Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Zondervan Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know

Zondervan Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know

God doesn't call every Christian to go off to seminary, but there are certain matters of doctrine---that is, the church's teaching---that every Christian simply must know. Theology is important because what we believe affects how we live. If you're a relatively new believer in Jesus, or if you're a more mature Christian looking for a quick brush-up on basics of the faith, Christian Beliefs is for you.

This readable guide to twenty basic Christian beliefs is a condensation of Grudem's Systematic Theology. He and his son, Elliot, have boiled down the essentials of Christian theology for the average layperson and made them both clear and applicable to life. You will learn about the Bible, the characteristics of God, what it means that we are created in the image of God, what God has done for us in Christ, the purpose of the church, and much more. Each chapter includes questions for personal review or group discussion.

Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Review 1 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Resource

Date:April 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jerry Feulmer
Location:Hunt, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been reading through this book in our Sunday Morning Christian Education with Adults and Teens. It fosters abundant discussion and discovery. Our congregation is growing doctrinally and Spiritually as a result of our discussions of the material from this book. It is a must read for every Christian.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great book for teaching basic Christian beliefs

Date:March 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
Shidokan
Location:Guelph, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book is a wonderful summary book of Grudem's 1100+ page Systematic Theology. I have used it to teach a small group on basic Christian beliefs and it is easy to read and understand by all and leads to great discussions during our time together. It gives solid biblical evidence for doctrinal beliefs and is a great resource to have for all Christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product fills a very basic need.

Date:October 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chappy
Location:Chicago
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The basic truths of Christianity are essential to those who wish to fully practice and share their beliefs. This book is great review for those who are well established in their faith as well as an excellent study for those who are just beginning to explore. It is an excellent tool for group study with believers at all levels of experience. Defending our faith begins with factual knowledge of Biblical truths and this book explains that in very practical terms.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is great for Bible study

Date:February 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
kelly
Location:Williston North Dakota
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this product and all the products that I have received from you. The reason I use Romans 10:9 on every thing is that is the verse I was saved on. God has made it so easy for us if we would just reach out and take a hold of it.
I like your products because they also help my study as a Lay Minister
Kelly Unterseher
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Consice and to the point.

Date:April 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
GISjosh
Location:El Paso, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it is exactly what it advertises a condesed version of a condensed text book. Very well edited and put together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Go for the real thing instead

Date:June 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
mikegyver
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought the book to join in with a men's morning study group. The book is fine and about what I expected. But really, why not just read the real thing instead? If the average believer would just read the real thing and let the Holy Spirit speak to him and teach him, my guess is that there would likely be a lot more heart knowledge and a lot less head knowledge. Just my opinion. Get the book if you want, but my thoughts are to find a group and study it together without all the commentaries and other aids.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great material for study groups.

Date:October 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
dwdrummer
Location:league city,tx
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a great tool for both beginners & well seasoned christians.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Teaching Tool

Date:October 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
David
Location:Baton Rouge, LA
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this book for a youth bible study. I love how it isn't too much information for them to read during the week. Since it is a condensed version of Grudem's Systematic, I can still get deeper with the actual teaching each week because they have the foundation from the reading they did that week. I would recommend this to all new and young believers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 6, 2009
My wife and I keep this on our living room table, we have a lot of company that come our way. It's to the point and direct!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rosalyn Atkinson
Excellent,every Christian should have this book in their library, very educational, a wonderful reference tool.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 1, 2008
Customer Avatar
George Hopper
This is a good way to help teach the fundamentals to our church people. It is east to read and I recommend it highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Russ Ryherd
I am a pastor using Grudem's book in two different teaching settings and have found it to be an excellent tool for establishing a core of basic beliefs for those who aspire to correctly handle God's Word. It is full of scripture references and fosters a hunger for deeper study. Grudem's Systematic Theology serves as a great resource for those who want to study in more depth any given area. I highly recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Christian Beliefs: Twenty Basics Every Christian Should Know
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
Carl Spiva
Highly recommended for "new" Christians, and very good for "old" Christians who should be sharing this with others!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.