Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD

Hendrickson Publishers The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD

Everybody can participate with this wonderful complement to The Kids Hymnal! Loaded with 80 hymns, praise and worship selections, Scripture songs, kids' favorites and seasonal classics, you'll see the lyrics for each song over a coordinating background on your TV screen so kids of all ages can sing along! It's perfect for children's choirs, Sunday school sing-alongs, children's church, or family fun at home! Please see "Back Cover" above for complete list of songs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
2 out of 540%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Review 1 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Location:Oregon
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had ordered it so our daughter could learn some new songs. Was hoping I could also just put it in DVD player and let her sit and listen to them. Songs are not continues play, each one plays individually. So after each song you have to go back to the menu and select another one to play.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is a great tool to use with young children.

Date:May 30, 2012
Customer Avatar
Preacher
Location:Grafton, WV
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend this video for anyone who wants to teach their children to sing Christian music.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not what I expected

Date:March 12, 2011
Customer Avatar
kimd
Location:Idaho
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was pleased with all the song selections, but extremely disappointed with the backgrounds. My children loved the songs, but we were expecting scenes of God's creation and it was more like backgrounds you'd find at a dance.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Many good songs, video backgrounds have no energy

Date:February 3, 2011
Customer Avatar
sami
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Many goods songs for year round use. Lyrics are clear but backgrounds to songs are not able to hold kids interest. They never change.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Instant Worship Session!

Date:November 9, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jen Quiverfullfamilycom
Location:Alberta, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the main areas of Christian parenting that I see people (including myself) struggling with is establishing consistent times of devotion and worship in the lives of their children. We all want our children to learn to praise the Lord through song, prayer, and study, but this so often falls by the wayside unless we have a consistent, daily plan in place.
Thankfully, resources such as The Kids Hymnal make it SO easy for parents to bring children into worship and praise. This sing-along DVD includes the full content of the printed version of The Kids Hymnal but with on-screen graphics, lyrics, and sing-along music that all make it easy for children to learn the words to the songs.
The DVD includes a good mix of contemporary praise and choruses, traditional hymns, and some selections based on scripture that are set to song. My children have quickly found some fast favorites that they ask for by name, and are always excited to put the DVD on to sing and dance to the songs. My only complaint is that some of the songs are sung at a faster pace than I’d prefer to sing them too – particularly some of the older hymns that I’m used to singing at a more sedate pace.
This is really almost a worship experience in itself on a DVD, all I need to do is pop it on and my children are up and singing their hearts out, waiting for turns to pick the next songs. They’re always a bit disappointed when it’s time to move on with our day.
The navigation is fairly straightforward, with four menu’s that divide the songs up into their numerical order (Songs 1 – 20, 21-40, 41-60, and 61-80). The songs are then listed by the song number and name so it’s easy to navigate to the one you’d like to hear. Each song features one of an assortment of animated backgrounds – nothing too fancy here, there seems to be a selection of 6-7 backgrounds and they vary from song to song.
The DVD is a stand-alone product, while it’s designed to co-ordinate with the other Kids Hymnal products, it is easily the most comprehensive because it includes both the lyrics and the music! If I could only pick one Kids Hymnal product to buy, this would be it. Of course, I do have the printed hymnals on the way as well (nothing to make a girl feel all grown up like having her ‘own’ hymnal!). If you don’t have the hymnal itself, you’ll want to hang onto the case for easy reference because all of the songs are listed on the back of the cover.
Oh! Have to go! My seven-year-old just asked to put on the DVD so they can sing some songs!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 3, 2009
Customer Avatar
Marissa Ericson
We used the DVD for our VBS and the kids had a lot of fun. I only wish there had been more classic kids songs, although I like the hymns that were included.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 8, 2009
Customer Avatar
Margareth Jasmin
Beautiful and colorful bible scenes along with great songs that children can read as they sing a long. The dvd is evrything the description says it is.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Nadine Helm
Great for home, Sunday school, youth groups, camps,etc... Also, great for children of all ages!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Marigale Norman
We use this at our kids church service and the kids who can read enjoy it. It is a great product. Lots of fun songs to sing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:February 14, 2008
Customer Avatar
Joshua Oh
This is a terrible DVD. This DVD shows Karaoke texts with some background under the texts. The backgrounds are simply too bad. It may be O.K. if you can remove the backgrounds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 10, 2007
Customer Avatar
Joy Smith
My niece with Down's Syndrom really loves this DVD-- she plays it over and over! Her grandmother thinks the selection of hymns is very good. We plan to give it to my sisters 5 kids too,they love music.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 30, 2007
Customer Avatar
Brian
Wonderful product. The song Do Remember! (used for communion) is worth the price of the DVD itself.Keep in mind there are hymns, kids songs, seasonal songs (July 4th and Christmas mostly), as well as original songs written by the creator of the DVD. Most of these are scriptural songs that would be great to teach the kids scripture passages.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Kids Hymnal Sing-Along DVD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 17, 2007
Customer Avatar
Marilyn Rohdin
I like the product very much. But more importantly the children like it. The songs are easy for them to sing, presented in an upbeat fun manner. Very enjoyable and well worth purchasing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.