Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition

Hendrickson Publishers The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition

Students, professors and general readers alike rely on the New Oxford Annotated Bible for its outstanding scholarship and trustworthy guidance to the world of the Bible. Now this excellent resource is available in study-friendly loose-leaf format. Featuring the full content of the standard study Bible with the added flexibility of loose-leaf, it also includes wide margins that offer ample room for making notes.

Features
  • Complete NRSV text with the Apocrypha
  • Contributors from a wide range of traditions and backgrounds
  • Book introductions and annotations offer helpful explanations, background, and insights. 
  • Essays on the major divisions of the biblical text and the formation of the biblical canon
  • Explanations of the Bible’s historical background provide guidance through the ancient Near Eastern context
  • Clarifies the varieties of biblical criticism with guidance to developments in scholarly research
  • A timeline of major events in the ancient Near East
  • A history of biblical interpretation, from biblical times to the present
  • In-text maps and diagrams
  • Concordance
  • Full index of the study material
  • Wide margins offer lots of room for notes
  • Clear 10-point type for ease of reading
  • Sturdy 11 x 11.5 x 5 inch five-ring binder
  • Durable 8.5 x 11 inch pages (fit any standard 3- or 5-ring binder)
Average Customer Rating:
4.351 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
0
24 out of 3080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Review 1 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Do be careful with this commentary

Date:February 10, 2013
Customer Avatar
Jean
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please be careful with using this commentary. It's a fact that this commentary does contain tons of information, but this doesn't mean those information are absolute fact. It is necessary to be careful about some higher criticism content this commentary propose. For example, the description of the Genesis says that Pentateuch was clearly composed as bits and pieces from later writings, but there is no indication about how they get this conclusion. As a matter of fact, such comment is from rationalism rather than any archaeology fact (such as the ruin of Ur was discovered, writings remaining do suggest there was a person named Abram existed in Ur at about 4000 B.C.), they really should give clear indication that this is only the scholars' guess rather than stating it as if it is a fact.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Josueso
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great tool to study the Bible with. The pages are very delicate and most be taken care of carefully and it isn't a Bible you would carry with you anywhere or to a Sunday service. I use it for studying purposes mostly and is one of the strongest references I use. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who has a desire to study the Bible to greater depths.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very useful product.

Date:July 11, 2012
Customer Avatar
Bazz
Location:Morristown, nj
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The tranlation is my favorate. The loose leaf format makes it very usefull as it lies flat and I do not have to worry about breaking the binding, a real problem on most bibles.
The print is a good size for those of us who are getting on in years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Invaluable for note takers

Date:June 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Designer
Location:Alberta Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although there was a common complaint in the reviews regarding the size of book and paper quality it was not an
issue that has any real merit. Yes, it is a big book but by simply dividing out the major sections into smaller binders was all that was necessary to make it manageable.....besides, it was a relaxing task on a rainy evening.
The flexibility of individual pages is very useful for notes and not having to move around a typical bible on the desk.
ie. Doing some work on John 12 and the whole chapter is
conveniently on one page thereby eliminating extra clutter of papers and bulky books.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Notes to other references is great

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
law13v10
Location:Junction, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am now able to pull out of the Bible certain sections I am studying, and cross reference at the same time other Bible verses in which help to bring out notes that are already there. Thus I'm looking at the same time two sections of the Bible at the same time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Absolutely amazing value

Date:March 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
Amelia17
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So glad that I made this purchase. Wonderful study resource and and amazing value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
Richard
Location:Manchester, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this Bible. The quality is great, the price unbeatable and the scholarship of the highest quality. It is the Oxford edition by Hendrickson Publisher both know for excellence. The margins are wide for notes and the loose leaf format is great to take out your study material for more in-depth study. I am amazed at the price, excellent buy. I highly recommend this Bible while prices hold at $29.99, impossible to beat this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

You can't beat it!

Date:February 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rowdy
Location:Henderson, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While in the seminary i noted several of the priests had this Bible and I wanted one, too. It is great for removing a few passages, copying them so I can make notes. I also make notes on notebook paper and insert it into the binder. Like all binders, care must be exercised when turning a large number (+100) pages to avoid tearing out a page, but if you do...make a copy, punch the holes and put it back in. No big deal. I love this Bible. When I took it to church to be blessed, everyone thought it was awesome. You won't be disappointed. I'm not!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

The product has pages that are easily torn.

Date:February 2, 2012
Customer Avatar
badjuijui
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I received a very good price, but the product needs thicker pages. Of course, that would mean smaller print. When I turn the pages, I need a repair kit nearby as the pages tear at one of the holes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tomm
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't realize the pages were going to be copies on standard paper. Not quite what I expected.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wow! What a deal!

Date:November 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lynda L
Location:eastern NC
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not believe the excellent price on this Oxford Annotated Bible. The paper alone must have cost the asking price. This item has proven invaluable for my EfM class. So glad I got it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This for me was a great find

Date:November 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
chuck
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not know that this Bible was so "BIG" I need it in my study of God's word. I like the pages that can be taken out and placed by other Bibles to study. I wish every Pastor had this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is Amazing!!!

Date:October 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mommy Paula
Location:Oklahoma
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has to be one of my favorite purchases already, and I just got it today! Yes, it is HUGE, but even without checking the dimensions beforehand I expected that, based on content. The good news is (and this is stated on the page you buy the Bible from) you can separate it into other binders if need be. I certainly don't believe it should be sold in two volumes. It is perfect as is; it contains everything you need and you can customize it however you want. Also, I wasn't sure how wide the margins would be, but even before I bought it I thought "Hey, it doesn't matter! It's in a three-ring binder, I can ADD PAGES!" I just wanted to share that with those who are disappointed in the margin size- why not add loose-leaf paper with your own personal thoughts, meanings, devos, etc.? What a great gift that would be to pass down to your family! It's hard to decide what the best thing about this Bible is, but between the content and the ability to add to/personalize it, I don't see how anyone could be disappointed! I love it! I expect mine to become a family heirloom, with all of our notes and projects placed carefully inside. Thank you, CBD, for offering this at a price that almost anyone can afford!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Preacher's and Scholar's Friend

Date:October 8, 2011
Customer Avatar
Isaac Curtis Johnson
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first saw this product, I wondered if it would be practical for me because of the size; however, I realized that I could use it as a desk edition. So with the price being to good to pass up, I decided to take the plunge and try this Bible.
Upon receiving the edition, I was impressed with the quality of the binder. It is not only heavy duty, but also classy with a black color that contains a leather like grain pattern, and gold lettering for the title.
The paper in this NRSV Oxford Annotated Study Bible is also top notch. The paper is thick enough so that you do not have to worry about ink bleeding through to the other side of the page. Also, I have to respectfully disagree with a previous reviewer who says that the margins are not wide enough. I have found that I have plenty of room around all four sides of the text to make notes.
The paper is also nice and white with good print. This causes the text to jump off the page. You will not have any problem sitting down and reading this Bible. Even the annotations are easy to read! Also I have not had any trouble with pages tearing while turning (And I turn them a lot!)
The feature of this Bible that I love the most, is that I am able to take it to Church!
I am sure that you are wondering how I can take a Bible this BIG to Church. You see, the beauty of a loose leaf Bible is that you don't have to take the whole thing. While preaching or teaching I am able to take only the passages of scripture that I am preaching from or referencing and place them in a three ring binder with my sermon outline.
This Bible that I thought would only serve me as a study aid has served me in the pulpit as well.
Indeed, a preacher's and scholar's friend.
God Bless,
Be Encouraged:-)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
jamestrouble
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good.... full of all types of useful info! I was impressed and am grateful to own such a fine compilation of Biblical information!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

"Wide margins" are not wide

Date:August 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Religion Prof
Location:San Antonio, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have an older version of the NT with margins that are as wide as the text, giving ample room for notes and thought (from the advertisement) I was getting the same thing including the OT, but found that the margins are really not wide at all--about an inch. That is not anywhere nearly enough for exegetical and devotional notes. In addition, the hole punches are so close to the ring side of the page that I expect that they will easily tear off in use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good, but I like the NIV better

Date:August 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
Toni
Location:Nashville, TN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like the product very much. It is well worth the cost. I do find that I enjoy the reading of the NIV edition much better though. I am very pleased with the Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love this book. it exeeded my expectations.

Date:August 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
kerrygoad
Location:Chino, Ca
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a student I was looking for something with wide margins to do a project. This product exeeded my expectations with the extra study material in the back of the book. Even the maps and charts are very helpful. I am enjoying getting the project done and telling everyone about my recent great purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Huge but useful

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Eva Victoria
Location:Sydney, Australia
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, this Bible is -huge-. REALLY big. You need to look at it's dimensions and actually picture it before you buy, because it is not something you can carry around, it isn't something that will fit in a small bookshelf, it sits on a desk and takes up space :P
That said, it has very clear text, lots of space for notes, the loose leaf format is excellent for study or reading at home, and is well worth it's current price ($29 at the time of this writing). Highly recommended, but be sure to check it's physical size first.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NRSV New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocrypha, Loose-Leaf Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy

Date:May 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jeff
Location:Lansing, MI
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't be happier. I do agree to much for binder, I am going to buy some hole renforcers I will need to split up into separate binders. The nice thing is I can.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>