Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Hendrickson Publishers NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black

The NASB Minister's Bible is the perfect "on-the-go" Bible to equip pastors, counselors, pastoral caregivers, lay teachers - everyone active in Christian service. Pairing the ultra-precise New American Standard Bible text with a rich array of unique resources, it helps them meet the challenges of everyday ministry opportunities as well as manage its stresses.

  • Presentation Page
  • 9 point text
  • Double-column format
  • Center-column references
  • Footnotes
  • Key Bible Promises
  • Pastoral Events
  • Church Events
  • Family Events
  • The Christian LIfe
  • Life's Tough Questions
  • Helping People Cope with Change
  • The Unique Role of a Minister
  • Concordance
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold Gild Edges
  • 6 1/2" x 9 1/2" x 1 1/4"
  • Genuine Leather Black
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 out of 2291%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Review 1 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This NASB Version has everything I expected

Date:December 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Marc
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've purchased 5 different Version's of the Ministers Bible. Each version has greatly helped specifically to the congregation, or visitation I'm reading to. The references in each for different occasions is also a big +.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thorough resources fit the bi-vocational minister!

Date:April 12, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stephen
Location:Bridgeport, WV
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I enjoy this Bible so much that I ordered two more for my staff pastors. I gave them theirs at an ordination service! Such a great surprise for them!
They both love it, and use it daily! Great value!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Minister Husband loved this bible

Date:April 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ministers wife
Location:Arlington, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is a minister of 45 years, his preaching Bible was so worn out and he had been searching for just the right one. I saw this Bible and ordered it as a gift for him. He was thrilled, loves it, it lays great and when holding- it falls open just right.The leather is great, it has been difficult to find an affordable bible in leather lately. He has said over and over, I love this Bible, Thank you so much. It is always rewarding to get the hubby a gift he really likes.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the Ministry Resources Guide

Date:April 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
SamSpahr
Location:Middle TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this particular Bible for the Resources Guide. I was pleasantly surprised to find 3 pages of key Bible promises also. Quick reference for times when ministering to someone. The "Life's Tough Questions" section is also very helpful and informative. I carry this Bible with me everywhere! It would have been a deal at twice the price. You won't go wrong purchasing this Bible!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 13, 2013
Customer Avatar
Marquette Hiker
Location:Kingsley, mi
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Good quality. Great price. Lots of interesting "helps"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

NASB bible

Date:March 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
christian59
Location:york, ME
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i have found this bible to be a readable bible, the bold face and helps, and tips on ministry are excellent. the references seem to me a bit small, on that you have to watch for chapter change becasue it gose right into the number. the leather is a bit slick for me because i like to hold my bible upright in my hand and it slips.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly what I was looking for!

Date:September 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lebo
Location:Monroe, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was in search for a new NASB bible (A great translation by the way, and one that has lately been been given a bad reputation as many praise the ESV) and came across this bible. I wasn't looking for a minister's bible even though I'm a minister...but this was a deal that I couldn't refuse. There are many bonded leather bibles out there for the same price as this genuine leather one! You pick: fake leather or real? Hmmmm. Besides, it being leather (and it doesn't smell- ref. I got a black one), the font is perfect and easy on the eyes, the layout is perfect, and the bible is a perfect size. Great for travel and preaching! I showed it to my father today and he loved it so much that he asked me to order one for him! You cannot go wrong with this purchase.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

This Bible is okay

Date:August 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jamie
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased a KJV from a Bible bookstore & NASB from www.christianbook.com. They are different as far as setup. It is without doubt, not the organizations fault.
Not sure why Hendrickson changed the following:
The KJV edition is light and the cover is soft for genuine leather. It has a fantastic feel to it.
The NASB is light. I absolutely hate the cover on it. I don't mind the shine, but it is borderline slippery. The paper seems to be a little different too.
I was hoping for the same Bible, but different version.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I wanted

Date:April 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
BobGee
Location:Concord, NC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a Bible with a concordance and some helps but not a full blown Study Bible where more commentary was on the page than the Word of God. This Bible had what I was looking for in the one I read daily.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome, Solid Bible!

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Cameron
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible's feel is amazing in your hand. It is genuine leather (not the highest quality, of course) but for the price, even 70 dollars (full price) it feels solid and well made. Mine only had one ribbon, but I have heard that that is a normal flaw in the first shipment. Totally worth the sale price of 26 dollars!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great quality, unpleasant odor

Date:February 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josh L
Location:Dallas, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bible was a replacement for a Foundation Pub.'s NASB Ultrathin, Genuine Leather Bible (reg. sized print) that I received for Christmas. I returned that bible because there was a crease in the cover, the font was a little small and light, and the pages were too see-through.
When I first received the NASB Minister's Bible, I was impressed by it's quality for the price. The pages were bright white (no bleed through), the text was a little larger and clearer, and it seemed like it was constructed well. However, it had a strong unpleasant smell (like old band-aids), but I hoped that would dissipate over time. After a few weeks, the smell was still there, so I returned the bible and exchanged it for Zondervan's NASB Classic Reference Bible.
The NASB Minister's Bible is a bit larger than the other two. The Zondervan and Foundation bibles are about the size of a typical thinline or ultrathin. The Minister's Bible is about the size of a large print thinline (but be aware that it doesn't have large print) - about the same length and width as a study bible (about 9.5" x 6.5") and about 1" thick (just a little thicker than the thinlines/ultrathins). It's cover is stiff and high gloss (not like a higher quality premium leather or calfskin), but it felt like it would probably soften up with age. (Of the 3 bibles, the Foundation Pub.'s had the nicest genuine leather cover - although they are all pretty stiff and high gloss).
If it wasn't for the unpleasant odor, I would recommend this bible for someone looking for a good quality, low cost NASB reference bible. I just couldn't get over the smell.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible for everyday use.

Date:October 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Emilia
Location:Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. The translation is accurate and the chain reference is very helpful when doing an in-depth study. The binding is sturdy and the cover is excellent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great bible for the price, as always with CBD.

Date:October 26, 2011
Customer Avatar
53blackbelt
Location:Cedar Hill, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first time to read the NASB. This is a remarkable translation of God's Holy Word. Highly recommend this translation to anyone looking for a more clear wording on the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Thin, leather, and ellegant looking.

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Rainna Rose
Location:Portland, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for a young man who is studying to become a pastor. He fell in love with the look and size of this bible. It was a pleasure to purchase it for him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is everything I expected it to be.

Date:September 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donnie Joe
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The NASB minister's bible meet my expectations, however the description stated it has two ribbon markers, the one I received only had one ribbon marker.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible!

Date:September 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Sean Golden
Location:Zanesville, OH
Age:18-24
Gender:male
I'm currently a bible student and about to make my transition into seminary. I got this bible for the purpose of not having to carrying around my big study bible. The leather is beautiful, the pages don't stick together, and the font is the same size as your standard study bible. I recommend it to pastors, students, and all the beloved! (:
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY NICE - except for the ministry part

Date:August 23, 2011
Customer Avatar
Called
Location:Budapest, Hungary
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The leather is great, soft, has a cool look, the layout is elegant, the print is fine, the Bible is sturdy, and has a low weight compared to my other bibles. Although I did not really purchase this for the ministry resource guide, I was hoping it would be good.
I don't believe in denominations but in Our Saviour the Lord Jesus Christ, but if you would like to classify my I would most likely be a Pentecoastal charismatic / Free christian, and I find about half of the ministry guide useful, the other half not so useful - in some parts the TO DOs and the NOT TO DOs are exactly the other way around.
Apart from that great Bible, at a cheap price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
loveGodJesus
Location:New Haven,CT
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD book to have to Minister your familia a lot of informatin thank you God
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 16, 2011
Customer Avatar
Pastor Dan
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ThiS Is a valuable tool that every minster SShould own
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NASB Minister's Bible, Genuine leather, Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent NASB Bible

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dad of six
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this a few months ago but just recently opened it. First impressions are very good. I am not a "minister" but was looking for a good quality every day Bible. I mainly use the NASB and NKJV (supplementing with the ESV) but don't need a lot of features in the text. I purchased this Bible in NKJV, ESV and NASB versions. The format of the NASB and NKJV (c.2005) are identical except that the NKJV has 2 ribbon markers. The ESV (c.2009) also has a different leather cover and larger font size which makes it a little thicker.
I don’t believe in disposable Bibles but won't spend a lot of effort lamenting the decline in Bible quality of Thomas Nelson and more recently Foundation Publications. Let me just say you cannot find a good quality Bible from them any longer. So I was very pleased to find a good quality genuine leather Bible with a sewn binding at this price. The binding is good, the pages are very white and the print is very dark and so it has excellent contrast throughout. We will have to see how it holds up over time but right now it looks very nice.
Let me mention a few things that may help you decide if this is for you.
1) The print in this Bible is a small 9 point font. Some 9 point is about the same size as other 10.5 point, depending on typeface. But this Bible is a small 9 point. The contrast is very good and there is enough whitespace that this shouldn't be a problem for those under 40, with excellent vision or in bright light. But even with my bifocals in normal reading conditions, it is still a bit small.
2) The binding of the Bible seems to be very well done. It lays open almost flat and seems very durable; time will tell…
3) The size of the Bible is very good for me. I would say I have medium to large hands and this Bible feels perfect for me, very easy to handle.
4) Pages are thick for the overall thinness of the Bible. I don't highlight or mark in my Bibles so I have no idea about bleeding but the pages are not the very thin type.
5) It has center column references. This may be a plus for you. I prefer them at the bottom of the page. Having them in the middle adds clutter, wastes space and makes it a little harder to find my reference. But this feature is not really that important to me.
6) The double column format makes it easier to keep your place for reading out loud and teaching from but harder for reading straight through on your own.
7) The leather of the NASB/NKJV burgundy versions has a strong smell. I believe it is the dye they use on the leather because the black ones don’t smell that strong. Some people have said they like it, others have said them don’t really notice. If your sense of smell is sensitive like mine you probably won’t like the burgundy ones.
8) The NASB version only has a single ribbon marker. This was very disappointing to me. When I purchased this Bible, CBD’s description said it had 2 ribbon markers and the box that I received says it has 2 ribbon markers but it only has 1. Someone must have complained about that because CBD has since changed the description to indicate "ribbon marker" but the box still says 2. This may not be a big deal to you but just be aware that the NASB version only has one.
To summarize this is not a $300 Bible but you will not find another one of this quality for this price. It is a very good balance of durability, usability and price and proves that Nelson, Foundation and Crossway really have no excuse for the Bibles they have been producing.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>