Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook

Thomas Nelson Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook

Carley Marek experiences culture shock when she visits her friend Lillians family on their farm deep in Amish country. She will get an article out of the visit--and maybe some of Lillian's newfound peace will somehow rub off on her.

Just when Carley is getting used to the quiet nature of the Plain community, Lillian and Samuel's son falls ill. But the local doctor who can offer the most help has been shunned by the community and forbidden to intervene. As David's condition deteriorates, Dr. Noah determines to do whatever it takes to save the boy's life. Carley is caught in the middle--drawn to Noah, wanting to be helpful in the crisis--and confused by all their talk about a God she neither knows nor trusts.

Carley must decide what in life is worth pursuing . . . and what to do when she's pursued by a love she never expected.

Average Customer Rating:
4.692 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Review 1 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Plain pursuit

Date:December 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sherma
Location:Mississauga, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Another wonderful book by Beth Wiseman. Truly this woman has been blessed with the gift of story telling. I love the way she builds her story plot and the way she blends the characters so that you love the all. This book is another must read by Mrs. Wiseman. She is quickly becoming one of my favourite authors. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent read!

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Angela King
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In the tradition of the other "Plain" books she has written, Beth Wiseman delivers an excellent read with the strong message of the importance of faith in Christ, threaded throughout the work. Like other books that focus on the Amish way of life, Wiseman builds solid characters and places them in interesting plot situations. I would suggest this book to friends and family, as well as Wiseman's other books in the "Plain" series.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly an exceptional story of unconditional love

Date:March 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lourdes Menezes
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the first 4 of the series and Plain Pursuit certainly stands out. This is such a beautiful story about following God's call and love and sacrifice. Beth Wiseman has done a remarkable job of narrating Dr. Noah's emotions. He is not just a skilled doctor but certainly knows to pull the right strings when it comes to a woman's heart. Great job. This book is mine for keeps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cindy Smith
I love reading about the Amish life. Each book I read I learn more and they are very intresting but this book really brought tears to my eyes. It really goes to show you how powerfull love can be. 5 stars was not enough for this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
This book is a book about unconditional love and restoration within a family and within God's circle. It deals a lot with how hard shunning is on both the person shunned and their family members.This is a book that will keep you turning the pages for hours. Carly cannot get past the death of her Mother from an auto accident which also left her unable to bear children. She was dealing with so much it was affecting her work. Her boss suggests she take a month off work but she doesn't want to but is forced to. She goes to visit a friend of hers who married into the Amish Community. She is surprised by the peace she finds and relaxation and is able to take her mind off all the events that have plagued her. Lillian and Samuel's son becomes very ill and they have to take him to the hospital. When Samuel meets the doctor there is so much stress and I won't give away why. But God has a great work to do before David, the son, can be healed.In the midst of his illness a family is drawn close together and begin to experience unconditional love for each other. Carly is dealing with issues because of rejection by her boyfriend because she could not bear children and finds it hard to love again and believe anyone will love her if she cannot give them children. Noah reaches out to Carly to reach Samuel and Lillian to get medical help for David. But so much more develops and one can see God's hand and his purpose at work. Carley ends up finding faith and a refreshing within the Amish Community. She doesn't want to be Amish because she could never shun anyone but she does find her faith again. There is more to a family than just having your own children something that will also be found in this book. God's plan unfolds from beginning of book to end. A book that will give you the story of God's unconditional love and restoration in the midst of situations. Everyone can gain strength and inspiration from this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beth
This is the second book in the Daughters Of Promise series. Carley Marek is a journalist who is having a hard time dealing with the loss of her mother after a tragic car accident in which Carley survives. She is struggling with her survival and the loss of her mother. She is forced to take a much needed vacation from work and ends up going to visit her Amish friend Lillian in Pennsylvania. While Carley is there, Lillian's stepson, David is discovered to need a kidney transplant. Dr. Noah, who first treats David is actually a shunned member of Lillian's new family. This brings many questions to Carly's mind about God's role in her life as well as the lives of others and forgiveness. This series is very pleasant to read. I am enjoying meeting the various families and getting to know them. I like how Beth Wiseman gives us an honest look into the lives of the Amish. I could see and understand the story from both points of views, the Englishers and the Amish. This book leaves you with a feeling of hope at the end. As a bonus there are a few Amish recipes in the back of the book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Michelle D Evans
This book has a very simple story line where tragedy happens and Carley Marek is forced to take a holiday. She heads to stay with an Amish friend. Then another tragedy occurs. This is where Carley meets Dr Noah and soon they fall in love. It is quite predictable and in line with what youd expect from classic romance novels.What got me was how Beth Wiseman drew me in. I was completely absorbed by the book until I turned the last page! There were many ups and downs that I didnt see coming which intrigued me and had me turning the pages with expectation.I found some of the thoughts and language used for the men a little unrealistic, although I have never met an Amish man so I could be very wrong in thinking that.There is a thread in the book about a letter that Dr Noah sent to his brother. This thread was beautifully woven in and out of the story line and only revealed right at the end with great effect. This book has a great message about slowing things down a little and following your heart. A good romance novel that wasnt too sappy. [This book was provided for me to read and review by Thomas Nelson through BookSneeze]
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Alissabeth
Another great Amish fiction book! This book is the second in a series, but stands on its own. There is no necessity to read the first, although it is just as good. I highly recommend this book. It was very enjoyable, and an easy read. Everything flowed well and kept you interested the whole time. This book is up there with my other favorites by popular Amish writing authors.It follows the life of Carley Marek who is holding on to the pains of her past after the death of her mother and physical impairments to herself, but is forced to go on a month long vacation in order to rediscover herself. Carley journeys to Amish country to visit a friend who recently joined the Amish faith. While visiting Lillian, Lillian's son becomes deathly ill and finds his source of healing from an unmentioned family member. Carley realizes that she loves the quiet and peaceful lifestyle her friend lives, as well as the love of family and community. She must decide whether she wants to let go of her past and move forward or stay in the miserable state she was in before her 'vacation'.I received the wonderful opportunity to read this book courtesy of Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Leisha
Plain Pursuit, A Daughters of the Promise Novel is the first by Beth Wiseman that I have read - it is unlikely that it will be the last. I love a good Amish story and this one certainly met the standard of a "good Amish story". Although somewhat predictable in places, which I guess happens after reading too many Amish works of fiction, it brought pleasant mix of modern day life and old time Amish ways and wove them seamlessly into an enjoyable read. There were a few unexpected twists and turns which always earn extra points on my scorecard ;-) The characters are real and believable. I found myself cheering them on and celebrating their victories as well. This book is the second in the series but stood alone well enough that I did not feel I was missing anything critical not having read the first in the series.An easy, enjoyable read, I would recommended this book for when you just want to read something to enjoy that does not require a whole lot of effort on the part of the reader. And of course if you like a "good Amish story" all the better!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Heidi Main
To be honest, I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm not really into historical or amish novels, but once I began reading this, I could not put it down. At the end of the book, I was so engrossed with the characters that I cried - always a sign of a good book!Beth Wiseman, author, did a wonderful job painting a picture of Amish living. Carley is a non-Amish woman that is integrated into the community. I loved seeing the Amish community from Carley's perspective. How she wonders if a simpler way of life might be a better way to live. Life without television, computers, telephones, cell phones, electricity . . . hmm the Amish do have a point!I enjoyed how Beth deepened the characters with every chapter. Each scene and chapter ended with a lingering question--making this a page turner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kristen H.
I have been a fan of Amish fiction for many years. I like reading about the simple life, and am interested in learning about the Amish faith. Most of the Amish fiction I've read has a romantic element as well, and I'm a sucker for a sweet romance. I enjoyed the romantic storyline in Plain Pursuit. However, this book doesn't provide much insight into the Amish faith except for their practice of shunning. I also found the Daughters of Promise theme to be very weakly developed and the development of Carley's faith was not very deep or inspirational. Overall, the book was a nice, cozy read for a rainy day, but nothing that left me very interested in reading more about these characters.Thomas Nelson sent me a copy of Plain Pursuit to review as a member of the Book Sneeze Blogger program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nikole Hahn
Amish romance has hit the Christian culture like the Twilight series has hit the secular worldlike a nuclear bomb. Authors like Beverly Lewis have colored the Amish in a rosy glow, and Beth Wiseman is no different.When you first open the book, she lists a few Pennsylvania Dutch words and their definitions. I work with a family whose roots are from Pennsylvania Dutch country and find the language quaint. The story comes from the points of view of Carley (a woman who lost her mother and has an overprotective brother), Lillian (formerly a city-girl who fell in love with an Amish farmer, Samuel, and became baptized into the Amish religion), and Noah (the shunned brother of Samuel). Carley is still struggling with the unexpected death of her mother. The accident stole her mother and her ability to have children.To read more go to: http://www.thehahnhuntinglodge.comunder MY JOURNAL. Great book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 4, 2010
Wow. For me, this book was a real tear-jerker. I cried so much! I was really touched by this story, and I love it. I really liked how this book shows that God works out everything for our good and that if we will let Him, the results of our bad choices can be turned into something great. These characters will start to grow on you, and they certainly did with me. I was so into this book that I couldnt put it down. Looking forward to the next books in this series!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
SusanV
This is yet another Amish-Englisch romance which serves to contrast various differences that exist between the two vastly diverse worlds, while showing how they are sometimes compelled to intertwine. Matters of the heart often conflict with the rigid rules of the Ordnung. Carley Marek, a journalist for a Houston newspaper, travels to Lancaster County to "vacation" at the home of her recently re-converted Amish friend, Lillian. Instantly, Carley is caught up in helping with the medical crisis that suddenly arises for Lillian and her husband, Samuel. The need for an emergency kidney transplant weighs against the observance of shunning and the question of its rightness in this particular situation. Samuel's brother, Noah, who followed his calling to become a doctor, has been shunned by his Amish community for many years. Despite this, Noah continually strives to help his people as he longs for their forgiveness and understanding. Both Carley and he seek to overcome the obstacles they meet as the two ways of life intersect. Plain Pursuit, from the Daughters of the Promise series, is a story of the inner healing which takes place in the lives of both the Englisch and Amish characters involved in its telling. As both groups reach out to one another in love and compassion, wonderful changes are enabled to unfold. Acceptance and forgiveness allow them to share a common ground amidst the two divergent paths.~~Thomas Nelson Publisher~~
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Maureen Gerhard
I absolutely loved this book......barely put it down. I have already read Book #3 and really enjoyed that also. I am patiently waiting for book # 4 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2010
Customer Avatar
HJ Mayfield
I am a great fan of Amish fiction novels, so I was very excited to find a another author who wrote about the Amish. Plain Pursuit is the story of reporter, Carley, who during a crisis point in her life goes to visit with her friend, Lilian, who has recently joined the Amish community. While visiting Carley sees the transformation in her friend and wonders at her joy despite her hard work and long days. When Lilians son falls serious ill, Carley meets local doctor, Noah, who desperately wants to help the boy but is shunned by the Amish community. Carley struggles with being loyal to Lilians family and her desire for a friendship with Noah. The book was a fast and enjoyable read. The research that the author put in adds to the believability of the story. I enjoyed that the book showed Christians dealing with real-life struggles where it is hard to trust God and showed them wrestle with this issue. The story was written in a way that showed Gods work in the lives of men. It also showed how God works on our hearts to draw us to him by showing Carley confronted with people who had a relationship with God while she struggles with whether she could trust Him. ***I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
Casey
Carley Marek is forced to take a vacation by her boss, so she heads for Pennsylvania Dutch country and her Amish reformed friend. Entering the tranquil countryside and community of the Amish soon proves to be anything, but relaxing. From a shunning no one wants to forgive to a dying child in need of a kidney transplant, Carley is about to discover what she never expected to find.I hate clichd Amish stories and there are so many out there. But, I am so thrilled to share with you a simply wonderful story. A tale fresh with new perspective on the Amish culture. I am a huge stickler when it comes to getting facts right on the Amish, but Beth Wiseman does a marvelous job on accuracy. It was like a breath of fresh air and a story I loved from page one to the end. There was one moment that must have been a typo when it came to changing character perspective, but aside from that it was a great read. The ending will even make you cry (in a very good way!) 5/5 stars!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy
This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. I totally loved everything about it. I love reading about the Amish people and I love traveling to their communities here in Ohio and visiting. Anyway, back to the book. The character Carley had some hard things that had occurred in her life and it was interesting to read about how she was learning to cope with them as she visited with her Amish friend and family. It was very interesting to learn more about shunnings and what the Amish are really attempting to accomplish when they shun someone. I have a hard time believing that shunning is the right way to do things, but at least I understand a little more about it and the reasons they do it. It also very much shows you how the Amish come together as a community to help their own through all kinds of hardships. If you enjoy reading about the Amish at all, then this book is definitely for you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sheila
Beth Wiseman's Plain Pursuit is the second book in her Daughters of the Promise collection.Plain Pursuit is the story of a woman caught up in her career and all the other normal stresses of city life and comes with a lot of baggage from a previous experience. The vast majority of the novel deals with Carleys time in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania to spend time with a friend who traded in her city life for a simpler Amish lifestyle.I must say that I was extremely skeptical of the novel; I thought there was no way that Wiseman could capture the beauty of their lifestyle without using stereotypes or coming off as unbelievable, but from the moment I picked up Plain Pursuit, I yearned to continue reading. Carley's situation tears at your heartstrings and her journey of rediscovering God forces you to look inward at your own relationship with Him.Carleys relationship with Noah, Lillian and the other members of the community show the true meaning of familyblood relations or not.All of the characters are believable and are very three-dimensional. I give Plain Pursuit 4 out of 5 stars and look forward to reading another of Wisemans novels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plain Pursuit: A Daughters of the Promise Novel - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Cathy
My thoughts: This is one of the best books I've read in a long time. I totally loved everything about it. I love reading about the Amish people and I love traveling to their communities here in Ohio and visiting. Anyway, back to the book. The character Carley had some hard things that had occurred in her life and it was interesting to read about how she was learning to cope with them as she visited with her Amish friend and family. It was very interesting to learn more about shunnings and what the Amish are really attempting to accomplish when they shun someone. I have a hard time believing that shunning is the right way to do things, but at least I understand a little more about it and the reasons they do it. If you enjoy reading about the Amish at all, then this book is definitely for you
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.