Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing

Thomas Nelson Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing

Discover the power of intentional change in a world that's constantly changing. In Jolt!, Phil Cooke will show you how to navigate today's culture of disruption and acually use it for your advantage. Whether you want to change your career or change your mindset, the same key principles come into play. Stop feeling overwhelmed and gain the confidence you need to create an amazing future. Like the "Reset" button on a computer, Jolt! will revolutionize your thinking and shake up your life.
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
13 out of 2065%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Review 1 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Glad I read this when I NEEDED it!

Date:November 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Triple Shot
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jolt! Get the Jump on a World That's Constantly Changing by Phil Cooke
It's taken a lot of change in my life to force me to make time to read and review the books on my shelf. This one is written by Phil Cooke and is entitled Jolt! Get the Jump on a World That's Constantly Changing. It turned out to be just what I needed when I needed it.
This turns out to be a handbook for personal growth, change, decision making, and taking your dreams "off the shelf." Mr. Cooke helps you to weigh your options and think logically before making decisions. The premise of the book lies in the 25 Jolts he presents and the changes each one leads to. I enjoyed the unusual layout of the book, it added a bit more interest. There is nothing earth-shattering or ground-breaking here in this book, maybe it was that I read it when I NEEDED to read it - and that made it more productive for me in the midst of change that was forced upon me.
I love to use quotes and read quotes on a daily basis. This book is chock full of them. Sometimes I can glean more out of a quote than a whole chapter in a book. Mr. Cooke gives you a new perspective on change and how to deal with the consequences of the choices you make. He stresses the power of focusing on what you want to achieve, tossing habit out the window and being creative, and not mistaking loyalty for competence when you are relying on others.
I will be going back to re-read this book with a highlighter this week, and will be taking notes into my journal. There are ideas here I can stand on to carry me through this period of change in my life. I'm not sure that it will affect everyone in the same way it has me, as everyone is not in my position in life right now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Change is coming... take time to embrace it...Jolt

Date:October 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle C
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ready for a change? Need a push? A shove? In this book, Phil Cooke explores 25 "jolts" you can use to help push you where you want to be. This book hidden amongst the Business/Organization Behaviour section of your favoured bookstore. Rather than reading this book straight thru, I jumped chapters and began reading the ones that I was most drawn towards. Some of his stories are recycled. But sometimes those are the best kind. Sometimes the recycled story is exactly what you need when you read it. I found this book helped motivate me to change in areas I wasn't exactly expecting. Finished reading the book? Looking for more inspiration? More of a Jolt? Check out the author's online blog at www.philcooke.com
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Want change? Read this!

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
junnelaranas
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would say Jolt! is one of my favorite book i've ever read so far and Phil Cooke has write a book that can constantly change you from a world that is constantly bombarded with digital and misconceptions the world has to offer about success. This book has been in and out of my bookshelves, read it thoroughly, discover who you are, know your self, boost your potential and live a life that is far beyond your limitation...
"A lot of people climbs in the ladder of success only to find out that the ladder is leaning against the wrong wall, the more you get the more you want" --John Maxwell. That defines me, I want to success in every aspect of my life but I forgot the One who gaves all the talent, love and life to me. Its really a shot a shot to head to me, this book reveals me. If you want change read it now! Boost your potential? Read it now!
Change the world, change your self first! From the life God wants you to be. Highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Jolt me not

Date:July 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Stinky
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even though the concept of Jolt! in impletmenting changes to produce a differrent result in one's life is respectful, I must say that I found this book to be somewhat redundant. there are numerous self-help and "feel good" books on bookstore shelves and this one just doesn't seem to make the grade. It is not nearly as original as books that have been around for a half-century or more. We are all capable of change, we get that. Guess this book just didn't provide enought of a "jolt" to motivate a great review.
BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy and has asked for my honest opinion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

pleasure to read....

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is wonderful and helpful book. For me, this has been a God-send. I've heard Phil speak, too, and he is equally compelling in person. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for God in thire lives.
I believe that we will not only promote kingdom of God but to our church will grow as a result of this book. I'm recommending this book to the elders and leaders of my home congregation. Thank you, Phil, for sharing your expertise. It is something more fundamental and strategic than that. It explains how marketing affects every area of your church, and it explains why you are not ready to start promoting and advertising until you have dealt with the obstacles... It is good theory, there are great advises and will help to establish a "good" Christ-like culture in your church. A must have book!!!
There were a couple of insightful things from the book, but overall this offered nothing that you can't find by googling! This book has a great message but was a little hard to read due to its visual presentation. Ironic, since that's the whole premise of the book.In addition to being easy to comprehend, the chapters illustrate how simple it really is to begin. If you or your parish have been unsure, or stumbling around, trying to figure out how to get started, you'll find a case or story that applies to your situation. Well researched and thoughtfully provided resources in the book.This book is chock full of actionable ideas for accomplishing the mission of the Church. This may even be your ticket to figuring out your own calling too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not very jolting

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
mojo
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phil Cooke is founding partner in the commercial production company TWC Films, which produces national advertising for some of the largest companies in the country including two super bowl commercials. He is also a producer, media guru, public speaker and author.
Aside from being the terrible tasting soda I drank as a teen, JOLT is also the latest book by Phil Cooke. Cooke describes his title as a disruption in our lives. Technology is changing almost daily it seems – so how does one keep up while at the same time adjusting how we live? How do we adept to world change? How do our personal lives adapt to quickly changing technology?
Cooke offers his key principles he offers to mega companies now in a self-help book for overwhelmed Christians.
From the looks of him… Cooke is an old guy trying to tap into a young audience. So I don’t know exactly who this book is for. I don’t know that anyone under 30 is going to have a “tough time” adapting to the faster and faster technology boom. On that same note, if you are content with where your life is… this certainly is a self-help book you don’t need to pick up.
The book is much of what you would expect from the title, how to make achievable goals, how to prioritize your day, ask the right questions, set aside imagined fear – all the while filled with inspirational quotes and life-stories; most of which are very good.
But I think this book might only be beneficial for a largely older audience that is having trouble with adapting, or a youth just entering their teenage years. All in all, I didn’t find this book helpful or inspirational to me.
I’d have to pass on recommending this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Jolt! by Phil Cooke

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Steve Smit
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Jolt! by Phil Cooke is a great book that discusses how to handle your life when life throws you a curve ball. Taken from his personal experience it helps people to learn how to grow and change in an ever-changing world. It is a book that I would give 3 out of 5 stars. I am a member of Book Sneeze by Thomas Nelson, I received this book for free in exchange for a review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Jolt! by Phil Cooke - Same old...

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
dreamKeeper
Location:Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“Jolt! Get the Jump on a World That’s Constantly Changing” is a self-help book that deals with the issues of change, while giving you advice on how to manage circumstances to your advantage.
I started reading this book with a great load of enthusiasm, but after just a few pages I started to have a deja-vu. And I wasn’t wrong about it. While I really liked the topics in this book, I think that the things that I read here were a lot of the same old same old self-help ideas that have been discussed in many other self-help books.
It’s like Phil Cooke actually just took some self-help stereotype subjects, mixed them with some personal life experiences and, voilà, “Jolt!”, a new self-help book on the market. While I do appreciate and read many of the author’s blog posts, I have to admit that this book wasn’t what I expected – in a negative way.
On the other hand, what I liked was that Cooke came up with great quotes. This was a positive aspect since amongst all that self-help information I already read before, I found some wonderful quotes I’ve never read before, so at least some of the quotes were new to me.
My conclusion is that though Phil Cooke is a great and innovative writer & speaker, his book, Jolt!, is not as innovative as him.
(BookSneeze® has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading copy.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Might be ok if you are into motivational speakers

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Blue Raindrop
Location:Wichita, Ks
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jolt by Phil Cooke is the latest book I’ve received from Thomas Nelson for reviewing it. But I think it may not have been the best choice.
The information on the book sounded good, with all of the changes happening learning to harness it to my benefit could only be helpful.
But this just wasn’t really up my alley in styles. To me it came off with the entire first chapter seeming as hyped as an infomercial… complete with crazy distractions including text being set at odd angles, random tire mark looking decorations behind headlines, and random quotes being set in at random places without ever being connected with the other content around them.
From there it mellowed out on the hype and gimmicky style and basically flipped into motivational speaker fodder. If you are one of those people who likes motivational speakers and those inspirational trait posters, this might be just what you are looking for.
Especially if you are into business. The information about the book barely mentioned anything about business, instead saying it applied to “your life”, but there’s a lot of sections that go off into business applications but then only briefly mention “oh and this could apply to your life too” without ever going into exactly how, or why they didn’t just focus on that part in the first place. Well, unless you are hosting regular, hour long, off-site, brainstorming sessions with a team of people small enough to be fed with 2 pizzas for managing your daily life?
For the rest of us, well, honestly I think I learned and remembered more just re-reading the table of contents titles and subtitles and flipping through glancing at the bold and headlines to refresh my memory before writing this than I did actually reading through it.
It sounded good from the initial descriptions… but just really was not what I was looking for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Read

Date:June 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
amos0504
Location:Seattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jolt by Phil Cooke is a great read for anyone that feels stuck in a rut with others controlling your destiny. It takes you on a journey that jumpstarts you into getting back on course with your goals or how to lay out a plan to begin to realize what those dreams may be. Each chapter is short and concise so the information is not overwhelming. One of my favorite parts are the quotes listed at the beginning of each chapter. They make you stop and think and then it motivates you to make it work in your life. Since I recently took on a new position that needed some updating and revival this book is going to prove invaluable into making that happen. It reminds you that you don’t need to depend on everyone else to get things accomplished and you do have the power within yourself to reach your goals. It is a book that is up to date with how our society works, inundated with social media and distractions everywhere. Instead of pretending those things don’t exist he shows you how to work with those distractions to benefit yourself, your workplace and those around you. I would highly recommend this to anyone.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://booksneeze®.com/> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Jolt! by Phill Cooke

Date:June 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Greg
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jolt! by Phil Cooke is written along the lines of any number of books by John Maxwell. Comprised of 25 chapters crafted around 5 areas of life that could use a "jolt" (your direction; what matters; your potential; your heart; your future), Cooke encourages the reader to take the time and effort to improve their life.
Cooke is a professing Christ-follower but also a Hollywood producer. That combination allows him an interesting perspective on culture. Drawing from his media experiences, he offers a wide-ranging book that covers a broad set of topics. To support the various concepts he addresses, Cooke includes numerous quotations throughout the book.
As with any motivational book along the lines of Jolt!, this book offers an opportunity for self-improvement. However, there is nothing necessarily exceptional about Jolt! It's not that it is a poor read; it's that there is nothing in Jolt! that meets the back cover promise that the book "will revolutionize your thinking and shake up your life". While helpful, the jolts don't really "establish a new direction, maximize potential, overcome insecurity, and create an amazing future and legacy".
I reviewed Jolt! in conjunction with Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze program, was not compensated for this review and the opinions expressed are solely mine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jolt by Phil Cooke

Date:June 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
vonchris7
Location:jacksonville, florida
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Phil Cooke takes a relevant, current topic... the fact that our world is rapidly changing... and gives the reader a "how to adapt or thrive" book mixed with some very interestign personal experience stories. From the book... "A "jolt" is a shock, a disturbance, an abrupt change. It shakes things up and realigns our thinking. Like the Reset button on a computer, it cleans out the clutter that was slowing us down and allows us to start fresh." Jolt helps one feel through where to go next when a "jolt," or change, occurs. This is like a Tom Peters book for managing life change.
Cooke gets the "A" for the elevator effect... catchy title and subtitle that drew me in. I liked the way the book was divided into 25 short chapters centered on 5 related themes. I basically read this one like a daily devotional, just a chapter or two a day. The advantage I find to reading some books this way is that I can ponder the concepts and better absorb the material. I found Jolt to be a very powerful and inspiring book. Phil shares through his creative writing style a helpful topic that will be significant well into the future.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jolt Your Life

Date:May 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jolt by Phil Cooke
Jolt, is a book about change. In fact you could almost summarise the book with the words “change or die”. While perhaps so drastic the essential premise of the book is that the world is constantly changing and people and organisations need to change in order to survive.
Cooke offers his recipe for change in 25 “Jolts”. (Cooke defines Jolt: To disturb. To shock, To interfere with abruptly. To shake things up.)
Jolt your direction, Jolt what matters, Jolt your potential, Jolt your heart, Jolt your future. In fact by the end of the book you’ve seen the word enough that it starts to look like a funny word!
The book isn’t so easy to define, it almost floats along as a self-help book but isn’t quite. The writing style is easy to read and well ordered. The jolts are each well worthwhile and overall it’s worth reading but it will not be one that I would base my whole future on. In this regard it is not quite what I was hoping for.
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for writing the review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not the JOLT I was expecting

Date:May 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
pastor2519
Location:West Point, UT
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Phil Cooke lists 25 jolts for us to follow in his book “JOLT: Get the Jump on a World That’s Constantly Changing”. The basic premise of the book is that the world is changing and organizations have to change and adapt if they are going to survive. In order to help organizations and churches, and to some extent even individuals do that, he’s put together a list of 25 jump-starters, or as he calls them, jolts.
I didn’t see any jolt that couldn’t help, but most of them I’ve heard before. There were some gems hidden among his explanations, expansions, and variations on a theme, and I definitely recognized some things that would be helpful for the church where I serve if we could learn to embrace them.
I wasn’t a big fan of the writing style, and I think it’s because I didn’t quite get who the target audience was. As I said earlier the jolts can apply to a wide variety of organizations, levels of management, and even individuals; however a CEO, a first line supervisor and the person who wants to get out of a rut and better his life, sometimes need to hear the message in different ways.
There are some ‘jolts’ I want to try, but this book wasn’t quite as electrifying as I had hoped it would be.
Four of five stars
I was provided a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for writing the review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Jolt by Phil Cooke - Worth the read

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Flame
Location:Michigan
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“Jolt” by Phil Cooke is a book about exposing “lies” that we tell ourselves. These lies keep us from moving forward. He shows examples from his life and others of the excuses we need to see and tear down. This has to be done before we can make changes in our lives, our families, business or any work we are in. There are also examples of how fast our world is changing and why old thinking is not working.
At first I had mixed feelings when I was reading “Jolt”. Often I would close the book at the end of the day thinking, I knew that and that’s nothing new to me. But as I continued to read, I’d find a nugget. Then I’d find another one. Nugget of thought provoking ideas. The more I read, the faster the nuggets of wisdom came to me. It’s well worth the read and actually following what he is sharing. It’s now in my small group of permanent books that I read. The ones that I just have to go back and re-read again and again. I recommend this book to everyone as it is an easy and enjoyable read with practical and helpful tips for keeping up with the change in this world without losing any creativity.
I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

how to thrive in a world of change

Date:April 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cooke wants his readers to stay ahead in this constantly changing world. Our lives have been invaded by technology that is continually changing. We live in a culture of disruption. “...[W]e're living in the midst of the greatest shift in our culture since the invention of the printing press.” Cooke believes we can take control of the change, make it work for us, and not lose our soul.
Cooke says, “This book is about one central theme: how to live your life successfully against the backdrop of dramatic change and disruption.”
Cooke's first jolt was being fired. Such an event is good as taking that first step of needed change is the hardest. Being forced to change gets you moving. He gives four keys to the process.
Knowing your goal is essential. Cooke helps the reader at goal setting: dream, write, narrow your focus, then think about goals in the light of your gifts and abilities.
Determine your priorities by deciding what is important to you and then manage your time. Cooke gives great tips on making good choices.
He encourages his readers to define their boundaries. He advocates focus – doing one task at a time and doing it well. He has a good section on breaking bad habits and forming new ones.
Personal growth is not an option. One must keep learning. Cooke identifies the attitudes that inhibit creativity and explains how to brainstorm.
He argues that we can get more out of life by being generous. He explains self-confidence and how to overcome security.
He has great suggestions about how we perceive and how perception can be used as a tool. He covers the importance of our thoughts and how to direct them to our advantage. He speaks about the importance of faith. He encourages his readers to have a legacy, leaving the world a better place because we were in it.
Cooke has added a great review at the end of each major section.
This is a good book for anyone needing encouragement for living a meaningful life in this time of change.
I received an egalley of this book from Thomas Nelson Publishers for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Review: Jolt! Get the Jump on a World That’s Cons

Date:April 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
GiniB
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now that was a pretty wild ride---I mean read. It’s written in the style of several of the business books I’ve seen lately. Fast paced, high energy, and packed with all sorts of stuff. I liked it. If you are looking for some overall theme it is probably something along the lines of a wakeup call in your life, or at least five distinct areas of it.
Cooke is a media guy and understands how to connect. In fact in one of his microbursts he states that he starts with knowing who he’s talking to before he starts his communication. Now that sounds pretty sensible, but it doesn’t happen in some circles as often as it could. He’s got all the right words and hooks you right from the start. That isn’t to say that he does not deliver substance. He definitely does, repeatedly in this book. My advice is to give it a decent first read and go back to some of the areas that need attention now. Oh, I think he mentioned that too.
Each Jolt! is neatly packaged and nearly independent of the others around it. Nearly, but the one that follows generally leads you into the next step. Even though this is a high energy read, taking the time to examine the parts that most pertain to you is necessary if you intend to excel. Stop and really consider what he has written.
Like I said I liked this book. Finding a negative is not easy. Maybe the title? There are other items with that name out there in the market place, most of which have lots of caffeine. Or was that the idea?
I’d like to read a little more from this author. I think you will too.
This book was provided by Thomas Nelson for my review on Booksneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't bother

Date:April 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
gadfly1974
Age:35-44
Gender:male
The author, Phil Cooke, may be a successful TV producer.
But I don’t find him a compelling author.
My impression is that Mr. Cooke was expecting to serve up a book full of nuggets of worldy wisdom, grounded in a Biblical perspective and seasoned with a career in Hollywood.
Unfortunately, on many occasions, the author’s vignettes and interpretations came across as a bit shallow and misguided.
For instance, in “Jolt #7,” we read about a TV soundman who caught a vision to advance in his career. However, this process put a strain on his marriage because of new responsibilities and opportunities for travel. Mr. Cooke criticizes the soundman’s wife for being upset about her husband’s new responsibilities and frames this interaction as manipulative and short-sighted.
But I see the wife’s point-of-view and think that it is questionable that her concerns were all inappropriate and manipulative.
The layout and structure of the book are very interesting. If you read the chapter titles, section headers, and quotes (found on nearly every page), then you may find this book worth an hour of your time.
Otherwise, I’d suggest you pass.
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

25 "Jolts" To Maximize Your Potential

Date:April 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cindy Navarro
Location:Cullman, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In JOLT!, Phil Cooke, reveals 25 "jolts" anyone can use in both their professional and their personal life. These are divided into groups under 5 sub-headings: 'Jolt Your Direction', 'Jolt What Matters', Jolt Your Potential', 'Jolt Your Heart', and 'Jolt Your Future'. Cooke, a well-respected television producer, commentator, and social media guru presents ideas that can make a difference in how one approaches all decisions in life. Not only does he explain how to bolster confidence and make the most of your potential, but shows how to leave a lasting legacy that makes an eternal difference in the lives of others.
I loved the easy, conversational-style approach he used in writing this book. Each section was small enough that I wasn't overwhelmed by information, but could soak in what was being said and mull over how I could apply these methods to my own life. Cooke is upfront about his Christian faith and values influencing his worldview, but does not try to force them on others. As a fellow believer and follower of Jesus, I love that he incorporates this into the book, but I feel that others will find this book to be of equal value and respectful of different beliefs. This is a book that I will highly recommend, especially to those just beginning their careers and families. I have reached an age where I regret more of the things I never did than I do the mistakes I made, and I believe JOLT! offers sage advice that a person will hopefully learn sooner rather than later.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255vf: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Jolt! The Power of Intentional Change in a World That's Constantly Changing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Managing life in the midst of change

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Savannah, GA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was outstanding—very practical, full of common sense wisdom—the kind we know deep down inside, but sometimes need to read or hear. I chose this book because it was written to help people not only deal with change, but also use it to bring about good things. As an Army wife, my life is full of change! Yet, Phil Cooke writes about other kinds of change. Even people whom others would consider stable and changeless are experiencing tons of change. In the past fifty years, society and technology and all sorts of others aspects of our world have dramatically changed and continue to do so. People can try to ignore this or choose to adapt in positive ways. Cooke tells his readers how to do the latter well.
The book is divided into five sections of five chapters each. Each section has an introduction and a review which includes a synopsis of what Cooke is encouraging the reader to do. Liberally sprinkled throughout each chapter are quotes by historical figures, celebrities, and other writers relevant to the topic Cooke is presenting. And, just for fun, the first page of each chapter is crooked—I guess to appear that it has experienced a jolt. I thought that was kind of cute.
The longest chapter is five or six pages at the most, so this book is a quick and easy read. Cooke talks about dealing with change, choices we make, how other people influence us, the importance of faith, eliminating distractions, discovering your priorities, setting realistic goals, and deciding to act. If you have a dream or goal that you’d like to meet, but don’t know how to proceed, this book will give you the pep talk you need. If your life has dramatically changed and you don’t know how to function in your new world, this book can help in that area, too. It was a worthwhile read for me. Thank you, Thomas Nelson Publishers, for sending it for my review!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.