Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook

Thomas Nelson Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Review 1 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Realistic Writing for a Hard Topic

Date:May 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The subtitle of Pete Wilson's book, Plan B, is "What do you do when God doesn't show up the way you thought that he would?" Throughout the book, Wilson thoroughly examines dozens of situations, both Biblical and of modern-day people, to see what a Plan B looks like, and how we should handle it. From Joseph's trip to Egypt in slavery, to David's flight from Saul after being anointed as the next king, from stories of infertility to death of children, failing marriages and lost jobs, Plan B discusses disappointment, grief, hope, and faith in the face of lost dreams. Pete Wilson acknowledges that he cannot give us answers, but he can point us to the cross and the One who is there for us through every step of His plan for us.
Bear with me, I have a lot to say about this book. I am not sure why it took me so long to get around to reading it, but I certainly wish I had read it sooner. Plan B is the most down-to-earth Christian living book I have read in a very long time. Pete Wilson is a humble, self-aware author who takes himself very lightly, but never treats his readers' or his subjects' pain casually. An author who admits he is in need of the same answers he seeks to write about is one the reader can trust to dig deep and give truthful guidance. This book does just that. As Wilson walks through each example, he stops to examine it at every step, but he never leaves a story hanging just to make a single point that might not hold true to the rest of the story. Every story he starts, he works through fully, giving his points and conclusions more credence than simple bits and pieces linked to each individual idea. Both his Biblical examples, and his real-life people follow this system, and while I was sometimes on edge waiting to see how a story would turn out, I could trust that he would come back to it and finish it for me.
I have a long list of quotes from this book that resonated with me; I hate to give them without context, but maybe it will give you a taste of his writing and style.
"We must decide if we are going to put our faith in what God does or in who God is." (Emphasis mine) The idea that even if our life circumstance is our Plan B, we should be able to trust that God has not messed up, and that he is there for us regardless of our circumstances.
Wilson also talks a lot about waiting on God.
"The question isn't 'Can you trust God?' but 'Can you wait?"
"...waiting may be the most important something you can and need to do.
What you're doing is allowing your hope to grow up. And if you can't be still and wait and hope, even when you have no reason to hope, you can't become the person God created when he thought you into existence." Waiting is an important part of our Plan Bs; waiting to see how it turns out, waiting to see why we even had to go through a Plan B, waiting to see just what God is doing.
In addition to the myriad of quotes from Wilson that strike a chord, he quotes several other authors and pastors with aplomb. He uses them with enough frequency to lend weight to his own ideas, but he does not overdo it to the point of feeling that he is just rehashing other people's thoughts.
While the topic of Plan B is a difficult one, the book itself is an easy, yet thought-provoking read. I give it 5 stars for depth of topic, ease of reading, and real-life practicality. I would definitely recommend it to anyone struggling with how their life is going versus how they thought it would. And, really, isn't that most, if not all, of us?
I received a copy of this book for free as part of Thomas Nelson's BookSneeze program for bloggers. I was not required to provide a positive review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nuggets of wisdom born from experience

Date:March 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
PatriciaW
Location:Florida
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Peter Wilson has the three things that make a book like Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up The Way You Thought He Would? a definite keeper: (1) a subject that is both timely and timeless; (2) an easy, conversational style; and (3) a personal transparency that lifts his writing up from "let me tell you what you should do in these circumstances" to "let me share how I've experienced this so that you might glean some nuggets of truth from my pain".
Plan B made me laugh and wipe away a tear or two. Most of all, it made me think. This is not a book with easy answers to difficult questions. Rather, it provokes thought not so much about one’s circumstances as about hope and faith beyond one’s circumstances. It is difficult to read a book like this and not find something that is encouraging or that speaks to one’s situation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Hard, but hopeful, read

Date:March 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Joyce Kendrick
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this book as part of the BookSneeze program by Thomas Nelson in exchange for a review. I was supposed to release my review the day it was published but wouldn't you know it ... disaster struck.
New disasters in my life have recently come up and I figured now was the time to give this book another read. I was scared but I did it anyway.
Not all of the content of this book is encouraging if you're looking for Christian platitudes to simply soothe your soul. Nor does it contain any steps to recovery (do this and God will do this sort of thing). And the title thew me, as I have always believed that we, God's people, are Plan A and there is no Plan B. But that's not what this book refers to.
There are no easy answers here. But there is hope. And although most of us who are followers of Christ already know, He is our hope. And as most of us who are followers of Christ often need that reminder, here it is.
The greatest reminder, especially since our family is going through so much pain (we are both disabled and in deep trouble financially to the point that we don't always get our medications that we can't afford and our very home is on the verge of being lost), is that God is STILL RIGHT HERE. I've asked my husband, my friends, "Where is God?" and they've told me He's right here. I guess hearing a stranger remind me of that finally got through my thick head.
I'm not saying this book removed all of my doubts and fears, but it reminded to seek God and remember He is within those doubts and fears and somehow will see me through.
And He'll see you through, too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not my type of book

Date:January 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jannie
Location:Missouri
Age:55-65
Gender:female
I just finished reading this book for our weekly ladies' Bible study at church and was very disappointed and surprised at some of the stories that I felt were totally inappropriate and wondered why Pete Wilson thought they were necessary to include in the book. He is definitely a little too liberal for me -- guess he tries to appeal to the younger crowd. Also, he states that the phrase "God will never give you more than you can handle" is totally unscriptural, that it is whacked theology and maybe it is found in Hallucinations 4:32. Has he read 1 Corinthians 10:13? Although there were some good parts in the book, I just found a lot of it to be a little too far out there for me.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Sound and Encouraging Word For Life's Upheavals

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Laura
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My life took an unexpected/unplanned turn a couple months back; so did a friend's life. So when I saw this title I hoped it would have some perspective to offer us. And it did. In fact it was precisely the word we needed to regain a bit of equilibrium and perspective. Pete Wilson has crafted a pastoral book. By that I mean he writes as someone who has experienced and walked with others through a wide range of personal reversals. He writes with a large dose of compassion grounded in good scriptural context. I recommend this book for anyone who is going through a Plan B twist in their life, and also for those close to anyone struggling through a life circumstance that isn't what they had planned or wanted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
BiancaTC
Location:Oradea, Romania
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plan B is a book about shattered dreams, about unmet expectations, about people who are unable to see or feel God in the midst of these overbearing circumstances. It doesn’t offer some quick steps to a happy life, but it encourages to a healthy and intimate relationship with the LORD.
I laughed out loud but I also cried, reading this book. I love the way Pete Wilson is so personal yet so accurate with the issues that I think everyone can relate to one way or another. He point out a lot of Scripture wisdom to sustain his opinions.
I loved this book, it encouraged me to pursue a much more intimate relationship with my LORD, to truly trust him even when all the circumstances around me tells me not to.
We all have gone through a moment in our life that we have expected God to work in a certain way, but he didn’t. Everybody struggled at one point with a shattered dream or an unmet expectation. Everyone felt alone and desperate, hopeless and helpless at one point or another, waiting for the LORD but he never really seemed to appear.
Well, than this book is for you. This book is about you, and how can you grow in the middle of those hopeless situations that will eventually come in your life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
David Pfanschmidt
As of today, I've read 70 books this year. Plan B is the best of the lot. Highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 11, 2010
How many of us have thought or asked the same question... What do I do when my life doesn't turn out the way I thought? or What do I do when I have to turn to Plan B?Pete Wilson does an excellent job of getting you to take a look through the Bible to see how many other people of 'faith' had the deal with the same difficulties. Jesus never promised us that life would be easy when we chose to follow him. On the contrary he said "In this world YOU WILL have trouble..." but he also said, don't worry for I am with you! I love how Pete doesn't try to give pat answers to the tough questions, but every time he says "I don't know"... but I do know that this is what God says. I have so many favorite parts of this book I don't even know where to start. So let me say this, if you're in a place where you think God's forgotten you - He hasn't! If you're questioning God's timing or why he hasn't heard your prayers -- He is listening and He is working things out. As a control freak I struggle, however I believe after reading this book God has opened my eyes to see how wrong I am to try and control everything. HE is the one who is in control and there's nothing - absolutly nothing I can do to make God change his mind or make up his mind!My favorite quote is "If God doesn't give me one more thing in this life, I still owe him everything." p.144 Seriously, you need to get this book if you've been asking these same questions. And I promise you if you let him, God will change your life while reading this book!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2010
Customer Avatar
Eric Barron
I enjoy reviewing books for Thomas Nelson Publishing. Some books I enjoy more than others- and some books I need more than others. This is the case for Pete Wilson's Plan B: What to Do When God Doesn't Show Up The Way You Thought He Would. It was not available in my review cycle, so I bought it for myself.My co-workers were a bit concerned for me once they saw the title; what is wrong with Eric that he feels his life is not turning out the way he wanted? Are his dreams shattered? We had a good laugh, and then I began to read.I believe all of us have at least some parts of our lives that do not go the way we think they will go. For some, those situations are simple, with no long-term repercussions; for others, they are devastating and life-changing. In his book Plan B, Pete Wilson tackles the worst of difficult situations that affect individuals and families and connects them with situations from scripture that offer what everyone needs...hope.Without a tidy bow to tie everything together, Wilson admits that his book may leave us feeling a bit empty. However, with biblical support, he offers a beautiful description of the hope that is always available in Christ.He closes with this thought: "I'm asking you to trust that one day faith will win over doubt, that light will win over darkness, that love will win over hate, and that all things will one day be redeemed...God will finish what He started. Wait for it."Wilson's personal stories bring a great sense of believability and authenticity to this book. Plan B is very readable, and I recommend this work for anyone who needs a shot of biblical inspiration during any season of life.This book is published by Thomas Nelson and includes a study guide. You may purchase Plan B here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
The book is filled with bible stories about every day men and women whose plans didnt work out. Its full of people trying to figure out what to do with a life that wasnt turning out the way they expected. (page 11)Chapter by chapter Pastor Pete (I wonder if thats what his church members call him?) spells out some simple reassuring points to meditate on.The book certainly is not a do these six things and your life will turn out fine. It cant be no book can speak to your Plan B, or your situation and certainly no pastor or author can fix this time that you are walking in right now. This isnt a self-help book (at least not in that regard). No, this book reads more like a devotional where each chapter contains a bible story and a few of Petes own journeys as a church leader.The best part about reading this book for me has been the confirming that I hear from another Christian. I have felt God telling me to stay close to him in this time, to continue to be patient and to stick close to other believers who can continue to encourage and pray for me and those are some of the things that Pete talks about.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeremy Hayes
Very well written book. In the past five years I have started reading many books. None have captured my interest, so I never finished them. Not so with this book. I couldn't put it down. I read it cover to cover in one week. Excellent, exactly what I needed to get a clear head again. Thank you for putting this book together. May God bless your, your family and your community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Andrea S.
This book covered what some would call common sense when dealing with Christianity. Sometimes we have to be reminded that no matter what God is always with us and that He always has a plan. Even in our darkest hour His plan is not to forsake us!Pete Wilson did an incredible job of referring you back to the Bible for peace of mind. He also didn't try to answer the question of why God does what he does. Because nobody can. I loved the real life stories that he told and how he included his own accounts of being mystified with what God chooses to do.Plan B was real without being negative, it was simple yet powerful, it is a great book to have on my bookshelf. I highly recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Chris Tabone
Plan B by Pete Wilson is a thought provoking, emotional roller coaster. This book brings you from the lows that come with everyday Christian living, to the highs of knowing that God can overcome all. Along the ride Pete tells amazing stories of hurt, hope, and healing that each and every one of us can relate to and learn from.I toughly enjoyed reading this book to the point that I couldnt put it down at times. It is well written, well thought out, and completely honest. Pete doesnt hold anything back as he attempts to be authentic to his audience about the people he deals with as a pastor and about what was going on in his personal life. The truth is, as Pete says, we all will one day confront a Plan B, that being something that we didnt plan for, and we need to have God on our side in order to overcome the heartache and turmoil that often accompanies those situations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 24, 2010
What do you do when a shattered dream or an unmet expectation causes you to turn to Plan B? Have you ever been put in that position, where the things you thought were going to happen didnt and you had to go into a completely other direction. Plan B by Pete Wilson uses real life stories as well as biblical stories to help us learn how to surrender our plans and to receive His plans. Pastor Wilson really opens up the scriptures and shows that there are ways to make it through when things dont go as planned. This book will meet you where you are and help you out in your current situation. If you have never had to switch to a plan B then you will at some point in your walk as a Christian. There is no map that leads you down a straight and narrow path. Pete goes through different ways that people have tried to handle those situations that you dont always see coming. No matter where you are in life, this book is one you will want to read over and over again. Not only has this helped me to see that God can and will be in the Plan B, but that when things go rough and I want to ask God, where are you? I know the answer already, He is there and that He is in control. Once you realize that you do not have control and God does then you will realize that all things are possible. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255 : Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
diana C.
Sometimes in life, theres an idea of what we want to do with it.A dream toward to go to.A plan drawn in our minds.And sometimes,That plan doesnt come true, that plan becomes everything less what we believed it was going to be.It becomes the life we have to live, instead the life we want. It becomes the reality we have to endure.This is what Plan B by Pete Wilson is about. A book that has been highly accepted since is a topic that more and more people ask themselves and ask to God. Unexplicable things that suddenly make you slip towards a place unexpected in life, things that make you fit on what you should, things that everyone lives sometime.The book talks about this situations on which we cant understand God and His plan for us. The author goes on this topic from multiple points of view, with his own stories and biblical stories. He speaks to the reader in a very nice way, but however, distant. The tips he gives are highly useful and a lot of them hit deep into me, though there were times when I felt he didnt have much identification with those whom we writes this book to.Is a very agreable book, useful for those of us whose have to live this kind of things all time. It makes the reader come out of that undescribable things on which is consumed, and shows perspectives with biblical support to help him to carry his own Plan B.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Daniel Beasley
Ironically my reading Plan B by Pete Wilson was met with an uptick in symptoms from a chronic life-threatening illness. What do you do when God doesnt show up the way you thought He would? (the subtitle) is great to ask while waiting for your IV to finish in the infusion clinic. Yeah, Im living Plan B.I came to Plan B with a show-me attitude--eighteen months into a journey thats involved (so far) betrayal, rejection, unemployment, financial collapse, life-threatening illness, chronic pain and disability, I wondered what Wilson would offer that some well-meaning soul hadnt already said. Wilson gets it right at every turn. Plan B is the product of a heart informed by deep faith in God and tempered by exposure to real life. Wilson writes about reliance on who God really is, as revealed in the Bible and Christian experience. This isnt your typical better-by-and-by advice book. Wilson brings home the point that what really causes us to question God is His choice of timing or path or other detail. Here God is Godthe loving, just, Almighty, All-powerful, King of the Universe. And Im not. Peppered with anecdotes drawn from some of lifes hardest questionsthose that inspire the roughest Where is God now? momentsWilson provides an always relevant and extremely honest practical book that goes beyond happy thoughts to answer the but what do I do now? that lingers over every Plan B.So Wilsons book didnt seem at all out of place in the infusion clinic. It stood up even therewhich makes me confident that itll stand up for your Plan B as well. Get this book.Material Connection Disclosure: I got this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I wasnt required to write a positive review. These opinions are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commissions 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 10, 2010
Well, Has your life ever fallen apart before your eyes? Have your dreams ever come crashing down around you - The "Perfect" job fallen through - "Mr. Right/Mrs. Right" turned into Mr/Ms Wrong? - - - Your Plan A just not worked out??? What then?! This book is great at looking at this very dilema! Pete Wilson's book takes a look at the reality of life - we are living in a sinful fallen world in need of a Savior to redeem us and save us. It is a book of practical biblical wisdom and encouragement. An easy to read and enjoyable book once started I did not want to put it down. It points to the reality that life rarely works out the way we planned but God's ways are always better.Thank you Thomas Nelson for this review copy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lisa Syler
Have you ever made plans that fell apart last minute, so you settled for plan B? Pete Wilson, author of Plan B: What do you do when God doesnt show up the way you thought He would? shares Biblical examples with real life experiences of plan B realities. Moving beyond shattered hopes & dreams to staring lifes realities in the face is neither natural nor easy. No matter what has happened or how you feel, please know youre not alone. Because heres what Im learning: everyone needs healing. Everyone. (4) Everyone, everywhere, for all times, need hope and healing. In a matter-of-fact, Scripturally based, down-to-earth style, Pete leads the reader to accept the loss of plan A and to effectively focus on the possibilities of Plan B. The key to plan B is constant contact with the Creatoressential for transformation living. (49) In our humanness we are capable of much with our own abilities; yet, when life falls down around us, leaving us helpless &, at times, hopeless, we must depend on our Creator to pull us up, then hold us up. In this life, many of your questions will simply nlot6 have answers. But through it all God Himself will never change. This is why our faith must rest on his identity and not necessarily His activity. (81)The author continues to show the road map to a Plan B by examining topics including:Living in authentic communityGiving to others and receiving blessings backChoosing to love in spite of the way you may feelPete wraps it up with these words: Somehow, mysteriously, when we receive the love of Jesus into our lives through suffering when we decide to choose that love and share it, we keep suffering from having the last word in our lives. (223) A powerful, compelling, informative and enlightening book released for such a time as this, when our world, with all the pain of war, natural disasters, violence and loss, needs the hope Pete Wilson brings to life in this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Christy J
I knew when i received the email about Plan B by pastor Pete Wilson, that i HAD to review this book. There was no question about it. I knew that from where i am, living in my own Plan B, that it might just have some answers to such difficult questions. "What do you do with a shattered dream?", "What do you do with an unmet expectation?", and "What do you do when God doesn't show up for you the way you thought God was going to show up?".When the book finally came in I devoured it in 3 nights. It was the perfect book for reading in bed when the night hits and all those dark thoughts come out. When i got to chapter 5, paralyzed, Pete said "But a negative experience like a disappointment or betrayal can override all those motivations. Being blindsided hypes our fear of the unknown. It can make us hunker down, not daring to move or take a risk. Hope and faith and curiousity lose their power to move us forward. WE're not just fearing the unknown; we're fearing a bad unknown. If it happened once, we assume it could happen again." and it was such an "ah-ha" moment for me. I had been frustrated and crying about this only a couple hours prior.This book is that person who you are looking for that can say "don't worry..me too." Mr. Wilson writes in such a caring, and conversational way. The book is filled with honest and personal stories of people in his life, and also those from the bible(ie. David, Joseph, Mary, and Martha). It provides hope to get past those shattered dreams and realize that even if life isn't going the way you planned, it doesn't mean that God is failing you.I was given the opportunity to read "Plan B" by Pete Wilson for free via BookSneeze. My opinions are my own and you may or may not enjoy this book as much as I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Plan B: What Do You Do When God Doesn't Show Up the Way You Thought He Would? - eBook
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:May 7, 2010
Customer Avatar
Dawn P.
First of all, this book was very easy to read and the stories were engaging and relatable to trials that I've faced. However, I generally was disappointed with the book. 1.Inappropriate language- There were several spots with bathroom humor and a couple times with insinuated bad language. It seemed that he was trying too hard to gather a wide reader audience. 2.He quoted from Alcoholics Anonymous, Rick Warren, and Mother Teresa as though they are biblically sound sources. Space does not permit me to explain why these and other sources are generally not biblically sound. 3.He did not always interpret Scripture accurately. I'll give just one example. Toward the end of the book, he talked about how the fall of man "was the original Plan B...But immediately after the Fall, God went to work on a plan to bring redemption to each of us..." With God there are no Plan B's and He planned the cross before man was even created. 4.When he discussed salvation, little was said about God's judgment and wrath, our sinfulness, and the need for repentance. There were some things in the book that were great and biblical, but he seemed to spend too little time on what mattered most and too much time on things that could have been left out of the book completely. A good book/DVD set that I would recommend is Quieting a Noisy Soul.(Thomas Nelson provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for a fair critique.)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.