Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FaithWords Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous

FaithWords Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous

On October 20, 2006, a middle-aged auto mechanic, Jeff Markin, walked into the emergency room at the Palm Beach Gardens Hospital and collapsed from a massive heart attack. Forty minutes later he was declared dead. After filling out his final report, the supervising cardiologist, Dr. Chauncey Crandall, started out of the room. "Before I crossed its threshold, however, I sensed God was telling me to turn around and pray for the patient," Crandall says.

With that prayer and Dr. Crandall's instruction to give the man what seemed one more useless shock from the defibrillator, Jeff Markin came back to life--and remains alive and well today.

Beach practice includes some of the most powerful people in American society, including several billionaires, come to believe in supernatural healing? The answers to these questions compose a story and a spiritual journey that transformed Chauncey Crandall.

Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 683%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Review 1 for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book was a great blessing!

Date:September 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
jeannie
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was excellent! I have purchased many for family and friends. Jesus is alive and well and "He is the same yesterday,
today and forever" as this book bears witness! (Hebrews 13:8).
It's sad that the church today is so full of "unbelieving believers!" That's why we see so few signs and wonders and miracles!
God Bless Dr. Chauncey Crandall and continue to use him for God's glory!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Challenge your faith with this riveting read!

Date:April 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christianfictionaddiction
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The word "riveting" is not a word I often apply to non-fiction books....but in this case, there is simply no other word I could use to adequately describe this fascinating book! Dr. Crandall has penned a book sure to challenge your faith in Raising The Dead, a memoir that I found moving in it's honesty, and one that caused me to think about what I believe about the supernatural and why. The book tackles difficult issues indeed, such as parents struggling with a sick child, how to handle trials in our lives, or the role of healing and prayer. I imagine that for every reader who loves the book, there may be another who may take issue with the charismatic leanings of the author. However, I encourage readers to pick up this book no matter what denomination you are affiliated with, because we all need to be pushed out of our comfort zones now and again. The book is mesmerizing as an account of what the author and his family experienced, and yet it also will no doubt serve to stimulate many conversations between Christians on topics of prayer, healing, the Charismatic movement, and ultimately the power of Jesus to save.
I give Raising the Dead a high recommendation for being a well-written book that entertains while making you think, and award it 4.5 out of 5 stars.
Book has been provided courtesy of the publisher for the purposes of this unbiased review.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Book is Awesome!

Date:September 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marylynjla
Location:Baton Rouge, La
Age:35-44
Gender:female
I can't imagine why no one hasn't reviewed this book before me, but I felt compelled to do this review for many reasons.
It truly is a Great Story and I've had the privilege of listening to Dr. Crandall as he came and spoke at my church, Bethany in Baton Rouge, La. which consequently he mentions in his book. There is a beautiful story there, as he is the doctor for one of our Ministers.
If you want your Faith renewed, or if you simply want to some Powerful testimonies about the Greatness of our God and the Miracles that he continues today to perform through us, you must GET this Book. It will hit you in many ways as you walk through the path to Faith that Dr. Crandall takes us through and his battle with his own son fight to survive.
A Must Read for Christians and Even more so for Non Believers!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Misleading

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Phyllis
Location:Kentucky
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was disappointed in this book. It started out riveting, but quickly turned into a different direction. Without spoiling the story, I can tell you the only example of healing mentioned in a hospital setting is the one starting the story line. I thought I was going to read about miraculous healings witnessed by a doctor during his occupation. I was sorely mistaken.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Book!

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Marylynjla
Location:Baton Rouge, La
Age:35-44
Gender:female
A must for Believers and Non-Believers! Dr. Crandall is very transparent in the this book and you will become engulfed with how Great our God is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rick
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good book. Examples of Gods love and mercy. Shows we all have our crosses to bear and God will help us.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Raising the Dead: A Doctor Encounters the Miraculous
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2010
Customer Avatar
John Hawthorne
This a riviting account, or better "testimony" of God's grace, mercy, goodness and Love in the life of an everyday family.It is a testimony of what God said in Jer.29:11-14a (if you do not know this verse, then get your Bible and read it.)I was hard pressed to get about other business because I had to read the next page.This is a testimony for all Believers and I will be teaching this book in my weekly Bible study.Raising the Dead is a rich testimony for a Believers need to run after God and our Lord Jesus Christ daily.As believers we are to live a life to the Praise of His Glory. In His NameBe Blessed
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.