Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Howard Books Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond

Howard Books Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond

On October 2, 2006, the Amish community of Nickel Mines, Pennsylvania, was in shock after a truck driver shot 10 young girls---leaving five of them dead. In this first-person account, counselor Beiler describes the families' responses to the horrific act---and how they demonstrated God's love by reaching out in forgiveness to the killer's family. 224 pages, hardcover from Howard.
Average Customer Rating:
4.625 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Review 1 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 3, 2013
Customer Avatar
James Ruberg
Location:Burlington, IA
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's always hard to read a book about tragedy, but "Think No Evil," spends a lot of time helping us understand an appropriate response to tragedy. The Amish know how to respond. That's one of their character traits that they've passed down from generation to generation for over 500 years. Everyone of us could learn from the Amish!
The Amish response to the shooter's wife and children was tremendous and Christ-like. The path of forgiveness is the path that leads to freedom. The author gives some practical suggestions on forgiveness. We've all heard the phrase, "Forgive and forget." The problem with that is we're cognitive people and we remember. Maybe we should forgive because we cannot forget. The Amish have painted a beautiful portrait of forgiveness by choosing to forgive daily! And, they teach that to their children and grandchildren!
This book may bring tears of sorrow to your eyes, but it may also bring tears of joy as you see people respond to tragedy with grace, love, mercy, and comfort. This is by far one of the best books I have ever read!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Think No Evil: A Story of Spectacular Forgiveness

Date:November 15, 2011
Customer Avatar
Beacon2Light
Location:Bucks County, PA
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have you ever read a book in which you thought, “That was a good book!” and yet the subject matter was so sobering that you felt funny thinking that? That is my reaction to Think No Evil by Jonas Beiler and Shawn Smucker. This book is well worth reading, I wholeheartedly recommend it.
October 2, 2006 is a date that will be etched into the minds of the Amish living in Nickel Mines and the larger community of “English” that surrounds it. For it was on that day that a lone gunman, someone that a good number of them knew, sent five girls into eternity, five others into life-threatening injuries and then shot himself at an Amish schoolhouse. Blasting away at ten young to little girls and then turning the weapon on himself, Charles Roberts victimized those girls, their families, his own family, the Amish as a whole community, emergency responders and so many more.
The tragedy got our attention but what happened next gripped the nation. The Amish immediately began the process of forgiveness. This book tells the story of what happened, some of the background of what occurred and then explains the unexplainable: how grief-stricken people who had their daughters killed or seriously injured by a mad-man could forgive the assailant and reach beyond their own pain to see and desire to help the Roberts’ family in their grief too. This is their story as told by someone who was once numbered among them, having been raised in an Amish household.
Something I didn’t expect from this book was some good, practical counsel on forgiveness. Jonas Beiler’s life had its share of tragedies and trials. He writes what he learned and what helped him as well as his understanding of Amish upbringing to help us all to forgive even though we cannot forget.
If you are struggling with forgiveness, this book is for you. We have all heard that we should forgive even as God for Christ’s sake has forgiven us. This book gives a modern example to add to God’s in the Amish of Nickel Mines. If they could forgive such evil, what’s holding you or me back from forgiving that one person against whom we still hold ill-feeling?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
bettymbg
Location:Ontario Canada
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
too much info on rescue service people, their lives and other filler. I was hoping to learn more about the amish families lives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful insight out of a real story.

Date:October 21, 2010
Customer Avatar
Nedra Butler
Location:Ohio
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful insight into dealing with the past issues & what forgiveness as a way of life does to help us heal & live again. We forgive because we cannot forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:February 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Margaret Thatcher
I had wanted to read this book for some time,not because I wanted the details of the murders, but because of the response of the Amish Community to them. I was not disappointed. The author focuses on the mainresponse of the people, which was forgiveness.The news reports brought that out, but this author drew a complete picture of forgiveness and the ability to minister to those who have harmed you. It certainly moved me to consider how well I have forgiven those I've encountered in my own life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Christy Lockstein
Think No Evil by Jonas Beiler and Shawn Smucker is an inside look at the Nickel Mines Amish School shooting of October 2, 2006. Beiler grew up in an Amish home before deciding at the age of 15 to live on the outside, so he has a unique perspective to share on this story that captivated the nation. The world couldn't look away as the news came in about a man who walked into an Amish school, sent out the boys and women, tied up the girls, boarded over the doors and windows and then proceeded to shoot all ten of them before taking his own life. The Amish community immediately offered forgiveness to the shooter and his family, reaching out to them again and again in a way that the world couldn't seem to understand. Beiler uses his own life story and the history of the Amish to offer a foundation for the unbelievable forgiveness the Amish offer those who hurt them. He tells the story of what happened in that small classroom with equal amounts of detachment and compassion. Churches spend millions of dollars a year trying to attract media attention to the story of Jesus without much sucess, but the Amish, who shun modern life conveniences, including the media, created a world wide sensation and curiosity about a God who empowered these people to offer such loving forgiveness. Their story is one of learning for all of us. Refusing to forgive only hurts the victim by creating a lifetime of hurt and bitterness, a lesson the Amish have learned through their history of non-violent resistance and martyrdom. It was difficult at times to read the words through the tears, but unlike most true crime books that are written to titillate with prurient details, he keeps the details about the shooter's actual intentions and what happened between him and the girls to a minimum, maintaining their dignity and privacy without sacrificing the power of the story.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 29, 2009
Customer Avatar
Martha Artyomenko
I have to start out with just Wow.......!!! I am not sure if it was just the place I was at in my life or what, but I did not expect this book to have the great impact on my life that it did. When I received this book in the mail, I was sitting down with a cup of tea at the table (not my normal place to read) and I sat there just reading and reading. The tears started streaming down my face as I read this tale of horror, but mixed with how to survive, how to forgive and how to go on when you feel like your heart was ripped out by another person's sinful actions. The story of the Amish school shooting just seemed like a small part of this book, but instead I saw that Mr Beiler instead addressed the fact that these horrible things may effect you the rest of your life. The widow of the man who shot those young girls, the mothers who may feel guilty for leaving the school room with their daughters in there, the girls that survived and that is not to mention the flashbacks. I learned that forgiveness does not mean forgetting, but as one person stated which reached my heart was "We do not forgive and forget, we forgive because we cannot forget." Right now going through my own painful lesson in forgiveness, I realized that I can forgive because I can't forget. I have to forgive because I cannot let one person's sin ruin my life and continue on with the pattern.This book will deeply touch you as it addressed much more than a horrible tragedy, but the story of how the author himself dealt with other personal grief as well. It really helped me understand what the verses "Love your Enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you and pray for those who despitefully use you and persecute you." really mean in our daily lives. Don't miss this powerful book -
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Think No Evil: Inside the Story of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting . . . and Beyond
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 5, 2009
Think No Evil is a thoroughly astounding read! Authors Jonas Beiler and Shawn Smucker share the horrific details of the Amish Schoolhouse Shooting of October 2, 2006. I was amazed that even the style of writing was able to convey the peace and forgiveness of the Amish people. Not only did the Amish families who lost children, siblings and friends glorify God by not holding a grudge, these same people were able to minister to the shooters family in their own time of need.I am completely amazed at the faith that oozes from the pages of this book! Even though I recall hearing about the shooting back in the fall of 2006, my heart broke all over again as the story unfolded in these pages in greater detail that what I knew before. But the tone of the writing and the evident faith of the people represented in this book has healed that brokenness and restored hope. Christ is alive and well and living in the hearts of the people of Nickel Mines, Pennsylvania. My prayer is that this work will serve to kindle the same love in those who read this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.