Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Worship Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Christianbook.com.

Hendrickson Worship Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD

Combine the premier choral conductor of our time; his select chamber choir, the Cambridge Singers; the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra; and Handel's timeless Baroque masterpiece and you have the ultimate musical celebration for Christmas or Easter! Remarkably, this breathtaking performance is Rutter's first recording of Messiah. Two CDs.

Hendrickson Worship introduces a new recording of Handel's Messiah, from world-renowned conductor and composer John Rutter and the Cambridge Singers. Remarkably, this is the first time John Rutter has recorded the Messiah. Named on The Today Show as "the greatest living composer and conductor of choral music," Rutter is probably the most successful choral composer of his generation. Rutter's compositions are chiefly choral, and include Christmas carols, anthems, and extended works such as a Gloria and a Requiem.

Messiah is being performed by the Cambridge Singers, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and conducted by John Rutter. The soloists are Joanne Lunn, Melanie Marshall, James Gilchrist, and Christopher Purves.

The 2-CD set includes a 24-page booklet with the text of Messiah and interspersed photos from the recording session at All Hallows Gospel Oak, London.

"If you sing in a choir-church or choral society-it is a mathematical certainty that you will have sung something by John Rutter. Be it anthem, carol, hymn or his much-loved Requiem, John Rutter's [the] choral man who has given choirs music [that] is ubiquitous."-CollegiumUSA.com

Messiah, (1741), is an oratorio by George Frideric Handel. It is his most famous creation and is among the most popular works in the Western choral literature. The name of the oratorio is taken from Judaism and Christianity's concept of the messiah ("the anointed one"). In Christianity, the Messiah is Jesus. Handel himself was a devout Christian, and the work is a presentation of Jesus's life and its significance according to Christian doctrine. Messiah is Handel's most famous work and remains immensely popular among concert-goers in the English-speaking world.

Although the work was conceived and first performed for Easter, it has become traditional since Handel's death to perform the Messiah oratorio during Advent, the preparatory period of the Christmas season. The work is also heard at Eastertide, and selections containing resurrection themes are often included in Easter services.
Average Customer Rating:
4.754 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
11 out of 11100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Review 1 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Beautiful recording

Date:March 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
alexdeb
Location:Denton, TX
Age:55-65
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a beautiful recording of Handel's Messiah. It is wonderfully performed and very inspiring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great music!

Date:February 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Peter
Location:Poland
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome, this music is beautiful and an extraordinary for hundreds years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Nordie
Location:Milwaukee WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cd arrived promptly and although a shipping charge was involved, the total cost of the CD and shipping was the lowest I found on line. The quality of the CD is excellent! The CD was enjoyed repeatedly during the Christmas season.
Thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Seneca Sue
Location:North Carolina
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My church's 65+ voice choir is rehearsing Messiah for this Christmas. I am using the CD to practice solos and choruses and am please with the quality of the choruses and soloists.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Messiah

Date:April 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Patty22
Location:Bloomington, IN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have numerous recordings of John Rutter and the Cambridge Singers; I'm a very big fan of theirs. I particularly enjoy their Christmas music. Several of my friends love their choral works as well. I was thrilled to see that they finally did a recording of Handel's Messiah. While I have 2 other recordings of Messiah, I knew I had to have one by the Cambridge Singers, conducted by John Rutter. I was not disappointed. It is my very favorite recording compared to the other two and my friends also purchased it immediately. John Rutter is also a composer of some very beautiful choral music, including Christmas carols! If you've never heard this group, you are in for a wonderful treat!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

memories, memories

Date:March 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
jeri
Location:Karnack, TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am confined to Southern Gospel music exclusively. I used to sing in presentations of the "Messiah". This is like a breath of fresh air. Civilization still exists. I love John Rutter and have sang several of his works. Awesome. Thanks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Rutter is a very rich interpreter

Date:March 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Dave
Location:Christchurch NZ
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There are so many perfomances of H's M that it is hard to choose from amng them. Nor should one select only one! So; wld I put this among my own few? In a word - yes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A favorite

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
roaucasa
Location:US
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Messiah has always been one of my favorites, I had it on cassette but the years took care of my cassette and had to get a new version. I got this one and don't regret it, it's very complete, you can even sing along, that is if you are alone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great recording of the Messiah at a great price

Date:January 4, 2011
Customer Avatar
John Weeks
Location:Portland, OR
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent recording of the Messiah. One of the few that is complete. The nearest competition is the London Symphony recording. This one is a bit lower key, which may make it less suitable for modern audiences, but I find this recording to have a wonderful transparency of sound with a lower-key interpretation than you might expect from Rutter. I found the bass to be somewhat weaker than the other soloists, but that is only in comparison. The tenor is unearthly.
The price at which Christianbooks.com is offering this recording is by far the lowest I was able to find on the internet. They shipped it expeditiously- it arrived for Christmas even though I ordered a bit late.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

Date:January 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
Truman
Location:New Berlin WI
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most important pieces of music in history and this recording is just wonderful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very good music

Date:December 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
soni
Location:Minnesota
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after listening to this music, I must say it was exactly what I have been looking for. very original and is is uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 13, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Killen
What a wonderful rendition! Thanks for the suggestion and for an affordable price. What a gift!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:July 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
louiseann ()
Everthing is technically good. These scriptures of full emotion need those who have passed through the deep waters of time to sing the solos.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Simmons
The CDs are very good. A great performance by the singers and orchestra. Somehow or other, we lost our other copy of the Messiah and we needed one. This fills a need and is a very beautiful rendition! My husband is a band and choir director and he loves it! Marilyn
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ruth Spencer
I am VERY happy with this purchase. It was so wonderful to listen to it in the Christmas season, but really, it is timeless and is good for ANY time of year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Arthur Vanderhoff
This interpretation of Handel's Messiah is well done. The only reason that I did not give it five stars is because some of the selections seem to be a bit rushed in tempo. However, most flow very well. This is undoubtedly one of the most inspiring oratorios ever written and the Cambridge singers bring a clean crisp sound as well as the power and presence needed by such a collection of music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Patricia Thurston
This is an excellent rendition of the Messiah. It is nice to have the complete works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 23, 2009
Customer Avatar
Vergie
Excellent version of the work. We prefer the Christmas Easter separation of numbers but this is a small issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Beth Ernest
Everyone and his brother has recorded Handel's Messiah. Far too many of these recordings are slow, ponderous renderings with heavy-hitting soloists and flatulent choirs. Rutter, however, understood the literature and produced a light, crisp, truly-Baroque Messiah that rocks. It is a joy--the kind that makes you pull the car over and listen until the aria or chorus is done. Bravo! Buy it for all your friends and choir directors. There is not a better recording out there. I use it to warm up for preaching on Sunday mornings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Handel's Messiah: The Complete Work CD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Carrie Cochran
This item was a superior value for the money. It is a rare find to get the entire collection of the Messiah compiled together, and this presentation was beautiful. I bought one for myself and one for my pastor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.