Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1

Tyndale House Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1

Twelve-year-old Winnie Willis has a way with horses. She can gentle the wildest mare, but other parts of life don't always come as easily. Along with her dad and sister Lizzy, Winnie is learning how to live without her mom--who was also a natural horse gentler. As Winnie teachers her horses about unconditional love and blind trust, God shows Winnie that He can be trusted as well. Readers will be hooked by the series' vivid cast of characters whose quirky personalities fill Winnie's life with friendship and adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Review 1 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
elinsmom
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Good book for middle grade girls. It is a good story about friendship and horses. It is well written and has surprising depth. I would definately recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2014
Customer Avatar
Jessica Bates
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winnie Willis is a twelve year old girl who absolutely loves horses. After being moved around a lot in the two years since her mother's tragic death, she happens upon a horse with a wild spirit. She immediately falls in love with the horse and has to find a way to buy her.
This was a fun book. There are a lot of fun characters in this book. One of the best parts was the way all of the characters really had a natural calling to the animals they favored. Lots of information about horses and their care is included. It was a lovely little story. It will be a fun read for anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wild Thing

Date:June 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Amy C
Location:VA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wild Thing is such a fun read for my horse loving little girl. Though, I don't think she is the target age group for this book, she still loves the story and loves Wild Thing. I think it is really good and has a good moral to the story. I would recommend it for girls, probably between 8-12.
5 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
thecraftyhome
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Wild Thing by Dandi Daley Mackall is the first book in the series for 8-12 year old girl's called Winnie the Horse Gentler. Winnie's mother was an amazing horse gentler and taught her everything she knows. A horse gentler is someone who gentles a horse, earning it's trust, verses breaking a horse. But Winnie still feels guilty for her mother's death and has a broken relationship with her dad because of it. But when she sees the wild Arabian horse Wild Thing she falls in love and will do anything to make it hers. What follows is a story full of horses and eventually healing from the guilt she has been feeling.
This story took me back to being in junior high and love horses like most little girls do. It's a great Christian story about horses and all things girl. The back even contains a horse-o-pedia, a diagram of the parts of a horse, how to understand the sounds and non verbal communication they make. It truly is a fabulous book and would be a great series for your girl's this summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Cute story

Date:June 7, 2014
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Location:upstate NY
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Twelve year old Winnie has a way with horses. She helps gentle an Arabian horse that others thought was wild, and learns some valuable lessons in the process.
I thought this was a cute young adult novel about horses and a girl dealing with choices. There is a list of terms in the back about horses for those who might not be familiar with some of the words. I have read other books by this author and they have all been good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
This review is fromWild Thing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Horse Book for Kids

Date:June 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
rlighthouse
Location:PA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wild Thing is the first book in the series about Winnie the Horse Gentler and is perfect for kids or even adults who want a short entertaining book.
Winnie is learning to live in a new town without her mother after a tragic accident claimed her mother's life. Winnie blames herself and doesn't know how to communicate with her Dad who keeps moving the family every few months to a new town. Winnie talks to her sister Lizzy but her main distraction is horses. Desperate to be near them she works mucking stalls at a local horse stable and that is where she discovers Wild Thing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
This review is fromWild Thing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for tweens and older

Date:June 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
georgettegirl
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wild Thing is the first book in the Winnie the Horse Gentler series. It appears to be aimed towards a tween audience but I think even adults would enjoy this book. I was surprised at the depth of emotions and spiritual lessons in this book. Winnie, her younger sister Lizzy, and their father are living in Ohio, having moved numerous times in 2 years after the accidental death of their mother. Winnie loves horses and can "tame" them, like her mother did. She sees a wild Arabian at a local stable and tries to figure out how she can buy her. There were some really funny moments and characters in the book. I especially enjoyed Lizzy, her lizard-loving sister, and Pat, the pet store owner, who would spout some animal expression and then promptly apologize to the animal. You have to read it to understand but I thought it was so funny. Everyone in Winnie's family is still grieving over the loss of Winnie's mom but Winnie feels personally guilty and responsible for her mother's death. She also believes her father blames her, too, and that is why he is so distant and emotionally cold towards her. Winnie was really struggling spiritually and emotionally...could God still love her? can He forgive her for her mother's death? Those are weighty issues for anyone at any age but especially for this 12-year old who feels alone and guilty. I liked how the the author includes spiritual nuggets in the story and appreciated that she uses Scripture to speak to Winnie. The only character I wasn't crazy about was Winnie's dad. His behavior towards Winnie seemed cold and his turnaround at the end was not quite believable. On a side note, the book contains a diagram of the parts of a horse, a dictionary of horse body/sound language, and a dictionary of the types of horses and other equine-related terms. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and would recommend it for any tween and older.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
This review is fromWild Thing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for Kids, Wonderful Story

Date:June 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
eb7bibliophile
Location:High Desert West
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is sweet, a little sad, and very educational. I enjoyed learning about horses and the children who love them. I liked the horse vocabulary, and the drawing that showed all the parts of a horse. Winnie, the young girl, works through her difficulties bravely, and learns important lessons very well, while showing her love of animals. Winnie's friends are quite interesting. Mackall writes an excellent story; descriptive, colorful, personal, faith based, and a lot of fun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book Series!

Date:September 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Michelle
Location:Spokane, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 10 year old daughter recently started reading the books in this series (8 books total). We chose it because she had previously read the Starlight Animal Rescue Series by the same author and loved the books. The Horse Gentler Series has not disappointed and my daughter loves it, hiding away to read every chance she gets.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
This review is fromWild Thing - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great read!

Date:February 3, 2012
Customer Avatar
JenP
Location:Bendigo, Australia
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally found chapter books my 9yo loves reading, (and her mum enjoyed it too!) Great read, good truths and also informative (about horses). Will be reading the rest of the series! Definitely recommend!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Faith, family and horses!

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
aklinslow
Location:Anchorage, AK
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book by Dandi Daley Mackall tells the story of 12 year old Winnie Willis and her pursuit of a beautiful white Arabian horse named "Wild Thing." Although I'm far beyond the age group this book was written for, I still found it to be an enjoyable read, and one I would recommend to all young animal lovers, especially horse lovers. Not only was it a nice little story, but you'll actually learn a lot about horses and the training process. Above all, Ms. Mackall weaves a neat story of family and forgiveness and the faithfulness of God.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! Very emotional

Date:August 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jenny Rose
Location:Dallas, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Winnie Willis used to work with horses with her mother before the accident. The accident that killed her mother. Winnie blames herself. Now she, her dad and her younger sister Lizzy spend their time moving—a few months here and a few months there. Winnie is so desperate to be around horses that she mucks the stalls at Spidell’s stable where she learns a beautiful new Arabian horse has arrived. It is love at first sight for Winnie, but nobody seems to be able to handle the wild horse. Winnie buys the Arabian at an auction and using everything her mother taught her, Winnie slowly befriends the horse. Then she gets ready to sell the horse she has become so fond of at a sale because her family could really use the money.
Dandi Daley Mackall is obviously a talented writer. I ran through so many emotions as I read. If you know a young girl age 8-12 who loves animals, especially horse, she would love this book. If you know a girl who has ever read Pony Pals (Scholastic), Mackall’s writing is very similar and not preachy.
I downloaded this as a free e-book to check it out for my daughter, but I would gladly pay money for any of Mackall’s books and plan to get more of what she has written.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great series for tweens!

Date:August 6, 2011
Wild Thing by Dandi Daly Mackall is the first book in the young adult series Winnie, The Horse Gentler. It's a sweet story about a girl who loves horses. Her family is going through a difficult time, and her love of horses and new friends help her get through difficult times. Along the way Winnie must learn to trust God in all things.
What a great series for tweens! What girl doesn't love horses at one time or another?! The book gives great information about the different breeds of horses and weaves in particulars about caring for horses. I think many young girls will wish they could be Winnie! In addition to all the "horse talk," the author weaves in wonderful truths of God's faithfulness and love. I would definitely recommend to tweens!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Inspirational Horse Fiction for Girls 9+

Date:June 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
HomeSchool Mom of 4
Location:Lovely, MS
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm always looking for chapter books to read to my 6 and 7 year old daughters. I often read them books outloud that they aren't able to read on their own yet. My girls love horses so I thought I'd see what the Horse Gentler series was about.
The book was great! I won't be reading it to my young daughters but definitely look forward to giving them the book to read when they're 9 or 10. Some of the things dealt with in this book are pretty big things for younger kids--like guilt, bitterness, and death of a parent.
The main character, Winnie, is madly in love with horses. She discovers a wild Arabian and, even though she feels far away from God because of the guilt that's tied up with her mom's death 2 years ago, she prays that the horse could be hers.
In the end, Winnie experiences God's forgiveness and grace. Her conversion back to God is written in a beautiful way that I think most children 9 and up will be able to grasp, especially if they are Christians. This book would be a good evangelistic tool, also, for a little girl who doesn't know Jesus yet. I definitely recommend it for any girl in the recommended age range, especially if she loves horses! If not, she probably will be the time she finishes the last chapter.
At the end of the book, there's a horse diagram about the "Parts of the Horse" where readers will learn everything from the muzzle to the withers. There's also a 4 page "Horse-o-Pedia" about different types of horses and a 4 page section on "Horse Talk" where readers can learn how horses communicate to people and each other.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Epic - A must read

Date:June 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
hannah97
Location:Cottonwood, CA
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wild Thing is a good start to the Horse Gentler series. This is a book that can be enjoyed by horse lovers and non-horse lover alike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome series

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Reader0407
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this series to any tween girl. I loved horses as a kid and this series had me hooked from the minute I picked it up. It has a good plot and the depth that an older girl would enjoy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
CMR
Wonderful series for any tween girl. Me and my sister like this series so much. I starting reading them when was seven and still love them. Memorable characters and captivating plot will keep this book a favorite!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jones Bonnie
i give this book 5 stars! it is excellent. has a lot of depth, has a wide range of interesting characters. the main character is very lovable, very human. the book is funny, and also gives a lot of really interesting horse facts. it also gently draws us into God's love. i can't wait to read the sequels!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 10, 2009
I read the book Winnie the Horse Gentler/Wild Thing, and I LOVED it! I cant wait to read the second one. I just turned 11. I loved the way Winnie acted with Wild Thing. I tried some of the techniques in the book, like blowing at her nostrils, with my horse, Holli. It worked with her and she loves me way more now. I highly recommend it to every horse lover out there.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Wild Thing, Winnie the Horse Gentler #1
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2008
Well written and very interesting! But, Winnie is negative about herself. JESUS DIED FOR YOU! WILL YOU LIVE HIS LIFE?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>