Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook

Thomas Nelson Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook

When children are frightened by nightmares, a hug from their parents can make things right again. If today's world seems like a bad dream, Lucado's reflections on Psalm 23 will wrap you in a comforting embrace. Learn to release your burdens and fears---and find security with the Good Shepherd. Includes a new 30-day devotional.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 7100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Review 1 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Disappointed

Date:July 2, 2013
Customer Avatar
Puny
Location:Fort Worth, TX
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
I am only disappointed because I adored the original "Safe in the Shepherds Arms" I have bought at least 25 of those little books as gifts to my friends in hospital, personal grieving, or mothers whose sons were in Iraq. I always added the little "ty" baby sheep named "Fleece". Oh how they all loved it! I still have at least five more to share but cannot find any more. So sad! So beautiful! Bring it back, Max.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Made up of excerpts, but nice selection

Date:October 22, 2012
Customer Avatar
Debbie from ChristFocus
Location:Harrison, AR
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Safe in the Shepherd's Arms" is an encouragement book built around Psalm 23. It's made up solely of excerpts from some of Max Lucado's other books, but the focus was on what we learn about God from Psalm 23. The version of the book that I have (the 2002 version) took each verse (overlaying a picture of sheep) and then had two to six pages with larger-type, widely spaced text relating to that verse. There were 16 sections plus an introduction and closing thoughts.
There were some nice insights (usually related to shepherding), but probably this book would feel repetitive to someone who has already read the books that the excerpts came from: "Traveling Light," "He Still Moves Stones," "The Applause of Heaven," "In the Eye of the Storm," "When God Whispers Your Name," "A Gentle Thunder," "In the Grip of Grace," "In the House of God," and "He Chose the Nails."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Shepherd Psalm

Date:September 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
Moms90
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved the book and the writing. I purchased a few as gifts as I found this to be so encouraging and uplifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT

Date:May 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
goldilocks
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very comforting, spiritual insight to the 23rd Psalm. The writer takes you to a very deep place withing your soul for a deeper understanding of the Lord's words. Highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:May 18, 2012
Customer Avatar
Howard Ward
Location:Ponchatoula, LA
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 23rd Psalm has seen me through my first surgery to my last, along with many other difficult times. Max Lucado has done an excellent job of taking this wonderful scripture to a more meaningful level! I would recommend this book to anyone that can read. Very inspirational!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:February 10, 2012
Customer Avatar
Ruth
Location:Chichester, NH
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have loved the 23rd psalm since I was a kid. This book is an excellant look into each verse of the psalm. It gives you a much deeper understanding about the true message of the psalm, which to me was that I am in God's care all the time, and I this is but a short journey to my true home with him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book has wonderful insights into Psalm 23.

Date:November 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
Reee
Location:Tucson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really loved this book. It made me look at the Good Shepherd in an entirely new light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
connie Coute
I have never read a book like Safe in the Shepherd's Arms I believe this book helped me with a difficaualt situation to KNOW GOD's will. Next to the bible this book gave me peace I was searching for. I would like to get 5 copies to give as gifts to special people I lOVE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 15, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeannette Switzer
Psalm 23 is my favorite scripture, so this book is one of my favorites. I already had a copy, so passed this one on to one of my daughters who is really struggeling right now on many levels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:August 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Anne Sawatzky
Have given a different version of this book on many ocassions and I like it better - the other book is smaller and brighter! I like it much better! Contents remain the same in this version and are excellent; and therefore it is still a very good book to gift anyone with!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 18, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mary Crawford
I have lost count on how many of these books I have bought to share with friends and acquaintances. Whenever they have lost a loved one or whenever they have been through a very trying time,I have chosen this book to give to them. It always provides comfort to me which I love to pass on. The new cover is beautiful. I have already purchased some to put on my shelf so I will have them when an appropriate time becomes available.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Joann Darnell
A wonderful break down of the 23rd Psalm. Such a simple yet poignant look at each portion makes it speak to all!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 2, 2010
Customer Avatar
Beverly Lawrence
As usual Max Lucado has written an easy to read and understand book. He always hits the "nail on the head". He brings theology down to the layman's level and as you read his books you find out that you are learning without even realizing it.. Love this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Safe in the Shepherd's Arms: Hope & Encouragement from Psalm 23 - eBook
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:February 17, 2010
Customer Avatar
Marie Van Dusen
This is a book of excerpts from Max Lucado earlier releases. The excerpts are perfect for the Twenty-third Psalm, but I expected new insights from Rev. Lucado.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.