Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible

Hendrickson Publishers Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible

This one-volume edition of a beloved classic features a trimmer size, and includes everything from the original multivolume commentary! (Only the KJV text has been eliminated to save space.) Combining practical application, devotional insight, and scholarship, Henry offers profound wisdom on the content, message, and nature of God's divine revelation in Scripture.

Note: Print is very small.

Average Customer Rating:
3.773 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
8 out of 1080%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Review 1 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The entire 6 Volumes in 1 Book

Date:December 17, 2013
Customer Avatar
Pastor Marc
Location:Wisconsin
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Today Dec 17th Arrived. I've already gone through the 1st page of Genesis. And yes, the aren't kidding when they say print is very small. I expected a bit smaller then my 5 different versions of my ministers Bible, but it is smaller then that. No problem at all with a magnifying glass. My reading glasses don't do it. But definitely not a problem with my magnifying glass.
Being over 65 with AOD from my time in the Army in 1966, I spend a lot of time in and out of the V.A. Hospital. That is the main reason for my purchase of the single volume. My wheelchair backpack won't hold 6 volumes and a Bible, but will hold the single volume, magnifying glass, and a Bible. I'm expecting the 6 Volumes to arrive tomorrow and will leave a review on them.
I can see why they wrote the single volume in the NIV Version, but I believe as thick as it is if they went with a couple more hundred pages they might have been able to go with a larger type, and the KJV. Although I have no problem going from the NIV Single version to the 6 volume KJV for easier reading at home. So if you don't mind reading with a magnifying glass or the fluorescent light magnifier, you will be happy with the single volume.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This product do's have great features.

Date:December 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
Butch
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had Matthew Hwnery Comintary before but I miss plased it so I needed to replace it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

print for us older folks is to small

Date:May 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Joanie
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Print could be much larger for all of us who have trouble seeing at our age.. otherwise good book.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A lot of information in a single book

Date:February 16, 2013
Customer Avatar
GLC99
Location:Minnesota
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is a ton of information in this condensed volume which is very good. The compression into 1 volume makes it a little more dificult to read. The binding is a little questionable also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Niv version

Date:March 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
rod c
Location:Waterloo, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read the Matthew Henry commentary in it's original version and though the content is excellent, the wording in the KJV text was rather wordy and a difficult read for me. Finding the commentary in tn the NIV was a deffinate coup for me. I have thourghly enjoyed it and use it often. The readability has been improved 100% in my opinion and I would recommend it to all who use a commentary at all.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 24, 2011
Customer Avatar
faithful
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very good book but print too small so need to refund for larger print after catalog search.Thank you
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value for a time tested commentary.

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Jerry
Location:WV
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had always wished that I had Matthew Henry's commentary, but the cost plus the bulkiness of four volumes was a drawback for me. This compact book at a very reasonable price was desirable for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ivars Plavnieks
Location:Virginia
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This book is very heavy and large in size. I returned the book due to it being damaged in shipping and also because the print in the book was very small and printed in grey ink which was hard to see. I was very dissappointed that I could hardly read a book that I was interested in studying and reading.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

most complete commentary

Date:July 13, 2011
Customer Avatar
mrsturtle
Location:Indianapolis,In.
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Matthew Henry is easy to follow, and makes my bible time more enjoyable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I have read an older version, print is much larger

Date:February 18, 2011
Customer Avatar
Picky
Location:Utah
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wear glasses and so does my husband, neither of us can read the print. We have to have a very strong magnifing glass to read this book. I'm sorry, but I will have to return this book or our eyes will be ruined from trying to read it.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Evelyn Stanford
I was very impressed with this book ina glance through. I like it because it isall in one book. I think it will behelpful. Also grateful for the price aswell. Thanks so much
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2010
Customer Avatar
Elladora Black
I went to buy this from my local Christian bookstore and they told me to go to CBD to buy it. They can't even buy this book from the publisher for $19.99! I'll miss talking to people at the bookstore, but now I am going to sit at my computer and shop for all my nonChristian friends at CBD. Wow! Thanks a lot CBD!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
James
This has to be the most complete commentary I've ever owned. I will use it often! Matthew Henry's words are very simple to understand and his commentary on scripture is precise. Great for home study or students. The print is very small, but I don't believe there is any other way to accomodate the large amount of material into one volume. If that's a problem, one should purchase the multi-volume set.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Date:March 26, 2009
Customer Avatar
Erin Mitchell
A page and a half for 3-4 verses is a little much, not mention that one needs a magnifyer just th read the thing. I personally fel the description in the catalog is decieving. easy-to-read and slimmer type. Neither phrase is appropriate. I sent it back!!
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 27, 2009
Customer Avatar
Renato Del Mundo
You should check this out Matthew Henry's Commentary on the whole Bible this is pretty strong Bible and for the price it's very excellent, as I said you better be quick to get this and that's why I rated it 5 stars.thx and God Bless you all.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:January 21, 2009
Customer Avatar
Teresa
My mom asked me to order this for my dad for Christmas. When he received it - the print in it in so small that he just could not easily read it. Very, very small print.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 26, 2008
Customer Avatar
Sara Tardy
I have always liked the depth of Matthew Henry's commentary and the detail yet the language is easy to comprehend. I have had may "AHA moments". I purchased one for myself and one as a gift and I made a very wise choice. I highly recommned it! svt
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2008
Customer Avatar
David Speller
I am more than pleased with the Matthew Henry Commentary. It is one of the best I've read. This commentary is easy to understand and a must-have for anyone studying God's Word. Again, I am pleased.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 9, 2008
Customer Avatar
Franklin Woods
I am in the process of being ordained as a deacon in the church I am attending. In reading the book I have found that it is an excellent source for increasing my insight and knowledge of the Scriptures. Matthew Henry makes it a lot easier for someone who has an unquenchable thirst for the Word of God. It is an excellent source for message preparation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:August 31, 2008
Customer Avatar
Richard Lefebvre
Sorry,but for me the typeset is really too small,need a magnifier! Better to get the full version in 6 volumes.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
12Next >>>