Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Faith of Ronald Reagan

Thomas Nelson The Faith of Ronald Reagan

Focusing on our 40th president's deeply held Christian beliefs, Brown's uplifting biography tells the story of Reagan's strong devotion to God---showing how faith guided him throughout his distinguished career. Based on interviews with Reagan's family, friends, and co-workers, as well as his own writings. Sure to inform and inspire! 256 pages, softcover from Nelson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
10 out of 1377%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Review 1 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fantastic, easy to read, awe inspiring

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
RobbyeFaye
Location:Anniston, AL
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Faith of Ronald Reagan by Mary Beth Brown brims with stories from President Reagan's years as he grew and later became a politician. The book vividly portrays his humanity, optimism, strength of character and humor.
Small vignettes shed light on the larger than life person we've come to know and love.
President Reagan's life was profoundly shaped by his mother, Nelle Reagan, a devout Christian. He felt there was nothing his mom gave him more important than her deep faith. A faith he embraced and allowed to guide him throughout his life.
Nelle frequently read stories to him and his brother. Each of these stories had a hero and a moral lesson; teaching good from bad. Most importantly she lived as she taught by putting her faith to work in all she did.
As Reagan grew physically and spiritually he never failed to listen to and for the voice of God to guide him through his journey.
Brown uses stories from friends, relatives and Reagan himself to show and consistently weave the story of his faith in all aspects of his life.
The book follows the various phases of his life from birth to death, with the greatest emphasis on his latter years. It opens with his being shot and closes with poignant eulogies.
I received a free copy of this book from booksneeze in exchange for a blogger book review. I am not required to write a positive review.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

He had faith..

Date:March 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rachel
Location:Canada
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The faith of Ronald Reagan
by Mary Beth Brown, a history of Ronald Reagan and his faith and the times when he was at near death experiences of when he was almost killed by a train and an assassination attempt on him. Mary Beth Brown backs up and tells of the faith of Ronald's Mother and then him. She follows his life and his faith. I never knew Ronald Reagan the 40th US president had such deep faith. It was an eye opener and a refreshing read. Throughout the book there is pictures of Ronald Reagan in certain advents and of his family And there are quotes of him and Bible verses. Personally I didn't like how Mary Beth Brown kept on referring to other books about him and what they said about a certain advent. I liked the ending a lot.
I received this book from booksneeze for free to review.
4 stars
age suggestion: 12 and up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a book to read, reread, and learn from.

Date:March 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Annie Kate
Location:Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whatever they think of his policies, most people would agree that Ronald Reagan was not just an ordinary person. In fact, many would say he was a great man.
Now, there’s nothing like the biography of someone great to inspire young people (or anyone else, for that matter). The Faith of Ronald Reagan by Mary Beth Brown, not quite a biography or perhaps a very one-sided one, is sure to inspire because of its unique point of view. Rather than outline Mr. Reagan’s policies, it traces the story of his faith and shows how that faith shaped him and influenced his entire life.
Reagan’s parents, especially his mother, influenced him greatly. Her faith lived on in him, giving him the strength to deal with a life full of challenges and grave responsibilities. From his summer lifeguard job, where he saved many lives, to his public speaking career with General Electric, one can see God preparing him for the office of president. A humble man who was always looking for the best in people, Reagan faced the challenges of political office with prayer. As he wrote in a letter, “The every day demands of this job could leave me with may doubts and fears if it were not for the wisdom and strength that come from these times of prayer.”
By its very nature, this book may leave the superficial reader with the impression that the author thought Mr. Reagan was close to perfect. However, Mary Beth Brown clearly indicated his flaws as well as his faith, although she focused on the latter. By emphasizing that he was a man of prayer, compassion, and faith, the author gave us and our teens an example of a life well-lived in God’s service.
Not only did Mary Beth tell us about Ronald Reagan’s life; she also drew out life lessons for us. Although these bother some people, I think they suit the tone and message of The Faith of Ronald Reagan. This is a book to read, reread, and learn from.
Note that The Faith of Ronald Reagan assumes a basic knowledge of Mr. Reagan’s political life. If one reads this book together with a more conventional biography, one can see how Mr. Reagan’s faith shaped not only his own life but also his country and the world.
Disclosure: I received a free review copy of this book from Booksneeze in order to share my honest opinions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Faith of Ronald Reagan

Date:January 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Yvonne
Location:Canton, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"For you see your calling, brethern, that not many wise according to the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called. But God has chosen the foolish things of the world to put to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to put to shame the things which are mighty."
-- 1 Corinthians 1:26-27
For Ronald Reagan to become President he felt that it was indeed a calling. President Reagan is credited with restoring America's economic crisis at the time, ending the cold war and tearing down the Berlin Wall without firing a shot. That in itself was having God's favor.
One of the reasons God has a tendency to choose the foolish things is so people will seek Him and say only God.
Some remember President Reagan as an Actor, others remember him as President Reagan, yet others remember how the Nation came together to Mourn His Death. But do you remember the faith of President Reagan? Did you know that he appointed more women into office than Presidents before Him? But do you remember the faith of President Reagan?
I have learned a lot about President Reagan that I must admit I did not know. If you are interested in learning more about President Reagan or maybe you want to find out some more about his faith well this is the book for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Interesting and inspiring!

Date:January 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jade =)
Location:Grand Prairie, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Faith of Ronald Reagan, by Mary Beth Brown, was written because so many other biographies and articles written about the former president leave out a very important part of his life. You can guess by the title, I'm talking about Reagan's faith. He was a strong believer in God, Jesus Christ, prayer and the Bible. Brown's book is chock full of Reagan's own words regarding these subjects - whether they were spoken candidly to his own children, written in letters to friends or spoken clearly in his many great speeches. Brown also takes the reader through Reagan's history, from childhood to his passing, emphasizing the huge impact his mother's faith had on him all through his life. Ronald Reagan was a man truly blessed by God in many ways. He lived through hard times, he rose in fame and power, he loved and lost, but through it all his faith remained firm. He believe God had a plan for him, and he was willing to let God lead.
I am not big on politics, and thankfully this book does not go down that road... it is a pleasant, interesting read. I learned facts about the assassination attempt that I never before, I learned about Reagan's first marriage and more about his beautiful relationship with Nancy, but mostly I learned that Reagan was a man of his word and a man of God's word. He prayed constantly, he allowed God to rule his life and his decisions. He wasn't a perfect man, by any means... but he did what he thought was right based on Biblical principals. I really enjoyed this book more than I thought I would... I really found the fact that Reagan's faith such a vital role in his life to be of great comfort and interest.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Satisfactory read

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
TofC
Location:Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a biographical book with a focus on the faith of president Ronald Reagan. The message of the book is to inspire us to live out our faith as it informed us of Ronald reagan’s faith. Each chapter chronicals a life stage of Reagan showing how his faith worked its way through his life. It is appropriate for any adult who enjoys biographies and reading about the lives of presidents.
Each chapter took a snapshot of Reagan’s life. Most of the book was on pre- White House life and faith development and deployment. The book was fluid, readable, and interesting. Reagan’s Bible knowledge and faith was well woven through his life. I would have wished there was a bit more of a focus on his faith while in the White House. A satisfactory read.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great overview of the faith of a great man

Date:January 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra Brinkman
Location:Yoder, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been fascinated by Ronald Reagan almost as long as I've been interested in politics. The first presidential election I really paid attention to was in 1980. I remember how depressing everything was in the late 70s. The world was going to end either from a new man-caused ice age or from a nuclear disaster. The Soviet Union was scary and unstoppable. Gas prices, well, all prices, were through the roof. Gas lines, runaway inflation, hostages in Iran. It seemed totally never-ending, and completely overwhelming. At least it did to this teen.
And then this actor entered the presidential race. Apparently he had run before (1976), but that wasn't something I really knew. Reagan looked so calm and confident, and talked of brighter times to come. President Carter made me feel like things would never get better. Governor Reagan made me believe that they would. And he was so much fun to listen to. "There he goes again." Or, on a horrible day early in his presidency, "Honey, I forgot to duck."
So when The Faith of Ronald Reagan by Mary Beth Brown showed up on Booksneeze, I knew I had to request to review it. And when it arrived, I had to set things aside and read it right away.
Having finished the book, I immediately informed my husband he needed to make time to read this one (he tends to do mostly audiobooks). And I will be requiring it of my kids when we do American history in high school. Or I may read it aloud to them right now.
It is that good.
Brown pulls so much from Reagan's writings and speeches, plus a whole lot from people who knew him well.
I learned so much about Reagan, about his mother, about his faith, about his prayer life. The Faith of Ronald Reagan challenged me, the way a great biography of a great man should. I cannot possibly recommend this highly enough.
Disclaimer: As Booksneeze Blogger, I did receive this book for free from Thomas Nelson. No other compensation was received.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A grand read. You will need your highlighter!

Date:January 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ashley DeLen
Location:Rural Kansas
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of the faith of Ronald Reagan as told by Mary Beth Brown with supporting documentation and quotations from the late Ronald Reagan. Within the 237 pages of this book the history of Reagan's faith unfolds with a mighty force to see how the hand of God moved in his life. And how his life effected the lives of so many people not only in the United States of America but also in the Soviet Union.
It is an inspiring tale of how the world can change around you when you stand for what you believe in without backing down and without being overly forceful and rude. I was truly excited to read this book and found it a very informative and grand to read. The entire book is full of direct quotes from the late Ronald Reagan. I was delighted to find that so much of what he wrote and spoke about revolved around his ever growing faith in the Lord God and His son Jesus Christ. This book takes you from the young life of Reagan as he grows up under the strong hand of his mother Nelle and the influence of a broken father (from alcohol). It shows that Reagan was a man who did make mistakes in his life but who felt deeply about trying his best to follow the will of God and to stand strong in his faith until the very end of his life. This is a book that will make you hunt for a highlighter as you will find yourself highlighting more and more quotes from this great man in our history. After reading this book I did do a little bit more research on Ronald Reagan's children and it does make me think I need to read up a bit more on Reagan and his family life if possible. I feel like the author of this book candy coated the rough family life of the children as they appear to not have as strong of faiths in Christ as the author Brown leads you to believe (drawing conclusion from Internet research). And I believe that it would have been beneficial to have a better understanding of Nancy Reagan, as I have read an autobiography (My Turn: The Memoirs of Nancy Reagan) that showed a great deal of difference in her beliefs than in her husbands.
Here is one of my favorite quotes from Reagan in the book on page 187 and 188:
"It's time to realize, I think, that we need God more than he needs us. But millions of Americans haven't forgotten. They know we've been on a toboggan slide, and they're determined to do something about it. And I'm honored to stand before you, thirty-five hundred of their most effective and courageous leaders. And let me say, I do no agree with those who accuse you of trying to impose your views on others. If we have come to the point in America where any attempt to see traditional values reflected in the public policy would leave one open to irresponsible charges, then I say the entire structure of our free society is threatened. The first amendment was not written to protect the people from religious values; it was written to protect those values from government tyranny."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

It is a quick read and gives a nice perspective fr

Date:January 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anne of Alamo
Location:Northern California
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was listening to the music of The Police, Phil Collins and was looking forward to that week’s show of “Greatest American Hero” the day President Ronald Reagan had an attempted assignation on his life. It was shocking, I remember watching the news, but I was a junior in high school, politics was not something that intrigued me. Fast forward a few years, I was in the Air Force and now Ronald Reagan was now my Commander in Chief! I hung on his every word!
The Faith of Ronald Reagan jumped out to me to read. I admit I have read many books on this man. I wanted to hear more of the spiritual side to this great leader. Sadly, this book was not to compelling to read. Mary Beth Brown compiled a nice book, in my opinion, this was more of a conglomerate of the numerous and previously released books about Mr. Reagan. To be fair, if you had not read other books about Mr. Reagan, this is a good condensed digest to learn about him. It is a quick read and gives a nice perspective from those around him during his life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Must For Any Reagan Fan

Date:January 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Guiding Light
Location:St Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a biography of Ronald Reagan that is different from other biographies in that it explores his faith and the influence it had on his life – from his high school and college days to his acting career then into his political careers as govenor then President (and after).
This book gives a good testimony to Reagan’s faith. There are times when there needs to be a little more examples to “back up” what was said. This would be an important book to read to get a full picture of “the man of Reagan’ ~ a must read for any Reagan fan!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Fails as a serious biography.

Date:January 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
John
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
President Reagan was a man of faith. He believed in prayer, and he depended upon a sovereign God who answers prayer. He displayed his faith through generosity, kindness, and love. Because I admire these qualities and the President who possessed them, I was eager to read Mary Beth Brown’s The Faith of Ronald Reagan. Brown is a New York Times Best-Selling Author, so I assumed that the book would be well written. Had I thought twice, I would have remembered that popularity has little to do with quality.
Brown gives us an overview of each stage in the President’s life, even going back as far as the childhood of his parents. She covers the most important events while throwing in the more interesting details, and has no shortage of quotes from Reagan and those who knew and loved him. By the end, I appreciate President Reagan even more than I did before, and I am convinced that he trusted God, both in public and private.
Though Brown succeeds in highlighting the faith of Reagan, she fails to write a serious biography. She is too attached, too adoring. The book sounds like a mother’s ode to her most beloved son, or a high school yearbook tribute to the quarterback who died in a tragic accident written by the overly familiar friend: “I loved Joe. He was kind to everyone, always smiling, perfect in every way. We all loved him, but I, I loved him the most.”
True to her role as overly familiar friend, Brown mentions any Reagan event that she was “fortunate to attend,” even when it has little to do with the context. And, once she tells us that Reagan’s childhood nickname was “Dutch,” we almost lose hope that she’ll ever use his real name again:
“Dutch also occasionally led prayer meetings at church. Members of his church enjoyed listening to Dutch’s dynamic, engaging voice and delivery, which was most likely the result of the elocution (the art of public speaking) lessons that his mother gave him. Some church members later remarked how Dutch would make the Bible seem personal and alive…”
Finally, after several chapters, Dutch grows up, and we remember that we are reading about a President of the United States. But then there’s the problem of awkward, repetitive, redundant prose:
“In 1976, he faced a sitting U.S. president, Gerald R. Ford, for the Republican nomination, and his campaign strategy called for delivering a knockout blow to Gerald Ford in the early primaries of New Hampshire and Florida. The strategists of the 1976 campaign believed that those early wins would knock Ford out.”
Nothing is beautiful, but has to be stunningly beautiful. Danger has to be “a brush with death.” And paragraphs drop in from nowhere. We think we’re reading a chapter about Reagan’s mother, but maybe it’s about Moon (Reagan’s brother), or Muggs (Reagan’s girlfriend). Or is it about Dutch’s collection of bird’s eggs? No, it’s Bible commentary—the Mary Beth Brown Bible commentary, which readers get a strong dose of. For Brown, every story is a “teachable moment,” and she never misses an opportunity to enlighten us on things that are “almost universally misunderstood.”
There are other problems besides the writing. There is the equating of patriotism with faith, the belief that the U.S. is the “shining city on a hill,” and the certainty of the Holy Spirit’s involvement in Reagan’s acting career and political speeches. Maybe Reagan was the most Christian President of modern times (“Even though Carter was a self-described born-again Christian, he gave eleven religious discourses…whereas Regan gave twenty-four”). But God’s chosen servant?
“John Barletta, a Secret Service agent close to President Reagan (who has traveled all over the world with him) has said that he too noticed this amazing phenomenon with the weather at Reagan’s inauguration and other appearances: ‘The sky would be gray and cloudy at an outdoor event, and then when President Reagan came up to speak, the sky would clear and the sun would shine down on him.’”
Serious readers will want to find another Reagan biography. For those who prefer a shallow, sentimental book that borders on mystical, this book will do.
Note: The Faith of Ronald Reagan is the 2011 version of Brown’s Hand of Providence: the Strong and Quiet Faith of Ronald Reagan, published in 2004.
I received a complimentary review copy of this book from Thomas Nelson.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring - loved it!

Date:January 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sasha
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spectacular, inspiring, encouraging - that is how I would describe this book. Mary Beth Brown has done a superb job sharing about the faith of this beloved president.
I was born during Reagan's presidency and sadly I don't remember much about that crucial period in our country's history. It is only recently that I have taken a deeper interest in politics and have come to realize what an impact he had on this country. I always knew that he was a great president, but I absolutely fell in love with him in this book.
I was so inspired and encouraged by the first two chapters where we learn of Reagan's mother, Nelle, and the impact that she had on her son's life - the way that she taught him of her faith. I just loved reading about the mother that she was to this great man. The author really wove the character and personality of Nelle Reagan into President Reagan's life story. Loved it.
I fell in love with this President who said that knowing God was more than knowing Who He was. I fell in love with this man who recognized God's purpose in all things - that God moved in something as simple as a cloudy day. His love for God's creation and God's people moved me.
This was a fantastic book. I highly recommend it. I was a bit nervous about a political biography, I never do great reading the "big words" and endless pages that I am always left not understanding, but this book had none of that. It was personal and it was engaging - I couldn't put it down, which I normally don't say about a non-fiction book.
Disclosure: I received this book free from the publisher through the Booksneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Faith of Ronald Reagan
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book; Great Man

Date:January 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Cheryl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always held President Ronald Reagan as the greatest President in my lifetime and this book just confirmed my views.
There are many books available on our 40th President but none like this. Mary Beth Brown gives a deeper, intimate look at this great man of faith. Her inside view, personal relationship with the President and his family, and her knowledge of the Bible shines page after page.
It was refreshing to learn of the effectiveness of the influence of a mother as Nelle Reagan is mentioned throughout the book. She taught her son that when life changes direction, it is always because God has a greater plan. His father taught him the importance of working hard for your goals. Ronald Reagan's life could have gone in so many different directions. It's very evident that God had a plan for him, and that plan included the highest position in America.
I also appreciate how this book is filled with not only quotes from President Reagan, but scripture can be found on page after page. Reading about his view on prayer, how he just spoke to God like he was right here and the divine interventions that took place really gives you a sense of the personal relationship he had with our Lord.
I highly recommend this book and I am even putting it on top of the pile for my teenager to read next. We really don't have many role models today like President Ronald Reagan.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.