Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Hendrickson Publishers NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs

The Elegance and Simplicity of the Spoken Word-Voice Only

Enjoy the precision and power of the NASB New Testament any time, anywhere with this voice only edition.

Known for its word-for-word literal accuracy, the New American Standard Bible, updated edition, is the number one choice for in-depth inductive Bible study. Enjoy Stephen Johnston's powerful narration of the New American Standard Version of the Bible.

14 high quality CDs have been digitally mastered in stereo for enhanced listening enjoyment. This fresh reading by master narrator Stephen Johnston of the NASB New Testament includes helpful and informative introductions for each book.

The CDs come packaged in their own top-quality carrying case, providing a handy way to protect and organize these treasures for years to come.

NEW FEATURES

  • Voice only-no musical background
  • Introductions to each book of the Bible
  • Packaged in a take-anywhere protective case
Average Customer Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Review 1 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Travel Companion

Date:January 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
C. Mark
Location:Tulsa, OK
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
When in the car it is a great way to be in the Word of God!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

Date:July 16, 2012
Customer Avatar
Christian Consumer
Location:Ohio
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I drive 8 hrs every weekend, 20 min to work, and extra on top of that. It is a complete joy to hear God's word in the car. I find myself sit in the parking lot to finish out topics and stories taught in His Word. I have bought extra copies to give away to family and friends. Thanks be to God for Word and His Son.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A great buy for 17.00

Date:March 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Sara
Location:MN
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the NASB New Testement CDs it was an alsome buy. It had good narating and I like that better than all the sound effects from the one I had gotten at the library. The one at the library wasn't my type when they came to arrest Jesus they had sound effects of the solders arresting him. Ya, I prefer strait reading with expression in your voice and some back round music maybe. He had enough expression in his voice, and it was the word that I wanted not the sound effects. For $17.00 I couldn't ask for a better deal. I can listen to my bible at night time now before I go to bed if my eyes are to tired to see the little words in my bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just what I was looking for!

Date:September 22, 2011
Customer Avatar
InetgrityServices
Location:Montana
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT and you can't beat the price! I needed a good quality voice speaking the bible in a real conversational speed - not so fast that I can't even find the end of a sentence - and with heart. I wanted a real Christian reading the bible from his heart so I could get on with listening to God speak without being drawn to the attention of the reader. This translation/version does a good job of that for me and is as close to the original as I could find without going to an interlinear (which I do when I need to search more thoroughly or correct a version - I like J Marshals Interlinear Greek New Testament for that). Overall..VERY pleased so far with this package of the NASV New Testament on cd's narrated by Stephen Johnston.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This is an excellent version!

Date:March 7, 2011
Customer Avatar
winabina
Location:North Carolina
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The reader enunciates very clearly and his voice is pleasant. The explanation prior to each book is informative and I appreciate the pause between chapters. Overall, I would recommend this CD rendition!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

mixed emotions about this product

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
M Connolly
Location:Cork, Ireland
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Plus: The price. The carry case and portability.
Minus: The slow pace of the reader (I usually speet it up to about 1.5times 'normal' speed). This is not for listening to in the car or while operating heavy machinery.
The tone of the reader is too "churchy" rather than simply reading the text as any other audio book.
The production is patchy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

I do not like this narrator at all.

Date:January 20, 2011
Customer Avatar
Gina
Location:Gulf Coast, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to receive my NT CDs and popped the first CD - Matthew - into my car player on the way to work the next day. I was extremely disappointed and could barely get through the 45 minute ride. Mr. Johnston has a very odd way of speaking - his inflections are very annoying and off-putting. I am going to donate this set to my church and order a different version with a different narrator.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
iacog
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product.good price.I'm satisfied with my purchase
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Debra Dejong
Excellent! This reader has an easy voice to listen to without any pious sound (some do). The cadence of the reader's voice is at a normal conversation speed. No music or sound effects in the background make it easier to concentrate of the text. Well-marked tracks to find specific scripture. Good price!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kenneth Windbiel
This is an excellent product for the price, no music meddling with the words makes it easier to hear, focus and understand. The NASB claims to the the most literal modern version available, yet over and over again the literal renderings are in the margin, not the text, truly there is no perfect version, neither is this, yet over all this is a good translation for listening to when driving, working, ect., and it would have been alot better without the book introductions inserted, which many times bring about reproach concerning the inspiration of the scriptures.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
Beciann Bohannon
Clear, easy to listen to narration. This is wonderful for long drives in the car. There are no sound effects, just the powerful word of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 12, 2008
Customer Avatar
G. L.
This is well worth it. I was worried but listened online first and found this reader the best.The reader is very warm, gentle, firm, enjoyable to listen to, etc. I've listened to Gospel of Matthew and most of Mark in my car during my commutes. He seems to believe in the Word he is reading, which is important to us.Its a great way to listen to the Word of God.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NASB New Testament, Voice-Only Edition--14 CDs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 22, 2007
Customer Avatar
marta leeza
Finally...an updated audio NASB. The narrator is first rate and I can't wait for the Old Testament...Great!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.