "getting into" this book and an even harder time staying into it...keeping my attention on the book. 84 As far as most biographies go, I am saddened to say that I was not satisfied with MacArthur: America's General.
I received this book free of charge from the publisher through BookSneeze.com in exchange for my review. I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are completely my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for MacArthur: America's General
This review is fromMacArthur: Defiant Soldier - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An exemplary biography for an exemplary soldier

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
rbmarx
Location:Glendive, MT
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacArthur: Defiant Soldier by Mitchell Yockelson Thomas Nelson, Inc.: Nashville, 2011. Reviewer: Robert Marx. BookSneeze® provided me with an advance free copy of the book for review purposes.
A hard buckling, dangerous, and patriotic life of one who did all things with élan that the American nation required of him describes General of the Army Douglas MacArthur. He led from the front, taking on danger from determined enemies, in a classic life that all service members should become familiar. Yockelson completes a masterful compilation on this gifted soldier, focusing on the relationships that formed him, and covered all major events of a life but without focusing narrowly. A private devotion to the God of the Bible describes the General’s creed but the author showed that faith walk in the context of a life lived in the crosshairs of many enemies.
This book thunders for a wide dissemination. A life as long as MacArthur’s with all the players and people of distinction could be a biographer’s nightmare yet the writer focused on the entirety of the life with the theme of bringing an exemplary life into the purview of new generations of Americans. The book flows as a real page turner, covers epochal events and people , and demonstrates the unimpeachable courage of a Medal of Honor designate who emerged from the Great War as America’s most decorated soldier yet went on to the Second World War to be awarded the Medal. The events of MacArthur’s fall from the public eye are related without besmirching the honor the old soldier always retained. All book readers who enjoy an exciting story, patriotic Americans who want to learn of their historic heroes, and educators who keep an eye for great biographies should both read and understand this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book for Our Homeschooling Library

Date:June 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sweet Diva
Location:USA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a homeschooling mom always on the lookout for good materials and resources to add to our library, I was thrilled with the opportunity to receive this book for review. In a world where our country's history is being rewritten in most textbooks and most of our Christian heritage is being left out, I wish to provide my children with ample examples of true accounts of our leader's ~ current and past ~ lives and beliefs.
While no man in history is perfect and MacArthur was no exception, I felt the author did a very thorough job of depicting his strengths and weaknesses, revealing the challenging leader he was who embodied strong character and perseverance. The reader is taken into battle with the general, and also privileged to take a look at his personal life and the beliefs and family that helped to shape the man of excellence and strong leader that he became.
I am glad to add this book to our collection, and know that with two boys who are fascinated with the military and war-related facts and information that it will be read again by them.....and I can feel good about them reading it.
This book was provided by BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I would highly recommend this historical book!

Date:June 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve Hyde
Location:Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have previously read many books on General Douglas MacArthur, so I approached this book looking for a strong historical basis, but what new insights it offered into the life of this great American hero. I was pleased what I found! Yockelson has presented a stunning work. It is probably the best overall summary of the life of General MacArthur I have ever read.
The book covers his whole life, and how he followed after his famous father and grandfather. It follows him through numerous battles and wars across the world. It not only presents the historical side of General MacArthur but reveals how his personal life and family experience shaped his decisions and his life. From a young age in the Philippines to commanding the Allied forces to conquer the Japanese, his promise of “I shall return” was fulfilled. This stunning story of the life of General MacArthur should be read by everyone, especially the younger generation for fear they forget the great heroes of the past.
As a youngster I grew up in Manila, Philippines. Schools, roads and monuments are dedicated to General MacArthur across this nation. Across Asia, his name still recalls great respect. Most scholars do little justice to the background that MacArthur and his family had in Asia and their familiarity with the Philippines and Japan specifically. They tend to focus on important battles and the victory over the Japanese, but this book reveals the great love of General MacArthur for the Asians, and specifically his great love for the Filipino. Yockelson highlights this past relationship well and critical decisions in his life. His military command demonstrated his idealistic and confident behavior, but also highlights his amazing leadership abilities and the respect that the whole nation had for him. It portrays him as a true American hero and adequately reveals who he really was. This was one of the best historical books I have ever read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Duty. Honor. Country.

Date:June 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Indianapolis, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The annals of history have much to teach us if we are only willing to stop a moment and study the pages that contain stories of battles valiantly fought, lessons vividly learned , and lives victoriously lived. One exceptionally vibrant portion in these chronicles takes us through the turn of the century (19th-20th, that is), through World Wars I & II, and into the post-war recovery. We’d be hard-pressed to find a man as influential as Douglas MacArthur was in the events all across the globe that took place during this pivotal time in our world. Here is a man who took his US Military Academy motto seriously and gave it wings, “Duty. Honor. Country.”
I just finished reading a biography on his life by Mitchell Yockelson entitled, MacArthur: America’s General, part of a new series on America’s generals. This book drew me right in as I found out about his childhood being raised in a military family (his father, Arthur MacArthur rose to the rank of general and also earned the Army’s highest recognition, the Medal of Honor), his dealing with the deaths of both his brothers at relatively young ages, going through West Point, his love for sports (and involvement in the 1928 US Olympic Committee), and his foreign deployments in the Pacific as a commissioned Army officer. The author was able to bring in a few quotes of the general’s to give authenticity to the stories and descriptions of life as it was for Douglas. I would have enjoyed reading even more quotations or excerpts from his speeches, as he was a prolific communicator.
One adage that shaped Douglas’s outlook on life was passed down to him from his grandfather: “You must also be a gentleman and scholar, and above all else, honorable.” This Douglas took to heart and earned top honors in Military Academy and graduated first in his class at West Point. He was rewarded with many key positions throughout his lifetime, many of which had never come to anyone younger. He was called upon to lead troops into battle, strategize tactical maneuvers for the entire Pacific fleet, bring social and political reform to broken and needy countries in the Far East, and advise many Presidents on military affairs. MacArthur was not afraid to stand his ground against anybody—even when his direct authority, the President, gave specific orders. This eventually led to his being relieved of military duty after 52 years in the service. He came home to a hero’s welcome.
Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of “MacArthur: America’s General” through Book Sneeze, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Detailed History of the Life & Times of MacArthur

Date:June 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eva Scott
Location:Greensboro, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacArthur by Mitchell Yockelson is a biography, a history book, teaches about leaders, politics, faith, and family influence. One of the author's stated purpose for writing this series of books on our nation's generals is to "help us learn the lessons they have to teach."
The author successfully does this by telling the story of MacArthur intertwining historical details of war, behind-the-scene debates between leaders, MacArthur's weaknesses, his idiosyncrasies, his greatest moments, along with his family's influence on his character, and his faith.
The author is an Investigative Archivist at the National Archives and Records Administration and teaches at the United States Naval Academy and Norwich University. This is important to know; because the author, like a good researcher and teacher, doesn't just know the facts and teach them, he makes MacArthur and the historical period come to life.
For instance, he gives details about the flag flown on the Missouri during the Japanese surrender, and why the Missouri was chosen as the place for the surrender. The details about the flag brought to me memories of 9/11.
This is not a quick read. It has seventeen chapters. If you want to know details about this time in history, told through MacArthur's life in an interesting way, this is a great book.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com http://BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for MacArthur: America's General
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

Date:May 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Macarthur by Mitchell Yockelson,
I knew about Douglous Macarthur before so when I saw this bio about him, I read it.
Douglas Macarthur was a American army genral in World war 2 and world war 2 and the Korean war. He was an American icon in the twentieth century. Famous for the words" I shall return" He furfilled them, returning to the Philippians.
4 stars
The book was more about what he did in the army then in his life.
I received this book from booksneeze.com free to review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.