Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo

Hendrickson Publishers The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo

16 centuries ago, the greatest empire the world had ever seen, The Roman Empire, symbolically, with the sack of its capitol, the eternal city of Rome, died. It was the end of 1,000 years of civilization by the hands of barbarian hordes from Germania. Many Romans argued at the time that the Empire was crumbling because the ancient gods had been displaced by the now official-and dominant-Christian faith. The City of God is a rebuttal of this belief-but that is far from all that it is. in addition to being an apologetic work of Christian influence, is also one the most important theological constructions on theological anthropology (esp. human depravity, political instability) and the glory of God, of his kingdom, his "City" his righteousness. Moreover, the book is perhaps the most important and groundbreaking political philosophy the church has yet to produce. Second only to Augustine's Confessions in popularity, and spreading a wider theological net than Augustine's De Trinitate The City of God is the greatest and most comprehensive of Augustine's works. It is impossible to understand his thought, or its trajectory without this work. Now bound in a reader friendly design and size, and printed on straight white, and semi-gloss pages this edition is excellent for both a straight read of the text, or a critical study of it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
4 out of 667%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
Review 1 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good read

Date:April 29, 2011
Customer Avatar
lthur
Location:Roanoke, Va
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent. definitely worth the time used to read.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A book I've wanted to read; it exceeds expectation

Date:March 1, 2011
Customer Avatar
Bud Kent
Location:Fort Myers FL
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Refreshes foundations of the Christian faith and doctrine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This book will help you understand today.

Date:November 16, 2010
Customer Avatar
James
Location:Phoenix, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Although it was written during the years of the ancient church, St. Augustine takes the reader through a lesson of Rome that not only impacted his time but also impacts the modern society. Taking the time to read through this work will give the reader a greater understanding of the modern society, and it will be an understanding that far outweighs the contemporary books about society and culture.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Your download required changeto my readers program

Date:November 19, 2010
Customer Avatar
Youcannot
Location:Rockledge, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Too difficult to work with - download and view. It is not for me! Works, I think, only on my PC.
Ron
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

e-book

Date:October 25, 2010
Customer Avatar
brpj
Location:fl
Age:35-44
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thank you for ebooks plus great book.and thank you for making avalaible for free.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Put on your thinking cap.

Date:October 14, 2010
Customer Avatar
Donna Finch
Location:Muskogee,, OK
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
St. Augustine always interested me, but his apologetics were somewhat hard to follow. EBook accessibility did not work easily with my screen reader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Date:September 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Jeffrey Crowder
This is a review of delivery format not book content or author! The computer based format is decent, but I need Windows Mobile, was told no time frame or if it was even being developed. Hope to see it though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
K H Acton
Very nice, I prefer the cover art to be included in e-books, but since I have to convert the ePub format (using Calibre) anyway, I added it there. BTW you can convert this title because it is not prohibited by the DRM, thank you ChristianBook for your open policy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The City of God: St. Augustine of Hippo
This review is fromThe City of God - eBook.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 12, 2010
Customer Avatar
peter
best boook i have ever seen in my life and augustine is a good spiritual man.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.