Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust

Thomas Nelson It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust

Nestled in the heart of southern Italy, the village of Campagna was home to Bettina's grandparents---and a shelter camp for Jews during the Holocaust! Follow her journey of discovery as she hears stories of gratitude from survivors and learns how members of the Catholic church harbored them during World War II.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
Review 1 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Kelly L.
"It Happened In Italy" written by Elizabeth Bettina is an eye-opening read on the history of the Jews in Italy. This is a part of World War II not usually presented, I never even thought of Jews being in Italy. This book will make you question, why Italy saved her Jews, and the rest of Europe didn't. This is also a very quick and enjoyable read that I would recommend to any history buff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Caitlin
When you think of the Holocaust, you think of death and destruction. You think of life and light cruelly snuffed out. Innocence lost in streams of blood and shower chambers that kill instead of cleanse. Strict Nazi's with pencil-thin mustaches and blue eyes that pierce your soul. The Star of David fell from glory, yarmuckles and menorahs thrown to the ground to be trampled under steel-toed boots.When visiting family in Italy, Elizabeth Bettina was given a book that would change her life. The little book held a list of the people who had been interned in the village. Elizabeth was shattered - how could this little sleepy town in the back country have played such a big part in saving the Jewish people? Why hadn't she ever heard the story growing up?It Happened in Italy (Thomas Nelson) follows Elizabeth's strange journey as she collects the stories of the survivors and what happens when she takes them back to Italy. The story is beautiful. Brothers are reunited, family histories finally begin to make sense, and the Pope even makes a cameo. It took me a long time to wade through this book but it was well worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Amy Sondova
Elizabeth Bettinas book, It Happened In Italy (Thomas Nelson) tells the story of Jews living in Italy during the time of the Holocaust. After learning that her Italian grandparents helped to save Jews in the small village Campagna, Bettina decided to further investigate what happened in Italy during World War II. As it turns out, many of the Jews escaped to Italy (one of the only countries that would accepted their visas) and were hidden in small villages such as, Campagna, saving 75%-80% of the Italian Jews.Through interviews with survivors, Bettina is able to use a casual conversational style that lures the reader into the lives of her subject. The first-person accounts add depth to the book as the real survivors and their protectors tell their own stories. The book is full of photographic evidence, such as marriage certificates and baptismal records that show not only that these people existed, but that they also lived.To think, while many other countries cringed in fear of the Nazis, the Italians fought back and protected the Jews in their midstand it all happened in Italy. This review is part of the Thomas Nelson Blog Reviewers Program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sheila DeChantal
I was delighted to receive this book that is beautiful both inside and out. I have read several books about the Holocaust and was please to have the opportunity to read this one. The book, as in the description, is filled with Elizabeths own journeys as she meets Walter Wolff, a Holocaust survivor who holds an incredible truth of how he and many other Jewish people were saved from the horrors thanks to the people of Italy.Walter is only the beginning, as Elizabeth unfolds this well written story she meets others who were also part of this group. Her amazing spirit and never give up attitude keep this book flowing at a great pace. I found myself anxious to see what was on each page as Elizabeth has filled it with documents of her research as well as many pictures of the time of the Holocaust.I could envision Elizabeths comparison of Campagna to the area the Von Traps traveled when escaping in the Sound of Music. Reading this gave me a whole new understanding to this movie and I may need to rent it again for this reason.This is a book that stays with you long after the final page is read. Elizabeth Bettina has captured an amazing piece of history that I for one, will hold onto deep within my heart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:June 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Wendy
When you think of the Holocaust, you are likely to conjure up horrific images of destruction of life and the genocide of the Jews. These are the images that come to my mind. In It Happened in Italy, Elizabeth Bettina creates a new quilted fabric to envision as she sews together chapter after chapter of stories of Jews who were treated with respect in small Italian towns during the war. While reading the book, I could feel her escalating excitement as she encountered more and more Holocaust survivors and surprisingly learned about how others risked punishment in order to do the right thing by treating Jews kindly.Bettina writes succinct chapters, detailing her meetings with the survivors and even her arranged meeting of honor with the pope. Its easy to comprehend her passion for Holocaust survivors. She writes, If I have learned one thing, it is that one never knows when an event can completely change your life, or at least add a very unexpected twist.Though I sensed the thrill Bettina experienced on her journey to connect survivors, I didnt fall in love with the writing style. I was however, deeply moved to study the dozens of photographs and documents in the book. Coupled with the accounts Bettina provided, the photographs enabled certain stories to come to life for me in a unique way. I was also grateful to read about something Id not been privy to before, those who decided to act against Hitlers wishes and by doing so, helped hundreds (194 mentioned in this book) of people live and have lives of impact.Ive enjoyed being able to select books to review for Thomas Nelson Publishers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 4, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela King
Elizabeth Bettina, in her book "It Happened in Italy," tells the story of how the citizens of Italy worked together to protect Italian-born Jews and foreign-born Jews from the atrocities of the Holocaust during World War II. Within the pages of Elizabeth Bettina's "It Happened in Italy," a physical and emotional journey is chronicled. Historic facts coupled with personal testimony from the Jewish people who survived paint a picture of concentration camp life contrary to the well-documented camps like Auschwitz or Treblinka. Italian camps kept families together, healthy, fed and allowed Jews to practice Judiasm. All of these freedoms unheard of in death camps in other parts of Europe.Bettina's conversational tone is inviting and her excitement over each new discovery is contagious. Through personal interviews with survivors such as Walter Wolff, Horst Stein and Herta Pollak, Bettina purposefully expresses the difference between being interred in an Italian camp and being tortured in extermination camps in other parts of the continent. She illustrates beautifully how Italians worked together to both defy Nazi orders and allow the Jews to live life with normalcy.As a researcher, writer and someone who holds a degree in History, I was excited to read a book on a subject that has not been covered extensively. Bettina's use of personal testimony was the most interesting portion of the book. My only negative comment is that the book was rather lengthy and could have made an equal impact with one hundred fewer pages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Ive read a few Non-fiction books on WWII, not a lot, but enough to know that they can get wordy and a little uninteresting. Elizabeth Bettina breaks that cycle with It Happened In Italy. Bettina writes a story that is engaging as it is amazing. My attention was completely wrapped up in the stories of the people she met. There are tons of pictures within the book to make the past come alive for the reader. Very few people have heard of this significant part of history, and this is a story that needs to be told. I was super excited to learn for myself that Italy was a refuge for Jews. The author manages to show the contrast between Italys compassion and most of Europes cruel treatment of the Jewish people.If you are a homschooling parent, I would recommend this book for your high schooler. Its a great secondary resource for WWII education and is a quick, attention grabbing read. Also recommended for anyone who would love to read of how a little goodness triumphed over extreme evil.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for It Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust
This review is fromIt Happened in Italy: Untold Stories of How the People of Italy Defied the Horrors of the Holocaust.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
William Colburn
Concentration camps in Italy during the Second World War? I hadnt read that in my High School History books even in the Catholic parochial school I attended. What were these camps like? How many Jews were cruelly forced into incinerators, inhumanely experimented upon, and maliciously treated like animals? How much like Auschwitz were the camps in Italy? Not only was I surprised to learn about Italian concentration camps, but equally surprised with the rest of the story. Italian Catholics protected and hid many Jews who had escaped the German atrocities. Sure, they were placed in concentration camps, but they were treated like fellow human beings Italian style with schools for the kids, marriages, parties, and the gift of dignity. In fact, many lasting friendships developed between Catholic Italians and Jewish refugees. Though Italy and Germany were allies, the Italian people proved that political covenants were never going to change their unique character and culture.I am half Italian. My grandfather came to America after the war. In our many discussions having lived with my grandparents during my first year of college I never heard any stories such as these. Why have these stories not been told before? In the midst of unforgettable human insanity, there was also human compassion. The world owes a debt of gratitude not only to Elizabeth Bettina for her tireless efforts in sleuthing out these details and helping us understand this wonderful truth, but also to the many Italians and the Catholic Church for their willingness to risk their own lives to save so many Jewish lives. This book is written simply, outlining the unfolding drama of discovery life after life where Italian and Jewish families were brought together and forever connected through many acts of compassion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.