Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black

Hendrickson Publishers The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black

Precisely Literal, Richly Revealing

Pairing the most literal English translation available with an illuminating in-text exposition of each verse in the Bible, this outstanding resource will helps strengthen your grasp on God's Word. By comparing the precise NASB with the magnified sentence structure of the Amplified Bible, readers are better able to appreciate the meaning of the scriptures as understood by their audience in the original languages.

Known for its word-for-word literal accuracy, the New American Standard Bible, updated edition, is the #1 choice for in-depth inductive Bible study. And through its unique use of synonyms and definitions, the Amplified Bible both explains and expands the meaning of words in the text by placing amplification in parentheses and brackets after key words or phrases. Through multiple expressions, greater emphasis is given to the divine message as reflected in the original Greek and Hebrew.

Now readers can benefit from both translation approaches with this side-by-side comparison that offers a more enriching experience with God's Word.

Features:

  • Double-column format
  • Black Letter Edition
  • Subject headings
  • Translation/textual notes
  • Bibliography
  • Gold page edges
  • Ribbon Marker
  • Black Bonded Leather
  • 8-point text size
  • 9.75" x 7.00" x 1.50"
Average Customer Rating:
4.493 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
1
1 star
0
27 out of 3284%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Review 1 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This project has great features

Date:December 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glojack
Location:Vallejo, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I love it! I've been looking for the perfect bible that was easy to understand and found it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This product was "less" than what I ordered.

Date:July 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
daniel
Location:Germantown, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bible is a nice bible, but it is not what I viewed on the CBD web-page. I remember the description as a LARGE print bible. I am unable to comfortably read the size print in this bible. I am a frequent buyer of CBD books and give them away as gifts. I am also limited in my ability to perform certain tasks and get around. Thank you for what you may choose to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Service

Date:March 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
mdavis17253
Location:Kansas City Mo.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CBD has excellent service. I could track my shipment at all stages. The Bible was shipped immediately even with personalized printing on the cover. I will purchase more items in the future God willing.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
stringman34
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is a good "all purpose" read. Lack of a concordance and small print are the only drawbacks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Font too small and not Bible paper

Date:November 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Denny
Location:Small town PA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a quality product. The 10 point font is too small to read comfortably, scanning through is impossible. The leather is too stiff, especially for bonded leather. The paper is yellowing already and not the typical fine rice paper found in good bibles. The body of the paper seems to be pulling away from the cover. I put it up for sale elsewhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent for study

Date:October 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
prayerpower
Location:St. Petersburg FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised to find the combination of my two favorite translations of the Bible: the Amplified and the New American Standard. The Amplified is the best for study. I find that the amplifications of words used is always helpful, and saves me a lot of time looking up other references. The NAS is close to the original, and the combination of the two is interesting, providing a wide scope of help to the reader. The print is small, but readable. Excellent value for the price for study!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product is very convenient

Date:August 25, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wanda
Location:Lewes, DE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is very convenient to have both translations side by side rather than in separate books. I love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is a nice Bible however; it does not highlight Jesus's words in red.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Has Bold Gold Writing on Cover

Date:January 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
iamHisbeloved
Location:Rochester Hills, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The only thing I did not like about this version is the bold gold writing on the cover. There should be a picture of this instead of or along with the picture of the box.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
AWK3
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this bible and am glad I purchased two of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has some real great features

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Judith Handa
Location:Fairfield, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reason why I purchased this Bible book is because I love to read the Bible side by side. While I can read what one version says on one side and then look over at the other column to see what the other version says. I love the way that this book is put together. I would highly recommed this Bible book for anybody who is looking a good parallel Bible to read. If I was to purchase another parallel bible, I would definite buy this Bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Alfred
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for study, clear translation and gives better understanding
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is a well-produced product.

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
lulu
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a well-produced product except that the horizontal lines are so close together that it is hard to read. Also, the print seems darker than it needs to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Bible

Date:October 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nikki
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible has more positive qualities than negative. The overall size of the Bible itself is great for taking to church or Bible studies, etc. The two translations used are excellent. You can't beat the word for word and the amplified together for a deeper understanding of the text. This Bible has become my "go-to" Bible for studies and daily use. The only negative feature is the title imprinting on the front cover. It takes away from the simplicity of the cover and the personal name imprinting (which I chose to do). But all in all, that is peanuts compared to how much I really like this Bible. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Alot of information, but print too light & small

Date:September 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Wendy
Location:murrieta, CA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The bible content is very good. The price would be perfect except that the print is hard to read for it is too small and is very light. I know that the price is right because these appear to be seconds and have some flaws. I can accept the flaws for the price, but the print is smaller than average. I had to use a magnifying glass.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tehachapi09
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pretty satisfied. My only real complaint is that the print is pretty small but I guess that's to be expected when you're squeezing 2 translations into 1 Bible. Really enjoy reading the Amplified Version and getting more info.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Timoha
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves this Bible, she carries it with her every where she goes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:April 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
jtbrice
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the Bible. Two great translations. Just what I needed for ministry when traveling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
RevivalNow
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Go ahead, buy it. Both translations are excellent and are a match made in heaven together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The NASB/Amplified Parallel Bible--bonded leather, black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Mrs KEM
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy this bible. I have both version that my bishop and his wife use. That is so owesome!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.