Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print

Hendrickson Publishers Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print

Bible study leaders, Scripture students, preachers, and people curious to see their favorite biblical texts in different translations will benefit from this volume. The same set of verses from both the NKJV and the Amplified Bible appear in side-by-side columns on each page, making for effortless verse comparison. And, readers will appreciate this edition’s easy-to-read type, which is larger than that used in other parallel Bibles.

NEW KING JAMES VERSION
Completely updated, this translation remains faithful to the accuracy and beauty of the KJV, yet uses contemporary, readable language.

AMPLIFIED BIBLE
Displaying additional words that communicate shades of meaning in the original text, this translation expands the reader’s understanding of the Scriptures.

FEATURES
  • 10-point type
  • Ribbon marker
  • Bibliography to the Amplified Bible
  • Gold gilt page edges
  • 7" X 9.75" X 1.75"
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
3
51 out of 5888%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Review 1 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

THIS IS LARGE PRINT?

Date:February 3, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pastor Jim Negri
Location:NEW JERSEY
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This Bible is just okay. I'm really disappointed by the claim it's large print. I like the parallel but wish the large print was large print!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not what I expected

Date:November 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
ladybird
Location:Sherman Oaks,CA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I expected more from this bible. The words of Christ are not in red, there are no maps also.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 30, 2013
Customer Avatar
harry
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was gift to a fellow brother in Christ. His bible was very well used, and falling apart. He needed a new one and the Lord put it upon our hearts to provide this gift.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

I like the features but some things can be added.

Date:February 9, 2013
Customer Avatar
Cedric Credle
Location:Raliegh
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
There is another bible that has the AMP/KJV that my wife owns,but in comparison it is not the same. The KJV version of it has an accordance in it while the one with the NKJV does not. It would be nice that if it would have maps in it, for the convenience,of looking at when the scriptures shows the different places they traveled in their journey. The letters size and the reading of it is excellent. There is a section in some study bibles,that have the life of Jesus of the parables,and the teaching of Jesus in the comparisons of the Gospels would go great for this type of book. This is not what is called a reference bible it would help a lot.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best parallel Bible to understand

Date:June 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Hece
Location:Orange county
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NKJV with the Amp is the best tool to study with. The Amp. with the NKJV can literally help you understand the text with more insight.. I truly recommend it!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:May 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
Dereck Chunda
Location:Manchester, United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the NKJV, it has the flavor of the KJV in modern English. I love the Amplified Bible its like a well prepared meal! The combo of NKJV/Amplified is absolutely fantastic, it makes the intake of the word a real delight!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bible

Date:June 1, 2012
Customer Avatar
Pat5150 who cares
Location:poulsbo, wash.
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the cross reference with the amplified bible but there is no concordance or anyway to look verses up. Your ad said nothing about no concordance or reference system at all. For that reason I would not recommend this bible to anyone nor would I have bought myself one. And I would caution people buying your products to make sure they check everything out and make sure their bible has everything they want.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The amplified compliments the NKJV

Date:May 31, 2012
Customer Avatar
royalty42
Location:Walnut, CA
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a bible that works well for the way I study. When a better explanation is needed to get the full benefit, the Amplified brings about a full understanding of the verse and/or verses involved.
My only reservation of the Amplified (and I have had other Amplified Bibles is that you do not have the red letters of Jesus).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great having two versions side by side.

Date:April 14, 2012
Customer Avatar
WindQuest
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Outstanding having two Bible versions side-by-side.
The quality of the publisher is lacking.
The Bible is already coming apart.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product

Date:March 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
houston texan
Location:Houston Texas
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave my wife this bible for her birthday. She has always liked the amplified version. The nice feature is having the New King James version side by side. Also, the large print is a great bonus. I would recomment this bible to anyone looking for the two version comparison.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good product, sloppy work

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Jerome
Location:Dixiana, Alabama
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I hate to give any kind of bad review so let me explain. the Bible is great, just what I wanted. Price was good too. I had it engraved with my name which is where the problem came in. It looks as if someone used an ink pen to remove the plastic covering and thus putting a blue line through several pages. Evidently when the Bible was laid flat for the engraving they broke the binding and the front cover is now torn from the pages. I think a little more care could have prevented this. This was an anniversary present from my wife which upset her as well.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very satisfied with this product

Date:February 27, 2012
Customer Avatar
bilmar
Location:Youngstown, Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bible has met my expectations. It is of good quality. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:February 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
erma
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible is beautiful. the side by side reading Amplified & NKJV have taken my understanding o f the bible to another level.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 23, 2012
Customer Avatar
Anna
Location:Isle of Cumbrae, Scotland, UK
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this Bible for my husband for Christmas. We were both so pleased with the Bible!! I had it engraved with his name, as well, through ChristianBooks.com and Stewart, my husband, has said this was the best present he ever received. :) Job well done!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Informative

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
johncuse
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my wife and she throughly enjoys reading it. With so many wonderful resources at our fingertips there is no excuse for not being in the Word..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Parallel Bible Combination

Date:January 7, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grace
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have given this Bible 5 stars if it had included a concordance. It would also have been nice to have Jesus' words in red. Other than this, I am extremely pleased with this Bible. The "large" print size is definitely larger than normal, but still very comfortable to read. The combination of NKJV and AMP is wonderful. I have used the NKJV for many years, but I appreciate the way the AMP expands on the meaning of many words to give a more in-depth (albeit longer) translation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Lady
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am extremely disappointed that this bible does not display the words of Jesus in red
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Christmas present.

Date:December 31, 2011
Customer Avatar
Debra Fusilier
Location:Rayne, LA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this Bible to my son for Christmas; he can't stop talking about how great it is. I'm glad I had his name printed on the Bible. This is something he'll treasure for a very long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredible

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
nateray007
Location:evansville, IN
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Style i got and the quality of the product were unmatched!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Amplified & NKJV Parallel Bible Bonded Leather, Black, Large Print
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Vincent
Location:N Charleston, SC
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thank you for your follow-up, other than missing the spoke words of Jesus in red lettering and the inscription of The Holy Bible on the front cover I am satisfied. God bless, as you continue to support those who seek greater understanding of His Word.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.