Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes

Hendrickson Publishers Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes

Emphasizing the beliefs common to all branches of Christendom rather than the issues that divide, Thomas Oden brings the full weight of two millennia of discussion to bear on the ever-contemporary questions of Christian faith.

His magisterial study not only treats the traditional elements of systematic theology, referencing hundreds of theologians - Protestant, Catholic, Orthodox, charismatic - but also highlights the foundational exegetes of history. Broadly ecumenical in the truest sense of the word, and written from the perspective of a theological liberal-turned-evangelical, Oden's direct, frank, and provocative approach articulates the concerns of a broad spectrum of Christians - pastors, teachers, seminarians, and thoughtful laity.

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
2 out of 2100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Review 1 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A treasure trove of theological foundations

Date:October 17, 2012
Customer Avatar
Handy
Location:Pikeville, KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I appreciate Oden's weight on the tried and true material rather than giving more weight to modern theologians. As theology should be, his work is grounded in the word!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

These Volumes are Great Reference Materials

Date:July 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
MManley
Location:Wake Forest, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am currently taking a Theology class, and Oden has given me great insight into how the Church Fathers viewed the doctrines he covers. I find this a refreshing work. He points his readers to read the Scriptures as the Church Fathers tried to do, "faith seeking understanding."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
lorrie
Excellent resource for academic or devotional reading. This series is very well written. I started to highlight important thoughts and ideas and soon realized I was highlighting almost the entire text! This is well worth the investment.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
David Hancart
Great value, very deep for a thrilling price... helps a lot for writing research papers... a must have for every bible scholar
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 5, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Alderson
The price was amazing and delivery quick. You cannot pass up this opportunity to get these great resources at this great of a price. Thomas Oden is challenging yet easy to read compared to some of the theology books I've studied. Highly recommend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
tom cunningham
I can only review Volume 1, as I bought it by itself from the "slightly damaged" discount page(I would have rated it Near Fine if selling it, it looked great to me). As my first experience with a book on ST, it was, quite simply, exactly what I was looking for. A wonderful book, very readable. I've already started passing it around my group. Now if someone would just drop the right box of books, maybe I can get the rest of the set.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 27, 2007
Customer Avatar
Fernando D. Saravi
I found this work quite useful for my systematic theology lectures at our Bible School. One of the strengths of Oden's Systematic Theology is the attention it pays to the historical development of doctrine. It does justice to the variety of Christian traditions.The three-volume set may scare quite a few, don't be discouraged! It is simultaneously well documented and easy (even fun) to read, and the major subjects are presented in an appropriate sequence, mostly based on a Trinitarian approach. The only odd thing I noticed is that while the author seems to lean towards genuine, historical Arminianism (certainly not semi-Pelagianism or the like) he nowhere states it with so many words. Otherwise, strongly recommended!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Systematic Theology, 3 Volumes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Daniel Hixon
This is an excellent work. Oden sifts through the entire Christian tradition to offer the core of the faith, as it is held in consensus across all churches/denominations and periods of history. He references all of the classical theologians continuously in addition to citing Scripture. This systematic theology really is "mere Christianity" the way the whole church has always believed the faith "once deliverd to the saints". My only complaint is that there are a number of editorial mistakes in the Scriptural or theological citations. Usually it is just the wrong chapter or verse number and is pretty easy to figure out what he really means if you are familiar with the Bible, but sometimes I am at a loss. The editors should have gone through all those references more carefully before publishing it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.