Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Hendrickson Publishers NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD

New King James Version DVD offers accuracy, beauty and ease of understanding and is the preferred translation of thousands of today's most prominent Christian leaders. Quickly becoming the cornerstone for anyone interested in serious bible study, it is now brought to life on DVD. With over 70 hours of dramatic presentation, the NKJV New and Old Testament on DVD features the voices of Tony, Emmy and Golden Globe Award winning actors, an original orchestral score and sound effects, bringing the major Bible themes and stories alive. Emmy Award winner Stephen Johnston has been a master narrator of the Bible on audio since 1980. His crystal clear, mellow baritone voice provides distinct pronunciation, and easily makes the Scriptures come alive, in a contemporary easy to understand style.
  • Dramatized multi voice narration of the New and Old Testament
  • Over 70 hours of Dolby Digital Stereo Audio and 2 DVDs
  • Synchronized graphics & test showing every verse
  • Widescreen and full frame display
  • Interactive menus that allow direct access to any book or chapter
  • Optional playback modes including: Play a single chapter; play a single book; continuous play of the entire New and Old Testament
  • No Region Coding
  • NTSC TV format
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Review 1 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A pocket full of munificence

Date:June 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Neil
Location:Queensland, Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have always wanted something like this to play when working or driving in the car. It has been a huge blessing to me and I reckon everyone should have one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is amazing

Date:April 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
sandav1
Location:Australia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do a lot of needlework and find being able to listen to the Word is so wonderful. Praise the Lord for the people who do this. Bless you all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 28, 2009
Customer Avatar
Gwendolyn Burnett
I think that it is wonderful. We use it in our 4th grade Sunday School class, and the kids love to listen to it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Laurellyn Gordon
Husband really liked this. He loves to try to read the bible, but can't understand some of the words. This makes the bible easy for him to understand
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jerri Sullivan
I bought this Bible DVD to read along as I read my Bible. I can stop and ponder over the scriptures and take notes until I'm ready to continue. The narrator is very clear and I can change the speed as I desire.I like being able to choose the chapter I want just by a quick view and a click.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Angela Paliga
This was a gift for my husband who had a stroke and has problems reading the Bible.He listens and learns this way and it has helped him
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Lindley
Now that I have had this since Jan 18th, I am very unhappy. Mr. Johnston's reading is incorrect in many places, words have been edited out, some reading is completely incorrect, tonal punctuation is incorrect and there is not enough "white space" in the readings. I no longer want it. This is the Bible, God's Holy Word. Thomas Nelson should know better than to put it out with any errors in it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Claire B
I love it! It makes you want to hear more of the Word.I'm glad we got it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judy Lindley
I expect to be able to read through the Bible several times a year with the DVD version.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Living4Him
A great way to get the Word in. I hope to use it while walking on the tredmill. There isn't much dramatization but enough to break up a plain speaking voice. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Ellen Stevenson
The voices are good, and the benefit of having the written Scriptures right there while listening is enormous.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Linda Wilson
This is excellent! Such a blessing. This brings my favorite version of the Bible alive and at an affordable price. I purchased myself one and then after falling in love with it, purchased one for my best friend for her birthday. I highly reccomend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Dan Rivaldo
I was expecting a little more drama. Nothing much that could qualify for drama. Some very faint music sometimes and other times--nothing!Sometimes the narrator is speaking but the text is behind a minute or two before it matches the speaking! Sometimes, a word or more is missing from the narrator and other times the narrator changes words. I would have hoped that research would have been done on pronunciation but apparently it was not. Greek and Hebrew do not ever have ch sounds as in munCH. Ch sounds are always pronounced like the guttural "k" sound. Some of the pronunciation was massacred. Other than that, if you want the whole Bible on DVD, then you can use this if you are not as fussy as I am over pronunciation and changing words or leaving them out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Juanita
I am very pleased with this product. I have been trying for years to read the Bible and so many words I could not pronounce. Hearing the readings, as I read along, is very easy to do with this item. I would recommend it to any and everyone seeking to have a closer relationship with God.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 11, 2008
Customer Avatar
Bruce & Lucy W.
Our church is reading the entire Bible through this year. Having the Bible on wide screen DVD has been a great help for my wife and me to accomplish this together because the books and chapters are very quick and easy to find, the print is large and the people reading to us pronounce names and places we could only guess at. We think that anyone who buys these DVDs will be very glad that they did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Dramatized Complete Bible on DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Maria Tesolin
The graphics were pleasant and the voice nice.However, The Tour of the Holy Land segment is silent. Pictures with no voice or caption. I had no idea of what the locations were that were being shown (other than the dome).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.