Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus

Thomas Nelson Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus

Why did Moishe Rosen, a Jewish man raised in an Orthodox home, become the founder of Jews for Jesus? It started with his wife Ceil's confession of her belief in Jesus as the Messiah, and after many prayers and questions, Moishe came to believe as well.

In Called to Controversy, Ruth Rosen, daughter of Moishe and Ceil, shows how her father challenged the status quo for Jews and Christians alike. She offers a comprehensive look at Moishe's life, revealing the personality traits, principles, struggles, and successes that made him a controversial and trailblazing figure in evangelism to the Jewish community.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Review 1 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

A Fascinating and Powerful Testimony

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Teddy G
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Moishe Rosen did not grow up in a home that believed in Jesus as Messiah. He originally scoffed at his wife when she introduced the idea as truth to him. And yet, he was let to a belief so full of passion that he could not keep it to himself, but felt called to bring this truth to his people, the Jews. His ministry took him cross-country several times and led to an organization that brought the truth of Jesus to Jews internationally.
I am not typically a reader of biographies, and it took me a long time to get through this book. The delay was not due to my disinterest in Moishe Rosen, on the contrary, I found him to be a fascinating person and his passion for Jesus and for the Jewish people to know Jesus as Messiah was incredible. However, I found the book to be less than its subject. Maybe it was precisely because Mr. Rosen led such an incredibly interesting life that it was hard to narrow down the stories to include in his biography. The result was a mishmash of anecdotes and facts that muddled the timeline of Moshie's life and his ministry.
On the plus side, although the book was written by his daughter, Ms. Ruth Rosen, the descriptions of Mr. Rosen's personality felt impartial, and his praises as well as his flaws were accounted for. Ms. Rosen was not only his daughter, but she was heavily involved in the Jews for Jesus organization, and thus had full access to Moshie's life as both father and leader.
As a person, Mr. Rosen's work was incredible and his life story and his life work are an amazing testimony to the Jesus whom he called Messiah. As a book, Called to Controversy could have been a more succinct account of that life and work.
I give this book 3 stars. I am glad that I read it, but I did struggle to get through it.
I received a copy of this book from Thomas Nelson, as part of their BookSneeze program, in exchange for my honest review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Ministry Inspiration

Date:January 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Mrs. White
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the biography of Moishe Rosen, written by his daughter, Ruth. She did a phenomenal job describing his life and his ministry work.
I loved reading about his growing up years, seeing the family portraits, and getting a glimpse into the time in which he lived. He was born in 1932.
As he begins working in ministry, I was amazed to read how God worked in his life to perform miracles (often despite him). He, like all people, had flaws but he was a tremendously dedicated worker!
Ruth describes how "hecklers" would attack the street preachers. Moishe experienced this and found a way to handle them peacefully. He developed a training program for future street preachers so they were expecting these attacks and were able to continue their work without letting it get to them. This was fascinating!
This book would be excellent for those working in ministry. There are explanations of how the work was run, and how procedures were put into place to protect both the ministry itself, and trouble within. Readers will also be greatly inspired by Moishe's dedication, energy, and work despite so many problems. We also get to read about his family, which is inspiring. His work and life will impact many people, and this book shares his story beautifully.
*Disclosure - I received this book for review purposes.*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

im feeling it.

Date:August 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Archie Isib
Location:Ph
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The only thing I found lacking in the book is that, again from the perspective of a seeking spiritually uncommitted Jewish person, while it would persuade me to take Jesus much more seriously, it would not necessarily help me see that my spiritual destiny depended on accepting Jesus as Lord and Savior. I would strongly recommend this book if you are searching for a deeper understanding of our Messiah Yeshua. What a wake-up call for both the Jewish people and the christian church to see the true identy of Jews. Recommend this book for all followers of Jesus as well as anyone who is seeking to know who Jesus really is. The Jewish and Christian sources about Jesus, asserting that the truth has been obscured on both sides. In this book, he puts forth the fruit of his years of in-depth study of Christianity and the New Testament, Christian critics are upset with some of the Christian groups involved in this new friendship for withholding a more overt Gospel message from Jews who they believe need to accept and embrace it. I also do not believe as some critics have said that Jews will be subject to more pressure to convert. This is I believe a fine literary work and should be read by Jews and Christians alike. I find the book to be thought provoking about the issue of religion in general and Jesus in particular.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Insider Information

Date:May 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
gadfly1974
Age:35-44
Gender:male
I am a bit too young to remember Moishe Rosen’s founding work with Jews for Jesus.
After reading this book, I feel like I might have been there in the middle of it all.
The author is one of Moishe’s two daughters, and she clearly didn’t hold back. There is insider information and fascinating behind-the-scenes stories in every chapter.
I also enjoyed learning more about his leadership style, the good and the bad. It is interesting to learn more about a great leader’s strengths and faults.
Each chapter begins with a quote, and the text is peppered with many other memorable sayings: “Don’t let yourself become a desk jockey. People spend too much time sitting at their desks.”
“We take God seriously, but we don’t take ourselves too seriously.”
“A shepherd doesn’t let the wolves meet the sheep.”
If you’re at all interested in learning more about one of the most influential Jewish Christian evangelists of all time, then I recommend you pick up this book. I highly recommend it!
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Called To Controversy

Date:April 19, 2012
Customer Avatar
dlruss
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ruth Rosen, author
Thomas Nelson, publisher
I wasn't sure what to expect when I received my copy of Called to Controversy. I have always been fascinated with Judaism and their beliefs in relation to the Bible and specifically the New Testament.
The book was written by Moishe Rosen's daughter, Ruth. She tells her father's road to salvation and his work as a missionary to Jews and work as a "street preacher" in California.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Founder - Jews for Jesus

Date:March 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
luv2readjen
Location:Lisle, IL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An ordinary person called and used by an extraordinary God. That is Moishe Rosen’s description of his life’s work. Many times a biography (especially one written by the daughter of the subject) will only recount the excellent contributions of the person, skating over or omitting entirely their genuine faults and missteps, unless they show some sort of conquering over the issue that makes them look better.
Moishe’s daughter Ruth, however, does a remarkable job of telling about her father’s life that includes many interactions and reactions that probably would be considered less than stellar by some. The story of how he didn’t get building permits renewed, for example, was one that certainly could (in hind sight anyway) be construed as almost unethical, but which is related without pretense. Moishe Rosen was a sinner saved by the grace of Jesus. He wanted people to understand that his imperfections were real, but that God used him anyway.
His daughter tells his story beautifully. The way Moishe and his wife came to Jesus is a remarkable tale in itself, and one that serves to remind all of us that the words we speak to those around us can be used of God, even if we don’t know they are being used that way. Moishe’s ultimate passion for the sharing of the gospel, the way he handled antimissionaries, and the way he responded in obedience to God, are simply a demonstration of the way an extraordinary God uses an ordinary person for his purposes. Moishe lived and died in such a way as to showcase the marvelous Truth that swept him off his feet.
Believers everywhere will be captivated by Moishe Rosen. His mission, his passion, and even his flaws are inspiring, especially since they reflect the way God can use any of us, if only we surrender to his call.
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Must-read for insight into Jew-Christian relations

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jessica
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In “Called to Controversy” Ruth Rosen tells the story Moishe Rosen, the founder of Jews for Jesus. He also happens to be her father. His mission work to reach fellow Jews with the Gospel of Jesus Christ got him a lot of attention, and not all of it was flattering. Many in the Jewish community labeled him a heretic. Some denied he was even really Jewish, but Moishe pressed on with his mission. He brought Jewish outreach into the spotlight and helped train many others in taking evangelism to the Jews.
One would think that a biography coming from Moishe’s daughter to be a bit biased, but this biography presents both his strengths and his flaws. It discusses his successes and failures, as well as regrets. Ruth says, “Moishe knew it was important that his biography be quite clear that he was flawed. He wanted the world to know that God does not need people to attain a level of perfection to be used for his purposes.” What really sticks out, showing where Moishe’s heart truly was, is the fact that this biography covers his entire life, but his mission work is present for most of the book. Moishe Rosen’s life goal was to see the Jewish people, his people, come to Christ.
Each chapter starts with a quote from Moishe. I found several things to highlight in this book that I wanted to go back and think on, but I think the last lines of Ruth’s words are most poignant: “We can spend our brief lives any way we choose, but we can spend them only once. It’s important to recognize value, in ourselves, in others, and in whatever work God calls us to do. That’s something I learned from my father.”
I received a complimentary digital copy of this book for review purposes from BookSneeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone Should Read!!

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gently Mad
Location:Longview TX
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moishe Rosen died last year so his daughter had the wisdom and insight to understand that this unique and Godly man’s life was one that needed to be recorded. Her father’s desire to reach people with the gospel even after death has certainly been fulfilled thanks to this biography.
This book was highly informative, insightful and very interesting to read.
All Christians need to read and appreciate the work Rosen accomplished through out his life and be convicted to evangelize to people who may challenge us on many levels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shockingly Fascinating Biography

Date:March 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Gabrielle
Age:Under 18
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me began by saying that I never read a book twice. Knowing the ending of a book completely ruins the story for me. But I am more than willing to read a well-written paragraph over and over and over again. The book Called to Controversy was so interesting that I’d read entire CHAPTERS of it again. I began reading the biography out of pure curiosity. I’ve always been interested in the controversy between Christianity and Judaism, but never understood how complex it is. My curiosity turned into fascination as I discovered the story of Moishe Rosen - a man whose mindset and beliefs seem to mirror my own despite the fact that we have completely different backgrounds.
Moishe Rosen was a husband, dad, and founder of Jews for Jesus. He had a Jewish heritage, but not a Jewish faith. His first Christian church experience freaked him out. It was so different from the typical synagogue setting that he was used to. The terminology used during the service baffled him. Moishe had never used words like “benediction” and later made it his goal to get rid of any typical Christian jargon from his speech. He wanted to simplify everything he said so that anyone, regardless of religious background, could understand his message. I LOVE that concept. I get so fed up with trying to “sound Christian-y” when I’m in church that I lose focus on God and what’s truly important. Called to Controversy made me rethink EVERYTHING about the way I approach God and others. Through a few personal stories, Ruth explained how a goal of simplicity affected Moishe’s ministry. For instance, one day Moishe was sharing about how the Holy Spirit had “touched” him. Someone asked him, “where?” thinking he was referring to a physical touch rather than a spiritual conviction. Moishe immediately felt bad because he had broken his promise to speak with simplicity and focused on restructuring his methods.
Moishe constantly struggled to merge his Jewish identity with his Christian faith. Moishe got ridiculed for his faith in Jesus. Most of his family denied him and thought he was insane. His father made him visit a psychiatrist because he couldn’t accept the idea that a Jew could believe in Jesus. One protestor literally stabbed Moishe as he was leading a march. Despite the opposition, Moishe didn’t give up. He relentlessly shared the Gospel with everyone around him.
Called to Controversy represented Moishe as a non-conformist. He did not care about the way others viewed him and appreciated if people complained about him to his face. Moishe was confident, outspoken, and sometimes considered offensive. He wanted to help others and share about the greatest thing that had ever happened to him. Moishe was crazy about God. His intensity was often misjudged by critics. People often advised him to “chill” and sand away his uniqueness until his was a normal-calm-preacher-man. Moishe refused to compromise and fit into a mold. Thus, he stood out. Sometimes, this was a bad thing. Ruth was honest and spoke about some of his flaws. I really appreciated that. It gave me a different perspective of the man and humbled my opinions of him. Ruth wrote that Moishe could be overbearing and controlling. At the same time, he was quick to encourage others. He had a way of recognizing talent and showing people how they could most effectively use it.
Pros: The setup of the book flowed nicely. The design was clean and simple. Each chapter began with a quote from Moishe which reflected a bit of his personality. Ruth Rosen writes candidly about her dad. She probably knew him better than anyone. I loved the personal stories she shared from her dad’s past. They made me giggle, want to jump up and scream, “Yes! Yes! The church should do THAT!”, and want to give Moishe a high-five in heaven.
Cons: Towards the last fourth of the book, I lost interest. The format became more informative about the ministry Jews for Jesus rather than Moishe. Ruth’s writing style changed and became less personal. While I’d enjoy learning more about his ministry another time, I was more interested in Moishe as a person. The last few chapters were boring. But…the awesomeness of the rest of the book totally outweighs the ending.
Overall, I loved the book. I’d recommend it in a heartbeat. Check it out!
*I was given this book to review by booksneeze.com. All opinioins are my own.*
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hannah Jane
Location:Alabama
Age:Under 18
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Book Synopsis (From the Publisher)
What does it mean to be a Jew? What practices are relevant? And is belief in God even necessary?
Answers to these and other questions reflect the amazing diversity within the Jewish community. However, one terrible fact—centuries of persecution in the name of Jesus Christ—has united this diverse community in one belief. Namely, that Jesus Christ is not the Jewish Messiah.
Moishe Rosen was born into this culture. No New Testament. No Christmas. No question. Even nonreligious Jews—including Moishe’s family—would disown anyone traitorous enough to profess faith in Christ. Which means the moment Moishe was called to Christ, he was Called to Controversy.
This stirring account from his daughter describes the rise of a man whose passion for Jesus and passion for his people triumphed over self-preservation and ultimately fueled an international movement that is still changing lives today. Called to Controversy is the inside story of one the most influential evangelists of our times.
My Thoughts
I imagine that writing a biography of one's father is not an easy task. To be both honest about him and honoring to him, to know what to write and what to keep private, all this must be a difficult task to undertake.
Ms. Rosen, however, has accomplished this task with extraordinary grace and tact. While she freely admits that her father, Moishe Rosen, was a sinner with many errors, she also strives to show where others misunderstood her dad and his intents, and how Mr. Rosen was a talented leader in the area of Jewish evangelism.
Starting with a brief genealogy of Mr. Rosen's parents and grandparents, the book then goes on to chronicle Rosen's journey through life, from his early childhood singing of Christmas songs to his somewhat accidental founding of Jews for Jesus. In its narrative, Called to Controversy is filled with first hand accounts, humorous anecdotes, and explanations of how and why and when and where.
It was with great eagerness that I requested this book, great relish that I read it, and with great joy I can now highly recommend this book to you. Hence;
My Rating
is 10 out of 10 stars. An all-around excellent book.
Please Note -
I received a free copy of this book from the Publisher, Thomas Nelson, through their book review program. I was not in any way obligated to write a positive review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Spiritually Challenging

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Adoption Mama
Location:Tampa, Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I admit. Writing a book about my father, without being bias, would be very difficult.
Ruth Rosen has done this. Called to Controversy is her biography of her father, Moishe Rosen, the Founder of Jews for Jesus. She does an amazing job informing the reader of the beliefs of the Jewish people as well as how the family structure of a Jewish family works. In my readings, I had heard of Jews for Jesus, but had never known the history behind it.
God saved Moishe in a pretty specific, radical way. Moishe was a man with passion for the lost, especially the Jewish people, as well as for the Word of God. Many times he came across abrasive and, humbly, worked things out. As I read this book, I realized, again, the individual growth in each person is a work of God, not for me to judge. God will deal with his children in the way He deems fit. Moishe was used by the Lord in a very strong way to bring the Gospel to many. In the early days, he was involved in the Jesus Movement, and later days in many different people's lives all over the world.
He was a man who finished well. This is the key to a successful, Christian walk.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great resource for organizational management.

Date:February 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nellie Dee
Location:Stone Lake, WI
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was on the young side of the hippie movement, but I remember Jews for Jesus and even supported the ministry as a young adult. I was excited to receive this book and looked forward to its arrival for review.
This booked was a biography on the life of Moishe Rosen, the founder of Jews for Jesus. I lunged in eager to obtain nuggets of Jewish culture and biblical wisdom, not only for my own personal gain but in hopes of better understanding and relating with my Jewish friends.
This book told the story of his life, his conversion, his struggles and defeats which led to his ultimate victory in birthing the organization and movement of Jews for Jesus. My favorite part was the telling of his first communion experience. Someone had told him that it was like Jewish Passover. He came prepared; hungry.
I also enjoyed reading how he was led by the Lord. Many times, they were led more by circumstances than by a "voice" in the sky.
The book included Moishe quotes at the beginning of each chapter. There were meaningful quotes and one-liners woven throughout, like, "who can predict the effects of seemingly unrelated circumstances".
I was amazed at how the author was able to weave in comments from Moishe's family, friends and coworkers. I was most amazed by the incredible insight this daughter had into the life of her own father. She did a beautiful job.
The author did a great job showing how Moishe was able to make the gospel relevent to the times by often thinking outside the box and coming up with creative and dramatic solutions.
About half way through the book, I realized that this book would be encouraging to anyone in leadership. It gave details and specifics relating to organizational structuring, strengthening and pitfalls to avoid. At about the same time, I set a goal to read 50 pages per day in order to finish the book. It was then I realized that it had gotten bogged down in more detail and technicalities for my personality. The author did confess that it was difficult to write a biography because it had to include these details concerning his passion and thus his role within and concerns for the organization.
The most encouraging part for me was how she wrote that even during Moishe's hardest or lowest time in his
life and ministry, God brought forth many achievements and fruit.
The author brings us to love and appreciate the man, in spite of his imperfections. His life was a testament of determination, service, and what love can do by mentoring and encouraging others.
Moishe was truly a pioneer, a Jewish Billy Graham. I'm sure there are still fruits of his labors being produced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A Close-up of Frontline Ministry

Date:February 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Paul ThinkingOutLoud
Location:Ontario, Canada
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This book is written by daughter, Ruth Rosen with the intimacy and passion that only an immediate family member can bring. Moishe Rosen and his wife experience estrangement from their families when they ‘come out’ as believers in Yeshua and begin attending a local Baptist church. But the calling to ministry takes place over a number of years, and Rosen actually serves 17 years with another mission before spinning JFJ off as a separate entity.
The book also presents the challenges a Christian leader faces when their vision places them as leader of a team; struggling with administration, staff recruitment and training and organizational politics. While Ruth Rosen does not hide her father’s faults and foibles, there is no denying is qualification to be included as a great 20th century Christian leader.
I very much enjoyed reading Called to Controversy, though some background familiarity with this type of ministry is somewhat necessary to fully appreciate Moishe’s story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Biography of a modern Apostle Paul?

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
samcivy
Location:Eugene, OR
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With her father’s help, Moishe Rosen’s daughter Ruth wrote an honest book about an outstanding, but human person—a man not perfect. However, this man may have been our generations example of the Apostle Paul.
Various contradictions the young Rosen noticed fostered his desire for truth. He wanted to be a good Jew and avoided Christianity for years after marrying Ceil, also Jewish. Friends shared Christian ideals with the Rosen’s, stopped when asked to, but always prayed for the couple.
Eventually Ceil secretly bought and read a Bible. After Ceil found Jesus her changed life fueled Moishe’s search for more truth.
Rejected by family and friends, the Rosen’s found strength as they learned Christian principles. Moishe never feared controversy when he knew what God wanted. He studied and searched for truths to guide his life and never deviated from them. His to mentoring other leaders influenced thousands.
Rosen spent years working for Christian missions groups, called to help Jewish people find their Messiah. How he fulfilled that calling, never flinching from opposition, is fascinating reading.
Ruth Rosen details more of her father’s faults than we may need to know, but her father approved. He never felt that he was exceptional. Few who knew him or read this account would agree.
The book will challenge readers to evaluate their own lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.