Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT

Hendrickson Publishers Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT

Hendrickson’s popular parallel Bible just got better! It now features the latest edition of the highly regarded New Living Translation. Bible study leaders, students of the Scripture and readers interested in seeing how their favorite verses are rendered in different translations will appreciate this volume: it’s an essential aid for in-depth study of God’s Word!

  • Ideal for preachers, teachers, and serious students of the Bible
  • Hardwearing, sewn binding will stand up to years of use
  • Textual footnotes
  • Ribbon marker
  • Gold page edges
  • Clear, readable 8-point text
  • 9.75" X 7.00" X 2.25"
King James Version
This classic word-for-word translation has set the standard for its dignity, poetic language, KJV and enduring legacy.
New King James Version
Completely updated, this translation remains faithful to the accuracy and beauty of the KJV, yet uses contemporary, readable language.
New International Version
One of today’s best-selling translations, the NIV offers a unique combination of scholarly accuracy and easy readability. The thought-forthought approach its translators employed helps readers better understand and apply the intended meaning of the biblical text.
New Living Translation, second edition
The NLT is a meticulously accurate thought-for-thought text with a fresh, clear style. The New Living Translation, second edition’s refinements include marginal notes that explain word choices and more consistent rendition of Hebrew and Greek terms into their English equivalents.

Due to the thickness (2.25") of The New Hendrickson Parallell Bible, we recomend a Wide-Spine Bible cover.

Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 out of 3394%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Review 1 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Basic parrellel Bible, no frills attached.

Date:April 1, 2014
Customer Avatar
Todd
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As we continue to learn about what scripture says to us, it is very important we challenge ourselves as we read it. Parallel Bibles are among the best tools for that, enabling us to compare and contrast more formal variations of the scripture with more modern and casual versions. This volumn contains 3 of the 4 versions I wanted: King James (the traditional), New International (my Churches standard), and the New Living (my personal favorite to help me understand by providing a thought-for-thought casual translation). Throw in the well written New King James, and you have a fantastic combination of Bibles to use.
My only complaints are extremely small type and absolutely no extras. The type is really challenging, as I think most users would be fine with a slightly thicker book to get large enough font to read the versions without courting a headache as you strain your eyeballs. As far as extras, forget it. There are only a few indexed references and a quick commentary concerning each version. I do admit, most people will not expect a lot of extras in this type of Bible, but some tools would have been nice. You will still need a study Bible to gain access to a concordence, maps, and commentaries.
However, the lay out is good, and the translations are accurate. This is an amazing choice if what you want is just easy access to 4 excellent translations of God's Word. I do feel you will be pleased with this Bible if you purchase it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this bible!!

Date:December 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
shubbard
Location:Michigan
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is an excellent addition to my selection of bible. I use it daily in my bible study, very convenient to have all four translations side by side when interpreting scripture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Wonderful Bible

Date:November 6, 2013
Customer Avatar
DazzlingOne
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this Bible. It is nice to use at Church because our Pastor moves between different version so it makes following along easy. Also it is wonderful for my personal morning devotional time to move back and forth for better understanding with out having to have several different Bibles.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best bible there is!!!

Date:July 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
eppy55
Location:Evanston,Illinois
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This leather bound parallel bible is the best. the binding is steller and the font is great. It is a good deal for the price Having the four different translations right there in front of me has made my love of bible reading even better. Thank you CBD for this great bible.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One Bible with 4 great translations

Date:April 19, 2013
Customer Avatar
pamie
Location:kansas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Bible is a great way to see four of the best interpretations at the same time. It is most appreciated when Pastors and speakers use different interpretations and you have four at your fingertips. It would be a bit better if it had bold or larger print for older eyes. Also turn to the last page and it will tell you how to fan the pages so it is not so stiff and to limber up the book. I would highly recommend it. Great for Bible Study, church, and young adults too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
woodsie
Location:Manitoba, Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is excellent value for your money. Only one thing, the font is small......its ok for me, but some may not like it.
I love how simple it is to compare scripture in each version all on the same page.....
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is great Parallel Bible!

Date:December 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hoosier5158
Location:Terre Haute, IN
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible was a gift I wish I had one myself great combination of Bible Versions wish is had Red Letter, but all Parallel Bible don't seem to have that in the Text. My Father really enjoys this Bible!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice, heirloom quality, a great value.

Date:June 28, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:West Tennessee
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To anyone who desires a complete understanding of Gods word, this would be a great bible for you. The only improvement to this bible that I can come up with, is maybe printing the Good Lords words in red. I am very happy with my purchase. I look forward to many years of study with this bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Lawrence
Location:Heart of Texas
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The pages are thin but there are almost 3000 pages. If the pages were normal thickness this Bible would be 7 to 7.5 inches thick. Overall I like it for the four different versions of bibles that run parallel next to each other on every page turn.
Personal I prefer the KJV but our church uses the NIV.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 4, 2012
Customer Avatar
Encendida15
Location:Olney, MD
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Before purchasing this Bible, I used to carry four separate translations. I am very happy that I finally found this one!! Although the font is a little small and I can't find a decent cover to protect my Sword, the words contained therein are wonderful. I can read God's promises in four translations! I have read more than my required study passages because I have the four translations that make reading, understanding, and retaining much easier. I hope your personal worhip time will be as fulfilling as mine is now that I have begun using this Bible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A must have for anyone studying scripture.

Date:April 6, 2012
Customer Avatar
Johnw
Location:Bellaire, Ohio
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my best purchases. For those looking to go deeper into scripture I recommend getting a parallel bible. This particular one has all the most used translation for those in ministry looking for a way to connect with todays versatile Bible readers within our churches.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Bible is great.

Date:March 12, 2012
Customer Avatar
Angie
Location:Memphis, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I absolutely love my parallel Bible. The only thing that I wish it had was study material. I have not been able to find a parallel study Bible with the four (4) versions.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Study Bible!

Date:January 21, 2012
Customer Avatar
Tosh
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband for Christmas who is a pastor! He loves it! It is great for studying & just for personal reading time!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Small print very difficult for senior citizens

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Norita Gour
Location:USA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In fairness let me qualify this rating... this Bible was purchased for my 77-year-old husband who found the small print too hard to read and compare; the overall size and weight of the Bible too cumbersome. Because of that we could not recommend it to our peers, but perhaps for the younger folks it would be okay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Resource

Date:September 28, 2011
Customer Avatar
Louis
Location:Addison, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful study resource. I really enjoy having the four most popular translations side by side for comparitive study.
It is a thick book(2 1/4"). The print is small. But having these great translations in one convenient volume is great. The quality of this work is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

availability

Date:September 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
nursebillie
Location:Victoria, Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Your company has awesome quality and excellent pricing:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent!!

Date:July 6, 2011
Customer Avatar
Nelson
Location:Irvine, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only wanted to read the NLT from the Bible, which I haven't done, but once I found this Bible I had to try it...
This is one the best things I could have done, friendly in the way you can read 4 different transalations at once and helps when doing Bible Study.
I definitely recomment it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
annamarie
Location:Point Blank,Tx
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Bible. I have brought it to church serveral times and my sunday school teacher often asks me to read from one of the versions. I has helped me understand some scripture verses a lot better since I have the 4 versions to compare.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Love Translations-Print too small, compact, light

Date:July 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
nickname
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love the choice of translations - these (plus ESV) are my favorites.
However, due to aging eyes, I am UNABLE to read this Bible, even with reading glasses. The print is very light, very very compact and small. I have other Bibles with small print, but can still manage with my reading glasses, except for this one which is the only one completely unreadable. So sad.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Hendrickson Parallel Bible, Bonded leather, burgundy KJV, NIV, NKJV, & NLT
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:July 5, 2011
Customer Avatar
Kathy
Location:Gainesville, Fl.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bible met my expectations except the printing was too small.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.