Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition

Hendrickson Publishers Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition

Looking for accurate information on the Bible? Religious orders? Theologians? Archaeology? You'll find it in Cross and Livingstone's accessible dictionary! Priced right for home and church libraries, this comprehensive A-to-Z resource provides hundreds of authoritative cross-referenced entries by respected scholars and experts. Previously published as The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition. 1568 pages, softcover from Hendrickson.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Review 1 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Comprehensive Reference

Date:November 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
Deacon Thomas Shea
Location:Bordentown, NJ
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have found this to be an excellent source of information on the Church and her history. If anyone is looking for a BIBLE DICTIONARY or a dictionary that will unequivocally uphold one's own personal biases, then this isn't the volume for them. That being said, I don't think one can find a more comprehensive treasure trove of ecclesial information condensed in a single volume. This will not crowd your bookshelf, but it might crowd your thinking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
Ronda Dalton
I was very impressed with the informance it contains and find it will be a great help in my studying...Pleased with my purchase.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Gayley
Great reference! Serves as a central 'go to' reference for facts concerning the comprehensive CE in, or when preparing for, education. Thorough definitions all CE topics from a multitude of reliable contributors.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2009
Customer Avatar
Julius N Lisk
I am really enjoying this Book about the Christian Church the only reason I did not rate it 5 stars is that it consentrates on ENGLAND PERSONAL Like C. H. Spurgeon but their is no Billy Sunday etc other than that I like It alot
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 10, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robert Widdowson
This is a very good dictionary. The entries are brief and to the point. Buyer beware, though, the book has a bias that is most definitely Roman Catholic. It speaks dismissively of Protestant movements such as Puritanism, denominations such as Presbyterianism, and doctrines such as the propitiation of God's anger against sinful humanity (it says propitiation means expiation). Also, it speaks approvingly of such doctrines as purgatory. If it had spoken with a neutral voice, this reference book would easily have been a five star item.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:May 14, 2008
In researching which dictionary to buy I of course came across this edition and the original "Oxford Dictionary on the Christian Church" This Hendrickson edition is much less expensive and so I tried to find out the differences between the two. Below you will see a review on this edition ( published by Hendrickson. It is basically unchanged from the 1957 edition- but see the next paragraph."This volume is a paperback reprint of The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3d ed., published in 1997, a resource which has not substantially changed since the first edition was published in 1957 except for additions to the bibliography. For old-fashioned data, it remains a solid resource." Book News Inc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 30, 2008
Customer Avatar
Rev Robert E Hughes Jr
After utilizing the ODCC, Third Edition, for many years, having learned much more than I had expected, I decided to purchase this latest edition. The most enlightening tool, as with the previous edition, is the [*] for comprehensive subject matter exploration. I recommend this edition to anyone interested in obtaining scholarly learning in their life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dictionary of the Christian Church, Third Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 3, 2007
Customer Avatar
daniel
This is the best one-volume reference on Christian history and theology that is available. Period. No other dictionary I have seen even comes close. There is more complete information on more topics here, and this is certainly the reference book of choice in academic settings. Bought new from Oxford this Dictionary runs from $125-150, so the Christianbook.com price is unbeatable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.