Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Plain Perfect - eBook

Thomas Nelson Plain Perfect - eBook

On the rolling plains of Lancaster County, PA., Lillian Miller is searching for her grandparents' house...and so much more. After years of neglect and abuse, she's turning to a lifestyle of simplicity among the Amish to find herself.

As she discards the distractions of her former life, she befriends the young boy working on her family's farm and his attractive widowed father, Samuel Stoltzfus. Despite Lillian's best efforts to the contrary, her feelings for Samuel--and his for her--deepen. Will Lillian find her faith in Plain living, or will she be forced to return to her former life?

Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
49
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Perfect - eBook
Review 1 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Auntie Whiz
Location:Saskatchewan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this book to be very realistic. It caught my emotions and brought laughter and tears. The story captured my attention. I was hard-pressed to put it down and eager to read the sequel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Almost devoured this book in an entire evening!

Date:April 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel Ropper
Location:Scotland, UK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With so many other Amish books that I own and need to read, I hadn't thought about checking out the work of Beth Wiseman until a friend leant me this book. Picking it up one evening when I was feeling under the weather and wanting to read a "real" book rather than something on my Kindle, I found myself pleasantly surprised. I almost devoured this book in an entire evening, unable to put it down. Lillian was a hilarious character, constantly putting her foot in her mouth whenever she claimed that she wanted to find "peace" amongst the Amish, and insisting that she'd manage fine because she knows how to cook! I loved that Beth had created such an unconventional, flawed heroine. Even though I couldn't entirely relate to her problems (nor her immaturity, that on any other character would have annoyed me) I wanted to keep reading about her because she was so entertaining.
The other characters in the novel were incredibly endearing, from the vastly different grandparents - the grandfather who saw the good in everyone and spoke his mind, and the grandmother who was still hurting from the loss of her daughter - to Samuel and his sweet son - who couldn't help but hope that Lillian would become his new mother. I even liked Lillian's "rival", who ended up being her friend. It was sweet to witness Lillian and Samuel unintentionally falling in love with each other, showing the readers how people from such vastly different backgrounds can find comfort in each other.
While I can sometimes be wary of conversion-to-the-Amish plotlines, Lillian's visit to Lancaster County made sense in that her mother had left the Amish as a teen, and both of them had subconsciously yearned to return there. I would have to say that Lillian's acceptance of the Amish ways wasn't entirely convincing, and that's why I'd give this book 9/10 rather than 10/10. At one point, she questioned why Amish women should be subservient to their husbands and she wasn't satisfied with her grandmother's answer - but this was never brought up again. I personally feel like Lillian would have needed a lot more convincing to join the Amish lifestyle, especially when it came to accepting "God's will" about bad situations. This is probably the part that I had the most difficulty with in this book. Even as a Christian, I don't believe it's "God's will" for bad things to happen - but I do believe it is His will for good things to come out of bad situations. But calling the death of a young woman from cancer "God's will" suggests that God intended for her to die - and I don't think this is the way it is at all. Lillian struggled with this also, but she seemed to finally accept it in the end but it was never really explained. I felt like too much was spent dwelling on the idea of "God's will" and it left me feeling a bit uncomfortable.
Despite my minor struggles with this book, I did really enjoy it. When a sudden tragedy struck Lillian's family near the end of the book I actually had tears in my eyes, which made me realise how attached I'd become to these characters. While the plot may have been rather predictable, the characters were far from conventional and I'd definitely recommend this book to fans of Amish fiction of the likes of Amy Clipston, Barbara Cameron, Vannetta Chapman and Kelly Long. I'm excited to get on to the next book and see where Beth takes our characters next. 9/10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cleo Tomlin
A must for reading for everyone. I can't say enough about the Amish novels. I know that I have not spoke entirely about the contents of this book but I do not have the ability to express myself good enough to tell people how awesome these books are. All I can say is, please buy this one and I can tell you, you will be hooked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joyce Huddleston
It was a delightful story! A book that is hard to put down. The Amish people are such hardworking Christian people. Lillian was such an interesting person who was forunate enough to come back to her roots!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
This is my first bonnet book though Ive long held a fascination for the plain living practiced by the Amish. I loved this book so much that I read it one sitting. It is a stunning novel about forgiveness and the peace it brings. The romantic development is nicely paced and Samuels steadfast faith is a great foil to Lillians emotional confusion. I enjoyed watching their love grow in spite of themselves. All the characters in this novel come to life. I particularly loved Grandpa Jonas, who often had me laughing out loud. This book is rich in developing relationships and in healing them. Lillians ability to put the past to rest so that she can grow spiritually is inspiring. All in all, a very good read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
While I dont agree with some of the beliefs of Amish people, I do admire their determination to follow Gods word. I like the way that people help and support each other. I liked this book and the characters, although some of the beliefs frustrate me at times. This is a nice sweet read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Denise
Wow! This book was wonderful! It was one of those that was so interesting that I didn't want to put it down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
sharon Leary
Wonderful I'm almost finised .. Great story and it justjust takes off and you can't put the book down .. Cant wait for #2 .. Beth Wiseman is a Blessed author .. thank-you Beth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 28, 2009
I had the wonderful opportunity to visit Lancaster County this past summer and finally got to experience what the Amish lifestyle really was about. It was wonderful to see all the books I've read come to life. I was able to fully appreciate and understand everything I had read about the culture. Therefore I was excited when I read this book because I recognized the settings because I had actually been there. This story was really fun to read. I loved learning more about the culture and it was interesting to see Lillian change throughout the book. I felt that the Stoltzfus family were a bit less traditional than most other Old Order Amish families. They didn't seem as strict or condemning as other stories have portrayed families who have lost a child to the "outside world." I also remember reading that they had a recliner in the house. I guess I just had this feeling that the Amish only had wooden furniture and never pictured a lazy boy in the middle of the living room. I was glad that her grandparents did allow her to wear her jeans until she felt comfortable enough to wear Amish clothing. Also loved reading about the food because I absolutely love Amish food.While I really liked this book, I did feel that it seemed to fall in the stereotype that everyone who comes in touch with the Amish suddenly wants to become one. It also bugged me a little that Lillian just assumed she's Amish because it's in her blood. While she may have Amish roots, she was raised "Englisch" so she's not Amish by choice. I wasn't really a fan of Samuel although I did like his son very much. He just came across as very standoffish to me.Overall I really liked the author's style of writing. It was a very refreshing read and it made me eager to read the rest of the books in the series. This is one of those Amish books that I really liked. It doesn't feel like an agenda is being pushed at you. It's more comfort reading than escapist reading this time around.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Valetta Lucas
Plain Perfect Series #1 I borrowed from a friend and was so taken with it I ordered it and book #2 The people are so real and heart warming yet one's humanity does weave a web of heartaches. I have been to Lancaster and felt like I was right there the whole time while I reading. Thank God for Christian writers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Wish I could give it more than 5 stars! This was my first read of Beth Wiseman's and I loved it so much. Lillian gets to live out my dream come true! Well written, creative story ... looks like I have a new favorite Amish fiction author!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 2, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amee Enders
I found this novel to be well written and intriguing. Wiseman weaves the story lines of faith and romance expertly. I was equally invested in (and cheering on) the romance between Lillian and Samuel as well as Lillian's quest for faith within the Amish world. A highly recommended novel for Christian fiction fans, especially those focusing on the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
JLS
This was an incredible book that I could not put down! I absolutely loved the humor and development of the characters. I am eager to read the next book in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen Latshaw
This book made me laugh & tear up! Very good! The story line is similar to one of the other Amish book series of Beverly Lewis.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 25, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leslie Mickelson
very good book. full of emotion. Very fast read. I can't wait to read the next in the series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Lee
I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to anyone who enjoys great fiction about the Amish.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Olga Rosati
I read this book on a weekend. It is the first book I've read by this author and it was wunderbaar. I can't wait to read the other two books. Thank you,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nancy Fox
A very interesting book! Hard to imagine turning to the Amish life style after the way Lillian grew up. Looking forward to No#2.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda Stookey
I can not tell you how delighted I was to run across this book and how very excited I am to purchase book #2! This story not only pulled me in with the characters but also had me laughing, crying and rejoicing to the end. And then to find out that this is your very first Novel? There is no doubt in my mind that I shall be a forever fan of yours. You did such a wonderful-gut job! Even though it has been 12 hours since I finished reading Plain Perfect, I am still reeling from the effects it left on me.Congratulations to you, you are truly blessed... SincerelyLinda StookeySt. Louis Missouri
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plain Perfect - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Cathy
This is a WONDERFUL book! I couldn't put it down! I cried, I laughed and I just thoroughly enjoyed every single page! Can't wait to read Beth's next book in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.