Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Little Red Book of Wisdom

Thomas Nelson The Little Red Book of Wisdom

Mark DeMoss gathers insights for living wisely from history, Scripture, and a lifetime of listening. The result is a handy, accessible book that gives readers a new way to enjoy lasting success in the work world and beyond. Topics include finding and keeping your focus in life, building a winning corporate culture, and setting aside time for good thinking.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 1292%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Review 1 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift for teenager or college student

Date:August 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
booklover
Location:Central IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything about the book, The Little Red Book of Wisdom, drew me in ... the size, the feel, the binding, the font on the cover, and the title itself. Once I opened it, and began reading, it was hard to put it down.
Mark DeMoss wrote this book to thank his father for teaching him so much wisdom and to pass on to his children the wisdom gained from his father, from life experience and from the Bible. You might wonder, "Who is he and what qualifies him to write about wisdom?" DeMoss himself addresses that question, and his answer is a humble one.
The Hebrew word for wisdom means "skill for living." DeMoss divides his book into two areas (professional life and personal life), sharing wisdom in 11-12 topics in each area, covering such topics as understanding the brevity of life, finding focus, showing appreciation, learning from those who are ahead of us in life, and more.
The book is quick moving, but deep, and illustrated with interesting stories. Best of all, DeMoss inspires the reader that anyone can seek wisdom, by starting with a small step.
"Knowledge has right answers; wisdom has right questions." Do you have the right questions about life? This book is a good place to start learning some of those questions. I think this would make a great gift for a teenager or college student in your life!
I received this book for free from BookSneeze in exchange for my honest review. The opinions expressed are my own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

How to make wise choices

Date:August 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
JJ Shimko
Location:Williamsport, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished this book provided by Book Sneeze to review. It was a quick read with very practical insights on how to live a daily life in Christ. The book keeps the reader engaged by giving powerful examples not only of personal experiences of the author, but of real life, high profile individuals. The lessons they learned in making the wise choice in some cases were profound. Credit for these choices often stems back to a faith relationship in the God of the Bible. This faith relationship isn’t overly used but is encouraged by the author to have. His faith is extremely evident and helps challenge anyone else who may wonder why they are having so much difficulty with perspective in this life. Mark DeMoss’ experiences in the public relation field helps gives the reader reason to have a compass to navigate one’s life. He has seen a wide range of individuals trying to put their best foot forward, yet unless it is authentic and real, it only causes a person to fail every time.
I would highly recommend this book for the sheer practicality of seeing ourselves for who we are, especially in Christ. This book doesn’t pull any punches. Its instruction is straightforward in how we need to examine ourselves and others, and the situations in which we find ourselves. We need books like this every once in a while to steer us back on course. This book can be summed up by a quote of Max Lucado’s in the final chapter which states, “You can afford many wrong choices in life. You choose the wrong career and survive, the wrong city and survive, the wrong house and survive. But there is one choice that must be made correctly, and that is your eternal destiny (189).” May we all choose the path less travelled.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I have a lot of takeaways from this book.

Date:August 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
PBJones
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
“The Little Red Book of Wisdom” had me from the dedication page. Mark DeMoss said he wrote this book “to thank my father and to prepare my boy and two girls in the way my father prepared me.” I the like the concept of the book even more than the content of the book and the content is pretty good.
Much like Solomon, who collected wisdom proverbs for the benefits of his children, DeMoss collects his thoughts and experiences as a legacy for his children. I think every parent should do this. It’s a wise practice. That’s one of my takeaway’s from the book.
The 190 pages makes it a short read but one from which I have a lot of takeaways.
DeMoss has rubbed shoulders with people I would have enjoyed meeting, from Charles “Tremendous” Jones to Millard Fuller to Joey Reiman. If you don’t know who Joey Reiman is, the chapter entitled, “Work Less, Think More” is for you. Reiman heads Brighthouse, the first “ideation corporation.” DeMoss credits Reiman with helping his company develop a culture of “thinking” to give him an edge in business. Reiman’s book, “Thinking for a Living” is now next on my list to read.
“Buy Some Stamps” is a challenging chapter on the lost art of letter writing as opposed to emails, texts and tweets. There is something endearing about a handwritten or even typewritten note on stationary. It says “time,” “thoughtfulness” and “enduring.” If you read and file notes of encouragement, then you know how many cards and letters vs emails you have in your file.
“Money Isn’t Everything, Good People Are” is a chapter on how he treats his employees. There are some valuable practices and provisions that he makes that are worth emulating. His perspective on the contribution of his staff is healthy – “without good people – trusted, respected, professional, motivated, inspired, rested people – I have no firm.” For the owner of a PR firm, DeMoss is more substance than hype when it comes to values.
I am not sure what Georgia, Mookie and Madison – DeMoss’ children – think of their father’s writings, but I believe my children, and staff will benefit from the inspiration I received from his little red book.
Thank you Booksneeze for providing me a copy of this book to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Life Changing book

Date:July 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Natasha
Location:Vancouver, BC
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More than any other book I’ve read recently, this book inspired me to become a better person. I fell in love with the Christian business and personal life principles the author shared and immediately reflected on my own life to see how many I follow. Before I put the book down, I read it a second time and took copious notes and made a commitment to myself to live at a higher level.
My 5 biggest take-aways from the book:
1. Stay under your umbrella: stay true to who and what God has called you to do. There is no price tag on doing what you’re anointed for and no greater reward.
2. Work less, think more. We live in a culture focused on productivity and businesses but does that really get us further ahead? What if we regularly took time just to think and see what wisdom God gives us? He is ready to answer but are we ready to listen?
3. The wisdom of firsts: first hour, first day, first dime. What is really first in our lives? Mark shares the value of putting God first in every area of our lives and the amazing benefits that come from making that choice.
4. Turtle on a fence post. How did that turtle get there you ask? How do we accomplish all that we accomplish? God’s blessing and God’s favor on our lives – don’t forget to give credit where credit is due and never forget where you came from.
5. Proverb a day. There are 31 chapters of proverbs and 31 days in a typical month. How much more could we grow in our understanding of God’s principles for success if we read a proverb every day?
As I read this book, I felt the direction for my business shift and I am so excited to implement these ideas. Thank you for such an amazing book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Inspiring book for the people on the go!

Date:July 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
krista priya
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
“Wisdom is a journey not a destination”
This 148-page book is all about the little things in life that we tend to overlook, the bits and pieces of wisdom we seldom recognize because we’re too concerned of the now, faster and more world. Throughout the book, the author imparts his life lessons and that of his families and friends and even a few famous personalities. It provokes a spiritual reflection by referencing to selected Biblical passages and yet friendly enough not to sound too spiritual in his approach. The division of the book (professional and personal) is typical for the subject matter. The following lines found in the early parts of the book summarize its call for action:
“Wisdom does not favor intelligence or education, affluence or sophistication; it calls to everyone, everywhere. We need only respond…Live what really matters”
The Little Book of Wisdom encourages thinking and reflection of how we lived our lives so far. Have we lived it to its fullest and did we focus on the people, things and values that really matter? These questions are most timely for readers age 20 to mid-30s, who are in the peak of their careers or in the pursuit of having one. It is also suited to those people who want to do everything, go everywhere, and experience everything NOW.
In today’s fast-paced world, taking a pause and a breather are seen as costly. The book reminds us that, by doing exactly those things, we could reap greater wisdom and even reach greater lengths. The book inspires us to recognize the merit of thinking and reflection, to acknowledge the random lessons we could get in unpredictable, and often overlooked, situations and to not just do what we’ve always done.
An easy read, the author successfully weaved the stories and experiences to emphasize the lessons he wanted to impart. There’s no better way of learning and remembering (the lessons) than by storytelling. If you want to be inspired and enlightened by the experiences of others, this book is for you.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
The review is also accessible through: http://iniziacaso.wordpress.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

If I had the money, I’d hand this book out...

Date:July 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
PrayerLady
Location:Bellevue, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If I had the money, I’d hand this book out on street corners — it’s that good.
Tired of hearing the gospel of selfishness touted by ad agencies? Sick of commentators spewing cynical, depressing stories?
If so, you’ll love this book. However, if you carry your ennui like a banner, I suggest you read something else.
DeMoss’ volume is small but mighty, an ode to common sense:
What does honesty in business look like?
How do you really make time for loved ones?
What exactly is wisdom in an it’s-all-relative culture?
The author’s choice of topics varies. One half provides edification for business, the other for personal life. Many sections remind me of teaching given me by my late father, a young man during the Great Depression. I mourn as such wisdom dies with every member of that generation.
Sound corny? It’s not. Those who never learned such in their homes are poorer for it. The lack impoverishes us all.
Chapter titles include:
A Turtle on a Fencepost
Shut Up and Listen
Buy Some Stamps
Favorite quotes:
Page 51: “ ‘Turn off your computer … and discover all that is human around us.’ ” The speaker was Eric Schmidt. Who’s that, you say? The chairman and CEO of Google.”
Page 71: “I’ve never regretted not compromising what we know to tell people what they might want to hear. Even when it comes at a high cost, honesty is always a bargain.”
Page 105: “…awareness of God’s ownership opens my hands, loosening my grip on stuff. The standard, ‘How much should I give?” gives way to ‘How much should I keep?”
DeMoss, a Christian, gives the most straightforward statement of the Gospel I’ve ever heard on page 186, so well written you’d miss it but for the clear writing. His style is best characterized by ‘just the facts, M’am’ with a large dollop of gentleness and compassion. The Little Red Book of Wisdom provides a refreshing cache of encouragement for weary people. The hours with it are well spent.
NOTE: BookSneeze.com provided me a complimentary copy of the book.
<a href=”http://www.booksneeze.com/reviews/blogger/24264?ref=badge”><img alt=”I review for BookSneeze®” src=”http://www.booksneeze.com/images/booksneeze_badge.png” border=”0″ width=”200″ height=”150″></a>
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Leanna
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
“The Little Red Book of Wisdom” by Mark DeMoss is just that: a little red book of wisdom. From business endeavors, to common etiquette, to spiritual growth, this book has a little bit of everything for everyone. I picked it up and wouldn’t have put it back down without finishing if I could have. The author is the owner of a Public Relations business, and the son of a business owner, so he is well acquainted with the ins and outs of working with the public. His advice isn’t limited to business owners (even though he had some great counsel, such as treating your employees with respect, and keeping opposite-gender relationships above reproach), but extends to any individual wanting guidance for even little, practical things like writing thank-you notes, or listening to your elders. He devotes an entire chapter on wisdom from the wisest man that ever lived--King Solomon. Using the book of Proverbs, the author quotes the counsel and wisdom of King Solomon that is still practical and applicable for 21st century readers. Also included is a chapter on ways to not have death-bed regrets, something that this now-oriented generation doesn’t always stop to think about. I recommend this book for the young and old, the business man and the student.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The Little Red Book of Wisdom by Mark DeMoss

Date:July 4, 2011
The Little Red Book of Wisdom is about time tested principles that will assist you in both your personal and your business relationships. The author draws on several of his personal experiences to demonstrate how there is wisdom in using many basic and common sense principles.
The author discusses on several occasions the practices of his own public relations firm, as well as, the lessons he learned from his father. The book was a quick read and broken down into twenty-three short chapters. The length of the chapters was fine but it seemed that the book was all over the place. The author would tell a story and then he would quickly jump to something else. It may have been more effective to elaborate on some of the stories that were told as it may leave the reader wanting to turn the page.
This book was difficult to get through, though the principles were excellent, the way the book was written seemed more like an advertisement for the author’s public relations company. Again, the principles that the author discusses are tried and true but the delivery could have been more effective.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great gift book

Date:June 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wanda Myers
Location:Dublin, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose to read The Little Red Book of Wisdom because the title intrigued me. When I received my copy I was thrilled with how attractive and well made it is. Comprised of 23 chapters, this little book fits neatly in the palm of your hand or pocket and offers more wisdom than you would expect from such a small volume. It covers all the essentials from priorities to time management; as well as integrity, honesty, and making wise choices. I can say that I enjoyed every chapter, but most importantly I learned something from each one. I was especially impressed by the chapter on technology and believe that we could all use a good dose of the reality check that it encourages. I was also reminded of how beneficial it is to read from Proverbs every day and live in such a way that there are no regrets at the end of the journey. Finally, I was delighted to see that Mr. DeMoss ended the book with a chapter on salvation—the best piece of wisdom he could have given. I believe this book should be a staple in every home library and it would make a great graduation gift.
I received a copy of this book free from the publishers through the BookSneeze blogging for books program in exchange for an honest review. My opinions are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Book

Date:April 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:momentswithmylord@gmail.com
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Little Red Book of Wisdom
By: Mark DeMoss
This book was an excellent book. It covered things that we face everyday. What I loved about the book is that it referenced the Bible. Gave scripture, and application. I really enjoyed the book and will refer back to it again, and again. It not only opened my eyes to some practical tips, advice, but also accountability in how we live. The book spoke about work ethic, how to conduct ourselves in work, service, and to our family. I loved how the author wrote about his father and how a great example his father was to him. I truly enjoyed the book, and it is now on the shelf with my reference books. I only have a few on that shelf, but this book made its mark on my life. I would recommend it to those who are trying to make there way in life. Great book on work ethics, and how to include God in your life. The author really does speak about morality, choices and commitment. I was happy I chose this book to read. I think you as a reader would not be disappointed. It is a great example on how we can apply the Bible to our everyday life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertisin
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is so smart! :)

Date:April 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
grace
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently got the chance to review "The Little Red Book of Wisdom" by Mark DeMoss from Booksneeze.com. I was intrigued by this book for two reason: One, who can't use a little more wisdom? I know I sure can. And two, I saw in one descriotion I read that this book had been liked to one Kind Solomon would have written. Those are pretty big words, seeing as Kind Solomon was the History's wisest man. And why? Not because he was born that way, or because he always did everything right, but simply because he asked God for it.
Who wouldn't want to do whatever it took to look at life different and start making better decisions, being more productive, and simply being happier? Basically divided into two main parts, this book shows you how to navigate through both your personal and professional life with advice, scripture, stories.
I simply don't know anyone who couldn't benefit from reading through this book, and because it's not tailored to one specific group it's even easier. And it doesn't take long because its just so entertaining and straight to the point and full of such sense that you really don't want to put it down. Definitely from anyone struggling or not, and anyone from any walk of life.
This book is just absolutely great to have around and I will definitely keep it forever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Little Red Book of Wisdom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Little Red Book of True Wisdom

Date:March 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Thebenz
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Little Red Book of Wisdom- Mark DeMoss
The Little Red Book of Wisdom by Mark Demoss is one of those books that everyone should read, and own a copy of. DeMoss offers insight into living wisely in a world that is always becoming more difficult. The insight in this book provides readers with practical and everyday wisdom on ways to be successful.
This was a fantastic book and enjoyed reading it very much. It is one of the few books that I look forward to reading on a daily basis. It was so engrossing I usually chose to read this over my homework. This book challenged the way I thought about some things, and brought to my attention other topics I would not normally think of. I loved that it made me think and really consider some of the practices in my own life. I think this book has definitely made me a wiser person, with some advice that I can pass on to other. I would recommend this book to anyone and everybody. Anyone from any walk of life would find this book insightful. I walked away with something from every chapter, and I am sure many readers will do the same.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.