Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Plain Promise - eBook

Thomas Nelson Plain Promise - eBook

Sadie Fisher wonders if she'll ever find true love again after the death of her husband. When wealthy Englischer Kade Saunders rents her guest cottage for a month, Sadie's world is turned upside-down.

Kade has a five-year old autistic son who is unexpectedly left in his permanent care. As Sadie's feelings for the child grow, so do her feelings for Kade. But is this man suitable for anything more than friendship?

Average Customer Rating:
4.718 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Promise - eBook
Review 1 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain Promise

Date:December 1, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was fantastic! I really enjoyed the story and I think all readers will too. The author did a really great job of keeping a good balance in the story line. What I especially loved was the way she blended all the characters in the book so that you fall in love with them all not just the main characters. You remember them al. The story was captivating from the first page. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Army Mom
Location:Ontario, Ca.
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Plain Promise is the third book in the Daughters of the Promise series and to be honest it was a book that I couldn't put down. I finished it in a day and a half. It was a very different type of Amish book and quite frankly I was very impressed with both the writing and the storyline. The storyline was one I had not read before and that in itself gets kudos from me. I get so tired of the Amish people only being written one or two ways. This author did a fantastic job of really bringing the characters to life.
Sadie Fisher has been a widow for four long years and although she would never admit it, she is getting tired of being alone. She while she has prayed and tried to be patient with God, the loneliness is beginning to take its toll on her. Even after two years of writing to a young Amish man in Texas with the hope of one day settling down with him, Sadie is beginning to feel that dream slowly slip away day by day.
Englisher Kade Saunders needs a break from his life. His latest romance has blown up in his face and while his business is doing well it is beginning to weigh on him, so he leaves his Los Angeles home to rent a cottage from an Amish widow in Lancaster County. What he finds there will cause him to reevaluate his entire life, from his priorities to his walk with God.
I really liked Sadie and Kade’s story. I thought that they were very compatible and it showcased human emotions at their best and their worst. The valley and the peaks that we all walk through. But while the story was written for them, I really felt that Lizzy and Jonas stole the show. They were adorable. Every scene that they were in I found myself smiling or laughing. They brought a real lightness to story that was a great contrast to the heaviness that surrounded Sadie and Kade.
This is the first book that I have read by this author and I can’t wait to read more. This book gets a 5/5 stars from me, for extreme creativity in the plot and great characters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

What a good book

Date:February 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marianne
Location:Arizona
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Review
What a refreshing book...i was impressed with the way Beth deals with the situations that come up between the Englisher Kade and Sadie, who is trying to follow the Ordnung. i feel this book was very well written, with enough suspense and romance in it to keep the reader interested, protraying the Old Amish in a favorable light to the reader regardless of the readers background. i know i will want to follow the people Beth has introduced to me. I also was pleased that she tackled the touchy subject of Autism, and though it was a different approach than Karen Kingsbury's story on Autism (Unlocked) i feel it was realistic, though admittedly i have no experience with this. i will be recommending this book to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than any Lifetime movie!

Date:November 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
DWsMom
Location:West Monroe, LA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have really enjoyed reading Beth Wiseman's books. This book in particular is one of my favorites! I love the way she gives a great story, but at the same time it brings you on another level with your faith. It is like a bible study with a great story to go along with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Popek
Excellent book. One of the best Amish authors I have read since Beverly Lewis. I can't wait to get through Plain Paradise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Plain Promise is a great example of how money will not provide happiness, and I enjoyed reading it. The only thing about this book is that I didnt connect with it as well as the previous books in the series. (However, I was sick while reading it, and that tends to make everything not so fun for me.) This is a nice, sweet romance, and I think readers of the simple/sweet romances will enjoy it best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Regina Love
Just read Plain Pursuit & now reading Plain Promise & really liking it also. Great author. Will buy any of her books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lesa Brassette
Ding ding ding! We have a winner! I can not get my hands on these books fast enough. (Even though I'm slower to review.) I loved everything about this story from the guest cottage to the affects of autism. And the development of the relationship between the two main characters ... no one does it better. I'm so glad Beth Wiseman came onto the scene! Do not miss this story (nor the two that preceded it). Come on March .. can't wait for Plain Paradise!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Paul And Jean Tye
I am presently reading this book and love it. It's well written and I love Beth Wiseman's writings. I have worked with Autistic children and Tyler's problems and solutions are well handled. He is a loving little boy who needs lots of love. I love the book and highly recommend it. I love books about the Amish and their love for the Lord, family and love for one another and how they support one another as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chris Glaze
I enjoyed these one as much or more than I did the first 2. I just finished it and have ordered the 4th. that has just come out. Beth Wiseman is a wonderful story teller. I love the twists & turns she adds to her books, adding the 'Englisher' lives and showing how the Amish way of life can bring peace to busy supposedly successful English lives. Very well written..love her books!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jane Watson
I h ave read the other books in this series and enjoyed them very much and this one was just as good.We do not always understand why things happen the way they do but God has a plan for all our lives which i think is shown in this book. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 10, 2009
One would think that after a while all Amish stories start to blend together. While that may be the case, the trick is to write a good and unique story to make it stand apart. I think that's what Beth Wiseman has done with her books, because so far I've really enjoyed all of them. Sadie is unique because not only is she a widow, she rents out her cottage (that has electricity!) to an Englisch single man, and she's writing letters to another Amish guy in another state. That's quite a bit of excitement for people who are supposed to be living simple lives.I really thought it was interesting to bring a topic like autism into the Amish world and see how they would react to it. Sadie doesn't really know what exactly is going on (I guess no one in the Amish gets it?) but she does her best to try to comfort Tyler whenever he starts getting antsy. The Bible verse speaking is a bit freaky but it adds to the story very well. To be honest, from the brief interaction we had with her and the way Kade described her, I was not a fan of Tyler's mother and actually quite glad as to what happened to her. I know that sounds terribly sadistic but the way she handled the situation was done very poorly and she should have thought of the consequences better.I did feel that this book did go into the over dramatic side at times with everything that happened in the book. Also the ending was a bit predictable, as I knew exactly whatKade was going to do as soon as I started reading. I think for once it would be interesting to have one spouse remain Amish and the other to stay non-Amish but I guess that would make things too difficult. Overall though, I did like the book. I enjoy this author's style of writing as it is comforting and she does a good job of bringing the characters to life. I'll be looking forward to when the fourth book in the series comes out next year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 31, 2009
This author like others who write about the Amish make you feel like you are right there.Often God draws people to one another througha third party as in this case, Kade's son. You will enjoy this book just like her others. Waiting for number 4!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Brosten
was an excellent book, one you could not put down until finished. Beth Wiseman really knows how to hold your interest. thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karen M. Byus
I give this book 5 stars...I hope...as I'm not sure I clicked on the right stars. This book is wonderful. Beth keeps you so raped up in the story that I could hardly put the book down until the end....and what an end it was! I would recommend this book to anyone who likes good books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Dena Hammye
Na excelllant series. I found they are a book once you start it you can't put it down and look forward to the next.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Shirley Bott
Good series of books!!!!We live in an area with these people and i find these stories great. it helps one to understand their ways also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
SusanV
Plain Promise by Beth Wiseman (Thomas Nelson Publisher)Sadie Fisher lives alone following the accidental death of her young husband. She longs for the joy of having a family of her own. Things seem promising as she corresponds with Milo, an Amish farmer living in Texas whom she has never met face-to-face, yet she wonders if he is truly the one God intends for her to spend her life with...or is her heart telling her otherwise?The quaint Amish lifestyle of Lancaster County serves as the setting of this well-written romance, while the underlying theme is that of the importance of one's priorities in this life, whether Amish or Englisch. Wiseman has woven in the unique problems and joys associated with an Englischer and his autistic child as well. I found this book to be inspirational as well as entertaining.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 20, 2009
We have an autistic family member. I thought the author did a great job describing the disability. I enjoyed the parts where Tyler quoted scripture. Autistic kids vary so much in their abilities but still have communication problems in common. Thanks so much for a great story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plain Promise - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 19, 2009
Plain Promise was one of the best Amish Fiction Storys I have read and could hardly put it down or wait to finish it. It was one of those books that you wish would never end. I am just hoping there will be another in this series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>