Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook

Thomas Nelson Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook

Rex sees the world differently from most children. Being both blind and autistic, he has significant challenges to overcome in communicating and relating to others. However, Rex has found his voice in music. In this memoir Rex's mother, Cathleen Lewis, tells their story-how Rex is finding his voice and place in the world, and the challenges she faces raising her son in a world where disability is often misunderstood. This inspiring story of a mother's love and her child's spirit show how love and faith can achieve miracles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.909 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
Review 1 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good book

Date:June 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joanne
Location:California
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was very well-written. The author surprised me by drawing me into the story and keeping me there. What an amazing mother and her son! I definitely recommend this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book is a tremendous inspiration

Date:May 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sunshine
Location:VA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book would be a blessing to anyone who has a child with autism and an inspiration to parents who have children with disabilities. The author shares her heart and how she became a blessing because she saw her challenges as stepping stones instead of stumbling blocks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A beautiful story of love conquering difficulty

Date:May 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:London Ontario Canada
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I started to read this book I had a hard time to put it down. The story of Rex is filled with a mother's love that conquers the greatest difficulty, tenacity to fight for her son's life, hope that even the darkest situations can turn around in the light of God's love. You cannot help but fall in love with Rex as he struggles against enormous odds to find fulfillment in life with music. Rex is a savant who found his outlet at the piano. There are videos of him on YouTube that are absolutely amazing. His mom tells of the teaming up of Rex with another, older savant from England in a piano duet at a benefit show. You can watch the whole show online. This book reveals the struggles both the parents and children go through when dealing with autism along with a list of other diagnoses that Rex was given. When we see the outcome of his life, our struggles begin to seem rather small. If this young man can overcome so much, why can't I? Why can't you? We can, with the power of God and the power of love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Inspiring

Date:January 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pamela Ferris
Location:Lincoln, NE
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Inspiring story of Rex, a musical savant who is autistic and challenged by mutiple disabilities. Throughout the book, God's hand is evident. A must read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2009
Customer Avatar
Audrey Hebbert
Reading Rex introduced me to autism, a subject I had never contemplated before, and I embraced the experience. Told by a gifted storyteller and mother, this tale encompasses compassion, courage, valor, and sheer holding on for both mother and child. They share a mutual experience that grows richer for the telling, and their gift to all of us has the makings of a classic.Some places I wept; at other times I celebrated, as these individuals melded together for Rexs good. Lewis faith remained, her courage didnt flag, her encouragers supported their needs, and somehow the money flowed for the inevitable journey that thrust itself upon these two indomitable individuals.You may not enjoy this book in the usual sense, but your heart and mind will remain captivated long after you read the last word. As I said, a classic has been forged within the books pages.Reviewed by Audrey Hebbert, M.A., author of Green Light Red Light
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Susan Beckman
Rex, the autistic son of Cathleen Lewis, was born blind and developed into a self-taught pianist. When Cathleen Lewis begins her book, Rex, she is describing an interview on CBS 60 Minutes with Lesley Stahl. My first gut feeling was why would a mother want to publicly expose her blind and autistic child to the world and set him up for ridicule and humiliation. However, in her book, this mother explains details of her heart-wrenching feelings when her world was turned upside down.Cathleen was told by medical professionals that her son would probably never walk or talk. I was touched by her proactive attempts to find any possible avenue to improve her sons life and defy his prognoses. After doing research regarding autism, she started questioning the physicians, therapists, and schools. I applaud her steadfast quest to overcome the odds of her son, Rex, never being able to assimilate into society.Cathleen started attending church and started asking God WHY when God answered her prayers and she discovered her sons disabilities and accomplishments were to glorify God.As I read about Rexs gift to learn the piano on his own and go above and beyond any well-known musicians ability and talent, it became very clear to me that God was most certainly being glorified. My feels quickly changed. This boy should absolutely be revealed and made known to the world, so that Gods glory will be made known to everyone. What the system said about Rex never being able to accomplish anything in life was totally turned around with a miracle by God.I am a true advocate in believing we must do research on our own, instead of only believing what the medical and educational professionals want us to believe to be the only truth of our future. Cathleen Lewis and Rex are tremendous and outstanding examples and living proof that God can and does work miracles against all odds in this world.I highly recommend this book for anyone needing encouragement in life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2009
When I saw this book, my interest was immediately piqued, as my young nephew has been diagnosed with autism. As a mom, I could not help but be pulled in by Cathleen's determination to do her very best for her special needs son. I could understand her struggle in those first few months of hearing bad diagnosis after bad diagnosis: blindness, autism, will never walk, etc. I mourned with her the loss of her "normal" child. Lest you think this book is all doom and gloom, think again! Although Rex was born blind and diagnosed with other issues, you can't help but be inspired by him, his mother, and his teachers. Receiving a small keyboard from his father on his second birthday, Rex begins to make strides that no one thought he would. Unbelievably, although Rex couldn't even walk around his own living room without becoming disoriented, he could play complicated pieces of music... without the music. His piano teachers could play a series of notes or even whole selections of music - something Rex had never heard before - and, Rex could play it back note by note. You can't help but admire Cathleen and her tireless journey of advocating for her son. Only those with a special needs child could truly understand and appreciate the commitment it takes. Rex represents many special young people. True, many children with disabilities may not be able to play the piano like a master but, Im afraid we have underestimated their ABILITIES! After reading this book, you cant help but look at those children that professionals have diagnosed as disabled and try to see beyond what the doctors see. Seeing instead, the amazing abilities and talents they DO have and trying to nurture them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Megan
As the cover proclaims, Rex is the story of a mother, her autistic child, and the music that transformed their hearts. The book recounts the discovery of Rexs challenging disabilities, blindness and autism. It shares the ups and downs of dealing with those disabilities: the hard, debilitating, I cant go on moments as well as the shining moments of hope and progress. Many times these moments walked hand in hand causing Cathleen to learn over and over to walk by faith not by sight. It tells the story of a mother who was willing to stand-up and advocate for her son. To fight for his right to be educated in a way that worked for him.And it shares the astonishing, miraculous discovery of Rexs musical ability. Rex struggled to communicate as he grew up. He struggled to read Braille and even speak. But, when it came to music and the piano, Rex was set free. Able to play back complicated musical pieces with ease, change keys and even change the feel of a song (i.e. to play it like Chopin, or a waltz, or even a Russian dance) Rex continually amazed those who happened to hear him play (including 60 minutes correspondent Lesley Stahl). Cathleen writes in a way any mother can relate to. She tells her story in a way that will tear at your heartstrings and leave you inspired. I would recommend this book to anyone, but think that mothers of special needs children would be especially encouraged by this story.At its heart Rex shares the journey of a mother. A mother who learns to trust and hope in the most difficult of times and is given an example of what love and joy truly are through the unexpected gift of her son, Rex.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Desiree
Cathleen Lewis took her families struggles and turned it into miracle. I was instantly drawn into their lives when I picked up the book. She lays all of her emotions, thoughts, fears, and hopes for the reader to see. I cannot even imagine living a life with a child who is both blind and autistic. However, as a mother she has blessed her child in remarkable ways. She took the cards life dealt her, and played them successfully. I am touched by her faith in God, and how she used it to guide her parenting. She trusted God to guide her. Cathleen knew that they only way to find comfort was to lean on God. She is a remarkable example for all those struggling with unimaginable situations. I grew to truly care about her son Rex. I doubt I will ever meet him, but his perseverance and spirit has certainly touched my life. Rex seems like such a remarkable child. God has truly gifted him with the gift of music. Cathleen should be very proud of the son she has raised. I only hope that I am able to impact my childrens lives the way she has impacted her sons life. This was an amazing testimony of faith, hope, and love.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Linda
For me, this book was full of love, hope, inspiration, and faith. It shows clearly how God can take what man thinks is impossible and turn it into a world of possibilities.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music that Transformed Their Lives - eBook
This review is fromRex: A Mother, Her Autistic Child, and the Music That Transformed Their Lives.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2009
I was so thankful for the opportunity to read this book! Its the story of Gods miraculous work in the lives of two incredible people: a multiply-disabled, musical savant and his lovingly dedicated mother.The book starts out sad as Cathleen Lewis learns about one after another of her sons disabilities and receives little, if any, encouragement or hope for his future. But when Cathleen begins to research these problems for herself, the book becomes quite fascinating. In fact, it demonstrates vividly just how fearfully and wonderfully made each of us actually isthe human brain is so complex! If the smallest thing is off, it can create big problems that baffle the worlds greatest minds and challenge the individual in huge ways!Cathleen shares how her almost hopeless struggle to help Rex led her to God and how she relied on Him to guide her as Rex tackled each new developmental challenge. She also explains how God used music to help Rex overcome many of these challenges and also to find his joyful place in this world. To find such profound musical genius in one who struggles so with everything else is a wondrous, awe-inspiring thing. It is a truly happy and triumphant story of hope, Gods work, miracles, and grace.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.