Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate

Hendrickson Publishers KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate

This KJV Bible offers giant print for readability, is enhanced by useful study helps and references, and features a convenient size for easy portability. Its easy-to-read type, afforability, size, and reference features combine to make it the ideal Bible for both devotional and study purposes.

  • Presentation Page
  • 11.25 point type
  • Double-column format
  • Words of Christ in Red
  • End-of-verse cross reference system
  • Concordance
  • Bible Promises
  • Harmony of the Gospels
  • Miracles of the Old Testament
  • Miracles of the New Testament
  • Parables of the Old Testament
  • Parables of the New Testament
  • Old Testament Prophecies of the Passion
  • 3 Full-color maps
  • Silver page edges
  • 5.75" x 9" x 1.25"
  • Two-Tone Flexisoft, Imitation Leather Chocolate brown/Pink
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(337 Reviews) 337
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (337 reviews)
5 stars
252
4 stars
54
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
10
185 out of 20690%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Review 1 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Finally!

Date:May 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Karen
Location:Hume, NY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We like to keep Bibles on hand to give out. Usually, we end up with ones that have such small print and look so cheap that it's embarrassing to give them as gifts. This Bible is exactly what we have been looking for! These are good quality Bibles that are readable and durable at a great price!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good budget giant print

Date:March 31, 2014
Customer Avatar
chia
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a budget Bible- probably the cheapest one of this size and typeface available anywhere.
The text and format is well done- easily legible unless you're pretty much blind, large pages that are easy to turn, concordance and helps (with color maps) and end of verse references. It's a good edition, not too large as to be unwieldy and readable.
The binding does appear sewn, though I wouldn't put too much stress on it. It does open easily and can lay open out of the box. The paper is decent quality- not the best, but good for what you pay for.
Where it loses a lot of marks is the cover. It's noted as 'imitation leather.' Well, there's imitation leather and then there's imitation leather... on the high end you can get things like the Thompson Chain in 'kirvella' which is nearly indistinguishable from calfskin in feel and durability. Then you get the covers that look like recycled cardboard with some laminate on it. This is unfortunately much more like the latter- it's easily and permanently creased, easily crushed or dented, frays at the edges in no time at all (two of the ones I got actually ARRIVED in that condition, and does not feel like leather in the least. It feels like the surface of playing cards, but stiffer.
But then again, at this pricepoint what do you expect? It's a good size print Bible that's easy to read and cheap enough to give out. If you use it every day, it will probably fall apart within a year or two- starting with the cover. Getting a good Bible cover may extend the life quite a bit.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Very poor

Date:January 23, 2014
Customer Avatar
1aroller
Location:Hamilton Ohio
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Opened the book and pages came loose/ was not giant print
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just the right size!

Date:January 15, 2014
Customer Avatar
gmg1130g
Location:Columbus,Ga.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bible was just what my friend wanted .The right size to fit in her pocketbook. The large print makes it easy to read. She loves it! A very good purchase.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:January 11, 2014
Customer Avatar
DiannaH
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for my ten year old nice large print very satisfied
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good selection and good service!

Date:December 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
mark
Location:France
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a real adventure to go through your "isles" of products and try to stay "on task". I always have a good time losing time in your store.
Thanks for the service.
God bless your work and honest prices.
Mark
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

So helpful!

Date:November 22, 2013
Customer Avatar
Bonnie
Location:Fall River, WI
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lady that we bought this for really appreciates having it. She uses a walker to get around with, so she had been taking a very small bible to carry in the walker bag. However, her eyes are not so good anymore, and was finding the little bible hard to read. Now, with her name imprinted on the front, she can leave the large print bible at church, and have it there when she comes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Working great for Bibles to share

Date:November 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
Faithhopecharity
Location:Atlanta, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought these Bibles to hand out to people in need who were being witnessed to, fed and clothed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:November 11, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ellie
Location:Sun Lakes, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new bible. It is exactly what I wanted and expected. I've been studying in it every day since it arrived, and I have enjoyed it immensely. I love the giant print, it is easy on my eyes. It is so nice to have the cross references at the end of the verses. The promises, miracles, parables, concordance, and colorful maps at the end of the bible are such a great addition. I love the beautiful cover, the color is so nice and the soft leather feels so nice. I had mine engraved with my name, and it looks just so beautiful. This is a bible I will keep forever and hope to eventually pass down to my beautiful Granddaugther. From what I've seen and experienced so far, this bible will stand the test of time, even with every day use. If I ever need a bible as a gift, I will definitely order one of these bibles.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Elegant and highly readable

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
takvirginia
Location:Quebec
Age:25-34
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a surprisingly well done Bible, for any price point.
Layout: elegant. Separation lines and end-of-verse footnotes reduce the feeling of overcrowding. Nice spacing between letters and lines. I'd like a bit more room on the inside margin, as I have to reposition/adjust the angle of the Bible from one page to the next. Perhaps this will get better as the spine loosens up.
Text: readable! One of the most comfortable text sizes I have ever encountered. Not too big, not too small. The font is crisp, semi-bold, modern. I think it's smaller than most large prints, which may be good or bad, and larger than an average book font. Red letters are a bit lacking; I would like them darker/bolder, but then again, I'm used to black-letter so perhaps that's why.
Words per line are exactly as Holman's Large Print Personal Size Reference Bible (Holman has larger type, but feels more crowded). If you like Holman, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by elegance of this Hendrickson. I prefer wider columns to facilitate the flow of reading but this, again, is personal preference. They have to keep it portable, after all!
Paper: standard. A bit on the cream side, which I like. Ghosting is present, but compared with many Bibles I have seen in bookstores it's quite manageable. A bit more pronounced than appears in the photos. Personal tolerance levels will vary. I heard it is possible to eliminate ghosting by placement of a black sheet of paper underneath the page, so some of you may try that.
Cover: terrible. I got the burgundy imitation leather, and it's somewhere on the continuum between cardboard and hard plastic. The edges will not hold up well to use. I think only the burgundy and black are like this (which would explain why the price is lower than all the other ones).
Other: beautiful presentation page (see photo). Stays open quite nicely right out of the box. No gilding, which I actually liked. No ribbon. 9'' x 5.5'' x 1.5'' (rounded upwards). About the size of a hymn book.
Overall, elegant layout and text, highly readable font, unbeatable value, excellent usability. But I recommend something other than imitation leather burgundy/black, unless $ is an important consideration. I'd try one of the colored ones that look really soft and have stitching on the covers, or bonded leather if you're the classic type. However, it's the inside that counts, and that's what this Bible does truly well.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:November 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
MaryMary
Location:United States
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was disappointed in my selection, wanted bigger print than I already have. My fault, however, not the company's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Affordable Word of God!

Date:November 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sister Debbie
Location:Euclid, OH
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sharing these with the homeless people in our community--feeding them with both physical & spiritual food!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent bibles

Date:October 31, 2013
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Arkadelphia, AR
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband works at the sheriff office and we bought these bibles for some inmates that wanted a bible.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Seems like a great bible

Date:September 28, 2013
Customer Avatar
Prp2014
Location:Louisville, KY
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We originally bought this bible for my grandma for Mother's Day. She suddenly and unexpectedly passed away just a few days before it was delivered. We placed it in her casket with her. The bible seemed sturdy and the print was large enough for an older person to read which was the main reason we purchased it. We also had her name engraved in the cover and it looked beautiful. Great bible especially for the price.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Bible marking!

Date:September 15, 2013
Customer Avatar
Tree River
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this Bible for nearly 3 years and I've been impressed with its durability. I bought it specifically for Bible study/marking. I like to use erasable colored pencils and the pages are just thick enough to withstand the writing and (gentle) erasing as needed.
The quality was satisfactory for the price, however I have come across a few places where there were holes in the pages (I assume manufacturing issues with the paper itself), but they haven't effected the usefulness of the Bible. Also, I can see variations in print darkness throughout the Bible, but, again, it doesn't effect the use.
The pages are all still attached to the binding after daily use. I was impressed by this since I'm not just reading, but opening up the Bible flat and doing a lot of marking in the Bible. I do usually place a blank, folded piece of paper under the page I'm marking so I don't transfer indentations or color.
I've bought the same Bible with a different cover for my daughter and I would not hesitate to purchase another one for myself.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
Toot
Location:Bathurst Australia
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the larger print, easy to read and no glasses needed
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Bible

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
Michelle Saville
Location:Calgary, Alberta
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this Bible to be great. It is light and very durable. It looks like it will last be years. The references are very valuable and it also has a dictionary and a list of unfamiliar words, which is most helpful to someone who has not used the King James Version all my life. The font is easy to read but not too big. Sooner or later I am sure I will need one of those very large print Bible - but not yet.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This KJV Bible offers giant print for readability

Date:August 23, 2013
Customer Avatar
dean43
Location:Sulligent, Vernon, AL.
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These bibles were ordered for our young (grades 4-6) for readability. The Giant Print really helped their reading in class.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

beautiful, feels good and easy to read

Date:June 7, 2013
Customer Avatar
Stan
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a gift for a friend. I was well pleased pleased and so was my friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KJV Giant Print Personal Size Reference Bible--imitation leather, pink/chocolate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This Bible is a good-quality item.

Date:June 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
Charli
Location:Chatsworth, GA
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been very pleased with everything that I bought from you. My daughter loved her pink/chocolate Bible with giant print. I just placed another order for another bible. Thank you for the excellent pricing and good workmanship.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
12345 ...17Next >>>