Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black

Hendrickson Publishers NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black

The NKJV Minister's Bible is the perfect "on-the-go" Bible to equip pastors, counselors, pastoral caregivers, lay teachers, everyone active in Christian service. Pairing the ultra-precise New King James Version text with a rich array of unique resources, it helps them meet the challenges of everyday ministry opportunities as well as manage its stresses.

Features
  • Presentation Page
  • 8.75-point text
  • Double-column format
  • Center-column references
  • Footnotes
  • Key Bible Promises
  • Pastoral Events
  • Church Events
  • Family Events
  • Articles including
    • The Christian LIfe
    • Life's Tough Questions
    • Helping People Cope with Change
    • The Unique Role of a Minister
  • Concordance
  • 8 Full-color maps
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • 9.75" x 6.75" x 1.25"
  • Genuine Leather, Black
Average Customer Rating:
4.457 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 out of 1493%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Review 1 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very great sermon accessory

Date:December 5, 2013
Customer Avatar
reverendgage
Location:Ardmore, Ok
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is very good in every sermon I preach..The minister bible was and is a very great preaching companion...The minister resource guide in the bible Haas been very helpful..I would highly recommend this Bible to anyone in the ministry ..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good resources for ministry

Date:April 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Randy A Brown
Location:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Minister’s Bible from Hendrickson Publishers is a Bible designed specifically to meet the needs of the Ministry and Church leaders. It includes many helps and resources to help Ministers in their daily ministry activities, perform events, and helps them answer many of the tough questions they are bound to face.
Cover and Binding
The cover is genuine leather. It has a nice look to it. The binding looks glued, but it does have a sewn portion in the front and back. The liner looks like a vinyl-covered paper that is glued to the cover.
Paper and Print
The paper is fairly thick, but not as opaque as I’d like. It has a cream tone, which is my favorite shade for paper. It makes it much easier to read. If it were a little more opaque I would say the paper is perfect. It’s not bad; it’s just more noticeable than I’d like. It’s not enough to keep me from using it. The show-through is partially due to the boldness of the print.
The font is 8-point semi-bold. It is very readable and consistently dark.
Layout
This Bible has two sections. The first section is a reference Bible. The second section is the Ministry Resource Guide.
The Bible portion is printed in 2-column, paragraph format with poetry set in verse. Old Testament quotes are offset and printed in a different style of font to make it obvious that it’s an OT quote. It looks like the standard layout for NKJV, which is one of my favorite layouts for a Bible.
References and Translation Notes
References and notes appear in the center column. They are keyed to the text with letters for the references and numbers for the notes. The center column includes the chapter and verse numbers so they’re easier to find. I’m not sure how many references there are, but there are a lot. Genesis 1:1 includes 14 references.
Section Headings
There are lots of section headings. They are printed in bold. They include references to parallel passages, which are printed in semi-bold. The headings help break up the text on the page
Key Bible Promises
The Key Bible Promises section is a topical section that includes a topic and a list of verses for each topic. It has 4 pages and includes promises in 3 key areas:
God’s Promise Of includes references for love, salvation, peace, joy, strength, growth, etc.
God’s Promise When You includes references for feel guilty, are afraid, are weak, obey, doubt, etc.
God’s Promises When includes reference for you need comfort, desire revenge, you struggle with lust, you are in a position of responsibility, you are jealous, etc.
Ministry Resource Guide
The Ministry Resource Guide is what sets this Bible apart and is its key feature. This section is essentially a 59 page appendix that includes questions, answers, and helps in 7 topics:
• Pastorial Events
• Church Events
• Family Events
• The Christian Life
• Life’s Tough Questions
• Helping People Cope With Change
• The Unique Role of a Minister
Ministers have a unique job. This section is where the Minister will find help and guidance in their ministry activities. Ministers are often called upon to perform weddings, funerals, provide counseling, answer questions, lead others, etc. The purpose of this section is to provide Ministers with guidance, resources, and the tools they need to perform those roles and functions. This is some of the best helps that were developed specifically for the Minister that I’ve seen in a Bible. Some of the information will apply to everybody. The section on The Christian Life helps with discipleship, prayer, fellowship, etc. Some of the information includes more than one view, such as the section on Baptism- which gives information about baptizing infants. Other sections only include information on one doctrinal view. As with any study Bible, I urge readers to be cautious and do their own study.
Concordance
The concordance is 79 pages and includes 3 columns per page. There is a little more in it than I expected for just 79 pages. It includes 38 references for ‘God’. They’re not separated into noun and verb, but that’s still more than many concordances that I’ve seen.
Maps
There are 8 full-color maps printed on thick, glossy paper.
Conclusion
With a good layout and a good list of Ministry helps, the Minister’s Bible from Hendrickson Publishers is a good Bible for Minister’s on the go. It has many helps to support their work in the ministry – including building disciples, counseling, answering questions, and performing events. It is a good resource for anyone active in Christian work.
For pictures see this review on Bible Buying Guide.
Hendrickson Publishers provided this Bible free for review. I was not required to give a positive review- only an honest review.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Pages separated from spine after 6 mo

Date:March 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
JSA1
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We provided this bible for our pastor as his preaching bible. After 6mo of use the cover has separated from the spine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product had great features

Date:October 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Emman
Location:Toronto, ON
Age:45-54
Gender:male
I will recommend this product to any church leader or Pastor as it provides a lot of great information.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I loved thid product

Date:June 8, 2012
Customer Avatar
Rex Robert Johnson
Location:Sneedville, Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the way this Bible is broke down for great Ministering and reading! Thanks!!!
REX
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I Love the layout of this version of Gods Word

Date:March 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
RAWupsr
Location:West Point, Va.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just begun re-reading The Bible and I am finding this version more preferable by far. The layout is easy to follow and I don't find myself having to re-read paragraphs to find where I left off like I have had to do in the past with other versions of the Bible. It is holding my interest and the reading seems to go by a lot faster , even in the confusing parts. I am very pleased wit my selection. I think I'll go read some more now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A truly great Bible to preach from!

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
north carolina preacher
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. It isn't cluttered with a lot of
commentary notes and footnotes like the
study Bible I preached from for many years.
It is just SCRIPTURE! I also love the feel of
this Bible in my hands as I preach. It isn't big
and bulky, its just the right size! I would highly
recommend this Bible to any preacher of the
gospel!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

More than met our expectations

Date:August 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
honeycat
Location:Absarokee, Montana
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I need when I'm in what I think of as my 'Minister Mode.' The trick to an effective Bible for ministers is to have what we need but not to much of a good thing. To many 'extras' and we can find ourselves distracted by paying attention to other features of the Bible. Lean and mean, that's what we, as ministers, need, and that's what this Bible provides.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

There is no substitute for a GREAT Bible!

Date:July 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Chuck
Location:Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Ministers bible is an awesome teaching, serving, and researching tool designed for those who are already comfortable in the validity of God's word. Someone who simply needs a portable bible to step into the pulpit with, to visit a grieving family, counsel a married couple or a new couple about to commit to a life together. It gives excellent insight into almost all areas of ministry and prepares the pastor for events that may be out of his particular experience inventory. An EXCELLENT bible for cross reference of passages, to preach and teach passages, I’ve seen none better. It’s becoming difficult to find true preaching bibles today. I own many bibles and versions, and among them fine examples of God’s Holy Word which I use each day. But for the sheer comfort of having all I need at my fingertips in a small enough format, the NKJ Ministers Bible is awesome!
**The few drawbacks I can find in this particular publishers offering is a lack of note pages in the back for recording favorite verses or quotes, and the actual finish of some of the pages seems less quality controlled than some other publishers products (i.e. pages folded and cut uneven—this is easily remedied with a very sharp blade and steady hand). The overall finish of the leather is very supple, smooth, and of beautiful quality! This bible ALWAYS lays flat and has two generous ribbon markers. You will be blessed by this bible and will cherish it by your side. I liked it so much I purchased not only a spare for myself, but another for my senior pastor. Remember, it’s not the Bible that brings home the message, its God’s presence within his living word that speaks to your congregation. No one will see the publisher of your bible when you’re preaching. Charles Spurgeon said “I’d sooner bring one sinner to Jesus than unravel all the mysteries of the word, for salvation is the thing we are to live for!”
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice product

Date:June 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gary
Location:Arizona
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is well made Bible. I'm not a Pastor or Minister in the formal sense. But, I wanted a nice sewn black letter NKJV Bible that would not cost me an arm and leg, and this Bible fit the request. In the back there are helpful hints regarding questions for all of us. The only thing I would add is a little wider margins all around text for notes. Book introductions would also be nice. I like the black letter text because it's easier to read for me. In some red letter editions the red ink fades especially in Thomas Nelson Bibles who own the NKJV publishing rights...plus their over all quality is just not as good, at least in my opinion. Hendrickson did a good job with this Bible and the reasonable price is well worth it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great Bible

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jacob
Location:Oregon
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Bible. The Bible has a nice feel to it. It feels good when you hold it. The Bible is light weight and covered with good leather. The print is very good and easy to read. The minister's material is very helpful. A great resource to have at hand when carrying out one's ministry. I certainly would recomend this Bible to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Ministry tool

Date:December 3, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rev Twine
Location:Salem, VA
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User submitted photo
I find this Bible very helpful as a preacher and the added features are exceptionally useful in the various arenas that a minister will be led to participate. Thank you for making this ministry tool available.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Ministry Resource Guide is a great help

Date:November 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
pastorbarry
Location:mid-Florida
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cross references in the text is very helpful. Some of the notes are not really needed. The Ministry Resource Guide will be a great help for someone who is new to the ministry. The only item that is missing are suggestions for conducting a communion service.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
bowhunter
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bible was everything it was described aa being.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 1, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gregory Fox
The extra plans in the back of the Bible are a good guide in preparing for weddings and funerals. I also like the quick reference for life issues and counceling
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ronnie Guerrero
Really good bible!!! It has everything youneed in one book. I recommended it to anyoneworking in the ministry!!! God Bless
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Karla Washington
It is a great bible and it was what I expected and it was a great gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 30, 2009
Customer Avatar
Agape Missionary Church Of Nazarene
The New King James Minister's Bible is the best product we have ever purchased from Christianbook.we will recommend it to other Christian Ministersboth in the United States and West Africa.And wewill purchase more copies for our Church pastors around the world.For Christ Glory,Pastor Bleemie A. ZoewahAgape Missionary Church of the Nazarene,Inc(amcotnaz)436 Darby Terrace Post Office Box 32Darby, Pennsylvania 19023
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
James G Parker Jr
Its a great bible I recoment it highly, the product you sell are excellent, the whole buying experience is quick and very easy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for NKJV Ministers Bible, Genuine Leather Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2009
Customer Avatar
Hanif Maragh
This Bible has truly been a blessing. I currently use it as my Preaching Bible since and it is the best preaching Bible that I have ever had! I truly have fallen in Love with it and would recommend it for just about anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>