Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hendrickson Publishers Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover

Hendrickson Publishers Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover

Pastor John Rogers assembled in 1537 a volume that contained, for the first time as part of a complete Bible, all of William Tyndale’s translation work, the 1534 New Testament, the Pentateuch, and the nine historical books, ending with 2 Chronicles. Where there were gaps in Tyndale’s work, Rogers used that of Miles Coverdale (1535).

Archbishop Thomas Cranmer saw to it that the Matthew’s Bible was shown to King Henry VIII, who then licensed the complete Bible in English. Thomas Cromwell, Henry’s Viceregent for church affairs, subsequently encouraged bishops to order copies of the Matthew’s Bible for their churches. Such official sanction sparked tremendous demand for the book.

Features:
  • Facsimile of an excellent copy of the 1537 Matthew’s Bible
  • Features clear, legible type throughout (marginal commentary is in smaller type)
  • Authoritative new preface
  • Great for Bible collectors and anyone interested in the history of the English Bible
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
9 out of 9100%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Review 1 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Accurate Facsimile

Date:November 25, 2013
Customer Avatar
JJim
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is easily one of the best facsimiles of an older Bible version that I have ever seen. This is much more than a simple copying of the original material, but is, instead, a very careful reproduction of the original. Further, this edition of the Matthew's Bible does include the original (to the Reformer's) prologue to the epistle to the Romans, which is a historical treasure in itself. I highly recommend this Bible for anyone interested in studying early Bible translations (into English) or who is trying to study the Reformation via first-hand materials.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Olde Bible Translation

Date:March 20, 2013
Customer Avatar
Kevin Cavanagh
Location:Saratoga Springs, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful Bible. The price is excellent. As of my order, the price was discounted heavily.
If you buy this Bible, you should be ready to learn Olde English grammar, otherwise you might be disappointed. It is not very difficult, but some might find it so. I think my High School and College English teachers would be proud of my purchase. If your adventurous-GO FOR IT!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Brilliant Gift

Date:November 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Mr Buchanan
Location:England, United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had bought this for my wife, as she loves Biblical history and is a studier of divinity. She truly enjoyed the presentation and the craftsmanship put into restoring this work. I highly recommend for anyone.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Historic, and Beautiful.

Date:September 29, 2012
Customer Avatar
Wifey
Location:Adrian, Michigan
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bible translation is both historic, and a beautiful expression of the printer's art. I compare the Matthews' text with the Authorized Version, and it is very interesting how they compare, and contrast.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Clear , clean , facsimile .

Date:April 13, 2012
Customer Avatar
Grover Smith
Location:Louisiana
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product and super price .
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

An outstanding facsimile

Date:June 17, 2011
Customer Avatar
DKutilek
Location:Clearwater, KS
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have purchased other "facsimile" reprints of historic Bibles and have often come away "disappointed" with the poor quality of the reproduction (this is especially true of "print-on-demand" facsimiles), but this facsimile reproduction of Matthew's Bible (1537) is the clearest, most crisp and clean facsimile I have (and I have two different Tyndale editions, a Coverdale NT, two Geneva editions, plus a couple of Reformation-era Luther Bible facsimiles as well as two Reina-Valera facsimile editions in Spanish--nearly all of which cost more, even much more than the Matthew's Bible facsimile). The binding is very good, and hardback, not paperback, as with p-o-d books.
The Matthew's Bible itself was the first English Bible to contain ALL of the translation work of Tyndale in one volume (NT, plus Gen.-2 Chron., and Jonah), and was expressly licensed by the English king Henry VIII, in essence the answer to Tyndale's dying prayer: "God, open the king of England's eyes."
Now if the publisher can just be persuaded to make a similar reprint of Luther's 1522 "Septemberbibel" NT!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:April 11, 2011
Customer Avatar
Howard Sides
Location:Franklinville, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was rather surprised at the detailed quality of the book. Although I am used to high quality merchandise from CBD this volume was still a surprise. great book and a wonderful window into the past.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality historic product

Date:December 24, 2010
Customer Avatar
dulcimerjames
Location:AL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've recently received my new 1537 Matthew's Bible and highly recommend it for those who enjoy reading the historic translations of the word of God. I've been a history buff all of my life and I enjoy reading Bibles with a feeling of the past. This Bible is of the highest quality and well worth the price.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

satisfied in my heart

Date:October 29, 2010
Customer Avatar
doug
Location:downey, ca.
Age:55-65
Gender:male
this, Matthew's, & 1560 Geneva, & 1611 KJV, are a must for serious believerz who long for GOD'S WORD before the perverts began publishing their stuff. i love my 1537 edition MATTHEW'S BIBLE. it make my heart feel satisfied. thank you
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 5, 2010
Customer Avatar
Rosanne Peterson
This is a wonderful addition for anyone who loves the history of our English Bible. It is difficult to read, but it can be understood what the writer is talking about, just not word for word. I really am enjoying the chance to read and look at a Facsimile of this copy of the Scriptures. The drawings inside the book of Revelation are especially unique among the Scripture.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:March 23, 2010
Customer Avatar
Steven Gubler
What a delightful reproduction! The translation is a pleasure to read. As literary masterpieces, Tyndale's New Testament and Coverdale's Psalms are particular favorites. The old typface, funky old style spelling and woodcut art and even printing errors are all very appealing and interesting particularly for young people to get a glimpse of the bible in history, but is also readable once you get used to it. One thing you see right off is how deeply rooted in the catholic tradition the early reformers actually were, while appreciating the bold revolutionary things they were trying to do. Mark the inclusion of the Old testament 'apocrypha' and interesting phonetic spellings based on Latin names. Using this bible makes the scriptural text jump right out to the modern eye in a new way. Especially those who may feel a little complacent about the bible due to over familiarity with the King James version will enjoy this blast from the past. And may find renewed passion and appreciation for the text and for the gifted translators. Because it is so remarkable, perhaps someday a modern type edition could also be prepared to make the translation itself more accessible. A very good buy for the money.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 28, 2010
Customer Avatar
Mark Clary
I ordered this Bible on Monday and got it on Wednesday. Service was quick. I really like this Bible. I would recommend it. It takes getting used to because of the Gothic print, but it is fun.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 27, 2010
Customer Avatar
Lance Burgess
After purchasing Hendrickson's facsimile of the British Library's copy of the William Tyndale New Testament, I just had to get this one also to complete the collection!This is a HUGE Bible. It weighs over four pounds. As has been mentioned in another review, it's nearly as large as a Family-size Bible. It would not see much practical use in any form other than to own as an addition to your personal library for reference and study. But, if you're as fascinated by the history of our English language Bible as I am, then you will definitely want to own this piece of cherished history.This Bible is another quality reproduction by Hendrickson. The leather binding is thick and sturdy. The pages are sewn with quality stitching to the spine. The pages are made of a thick paper that have an "aged," sepia-toned coloring; yet the pages are very crisp and new. The pages are also gold-edged and there is a ribbon marker sewn in as well.Collectors and enthusiasts will love this quality reproduction of a historic Bible. Highly recommended!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:October 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Brian And Tracy Nicks
This is a facsimile edition of an incredibly important text of the English Bible. Don't expect to sit down and use it as a "reader" because it is not. But if you want to see what was held in the hand of many reformers and martyrs of the true Christian faith, you will thoroughly enjoy this volume.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2009
Customer Avatar
Ara Piranian
I can not read it, so other can a coffee table decoration, it has little spiritual or educational value.
-15points
1of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 13, 2009
Customer Avatar
michael woodcock
This bible is a wonderful facsimile reproduction of a historic translation of the Holy Scriptures. If you like reproductions that are NOT re-typeset or altered, and thus making them all but worthless to true bibliophiles, this is one bible you will want to purchase. It is Black Letter and has some words that may require the OED for definition. Next to the 1560 Geneva reproduction, this bible offering is absolutely necessary to your collection. If you love GOD'S WORD in it's historic setting, this is the Bible for you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:August 12, 2009
One of the best true photo facsimiles I have seen. Price was great. The cover, gold gilded edges were awesome. Text excellent and readable. Don't buy this Bible if old english is not your style. But if you love history and want to see a true example of the beautiful text and feel like you are there buy it. It is in paragraph form. No verse designations. Hurrah! No picking a piece of verse to build private doctrine. Rate it a best buy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 31, 2009
Customer Avatar
Michael Dockens
This is a gorgeous facsimile of the Matthew's Bible. Although the print is old English style, it takes only minutes to adjust for easy reading. It makes a great addition to any Bible collector or Bible reader's library! I strongly recommend it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Matthew's Bible, 1537 Edition--Hardcover
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:July 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Richard Chilian
The 1537 Matthew's Bible is a beautiful Facsimile of a famous Reformation Bible. This Holy Bible spawned all of our protestant bibles; it is from the Hebrew OT and Greek NT, unlike the Catholic Bible that comes from the Latin Vulgate (Jerome translated the Hebrew and Greek into Latin). This bible is superb; however, it is a Facsimile, not an edited printing job. Novice readers beware: Font and early modern English difficult to read at times. I love it.I do not know how Hendrickson Publishers can clean the pages and provide such an historically accurate Holy Bible at an incredulously low price.Hendrickson Publishers is to be commended and thanked for providing such a beauty.I purchased the Leather version but upon inspecting it, ordered another leather version and a standard version.This Bible is just too beautifully done not to have at least three!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.