Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tyndale House How Now Shall We Live? Softcover

Tyndale House How Now Shall We Live? Softcover

If we are going to respond to Paul's command to "not conform any longer to the teaching of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind" we will need to develop a Christian worldview. In How Now Shall We Live Colson and Pearcey carefully lay the foundation of a Christian worldview and enable you to develop a Christian perspective on every aspect of life. If you want your faith to help you counter what your children are learning in school, challenge the decadence of popular culture and impact the lives of unsaved family and friends, consider How Now Shall We Live required reading!
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Review 1 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book, especially if you are a Christian

Date:November 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Taltonb
Location:Cincinnati, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read this book in electronic format, but had to have a hardcopy for further research and study. Will probably purchase as a gift for some Christian friends!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well done!

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dick
Location:Stillwater MN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent summary of how a Christian should view the world and live out their faith. This should be mandatory reading for all people who claim to be Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great

Date:December 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
aperez0921
Location:Midland, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great information and truth a great tool to justify creation has a creator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
James
This is one of the best books I've ever read regarding Christians and culture. I believe that some who posted the bad ratings only "thumbed through" this book. I do disagree with Colson's suggestions of uniting with the Catholic church in the cultural war, but it doesn't take away from the sound teaching it offers. Christians are to live in society as followers of Christ. This book just assists in explaining the best way to do it in today's world. I've past this book on to several people, and now...years later, I'm reading it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kathleen Janik
Excellent review of the philosopy that shapes the way men think. Strong support for the Christian World View. Compelling stories and biographies of people created by God that Strive for His redemption in and of a World that seeks to go its own way.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
Jane E. Clair
Excellent book! Intelligent, well thought out perspective on living in the world as a believer of Jesus, our Savior!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Lance Lee
I have gained so much by reading this book! Extremely insightful, filled with excellent analysis on what is happening in our society, and what can be done. Goes straight to the heart of the matter and is an enjoyable read. I strongly recommend this book to teenagers, parents, and anyone else that wishes to impact our culture for the Kingdom of God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 25, 2003
Customer Avatar
Kirk Crager
The title, general message, and general content of Mr. Colson's book are a much needed message to 21st century Christians. He succeeds in causing one to think about the implications of the systems of thought that we adhere to. This is our duty as Christians, to think through each action, belief or word from a biblical standpoint. However, this book also contains elements of one of the most dangerous trends in modern Evangelicism. That is, it calls for unity with a Roman church that cleary teaches a gospel unknown to the biblical writers, including Jesus Himself. While we may be able to agree with certain postions that the Cathlic church takes, such as their stance on abortion, we can never do as Colson urges and unite with the Roman church as fellow brothers and sisters in Jesus Christ. Living in the shadow of the Vatican itself has revealed to me how very different the two gospels of Rome and the Bible are; and I only could pray that more American evangelicals and protestants could have the same experience in order to fully understand Roman Catholic Doctrine. It seems ironic that Mr. Colson could be so painstakingly correct about a Biblical worldview while being so uncritical as to examine the true doctrine and lives of the vast majority of those within in the Roman system. Hopefully all who read will adopt his view of the Biblical worldview without this one very important blindspot.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2002
Customer Avatar
Jim Simpson
Any work written by man will always be flawed because it was a man's hand that wrote it. Also, any work, no matter how correct and true, will always be misinterpreted. Even the Bible is no exception to this. Mr. Colson is very upfront with this view in combating against the modern culture. To a traditional mindset, this view could seem to compete with the Great Commission. That is not what he intended to communicate, but that we should stand against post-modernism within the Great Commission. This book presents the responsibility for a Christian to act and respond to every issue that we encounter with a biblical response. He presents the Christian worldview as the most logical and reasonable order of the universe. The level of detail that is given in this book is tedious for the common reader, but can help one to understand his or her own view, which is essential if you want to explain God to an intellectual skeptic as an evangelistic effort. This book is a great resource for understanding the need for an apologetic approach to our culture, and to also remind us of our responsibility as the Church to reflect Jesus Christ in our thinking and reacting as well as our ministering and evangelizing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 10, 2001
Customer Avatar
Bill
This is the definitive book on the Christian world view. It should be required reading for every Christian. He gives you practical steps on how to integrate your faith into your everyday life. I loved the entire book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 27, 2001
Customer Avatar
Peter Hamm
Boy, other reviewers either hated this or loved it. I'll try to be a little more balanced. This is an excellent outline of the "Christian Worldview" for those who are interested in sharpening their own thinking on it. His ammo for debunking the current state of "naturalistic" and "post-modern" thinking is good, but I think Chuck is stepping out of his area of expertise when he critiques modern culture, especially music. So a couple of the last few chapters drag the book down a bit. But it was otherwise an excellent read, and I highly recommend it to people who struggle with what it means to be an intellectual Christian in this modern age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2001
Customer Avatar
Lee
Mr. Colson has mistaken a mandate from Christian men for a mandate from God. His calling to minister to those in prisons does not necessarily extend to saving to world the prisoners would be released into. The knowledge and wisdom needed in the world today comes from Bible study and prayer,not the secular universities. Paul made no changes in his preaching of the Gospel regardless of where he went because he knew what Mr.Colson has apparently lost sight of. Our job is to witness, The Holy Spirit opens the heart to hear. If you are looking for an answer to the question Mr.Colson posed ,or indeed any question you may have, seek first to know God. Jesus died so that you can seek and receive the true knowledge and wisdom you need to live in this world and truly advance the Kingdom of God directly from The Father. Mr. Colson's conclusions are based on his,not generally accepted, interpretation of one Bible verse from Genesis, despite the far too numerous to list number of scripture verses that dispute them.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:March 14, 2001
Customer Avatar
Jon
Unscholarly. Completely devoid of objective biblical, theological, historical and cultural analyses. Thus, misconceptions abound in terms of both Euro-American history and the biblical meaning of Christian witness. Such a book should only be attempted by a professionally-trained and experienced Christian anthropologist, sociologist or missiologist. Otherwise, objectivity is absent and obscurantism is certain. In this case, one ends up with essentially old-line flag-waving fundamentalist ideals.
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 8, 2001
Customer Avatar
Joe
Excellent book. The authors do a masterful job contrasting the Christian worldview with the other competing worldviews. They point out the consistency of our faith in Christ. Equally important is their call to action for Christians in our lifestyles. They point out in all life areas how compartmentalization of our faith is destroying our witness and our culture.I read a lot of books and this was a light bulb going off one for me. It helped me firm up a lot of ideas and beliefs that I have and bring an overall coherence to them.It's an important book for the Christian community.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 14, 2000
Customer Avatar
Eric
Should be required reading for ALL Christians, especially in this day and age. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 24, 2000
Customer Avatar
Jonathan
I have been looking for a book like this. Being salt and light in the world, loving others while speaking the truth- this book is comprehensive. It also covers the oft-neglected intellectual realities of our society, encouraging Christians to think and communicate to the unbeliever where he is. Recommended? Certainly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 12, 2000
Customer Avatar
Paula
This is a great book! It explains where our culture is headed in this era of Postmodernism. We, as Christians, have a responsibility to understand this worldview and to counter it intelligently with the Christian worldview. We need to know why we believe what we believe. This book makes a wonderful gift to fellow Christians who wish to impact our world for Christ. The study guide is a wonderful supplement to this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2000
Customer Avatar
John Cole
This book has a lot of valuable information about the origins of some distorted philosophies that not only have engulfed our culture, but have made some headway in creeping into the church. I think it's important for Christians to become informed about this. Understanding why people think the way they do will help us to more effectively relate the truth of the gospel to them. This book is helpful for sharpening our skills to identify erroneous thinking, and to refute it according to the biblical world view of creation, the fall, and redemption. Parts of this read somewhat like a textbook, so I wouldn't say it is the most riveting book I've ever read. But it is certainly worth reading for anyone who wants to be informed about how things have gotten in the shape they're in, and what we can do about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for How Now Shall We Live? Softcover
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2000
Customer Avatar
Kevin
I was very disappointed with this book. I kept wanting to refer Colson back to his own "Loving God" book. I do not believe there is a parallel cultural commission to the great commission. Jesus and the Apostles had many opportunities to confront the frailties of culture but often passed them by. I have no doubt whatsoever a cultural commission does implicitly exist, but it is not on the same level as the great commission. The great commission, if it is truly great, will include cultural confrontation as a natural consequence. But they absolutely are not parallel!Contrary to the hype, I thought this was Colson's most disappointing book. And I own every book he's ever written.Sorry!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.