Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1

Tyndale House Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1

Twelve-year-old Winnie Willis has a way with horses. She can gentle the wildest mare, but other parts of life don't always come as easily. Along with her dad and sister Lizzy, Winnie is learning how to live without her mom--who was also a natural horse gentler. As Winnie teachers her horses about unconditional love and blind trust, God shows Winnie that He can be trusted as well. Readers will be hooked by the series' vivid cast of characters whose quirky personalities fill Winnie's life with friendship and adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 8100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Review 1 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book Series!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old daughter recently started reading the books in this series (8 books total). We chose it because she had previously read the Starlight Animal Rescue Series by the same author and loved the books. The Horse Gentler Series has not disappointed and my daughter loves it, hiding away to read every chance she gets.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
This review is fromWild Thing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JenP
Location:Bendigo, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally found chapter books my 9yo loves reading, (and her mum enjoyed it too!) Great read, good truths and also informative (about horses). Will be reading the rest of the series! Definitely recommend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Faith, family and horses!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Dandi Daley Mackall tells the story of 12 year old Winnie Willis and her pursuit of a beautiful white Arabian horse named "Wild Thing." Although I'm far beyond the age group this book was written for, I still found it to be an enjoyable read, and one I would recommend to all young animal lovers, especially horse lovers. Not only was it a nice little story, but you'll actually learn a lot about horses and the training process. Above all, Ms. Mackall weaves a neat story of family and forgiveness and the faithfulness of God.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Very emotional

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Rose
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winnie Willis used to work with horses with her mother before the accident. The accident that killed her mother. Winnie blames herself. Now she, her dad and her younger sister Lizzy spend their time moving—a few months here and a few months there. Winnie is so desperate to be around horses that she mucks the stalls at Spidell’s stable where she learns a beautiful new Arabian horse has arrived. It is love at first sight for Winnie, but nobody seems to be able to handle the wild horse. Winnie buys the Arabian at an auction and using everything her mother taught her, Winnie slowly befriends the horse. Then she gets ready to sell the horse she has become so fond of at a sale because her family could really use the money.
Dandi Daley Mackall is obviously a talented writer. I ran through so many emotions as I read. If you know a young girl age 8-12 who loves animals, especially horse, she would love this book. If you know a girl who has ever read Pony Pals (Scholastic), Mackall’s writing is very similar and not preachy.
I downloaded this as a free e-book to check it out for my daughter, but I would gladly pay money for any of Mackall’s books and plan to get more of what she has written.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great series for tweens!

Date:August 6, 2011
Wild Thing by Dandi Daly Mackall is the first book in the young adult series Winnie, The Horse Gentler. It's a sweet story about a girl who loves horses. Her family is going through a difficult time, and her love of horses and new friends help her get through difficult times. Along the way Winnie must learn to trust God in all things.
What a great series for tweens! What girl doesn't love horses at one time or another?! The book gives great information about the different breeds of horses and weaves in particulars about caring for horses. I think many young girls will wish they could be Winnie! In addition to all the "horse talk," the author weaves in wonderful truths of God's faithfulness and love. I would definitely recommend to tweens!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Inspirational Horse Fiction for Girls 9+

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm always looking for chapter books to read to my 6 and 7 year old daughters. I often read them books outloud that they aren't able to read on their own yet. My girls love horses so I thought I'd see what the Horse Gentler series was about.
The book was great! I won't be reading it to my young daughters but definitely look forward to giving them the book to read when they're 9 or 10. Some of the things dealt with in this book are pretty big things for younger kids--like guilt, bitterness, and death of a parent.
The main character, Winnie, is madly in love with horses. She discovers a wild Arabian and, even though she feels far away from God because of the guilt that's tied up with her mom's death 2 years ago, she prays that the horse could be hers.
In the end, Winnie experiences God's forgiveness and grace. Her conversion back to God is written in a beautiful way that I think most children 9 and up will be able to grasp, especially if they are Christians. This book would be a good evangelistic tool, also, for a little girl who doesn't know Jesus yet. I definitely recommend it for any girl in the recommended age range, especially if she loves horses! If not, she probably will be the time she finishes the last chapter.
At the end of the book, there's a horse diagram about the "Parts of the Horse" where readers will learn everything from the muzzle to the withers. There's also a 4 page "Horse-o-Pedia" about different types of horses and a 4 page section on "Horse Talk" where readers can learn how horses communicate to people and each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wild Thing is a good start to the Horse Gentler series. This is a book that can be enjoyed by horse lovers and non-horse lover alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome series

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reader0407
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this series to any tween girl. I loved horses as a kid and this series had me hooked from the minute I picked it up. It has a good plot and the depth that an older girl would enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
CMR
Wonderful series for any tween girl. Me and my sister like this series so much. I starting reading them when was seven and still love them. Memorable characters and captivating plot will keep this book a favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jones Bonnie
i give this book 5 stars! it is excellent. has a lot of depth, has a wide range of interesting characters. the main character is very lovable, very human. the book is funny, and also gives a lot of really interesting horse facts. it also gently draws us into God's love. i can't wait to read the sequels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
I read the book Winnie the Horse Gentler/Wild Thing, and I LOVED it! I cant wait to read the second one. I just turned 11. I loved the way Winnie acted with Wild Thing. I tried some of the techniques in the book, like blowing at her nostrils, with my horse, Holli. It worked with her and she loves me way more now. I highly recommend it to every horse lover out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Well written and very interesting! But, Winnie is negative about herself. JESUS DIED FOR YOU! WILL YOU LIVE HIS LIFE?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 14, 2002
Customer Avatar
Abigail
This book is fantastic reading for Christian Horselovers. Every horse crazy girl has experienced that aching desire to have her own horse and reading about someone who gets her wish is great. I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the next one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.