Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Book of Dreams

Howard Books Book of Dreams

For psychologist Elena Burroughs, life is divided into two segments---before and after the death of her husband. When a mysterious client recounts nightmares, Elena uses an ancient prayer book to interpret the dreams---revealing a frightening global scenario! As her personal visions take a dramatic turn, will Elena see God's plan for her own life? 256 pages, softcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Book of Dreams
Review 1 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Deeper Into Dreams

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Amanda B
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What if you had a choice … a choice to hear the voice of God speaking to the deepest crevices of your soul? What if you were given a book, a centuries-old heirloom that is a meticulous and perfect copy of the original … and what if you were told that God may choose to speak to you through that book? What if all you had to do … was listen? Listen. And dream.
This is the choice Dr. Elena Burroughs is presented with upon receiving a priceless treasure from a dear family friend who believes that Elena may be “the one” chosen to unlock its secrets.
For seventy-two of her eighty-one years, Miriam, a seasoned and saucy woman with a successful counseling career, has viewed a shining gift as a shadowy burden. Now ready to be free of the enigmatic book, she passes it on to Elena, certain that her goddaughter possesses the gift of interpretation necessary to discern the meaning behind the calligraphic writings. There’s more to the book than jeweled covers and fancy lettering. Could it be that an ancient prayer written in its original language is the key to unearthing a plot against the world’s economy?
Thrust into an unwanted leadership position, Elena must learn to surrender her fear of change and her aversion to letting anyone get close. As her trusted pastor friend so wisely conveys: “God has drawn you out of your comfort zone. Get used to it. I doubt it will be the last time.”
Ranging from the grand and historical brick abodes of London to England’s back hills to Italian mansions, Book of Dreams will steal your breath with its setting and enrapture your mind with its deep theological themes. (Plus, any story with such a copious supply of British accents, rain-drenched backgrounds, and coffee gets mega awesome points in my book.)
A definite five stars! Book of Dreams is a priceless treasure worth reading.
Deeper into Dreams:
*Warning: May contain mild spoilers.
To Miriam, the ancient book containing the Lord’s Prayer in Aramaic is nothing more than a picturesque mockery of her life – a glowing representation of her failure. Despite the woman’s success and even the wisdom she clearly possesses, she has spent her life feeling unworthy and detached. Never able to move past the first page, the first word of the Lord’s Prayer in the decorative book. Never quite able to call her God “Abba” … Daddy. The answer was there all along. She was upset because she felt she had missed the clues, the formula, the rules of how it all was supposed to work, but all along the first step was to come to God in utter confidence of His fatherly love and His desire to speak to her.
Yet when Elena inherited the book, she realized that there were no rules. All that was required was a heart searching for wisdom that was willing to learn and to continue searching until it found answers.
Elena knew that despite the unique book’s value, the book itself was not divine. It was merely another tool with which to better understand the divine. She realized that the ancient book could not replace prayer and God’s Word itself. It is through those things that we maintain communication with the Lord and a sensitivity to His Spirit’s whisperings. Anything else is merely another avenue through which He speaks. It is only through prayer and Scripture that we can understand those other avenues. The truth is right there waiting for us to open our heart and see.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A hazard for your to-do list

Date:November 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Psychologist Dr. Elena Burroughs enjoys success in her practice and notoriety on an international scale due to her bestselling book on the interpretation of dreams. But when a new patient arrives who has been having the same nightmare for 26 days in a row, Elena's life takes a sudden turn as a series of events thrust her out of her comfort zone and into the middle of God's will - a place that feels right and yet is far from seeming safe. As the Holy Spirit imparts spiritual discernment to Elena, she is able to help interpret other's dreams and experience dreams of her own in a way that has implications for the global financial state and the plight of the common people, and places her very life at risk.
Davis Bunn has created a remarkable work in Book of Dreams, a novel that encompasses diverse themes of God's miraculous power, financial corruption on a worldwide scale, a mysterious historical artifact, and the restoration of broken hearts. The pacing and the dialogue are perfect, the scenes crackle with energy and supernatural wonder, the action is non-stop, and underlying all is a sense of God's presence at work in an amazing way. The author often surprises me with his ability to not only write entertaining novels, but leave me profoundly touched in a spiritual way as well. I leave this book pondering God's spiritual gifts, and whether we desire them for our own purpose or to accomplish God's will, no matter the cost, which the characters in this book found to be enormous - but also completely worth it.
Readers who have enjoyed previous books by Davis Bunn will love this one! The book was so good I found myself wishing it were real. It was incredibly difficult to put it down, such that I found myself snatching a few pages here and there in between my tasks and chores and bustle of my day. I am greatly anticipating Elena's return in Hidden in Dreams. I highly recommend this book and give it 5 out of 5 stars.
Book was provided courtesy of the publisher, for the purposes of this unbiased review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Another Intriguing book by Davis Bunn

Date:November 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
ibjoy1953
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Thoughts on “Book of Dreams”
While Elena is helping her patient Sandra deal with her dreams, she finds the help she needs to deal with her husband’s death. An old friend gives her a copy of an old ancient book that no one has deciphered down through the years. But it just so happens that when Elena starts reading and checking out this ancient book, interesting things start to happen in her life. And this book is so detailed, so much stuff here there is no way to explain it all. So to find out about these things, you really need to read the book.
Well, Davis Bunn has done it again! I will have to say this is one of the most fascinating and intriguing books I have every read. The first pages captured my heart and I was hooked until the very last page. These characters were just real! Well they seemed real to me, that is. After getting to know these characters through this story, I felt like I had a new set of friends!
What can I say except that this is just an awesome, professionally written book by one of Christian fictions greatest authors. I am always in awe of the detailed and complex stories written by Davis Bunn. I appreciate the way he teaches readers in Book of Dreams how we can trust God and have the confidence that He will direct our paths, even when He calls us to do those things beyond our confidence level. And he helps us understand the question, ‘How can we understand and fulfill the will of God?’
This book is mixed with a little of everything, romance, thriller, historical things of the Bible, and an exciting mystery with a little lesson on the international front as well.
I think this book could be for just about anyone. So grab a copy, read and enjoy it. You just can’t go wrong reading Davis Bunn!
This book was provided by Howard Books, a Division of Simon & Schuster for me to read and review. I was not required or expected to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are mine only.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

This book did not meet my expectations

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Linda Cole
Location:Illinois
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a big fan of Davis Bunn. I believe I have all of his novels, even those he wrote under the name of "T. Davis" Bunn. This novel was disappointing. It was always easy for me to put down and I actually had to make myself finish it. I can't put my finger on exactly what it was that didn't appeal to me, but I thought it was slow, predictable, and, at times, boring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Spiritual thriller too close to true

Date:November 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
Location:OR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have long been a fan of Davis Bunn’s books and enjoy the variety of subjects and the complexity they contain in story and plot. So I was willing to stick with Book of Dreams when it initially progressed slowly, gradually weaving its web like a spider poised to catch the reader. Soon I was caught up in the drama of terrorizing nightmares, international finance intrigue, an ancient book with seemingly spiritual power, and the characters inhabiting this tale—with their fears and vulnerabilities, their losses and triumphs.
Psychologist Elena Burroughs, who practices at Oxford, has studied dreams and authored a bestseller on the subject. When a secretive client comes, accompanied by bodyguards, Elena embarks on a journey of exploration she’s not certain she wants to pursue. Her faith is stretched as she surrenders her profession and her entire life to God’s work. He is calling her to something far beyond her “dreams,” yet intertwined with strange dreams and real danger. As a priest told her early on, “The Lord clarifies.” She and the rest of the international cast find this to be true.
This novel offers thrills of both suspense and spiritual nuggets of truth. I marked a number of pages containing treasures for future reference. The possibility of the story’s potential financial disaster actually occurring in modern times is unsettling. The probability of learning to trust God no matter what happens is reassuring. Thanks, Davis, for another provocative read that gives me much to chew on mentally.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Truly a masterpiece!

Date:October 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
PJsDolls
Location:Fresno, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read quite a few Davis Bunn books by now and all of them are highly enjoyable. However, I think I can say without a doubt that this is my favorite so far. The book grabbed my attention from page 1 and didn’t let go until the very end. In fact, I was greatly disappointed at the end…not by how it ended, but because there was no more to read! It was truly a masterpiece!
Dr. Elena Burroughs is the main character, a psychologist and dream interpreter in Oxford, England, with the inability to completely deal with a personal tragedy in her own life. She is soon joined by an interesting new patient who is experiencing frightening dreams on a regular basis.
When Elena is given an ancient book that she is required to decipher, things take a very interesting turn. The book, which is fascinating in and of itself, has been in the possession of her very good friend for a number of years and has yet to be understood. But when Elena takes possession, interesting things begin to happen and her life takes a dramatic turn.
Very soon after the opening chapters, the main character shifts from Elena, to a small group of people working as one unit (of which she remains the unofficial leader). These other characters include Antonio d’Alba of Rome and financial advisor to the Vatican and Lawrence Harwood, the American Ambassador to England. The character development is rich and you soon feel connected to each character for different reasons.
This book is not only about an ancient artifact, but is in reality about letting the Holy Spirit guide you and stepping out into unknown territory with the confidence that God is with you and will guide you. The story sounds like one out of today’s headlines, with the added bonus of the ancient thrown in.
If you are interested in international intrigue, this book is for you. If you like romance, you will love this book. If you enjoy a good mystery, look no further. If biblical history is your forte, this is the book for you.
I would highly recommend this book. It is one I plan to read again and again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Couldn't Put It Down

Date:October 14, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sid Frost
Location:Georgetown, Texas
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the story of Dr. Elena Burroughs, a clinical psychologist practicing at the University of Oxford in England. She is known worldwide as an expert in the field of dreams because of her bestseller, Book of Dreams, a book her friend and fellow psychologist, Miriam, urged her to write. The publication of the book provides Elena money as well as status. However, it does not afford her happiness.
Grieving the loss of her husband who died five years earlier, Elena's work and daily routines have become mechanical and she hates herself even more for having to act as if she is okay.
When a special client, referred by her friend Miriam, appears on the scene everything changes. This client is the wife of the American Ambassador to England and what Elena sees in her dream is something that affects the patient, and possibly many other people around the world.
Eighty-one year old Miriam gives Elena possession to an ancient book given to her by her great-grandmother. The book contains the Lord's Prayer in Aramaic with one phrase per plate. Miriam had been told to study one plate until it spoke to her before going on to the next. Unfortunately, she never got past the first plate. It is different for Elena.
This is much more than a book about an ancient document and the interpretation of dreams, however. As usual, the author mixes riveting characters with important news events. In this case, he uses the economic disaster brought on by the subprime mortgages. And, to make things more challenging for our heroes, the opposition is quite willing to resort to murder to achieve their goals.
I found this book difficult to put down and I loved the ways the characters developed. I also found it interesting the way the author used real places in Oxford, making me want to visit the area again to experience the settings. There was also an exciting scene in Rome which was probably based on real places as well.
The inclusion of the ancient document and the interpretation of dreams could make some readers wonder if the book takes on a supernatural nature. It didn't for me. The way it is handled makes it all totally believable.
In reviewing a book there is always that tradeoff between telling enough about the book so that you can decide to read it or not and telling too much and ruining it for you. That's why I'm stopping here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You simply cannot miss with a Bunn book!

Date:October 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
dizzy finngers
Location:Saratoga Springs, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Such intrigue! Fascinating relationships! Psychoanalysis - dreams - world finance - Oxford - romance - all bound together via deep spiritual bonds and revelational experience. What a unique book! Do not miss this one - nor should you miss anything Bunn writes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth a careful reading!

Date:October 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Johnson
Location:Golden Valley, MN
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Book of Dreams is, primarily, the story of a psychologist's journey from a comfortable and relatively secluded personal life, after the death of her spouse, to a wholehearted embrace of the will of God and a life serving others. This author has done it again--he has provided a rich spiritual experience for his readers mainly through a variety of characters who really grab and hold our attention. One doesn't have to understand clinical psychology, international banking, the place of dreams, or even the effect of antiquities on modern-day individuals to appreciate and benefit from this book. What comes through loud and clear is the certainty of the Holy Spirit's leading--individually and corporately--to any believer open to Him and His will. This book is just filled with memorable persons, and is certainly a commentary on the difficult times in which we live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Book of Dreams
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

how God might reveal His plan today

Date:September 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
bookwomanjoan
Location:Oak Harbor, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dr. Elena Burroughs is an authority on dreams. For three years her book has topped the bestseller lists around the globe. On the surface, she appeared to be a successful woman, counselor on staff at the University of Oxford, at the top of her career. But underneath she was still a grieving widow of five years.
One morning she is surprised to see a new name on her patient list for the day. And it is just a first name. When the patient arrives she is accompanied by body guards. She is the U.S. Ambassador's wife and she has been having troubling dreams.
This counseling session begins an exciting adventure for Elena. She perceives from the wife's dreams that the Ambassador, previously CEO of the fourth largest bank in the U. S., is in potential danger. He is in the running to be the next vice-presidential candidate but Elena knows if he accepts the offer it will mean certain death.
Elena's good friend Miriam gives her an ancient book that had been passed down for generations. When Elena opens the fragile pages, she begins to “see.” God reveals to her part of His plan for the future.
As the novel progresses Elena meets others involved in the highest levels of international banking. It becomes apparent that there is a conspiracy to use the banking industry in a way that parallels the actions that caused the downfall of many in 2008.
Elena and the others seek God's leading as they try to stop the evil forces bent on deceiving the public with their financial schemes. It becomes evident that someone is out to stop them, even killing them if necessary.
Bunn has the gift of creating exciting novels and this one does not disappoint. We are faced with the intrigue of international banking and those who would use it for personal gain, even if it means the ruin of many. We are also confronted with a band of believers, once powerful in themselves but now relying totally on God. They choose to follow God's will even when it means their own lives are in danger. We are reminded of the ways God can speak to His people today – through dreams and visions. We are also shown that God can and does heal the hurts of tragedy and open the door for new life.
I recommend Book of Dreams. The characters in the novel are depicted well. Their Christianity is real, their desire to follow the will of God honest and their experience ultimately rewarding.
There is a reading group discussion guide included so this would make a fine choice for a reading group.
I received a copy of this book from the publisher for the purpose of this review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.