Christianbook.com Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Thomas Nelson Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook

Thomas Nelson Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook

Denver Moore grew up in Louisiana in the 1960's, working on a plantation as a modern-day slave. Ron Hall is an international arts dealer who moves between upscale New York galleries and celebrities. It seems unlikely that these two men would meet under normal circumstances. Until Deborah Hall, Ron's wife meets Denver and sees him through God's eyes of compassion. When Deborah is diagnosed with cancer she charges Ron with the mission of saving Denver. From this request, an extraordinary friendship forms between Denver and Ron, changing them both forever. A remarkable true story of friendship and unconditional love!
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(169 Reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (169 reviews)
5 stars
143
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
46 out of 4798%customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
Review 1 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The book was inspiring

Date:March 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
QSue
Location:Sharpsburg, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is a story of an unlikely friendship between Denver Moore (a homeless black man) and Ron and Deborah Hall (white, wealthy Texans). Deborah sees Denver through God's eyes for the man he could be and Ron can only see him as he is. At Deborah insistence, Ron makes friends with Denver. Initially, Ron views the relationship as one sided (what he can do for Denver). As the friendship progresses Ron finds that Denver (an uneducated, homeless man) has far more to offer and it is he who benefits more from the friendship . It shows that those society views as the least of us, God will use to make a huge difference in our lives. The story will make you laugh and cry, but mostly it will inspire you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I don't read much but I couldn't put this down

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Erench
Location:Atlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got an autographed copy of the book and it is fantastic. Really shows the power of God and can really inspire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Everyone should read this book

Date:January 10, 2014
Customer Avatar
Pat D
Location:British Columbia
Gender:female
A moving account of 2 men who find God's grace and change their world. Impossible to read this book and not pass it on to your friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very moving

Date:December 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
alfie
Location:Irma Alberta CANADA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book lets us see his grace is amazing,and that is for all no matter our status. It shows his control and guidance,and his power to bring good out of bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is an amazing story of an unusual friendship

Date:August 26, 2013
Customer Avatar
Sjoc
Location:Toccoa, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have read this story one other time. It was given to me as a gift. I let someone borrow it and wasn't able to get it back. I loved the book so much and wanted to re-read it, so I had to order it again, I was not disappointed! I have already re-read it and have passed it on to my husband to read.
It is a beautiful story of an unlikely friendship of two people from such different places in their lives. Because of the faith of one woman who trusted God as what He wanted her to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Phenomenal story!!

Date:July 14, 2013
Customer Avatar
Ocala Charles
Location:Ocala, FL
Age:55-65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I laughed, I cried, I pondered the concepts presented.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:June 21, 2013
Customer Avatar
GGMa
Location:Horseheads , N.Y.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This book brought tears to my heart and then gladness in the triumph of these men.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a must read!

Date:March 8, 2013
Customer Avatar
nonnaruth
Location:Port Alma, ON
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this book as did my husband. Loaned it out so purchased an e-book so I can read it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:March 4, 2013
Customer Avatar
barbara
Location:Gray, Ga.
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beauiful story! Have already shared the book with a friend and would like to purchase another copy. Excellent resource for anyone with a passion for the homeless and downtrodden.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Same Kind of Different As Me

Date:February 27, 2013
Customer Avatar
fbchulbert
Location:Oklahoma
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the most heart wrenching, mind, spirit and life altering books I've read in a while. A must read for anyone who thinks they are or aren't doing enough to spread Jesus' message of Love one Another. Had to follow up with the next book - What Difference Do It Make,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:September 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
jellybean
Location:Houston,TX
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heart warming, inspirational reminder of what genuine christian living is all about; humble, faithful service giving God all the glory!!! The golden rule: "Love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind, soul, and strength, and love your neighbor as yourself." Amen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Really great read!

Date:June 24, 2012
Customer Avatar
Glory
Location:Salem, Oregon
Age:Over 65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A friend loaned this book to me and my husband and I both read it. We enjoyed it so much we decided to buy one for ourselves and one for a relative. Now we are going to buy one as a loaner. Everyone should read this. It is a real eye opener even for those of us who thought we were non-judgemental of others. Service from CBI was great too. Easy to find and purchase, and the price was right.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Heartfelt book that will leave you changed

Date:March 9, 2012
Customer Avatar
Chris
Location:Tampa, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Same Kind of Different as Me" is an intelligent, well crafted, and touching real story of the lives of two men from different worlds and their unlikely friendship, brought together by a woman that loved with her entire life. At the end of this book you will have laughed, cried, and been challenged to live a life that matters to God. It also made me realize where we have come as a nation in just 50 years and brought a much needed spotlight into the needs and lifestyle of the homeless. This is not a "good read" or a "should read", but a "must read".
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent book

Date:March 5, 2012
Customer Avatar
alex
Location:Georgia
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a book on practical theology. If it doesn't hit your hot button in some way I will be surprised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Date:January 20, 2012
Customer Avatar
B Mox
Location:Illinois
Age:45-54
Gender:female
I LOVED this book! I just purchased 3 more so I can circulate them to my friends and family. I am in the middle of reading the follow-up book now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It changed my thinking . . .

Date:November 25, 2011
Customer Avatar
Donna Janes
Location:New Brighton, MN
Age:55-65
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a good book. It's a fast read and well worth the time. It presents both sides of the story and opened my mind to think differently on the subject. Very uplifting. I'm giving copies to friends and family. I think everyone would do well to read it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great book!

Date:November 21, 2011
Customer Avatar
Diane
Location:Erie, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:female
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A must read! I borrowed the book from a friend and enjoyed it so much that I wanted my own copy to lend and read again, and one as a gift. The switching back and forth between the two main characters' stories in the beginning was hard to follow at first, but everything fell in to place later on. I'm usually not emotional, but I cried with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:September 19, 2011
Customer Avatar
elrod
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This opened my eyes to the way people were treated in the early to mid 1900's. It makes me more aware of the way I treat people today. I really enjoyed this book.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good book!

Date:August 30, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hidden Treasure Ministries
Location:La Veta, Colorado
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
This book is a true story that is both life giving and life changing. I recommend this book to all Christians who are looking for direction and / or encouragement in ministry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Same Kind of Different As Me: A Modern-Day Slave, an International Art Dealer, and the Unlikely Woman Who Bound Them Together - eBook
This review is fromSame Kind of Different As Me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT BOOK!

Date:August 27, 2011
Customer Avatar
Hersheyreader
Location:Hershey, PA
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a must read! I fell in love in Denver by the end of the book! This book had me both crying and laughing throughout it! It will definitely have you thinking about what is important in your own life. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345 ...9Next >>>