Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns

Hendrickson Publishers The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns

Introducing a brand-new hymnal for children! The Kids Hymnal is packed with 80 non-denominational classic and contemporary songs and choruses. Designed specifically for kids, it has colorful, eye-catching illustrations and easy-to-read print with lyrics and melody lines on each page. At the end of each song you'll find The Reason We Sing section that explains the story behind the song, as well as an application lesson, and a short My Affirmation sentence to reinforce the message. Created by Grammy-nominated producer Stephen Elkins and Dove Award-winning arranger John DeVries, you'll find songs like "Amazing Grace," "Jesus Loves Me," "Fairest Lord Jesus," "I Will Sing of the Mercies," "Deep and Wide," "Joy to the World," and many more. The songs are also indexed both by title and topic to make it easy to find exactly what you're looking for. The Kids Hymnal is perfect for children's choirs, Sunday school sing-alongs, children's church, or family fun at home!
Average Customer Rating:
4.56 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Review 1 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Kids Hymnal

Date:March 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
Glenn Grigsby
Location:Springfield, IL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have found the song books to be good for our kids. We have ordered a total of 12 books, 1 piano book, and the 3 CD's for our kids. Plus one of our members bought the DVD for the kids. We highly recommend these for children's chapels and for individual classes. We ordered these for our
new children's chapel that we re-opened after 15 years of no children's chapel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great resource!

Date:September 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
Doll
Location:North Carolina NC
Age:18-24
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my son and I to learn the hymns since I didn't grow up with them. There are so many in the small book and they list multiple verses to sing. Colorful, clean pages with a little devotional on the side. Great for family worship!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

disappointed

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
pianomchrist
Location:Middletown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was for a piano young student and her mother who is a SS teacher in my church. It would have been much better/easier if the book had the spiral binding so it would stay open while on the piano. I had gotten one of those years back, but didn't see one available now.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A well-put-together children's hymnal

Date:March 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Tot Mom
Location:Woodland, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This hymnal has many wonderful traditional hymns, plus some traditional choruses, modern choruses that I had never heard before (it's always fun to learn new songs), Christmas songs, and Christian American patriotic songs. The illustrations are nice, but not quite every page has an illustration like in another children's hymnal that I've seen. The illustrations, I might add, are very nice. Following most of the songs is a "The Reason We Sing" section followed by a "My Affirmation" section. These two sections are like a mini-devotional. But what is missing (in my opinion) are Scripture verses.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:May 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Carolyn Matthews
The mix of types of songs is what I found most appealing. Children have an opportunity to learn the older hymns and fun songs. I found this for our church and ordered a copy to use with my grandchildren.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Russell Albright
Very good hymnal for children. The picture and illustrations are excellent. Also the explanation of how the songs relate to our Christian life is a good source of conversation and learning.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Sherry Nelson-fiddler
This song book is excellent. It has many song we sing in church. I only suggest ordering the cd to help you with the songs you don't know.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Josephine Mendiola
My grandchildren love the songs and I like the fact that it allows them to read music instead of just having words to follow.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Judith Orde
A lot of my favorite hymns, choruses and songs in one place and the music is easy to read. These hymns and songs bring back so many memories. As a former Sunday School teacher, of many years, this is an excellent book to teach music to children. The pictures are so colorful and will interest even the youngest ones. An absolutely wonderful book. One suggestion would be, to also, release a copy with a coil binding that folds flat for use with piano or other instrument stands.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Rita
If you get the CDs you have to get this book too for the words and music. What a great tool for Children's church! Will only sing about 70 of the 80 because other 10 are too rocky for my taste.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jennifer Burks
This is exactly what my husband and I were looking for to start our family worship!! It has the classics and lots of our favorites. We also purchased the CD and the piano accompanyment book. While our kids will soon outgrow the "sound" of the CD, which is sung by children, it is great for now while they learn the songs, and while I brush up on the piano. As a bonus, our 8-year-old has a resurgence of enthusiam for his piano lessons with a whole book of worship music to learn.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Leslie Etheredge
I am very pleased with this whole ensemble, I have the book, CD's and DVD's. It's great for my children's group who sings Hymns to Nursing Home residents as a ministry.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Jasmine Lambert
I find it is a perfect gift for kids. I will be using it in sunday school and children's church.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Kathleen
Wonderful to have easy access to the words of the hymns and also the music. We also purchased the CDs to listen to in the car and sing from the book at bedtime. Each hymn has a note about the song and why we sing or believe this way. It is a great way to teach hymns to your children, especially if you did not grow up singing these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
D
We have already really enjoyed his hymnalat home. There are a few songs with which we were previously unfamiliar, so we are having fun learning new things. We all especially enjoy the inclusion of several patriotic songs and the "the reason we sing" information is simple enough for very young children to understand.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 4, 2008
Customer Avatar
Patricia Corn
I teach music at a small Christian School and we are using the hymnbooks in our music class for the first time. The children have really enjoyed having an easy to read songbook for hymns and patriotic songs. The only thing now we don't have are chord markings for students playing instruments. The Reason We Sing section has helped in our discussions of the songs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Brown
I bought this hymnal for use for our youth choir. I also got the DVD to use in Kid's Church. The kids really love it. I taught some of the youth choir to play basic piano and they are able to play the melody line while the rest of choir sings. It is a great improvement for a church that is struggling with youth music.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 25, 2008
Customer Avatar
Diana L Brown
I thought that it is a very good hymnal for the children. I thought it would have a little more short songs for the children but was so happy to see adult hymns in it too.thank-You
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 28, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nina Thomas
Very nice collection of songs. I like the little "worship" moments added with some of the songs. Nice way to introduce both traditional and a few contemporary songs to young children.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for The Kids Hymnal: 80 Songs & Hymns
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 27, 2008
Customer Avatar
Kristin Wright
My 19-month-old daughter loves this book; her favorite song is "Holy, Holy, Holy." It gives me ideas for songs to sing with her and gives her pictures/lessons to associate with the songs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>