Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ

Thomas Nelson The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ

In The Jesus We Missed, pastor and scholar Patrick Henry Reardon travels through the Gospel narratives to discover the real Jesus, to see him through the eyes of those who knew him best--the apostles, his community, believers who vividly portrayed him in stories filtered through their own accounts. Through these living, breathing accounts, we contemplate who God's Son really was and is--and we understand how he came to redeem and sanctify every aspect of human life.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 1164%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Review 1 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Digging into the humanity of Jesus ...

Date:June 4, 2012
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We've been taught the Bible says Jesus is both fully man and fully God, but struggle to wrap our minds around such a reality. Then we open the Bible and read of the wondrous acts and profound teachings of Jesus.
The result: we quickly forget the humanity part of Christ's life and see a dynamic savior.
In "The Jesus We Missed," published by Thomas Nelson, pastor and theologian Patrick Henry Reardon attempts to take us back into the earthly life of Christ for a deeper look at the humanity of Jesus. Just what does it mean that Jesus was fully human yet fully God, and how did that play out in reality as Christ walked this earth? All good points Reardon initially does a respectable job of delving into.
However, as the book progresses, it gradually slides from a focus on the humanity of Christ to being just another study of the life of Christ written by a scholar.
And the reader can certainly tell a scholar wrote this book.
"The Jesus We Missed" is written for readers with a reasonable Bible knowledge of their own so they can keep up with Reardon's more academic approach with the subject matter.
If you're looking to broaden your knowledge of the life of Christ, are intrigued about going deeper into the humanity of Christ, and can handle a more studious read, then you may want to check out this book. There will be plenty of content to challenge and sharpen you. If, however, you're looking for a more general study of the life of Christ that is an easy read, you'll want to pass on this title.
I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good BUT...

Date:May 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Logan
Location:New Zealand
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Am I missing something? Really? The title The Jesus We Missed seems to promise controversy, is there something we've really missed about Jesus all this 2000 years or so? Is it really going to be surprising? Going by the title I was hoping for something I could get my teeth into, something to stir me, something I could chew over. Sadly there is nothing really challenging or surprising about this book.
So once I get past the fact that the title is somewhat miss-leading, the book itself is not that bad. Reardon has effectively gone through the gospels and picked up the biographical details of Jesus, compiled them and filled in the various gaps. He admits that there is nothing new in the book and that's exactly how it feels. Any half-way decent study of the gospels would yield equally satisfying results.
Still I come back to the fact that this a reasonably good book and certainly is worth your time if you want to make a study of Jesus and his humanity.
I received this book from booksneeze.com for an honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Jesus We Missed

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Holden
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In his book The Jesus We Missed, pastor and theologian Patrick Henry Reardon sets out to confront a growing trend of thought in the Church, a stigmatism that has affected the biblical vision of Christians for centuries: a misunderstanding of the reality of Christ’s humanity.
For many believers, Jesus’ true personhood is reduced to an abstract spiritual presence filling the cavities of our hearts, or existing far away in an unimaginable etherial heaven. He is either too close or too far for our mind’s eye to picture. In the word’s of Russell D. Moore, writer of the foreword to Reardon’s book, “Many of us see Jesus either as the ghostly friend in the corner of our hearts, promising heaven and guiding us through difficulty, or we see him simply in terms of his sovereignty and power, in terms of his distance from us.”
This is Reardon’s polemic: to help Christians to re-envision Jesus as the man he was among men, and as the man he is still. Reardon wishes to show us a Christ with whom we can associate, a Diety who knows the struggles and humanity of his Creation, a God who is not only Father, but Brother.
Patrick Reardon takes readers on a detailed tour of the life of Christ. From Jesus’ childhood as recorded in the Gospel of Luke, to his baptism and ministry, to his excruciating and gory execution, The Jesus We Missed offers readers a greater understanding of the profound significance of the incarnation.
My appreciation for Christ’s humanity–and in turn, his divinity–was deepened. Reardon’s book has shown me that the things Christ truly is the second Adam, the new Man, that we are called to imitate. This book boldly shows us that the things we so often write of as “human”–our lust, our pride, our jealousy, our strife–are not at all qualities of the man, but of what C. S. Lewis, in his novel Perelandra, may have called the “unman.” Through his incarnation, Christ showed the world that it is not vile to grow tired, to sweat, to work, to vomit, to weep, to die. Rather, he showed us what a true man must become through the work of the Holy Spirit, through relationship and adoption in the Father. And Patrick Henry Reardon reminds us that we must become truly human through kinship with the Son.
I thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending a complimentary copy of this book for my review. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and am sure others readers will agree.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Very Deep

Date:March 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Todd
Location:Richmond, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently received the book “The Jesus We Missed The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ” by Patrick Henry Reardon for review. My initial impression is this is a great book, but very deep. To put this another way, the book is not a casual read. Patrick Reardon is a scholar and it shows in his writing. If you are looking for a feel good, light read to grow closer to Christ then pass up on “The Jesus We Missed”. However, if you are willing to dig deep, to challenge yourself, and more importantly learn more about our savior, then I would highly recommend this book.
As Christians we often say that Jesus was one hundred percent man and one hundred percent God. The statement is easy to say, much harder to understand. In this book, Reardon dives deep into the scriptures to show us the humanity of Christ. By looking at the gospel narratives, and drawing from life itself, Reardon draws a more detailed picture of Christ than many of us have ever thought about. Reardon takes details from scripture, even the difference in details to help focus our image of Jesus. All of this is brought together in “The Jesus We Missed.”
The book is entirely too detailed to review adequately in this short blog. Needless to say, if you have a desire to grow in your understanding of Jesus. If you can handle a in-depth systematic look into scripture then this is the book for you. This is no light read, but it is a good study. I would recommend it for those who have a deeper theological background.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informed and transformed my knowledge of Christ.

Date:March 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
Heather King
Location:Gloucester, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book can transform the way you read the Gospels. That's what it did for me.
I have to be honest, though, when I read the first paragraph, with all of its academic tone and scholarly style, I sarcastically thought, "Well, this'll be a real page turner."
And it was! Even though I'm not a seminary grad or a Christology scholar, I actually had to force myself not to read too quickly, for fear I'd overlook the significance and depth of Reardon's argument. This is an academic work, no question about it. It is not written to be a Christian pop culture phenomenon and isn't going to end up launching a t-shirt line or bumper stickers.
But if you've ever grown tired of hearing the same-old, same-old lessons on the Gospels, this book will bring refreshing perspective and depth. Reardon gives a detailed analysis of Jesus' time on earth, from His incarnation through the passion, reminding us of all that Jesus gave up when He left heaven and came in human flesh. While the argument wandered at times, perhaps, from the point at hand, His ultimate goal was achieved---to challenge the way we've thought about Jesus.
This matters because we often mis-read Scripture by forgetting that Jesus was fully human while communing with the Father, discovering His own identity, choosing His disciples (including His betrayer), and tasting death. Ultimately, I can't think of any book that has so informed and transformed my knowledge of Christ.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Book on an ignored topic

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris Land
Location:Wichita Falls, Tx
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As Christians, we believe that Jesus was fully man and fully God, not part man part God which is Greek Mythology Demigod. Christ's deity is always up for debate. There have been a lot of books written on the subject as well as several conferences.
While the deity of Christ has become a hot topic, the humanity of Christ has been put on the back burner as the subject no one wants to discuss. Patrick Henry Reardon addresses Christ's humanity in his book, The Jesus We Missed. Reardon talks about Jesus growing up as far how he was possibly raised according to Jewish traditions. He also talked about his baptism, how he dealt with women, death, and resurrection while using Scriptures to support his teachings on the humanity of Jesus.
This was an interesting read because there are not that many books addressing Jesus' humanity which I can understand why Reardon titled the book the way he did. This is a good tool to use in sermons and Bible study as well as good apologetic tool when talking about Jesus.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thought Provoking

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jimmy Reagan
Location:West Union, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do we mean when we say that Jesus was both fully divine and fully human? Most Christians have some clear ideas about Jesus being fully God, but His being a man is harder to conceive and explain. In fact, most Christians would rather not discuss the subject for fear of inadvertently attacking Christ's deity. It is in this usually avoided area of doctrine that Patrick Henry Reardon writes. This book, published by Thomas Nelson Publishers, boldly tackles the subject.
Reverent study of the humanity of Christ will in no way lessen our respect of the divinity of Christ, but rather better define it. Actually, our appreciation of what Jesus did for us will grow exponentially as we see that He suffered as we suffer, he felt pain and heartaches as we feel them, and He understands on every level all that we could ever go through.
In this thought-provoking work, we are forced to confront Christ's humanity head on. Questions that you either never thought of, or thought it best to never think of, are asked in a way that you much decide or close the book. In the preface alone, the shocking question of did Jesus ever get sick and vomit is asked. Before you run away, ask yourself if that isn't a worthy question. Does Jesus understand when I am in the middle of a bout of extreme nauseousness? At this point doctrine and daily living intersect.
I couldn't say that I agree with every conclusion of Mr. Reardon. When he speaks of Jesus and His mother Mary being at odds at the wedding where He turns water to wine, I feel he slightly stretches the extent of it. While I can appreciate the bewildering nature of Mary's experience as Jesus grew up, I can't help but believe that she did think of Him as we usually picture it in light of the angel's graphic description of the Child she would carry. The extraordinary fact of the Virgin Birth could never be lost on her for a moment, even though her being a human mother had to come out at times. Mr. Reardon also attributes more to the human author's personal knowledge (Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John) than I would feel comfortable doing as it would overlook the ultimate authorship of the Holy Spirit.
But when Mr. Reardon talks about Jesus' growing up always going to the synagogue, or His interaction with certain individuals, or His sufferings in Gethsemane or on the cross, he is spot on. I have been blessed by studying Christology and it looks like we have a tool here to help those who have never studied it to get going.
Pastors can gain further insights on the Hypostatic Union while laymen can follow the discussion with minimal heavy theological terms. That makes this book, even with the few aforementioned caveats, a winner all the way around.
I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Adequate explanation of Jesus Humanity

Date:February 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
LarryKozlof
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have you ever sat and wondered about the pure humanity of Jesus? He declared himself to be Son of God and Son of Man so he must contain the full human buildup, emotional structure and entire struggles that we face. In the Jesus We Missed, Patrick Henry Reardon takes his readers on a journey of discovering this humanity and the ramifications it has on us as well.
From the early years of Jesus’ life to the pronouncement of Jesus as God’s Son after being baptized, through his teaching and miraculous works ministry and finalizing with the resurrection Reardon expresses with great detail the sheer humanity that resided in Jesus. The temptation would be to skirt issues that may seem to be minor and focus on emotional basis of humanity and the significant moments of ministry that highlighted Jesus humanity but Reardon allows the readers to explore Jesus as a man through statements of fact and questions of wonder in many areas of his life, large and small.
Throughout the entirety of the book I was able to read along wondering where the commentary would next bring me, enjoying the experience of reading as a whole though I do reflect on a few moments that read very dry and some that seemed to not fit well within the context of a specific discussion. What I enjoy most about Non-Fiction books are when they challenge my understanding on the specific issue while remaining true to the Biblical context and truth, Reardon was able to do both within the pages of and book and keep me engaged as well.
Though he did seem to stray at times from the major theme of Jesus Humanity and focus on timelines in a few discussion as well as outside characters I feel Reardon did an adequate job explaining his thesis early and often. Two areas I wish would have been covered were individual emotions of human interaction as a whole and the importance of Jesus experiencing child birth and early childhood to further engrain his humanity, when he could have come as an adult and proven his authority as God’s Son.
I would recommend this book if you have an edge towards theology or even a desire to relate more to the man that Jesus was, and not just his Spiritual significance in your life.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Realizing the Significants of His Humanity

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ben Cabe
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This question about Jesus, perhaps the most important question that can be asked, has hung for centuries in the minds of historians, philosophers and the every day man: "Who was he?" How you answer this question will determine how you live your life. The Jewish leaders thought he was merely a man; the disciples thought he was the Lord. The Jesus We Missed, written by Patrick Henry Reardon, concludes that Jesus was 100% man and 100% Lord. Such irony in the scriptures is often pointed out by Reardon (and is really quite a joy to read).
Reardon sets out to explain, given the context of the different written accounts of Jesus' life, perhaps what was going through the minds of the characters in the narration. His conclusions are well researched and thought out. He speaks, at one point, on the temptation of Jesus in accordance with Jesus' self understanding. It's plausible to say that Jesus, being fully human, had doubts about being the son of God (something Satan capitalized on when tempting him, saying "if you truly are the son of God throw yourself down from here... For surely (if you are the Son of God) He will send angels to swoop you up before your foot catches a stone). Such a suggestion would indeed be tempting for Christ.
Reardon in the last portion of the book explains the striking similarities between Adam and the New Adam (which is Christ). Every single part of the curse is embraced and made perfect through the new Adam. In this way Jesus not only assumed a human body but he tasted exactly what it is to be human: that is, to doubt, to hurt, to weep, to suffer sever emotional and psychology distress, etc. He not only died but, Reardon puts it, he intentionally went through the experience of dying.
Reardon pulls simple facts and brings out their importance. The Jesus We Missed was a great read and captivated the importance of the humanity of Jesus Christ.
I was provided a copy of this book from the publishing company and was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are my own.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Search for the Humanity of Christ

Date:February 15, 2012
Customer Avatar
THE SELF TAUGHT COOK
Location:DAVENPORT, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Jesus We Missed by Patrick Henry Reardon
In his latest work, Pastor Patrick Reardon, noted theologian and scholar, examines the humanity of Christ. By an exhaustive study of the Gospels, narrated by those who knew Him best, Reardon discovers for us the human, earthly Jesus who walked the shores of Galilee with his disciples. While in no way denigrating or ignoring the deity of Christ, this work seeks to bring Him to life as only those who knew him "in the flesh" could have seen. The author presents Jesus as "of one being with the Father" - one person, not two- not part God, part man, but completely both, at once.
As one who has often pondered this very subject, I found this book to be very enlightening. So little is known about the earthly walk of Jesus, that for most Christians He may seem more of a distant, untouchable Savior. It is somehow comforting to me to realize that upon a closer look at the Scriptures (especially in the original Greek, Aramaic, or Hebrew) that Jesus was not only compassionate in the broad sense, but toward individuals. When I saw how often He called persons by name, it became clear to me that He sees me as an individual and knows me by name. To see that He respected and valued the women who followed His ministry shows me that I am not lower in His eyes because I am a woman. He becomes more attainable when we realize that He must have had a sense of humor. And, perhaps most important, to truly understand that He felt the temptation of Satan just as we do (Hebrews 4:15) shows us that He understands when we are tempted, but we also know that we also can resist the Tempter.
In summary, this is an excellent study for clergy and laypersons alike. For anyone who wants an in-depth study of the Scriptures pertaining to the life of Christ, this should be an enjoyable exercise. And if the reader has not previously studied the original Greek and Aramaic text, this book is the perfect introduction.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Jesus We Missed: The Surprising Truth About the Humanity of Christ
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not What I Had Hoped For

Date:February 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cherie Hill
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a difficult review for me to write. I MUST give this book a four star rating, simply on the basis that it's written by Patrick Henry Reardon, the beloved theologian. But, the book overall, fell short of anything I'd hoped for.
First of all, I do not think this book should be classified under "Spiritual Growth and Christian Thought." It would be better classified under "Theology." The average reader is not going to be able to comprehend the depth of this book. It is written more as a thesis/dissertation. Unless you enjoy reading such writings, this is not the book for you. In addition, I felt that the topic skipped around too much in ways that the reader is not able to fully grasp the point that is being made. Overall, I did not feel like I gleaned much insight into Jesus as a human that I didn't already know. There were certain aspects of the "surrounding" stories in Jesus' life that I learned of details that I was not aware of, but they did not make a difference in how I saw Jesus in His humanity. I don't think I've missed anything, and I'm not sure that most people have either. It is VERY apparent that Jesus was fully man . . . the New Testament is filled with examples of Jesus' emotions and temptations. The confusing part to me is that it doesn't really speak to the real issues that believers/nonbelievers pose: Most people do not have a problem believing in Jesus' humanity . . . it's His Divine nature that causes the issue. The book did not balance this out enough. At times, I felt that Jesus was made "too" human to such an extent that I felt detachment, rather than attachment to Him. As a believer, I want to be assured He was human, but I more so need to be absolutely convinced that He was just as Divine. Without that balance, faith can waver.
Please understand, this is just my opinion. Others may very well understand Jesus in a new way by reading this book . . . I just don't think that we've "missed" that much when it comes to Jesus' humanity. I just didn't feel like this study gave me any more insight into His humanity than what I already knew. Due to the fact that this was written in a very theological tone, I believe most readers will have a VERY difficult time getting through it.
I also wish the ending would have been summed up better. I felt that it left the reader hanging and I would have loved to have read Patrick Henry Reardon's insight and thoughts on the Humanity of Christ along with His Divinity. The book just didn't seem complete.
That being said, I have the utmost respect for Patrick Henry Reardon and I believe this book was as thorough of a study on Jesus' humanity as could possibly be written. I just believe that it needed a balance including His Divinity, especially for unbelievers who are reading.
*I received this book for free in exchange for my unbiased review through the Thomas Nelson BookSneeze Program.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.