Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition

Hendrickson Publishers The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition

Based on the highly-respected United Bible Society text, this Reader's Edition combines the Bible text of the latest edition of the UBS4 Greek New Testament, along with a running Greek-English Dictionary featuring translations of all vocabulary items occurring less than 30 times in the New Testament on each page, compiled by Barclay M. Newman. Translations are given according to context, definitions of idiomatic word combinations are given, along with a grammatical analysis of all difficult verb forms. This reader-friendly layout enables you to easily transfer from text to dictionary, and an appendix providing translations of all vocabulary items occurring more than 30 times in the New Testament is provided.
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Review 1 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 2, 2011
Customer Avatar
Fred
Location:Harlan KY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Far exceeded my expectations and delivery was quick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great price, good quality, large font.

Date:February 10, 2011
Customer Avatar
Ryan
Location:Huaraz, Peru
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am almost done with first year Greek with Mounce's grammar. This Greek Reader is exceptional, it actually makes it possible to read the GNT with a degree of understanding and proficiency, and will help to become a much better reader. I have had this book nearly a year and it has surpassed all my expectations. The font is large and easy to read. Despite what some may say, the quality of the book is good, the binding has held up just fine. I plan to buy another copy if it goes on sale again. I have nothing negative to say about this GNT. For devotional reading of the GNT there is no better place to turn other than the UBS Greek Reader. I have the UBS4 with textual apparatus, however that edition serves a different purpose of more indepth and translational study, not for devotional reading. Thank you for this edition.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
heartofawoman
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book was normally a $60 purchase at my nearest Bible bookstores. I got this great value from Christianbook Distributors @ $19.99 brand new. I couldn't believe it. The membership fee was only $5.00 for one year, what a bargain! You can find many more good bargains at Christianbook Distributors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 11, 2010
Customer Avatar
J Bruce Prior
Although the field of New Testament textual criticism is interesting to me, for my daily devotional reading, I really don't need a critical apparatus. This edition is well named: it makes reading the text much easier with the less frequent NT Greek vocabulary available on the same page. The supplemental lexicon at the end of the volume is not as comprehensive as I would like, so I find that I need to consult Newman's A Concise Greek-English Dictionary of the New Testament or Mark A. House's Compact Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament. So far, I've been using the smaller paperback edition of the Reader's Edition, but I like it so much that I've ordered the hardback edition with its slightly-larger font size. The Reader's Edition is a wonderful contribution to ordinary Christians who love to read the Word in Greek, but whose working Greek vocabulary is less than stellar.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 19, 2009
Customer Avatar
Robbie Johnson
Absolutely Perfect! I am so glad I purchased the UBS Greek Reader's Edition. I would definitely suggest to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2009
Customer Avatar
Bob James
Compared to the Zondervan Greek Reader's edition, the UBS is far easier to read and the layout of the vocabulary notes is superior also.The printing is easy on the eyes and you don't have to struggle to discern the letters as you do with the Zondervan. Finding references as you read is a snap because there are two separate, well defined columns as opposed to Zondervan's running everything together horizontally.But it misses that fifth star because the way it is bound is very pedestrian compared to Zondervan's elegant, gold-edged, soft Italian duo-tone.IF ONLY we could have a Greek Reader's Edition with Zondervan's stylish binding and the UBS' text. I would buy it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 16, 2008
Customer Avatar
J. David Barkley
I've only been looking for this book for fifty years ! Would that I had had it during the years of full ministry, but now in "retirement" serving a small church, I bring it to Bible Study as a trusted companion. It is beautifully composed , and its weight and narrow width mean I can take it on trips without adding much bulk. As Professor Fee says , it is the act of sitting down and reading the Greek text without Arndt-Gingrich at the ready, makes it an enjoyable experience. Reminds me of listening to a professor from the Hebrew University in Israel, teaching at PSR ( I was on study leave) and enter4ed into the Hebrew text of Isaiah so profoundly that this student felt I was listening to Isaiah talk to God. So in reading the Reader's Greek NT, for the FIRST time, I find myself closer to Jesus' words - or Paul's or Peter's , as I hold this book in my hand. Euxaristo to Theo mou pantote peri humon epi ta xariti tou Theou ta dotheisa humin en Xristou Iasou.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:April 21, 2008
Customer Avatar
Robert Simpson
As an intermediate Greek student, it is important to be able to read the New Testament in Greek. The USB Greek New Testament allows me to do just that. The font is large and easy and the inclusion on each page of all words occurring 30 or less times has me moving through the passages quick enough for comprehension. No halting on a difficult word every half sentence and losing the flow. I could not be more pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2008
Customer Avatar
Juan Martinez
Very Well made. I am very satisfied with this Greek New Testament. Nice Size Font. I would recommend to anyone is learning to read Greek and to those who are a year into Greek.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 17, 2008
Customer Avatar
Gerlin Valencia, Ph.D.
First of all, the Customer service at Christianbook.com is prompt, excellent, and dedicated to servicing their customers well;secondly, the book is an excellent tool for young NT Greek scholars; though, its size is a little bit intimidating to most people who are used to either the Nestle-Aland or the UBS's 4th ed. Nonetheless, the book simply rocks. I know that once the student gets used to the book's format and easy-to-read layout, he or she will simply enjoy meditating and growing spiritually through reading the New Testatment about Jesus Christ.Best Wishes,Gerlin Valencia, Ph.D.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:December 12, 2007
Customer Avatar
Eric Miller
Excellent tool for the intermediate student of New Testament Greek. Pages are beautifully laid out, easy to read, and the vocabulary helps on each page are generally well chosen. A good bridge to becoming independent of referring constantly to the English text or lexicon for the semi-advanced student.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The UBS Greek New Testament, A Reader's Edition
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 29, 2007
Customer Avatar
Rick Penney
This is an excellent volume. The pages are so crisp and the text is beautiful. While the text is UBS4, the font resembles the NA27 instead of the italicized UBS4. I personally like that better. It's also a genuine hard back volume unlike the thin cover of the UBS4. The only issue that some might have is it's size - full size instead of the other more compact Greek testaments. But to me that's just fine. It gives it a sturdy feel. Despite the higher price, this one is much better than the Zondervan version which follows the NIV textual decisions. With the footnotes covering occurrences under 30 and the glossary covering everything else, every word in the NT is defined within this volume. There are also lexical forms and helpful parsings of more difficult forms right there in the footnotes. The footnotes are in list form which is much better than an endless stream of linear definitions. I can't be more pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.