Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook

Thomas Nelson Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook

Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Review 1 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Important message wrapped in popular language

Date:January 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
1bassoon
Location:Birmingham, AL
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As the mother of 4 girls, "Am I beautiful?" is a question sure to come up in our house for a long time to come.
Jenna Lucado has written a helpful book, but one that is written squarely for the teen market. She covers topics such as a young woman's value to God, finding identity in Christ, and security in knowing the love of God. Along the way, she includes actual beauty tips (Vaseline, anyone?) and plenty of space in the book for teens to write their thoughts.
The message is good: don't define yourself by the world's standards. Our scriptural plumb line should be from our fear of the Lord (Proverbs 31: 30) and our gentle and quiet spirit (1 Peter 3:4).
The delivery - at least for our family - leaves me wanting. The language used is immature and flippant, very geared to the "teen culture" and lowest common denominator. We tend to stay away from resources that are more "popular" in tone. . . but that's just us. For other families that are looking for a book to use as a discussion starter with their teens, Jenna Lucado's Redefining Beautiful will be a good resource to bring God's perspective on a timely subject.
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for review, but was not required to write a positive review. The opinions are my own.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Isis Mena
This book came at a time I really needed it from Thomas Nelson Publishers. It was my first book I reviewed, and God's timing was right on. I have like most teenaged girls dealt a lot with self image. Jenna put so much in perspective for me. I have a fresh view of who I am, through my eyes and the eyes of my heavenly Father.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lynda Warf
Women of all ages will find this book "a keeper" and willneed extra copies to give. My daughter and granddaughter found this to be true also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Williamson
Jenna Lucado, daughter of Pastor and author, Max Lucado creates an amazing devotional for young girls (I'd recommend between the ages of 12-17). Two of my daughters, ages 16 and 12 will benefit greatly from this devotional guide. As a mom of three daughters ages 16, 12 and 9 we have had some pretty intense discussions, and at times, I have been at a loss of how to effectively communicate with them. Jenna Lucado has a style that is comfortable, trusting and helps yield discussion on many of the issues and topics that preteens and teenage girls deal with every day. Jenna Lucado is sincere and sensible as issues are addressed such as: friends, boys, makeup, the mirror, practical tips, and to top it off, it is filled with scripture, notes from Jenna's dad, Max and she pens this as if she and the reader are best friends! This devotional has room in to jot notes, fill in blanks and more importantly, allows the reader to dig deeper and to journal the journey! Although I am not preteen or a teenager any more, this book is beautifully written and should be curriculum for Middle School and High School (girls) Youth Groups! I love how Jenna shares her heart and her vibrant passion for Christ with us all. Redefining Beautiful helps us all look at God's creation (me...and you) and helps us to see that what He has created is Beautiful! I must say, I wish I had this book when I was going through my preteen and teenage years. I cannot wait to share it with my daughters and remind them a promise that Jesus said, "Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you." Hebrews 13:5 Please note: I write reviews for Nelson Publishing Company.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kendra
Imagine you're at summer camp as a teenager (or tween). You don't want to leave because you've had a great time, learned some awesome things and had an amazing camp counselor. Your counselor, although just a few years older than yourself, has listened to what you're going through, shared how she got through it and gave the best advice that wouldn't be heard from any other venue. She she's super cool. Meet Jenna Lucado and Redefining Beautiful.Jenna, with some help from Daddy Max Lucado, shares her heart on everything from not fitting in, figuring out who you are, boyfriends, disappointments and seeing yourself as God sees you beautiful. She focuses on relationships; your relationship with God and your relationship with your Dad, and how that influences the other relationships in your life. I'm now reading this book with my 11 year old girlie, who may just be a little bit under the target age range for this book, but she gets most everything Jenna is talking about.I do recommend Redefining Beautiful for those young ladies maybe in the 13-17 age range. Your young lady will feel like she's at summer camp with a truly amazing camp counselor and walk away understanding what true beauty is and where it comes from.DISCLAIIMER: I did receive this book for free in exchange for providing my thoughts, positive or negative, (review) on this blog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:November 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Becca Christensen
Jenna Lucado, daughter to the famous Max Lucado author of over 75 titles sought to teach young ladies how to define beauty not on a worldly, surface level but as God defines it. I chose the book knowing I would be seeing Max Lucado speak this month and curious to see if his talents were also present in his daughters writing. The book was styled in a format that I found less than ideal. The style, to me, didn't match the format. There are workbook areas, meant to be filled in my the reader. I found this distracting in many ways and I found that I wanted to skim ahead. The audience Jenna was reaching out to seemed to me to be much younger than my own 24 years of age. If I were to recommend this book I would choose an audience of 12-14 year old girls. Older than that I feel the reading level keeps it from hitting home.Personally, I was a bit disappointed with this read. I felt there was a lack of depth. The juvenile approach left much to be desired for a young adult reader. Great topic and concept for the book. I would have liked to see her gear it for young adult women, like herself. Also, leaving out the 'write your thoughts here' would have made for a more cohesive read.I review this book for Thomas Nelson publishing.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
brandi
Recently, I came across this book and just sort of passed it up. I'm in my mid 20's and am fully aware my beauty in Christ, so I didn't believe this book had much to offer me. Was I ever wrong! Jenna approaches this topic with ease and plainly points out how we're called to love ourselves and love others. Her father, Max Lucado, also offers up some great comments. God's standards of what beauty is greatly outweights what the world's standards are these days. In this book, ladies will have a chance to identify issues in their life, write them down and pray over them. I will be passing this book onto my friends in student and college ministries. Whether you are 18 or 38, we all need to be reminded of the unfailing love offered to us by Christ, not because of what the outside of us may look like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Janet Morris Grimes
Designed as an easy read for teen-aged girls, Redefining Beautiful takes an uplifting view of the issues most important at that age: boys, beauty, fashion, popularity, and the struggle for self-esteem that attempts to undermine any success with any of the above. Interspersed with snippets of Bible stories as well as inspirational insights from Max Lucado, this book brings a three-pronged approach to life as a Christian teen girl searching for acceptance in a world that tells her she will never belong. Recognizing that the self image of any girl is largely based on her relationship (or lack thereof) with her own father, the book points the reader toward the acceptance and unconditional love of a heavenly father. With this as a background, the author stresses the changes a true relationship with God makes in both the inward and outward appearance. My favorite tips include the creative use of Vaseline as a beauty accessory and allowing Facebook to identify the depth of the readers own bond with God. The closing chapter invites the reader to dig deep into their own past to put in writing what she may want for her future, promising that the end of the story is always best written by God himself. Girls of any age need this reminder from time to time. Therefore, this book comes highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:November 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bernadine
What is your definition of beautiful? Have you ever look in the mirror and seen someone you thought less than attractive looking back at you? If you answered yes to that question then Jenna Lucados book Redefining Beautiful was definitely written with you in mind. Redefining Beautiful encourages young ladies to stop defining themselves by the worlds ideas of beautiful and see themselves as God sees them. Beautiful in this book is defined as, what God sees when God sees you. This book is interspersed with examples from Jennas life and is written in an easy to read, down to earth format that teen girls will enjoy reading. Jenna discusses a variety of topics from deodorants, to sunburns, Facebook addictions, friendships and boys, just to name a few. This book can be used for individual study or for group discussions.I often give books to teens as gifts and I would not hesitate to give this book as a gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer
Redefining Beautiful by Jenna LucadoThe book Redefining Beautiful helps young girls understand that your life becomes more beautiful when you know what God sees when God sees you. (page 212). This book does an incredible job of talking to adolescent girls in a way that they would understand. It is clear, concise, and empowering. The book provides areas to write in your own insight and even a place to write down your story, in an effort to understand yourself better.Jenna provides beauty tips throughout, from using Vaseline, not forgetting to take off your slippers when leaving to house, and how to embrace your weirdness. The book also provides segments throughout called Notes from Max. These are great side bars by Jennas dad, and well known author, Max Lucado. The notes add another dimension to the book and great scriptural commentary.Girls explore how our earthly dad influences our lives, who we are, how we look at ourselves, at others, and even how we look at God. I was impressed with the culturally relevant message that Jenna delivers, while using scripture and sound doctrine to back it up. Jenna wants girls to know that they are strong, confident, worthwhile, and priceless. A message that every girl deserves to hear.I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program. For more information please visit http://brb.thomasnelson.com
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Sara Spencer
Redefining Beautiful is about.. well.. just that. Learning to see ourselves as beautiful, and exploring what beauty really is in a world turned upside down by unrealistic standards. Jenna says that a foundational beauty secret is a fathers love, and shows us that whether we have devoted dads or not-so-great dads, we already have the perfect Dad, who can make us whole.I really enjoyed this book, though I wasn't sure what to expect at first. Christian 'beauty' books so often emphasise spiritual beauty to the exclusion of physical beauty, and I find that unsatisfying. Yes, inner beauty is greatly important, but I want to BE beautiful, on the outside. Redefining Beautiful had a beautiful balance and perspective I've never seen elsewhere, and I'd say it's definitely the best book I've read on the subject.At one point in this book, Jenna says that she is sometimes afraid she'll be defined as 'Max Lucado's Daughter' rather than 'Jenna Lucado'. To be perfectly honest, I did in fact prejudge her as 'Max's daughter' and expected her book to be like his books. I was proved wrong, and I'm glad of it. So, if you ever read this Jenna, I'm sorry. Thanks for the reminder.I definitely would recommend this book to all girls, and to all their dads. I think it's a message we all need to hear.***********I'm a member of Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger program, if you're interested in joining or looking for more information, chek out http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debbie
Redefining Beautiful is about what God sees when He sees you. So often our society teaches that beautiful is something that a person is or can become if we add a particular accessory or have a particular surgery. Jenna opens up her life to her readers and shares may person stories and gives lots of application question. She takes the term accessories and says that it is life accessories that we must put on that makes us beautiful. 1. Security- trusting that no matter what, we have a God who loves us.2. Identity- in knowing who we are and whose we are.3. Value- knowing we are treasured.4. Love- knowing God's love for us so we can love others.5. Self- control- For making good decisions.6. Peace- In believing God is in control.7. Joy- In knowing the Source of all joy.8. Contentment- In who God made you to be.This is definitely a book that I will have my girls read when they are ready. We live in such a society where we are brought up believing beauty is something outward. It is refreshing to be reminded that true beauty is what God sees when He sees you. Jenna does a fine job using scripture to point us to the true meaning of beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 22, 2009
Customer Avatar
Mocha with Linda
Redefining Beautiful by Jenna Lucado is aimed at doing just that: helping girls to see themselves from God's perspective rather than through the world's distorted lens. In chapters as fresh and down-to-earth as if she were chatting at a sleepover, Jenna addresses these matters of the heart in the style of a makeover, with interactive questions and short quizzes to help girls evaluate their friendships, their relationships with their dad, and how they relate to God. Sprinkled throughout the book are Beauty Tips ranging from the practical (such as get plenty of sleep, wear sunscreen, and dress modestly) to the personal (such as meditate on God's word, know your worth). Snippets of encouragement -- and anecdotes from Jenna's growing-up years! -- are provided throughout the book by Jenna's dad, Max Lucado. This is an excellent book for any girl in middle school and high school, and would also be great as a small group study.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kristi Farrow
This book is geared to young women and is about what God sees when God looks at us. The theme of this book is about knowing God as a perfect Father and the message is revealed through the theme of appearance.When I started reading the first chapter, it was quite evident that I am not the age of the target audience. In my opinion, this book is very appropriate for 10-16 year olds. The theme of appearance wasnt my favorite to start but as I got into chapter 2, the importance of the internal began to be discussed.Jenna writes creatively and clearly about the need girls have for their heavenly Father. I could easily identify with other female readers about our universal longing for a love that only our perfect Father can provide.I liked the use of scripture and the layout of the chapters that include Beauty Tips, Life Accessories and spaces for readers to answer personal questions. It is an interactive book!Any woman at any age could get something out of this book, but I would recommend it more so to young women in junior high and high school.(I am a member of the Thomas Nelson's Book Review Blogger Program - http://brb.thomasnelson.com/)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth
This was a great book! I felt like the subjects covered were done so honestly, lovingly, and Biblically. A perfect guide for teens to help them learn to make the best decisions for themselves.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
KristinS.
This book was so amazingly wonderful. The book was written for tweens and teenagers. I think that even a woman my age or any woman or girl should read this book. I was in shock when I realized that to make yourself a beautiful, confident woman is through God. The book teaches you what life accessories are and breaks them down bit by bit. Females that have a tough life would benefit from this book as well as girls who think things are going well. Another thing I found interesting was that she added questions and answer lines to make the book your own. By asking question the book seems to be written just for you. I was able to finish the book within two days of receiving it, which should tell ya something about how good the book is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 9, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bethany
I just finished reading this book. Jennas dad, Max Lucado, is one of my favorite authors, hands down. I have always loved Maxs eloquent way with words, and how he applies Biblical principles to everyday life so easily.Jenna is following in her daddys footsteps, no doubt. This book is targeted towards preteen to teenage girls, and it provides real, down-to-earth discussions and examples to bring girls back to the cross. Even though the back of the book refers to a foundational beauty secret: a fathers love I was still not prepared for the fact that the entire book really is based on our Heavenly Father. I found it absolutely beautiful. Written by a girl who has a Christian father whos devoted to her, her family, and her future, this book is definitely applicable to girls who also have no father figure, to girls whose fathers are absent.I remember all too well the issues and heartaches that young girls face daily. Jenna speaks candidly of these and relates well to girls and their boyfriend troubles, friend issues, and parent problems. From beauty tips to Bible Verses, Jenna incorporates true life experiencese and Biblical truths that can no doubt help the beautiful teenage girls of our world.I cant wait to give my book to a friend whose daughter might really benefit from Redefining her beauty in a Biblical way.I am a member of Thomas Nelsons Book Review Blogger program: http://brb.thomasnelson.com/
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 8, 2009
Society tends to revolve around appearances. Our so called "culture" dictates what is and is not beautiful. But what the media fails to see is the One and Only perfect Dad.Jenna's book takes readers on a journey to show how God, our perfect, heavenly Dad, can "Redefine Beautiful." Filled with real stories and thought provoking questions, this book can help girls of all ages see the beauty in their personal lives. Even if life hasn't been good, it can change when we give God the pen and let Him finish our story. As she puts it: "Even the darkest stories can have beautiful endings."This book explains that it is God's love through us that makes us beautiful. He gives us the "accessories" to life. Jenna lists them as: Security, Identity, Value, Love, Self-Control, Peace, Joy and Contentment.A great read for women young and old.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Alyssa
I read through this book in one evening. That says a lot. I loved the casual, easy to read style. The book is meant to be made your own. It includes lines to write in, questions to answer, and a quiz to take. More importantly, it is about helping girls realize their God-given beauty. Not just on the outside but on the inside. It is about letting girls see that God is the perfect Father who will never leave them nor forsake them. Amazingly, this book has the ability to appeal to both girls who come from God-fearing homes and those who come from completely broken homes and those in between! "Life Accessories" and "Beauty Tips" are sprinkled throughout the book. Personal stories of girls from different backgrounds add another touch to it. One problem I have is that she condones dating. She dated and she seems to assume that all other girls will date. Therefore, most of her advice regarding boys does not line up with my convictions. That being said, there is still good information in the book. From meditating on the Bible to your relationship with your family to having a closer relationship with God, there is quite a bit to appreciate and agree with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Redefining Beautiful: What God Sees When God Sees You - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trench Mommy
When I picked up Redefining Beautiful I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I mean, after all, it's a teen book and yet I am an adult woman. But being the wife of a youth pastor I figured it would be a beneficial read. What I didn't expect was for my own heart to be touched by several of Jenna's thoughts that she shared in such understandable ways. I enjoyed the way she took our self image as a girl/woman and connected it to our relationship with our father. It is something you hear about often, yet never really explained and un-packed. And best of all, it does not matter whether you have the best of relationships with your dad or the worst because ultimately it's all about our relationship with our Perfect Father - God. Each chapter of the book was easy to read and funny as well as being encouragement for the soul. I felt like I had just completed a Bible study and yet it's not obvious as you go through the book. I liked the format of questions - and space to answer them - woven through out the book along with little insets that really got the application across. The only thing that I did not like was the use of "self esteem". While Jenna did do a good job of explaining that we are to see ourselves as God sees us, I think it is also important for us to realize that we can live life without having to feel great about ourselves. There is a careful balance in our self view as Romans 12:3 so well explains. I recommend this book to young teens (and women) who are struggling to feel beautiful in God's eyes. It's a deep read, yet easy enough to do in about 4 hours.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>